Pak Army to grow by 180,000; Change to offensive posture?

There is no reason for not to have 3-----. Actually they need to have 5----one in multan and one in Gwadar along with the 3 you mentioned----.
Five 4-star generals. Just what we need :p:

Imagine having Five Raheel Sharifs! We want five Raheel Sharifs NOWWW!
article-2514631-19AD76B900000578-744_306x463.jpg
UMtG6gKP.jpg

images
images

205641_95115835.jpg

But how we sufferedfrom the officers shortage? Reasons for that? Why we didnt keep inducting them from time to time to not face this?

Meaning that graduate course would be an important recruitment event?

M
But how we sufferedfrom the officers shortage? Reasons for that? Why we didnt keep inducting them from time to time to not face this?
may be it is for the need of a more defensive stance at gwadar route for the upcoming developments. Nd securing the corridor area

That was the Pakistani army my friend. In fact you can find the "tail" and "teeth" remark in the very first sentence.
Pakistan to reduce army size by 50,000 - Newspaper - DAWN.COM

We cut our size by 50,000 several years ago. But the number we cut were non-combatants who were doing menial jobs like cooks, tailers, janitors etc. Pak Fauj found it to expensive to permanently take in these people and then retire them with a good pension. So now PA hires such people on temporary contracts only.
Lets not forget Batmen :(

The other reason has been the high losses taken by officers in the WoT. We are losing more young Lts and Capts.. and the best of them.. before they could be replaced. There is a need for more officers to replace them.

There is no reason for not to have 3-----. Actually they need to have 5----one in multan and one in Gwadar along with the 3 you mentioned----.

There's a naval base planned to protect Gwadar. Such a base will make it difficult for India to do a naval blockade as it did in 1971. Then there's also the southern command HQ in Karachi, in addition to the naval base there.

Five 4-star generals. Just what we need :p:

Imagine having Five Raheel Sharifs! We want five Raheel Sharifs NOWWW!
article-2514631-19AD76B900000578-744_306x463.jpg
UMtG6gKP.jpg

images
images

205641_95115835.jpg

I think we would be needing a 5 star then.

In reality---I think that there should be at least 5 HQ's---northern area---upper Punjab---lower Punjab----Sukkur / Panu aqil---Karachi---Gwadar / Quetta split

Although the news is not making noise on PDF, it very much should. Pakistan Army has quietly increased the number of officers it inducts in PMA Kakul by 33%. Usually that is done when you are planning to increase your military's size.

It is a slow process of course. It will take at least 5-10 years to implement this change as it inducts an extra battalion of officers each year, currently PMA trains 3 battalions of officers. That is a significant increase in size.

Why do you guys think Pak Army is increasing it's size?

Here are possible reasons:

1. The incoming troops might be deployed in three Strike Corps with offensive objectives in any future war.
2. These troops might be for a future Expeditionary Force with foreign deployment planned. The situation in middle east is becoming worse day by day, and we might deploy these soldiers to KSA or other battlefields in the Middle East.
3. Pakistan is forming a new branch of Army. With new deadly weapons like Nasr being inducted, Pak Fauj might need a new artillery corps with a very specific purpose in mind.
4. Might need extra troops to permanently secure our Eastern border with Afghanistan, as you may already know, currently Pakistan has deployed 150,000 soldiers in KPK and FATA. With these incoming troops, we can turn our focus back to our herbivorous neighbors.
5. The new troops may be used to secure CPEC. But i feel that is highly unlikely, the number of troops deployed by FC are sufficient.

Would like everyone's input on this.
Finally some one raised the issue. Yes we need to increase our Forces size. What has led to this well I think war on terror and unrest in middle east are major reasons behind this. Great move but should be done and fast pace

For a country of Pakistan size,we need something around 1 Million strong army.

Though i believe the recent increase is because we have deployed 1/4th of our army on western border and we are short of required troops on the eastern border
For me we need a Army with 1100000 soldiers with 800000 placed in Pakistan and 300000 placed in KSA and middle east.

The other reason has been the high losses taken by officers in the WoT. We are losing more young Lts and Capts.. and the best of them.. before they could be replaced. There is a need for more officers to replace them.
Sir you don't do 33 % increase for that this increase clear indicates it's because we have decided to increase Army

Although the news is not making noise on PDF, it very much should. Pakistan Army has quietly increased the number of officers it inducts in PMA Kakul by 33%. Usually that is done when you are planning to increase your military's size.

It is a slow process of course. It will take at least 5-10 years to implement this change as it inducts an extra battalion of officers each year, currently PMA trains 3 battalions of officers. That is a significant increase in size.

Here are possible reasons:

1. The incoming troops might be deployed in three Strike Corps with offensive objectives in any future war.
2. These troops might be for a future Expeditionary Force with foreign deployment planned. The situation in middle east is becoming worse day by day, and we might deploy these soldiers to KSA or other battlefields in the Middle East.
3. Pakistan is forming a new branch of Army. With new deadly weapons like Nasr being inducted, Pak Fauj might need a new artillery corps with a very specific purpose in mind.
4. Might need extra troops to permanently secure our Eastern border with Afghanistan, as you may already know, currently Pakistan has deployed 150,000 soldiers in KPK and FATA. With these incoming troops, we can turn our focus back to our herbivorous neighbors.
5. The new troops may be used to secure CPEC. But i feel that is highly unlikely, the number of troops deployed by FC are sufficient.

Would like everyone's input on this.

Your assessment is not correct. Raising 180, 000 troops is not peanuts.

Increasing the cadet intake means that
1. army is losing officers in the current ops against militancy.
2. army is already facing shortage of officers in the existing strength.

I think we would be needing a 5 star then.

In reality---I think that there should be at least 5 HQ's---northern area---upper Punjab---lower Punjab----Sukkur / Panu aqil---Karachi---Gwadar / Quetta split

Overdue. Sensible as hell. And allows focus on specific stretches of borders.

Actually, one part of me hopes that this will never happen.

Some serious thought needs to be given to the failure in the reproductive rate which has crippled the armed forces, and to the responsibility for this strategic failure.

Bad math! Have you included the number of officers who retire every year?

Secondly, raising an additional 180,000 troops will cost the earth. That's equal to about 10 new Infantry divisions along with supporting arms like Artillery, Armor, Engineers, Signals, Ordnance, Service corps, AD, and so on! The cost? Over Rs 200,000 crores PKR! Where's the money?

Bad math! Have you included the number of officers who retire every year?

Secondly, raising an additional 180,000 troops will cost the earth. That's equal to about 10 new Infantry divisions along with supporting arms like Artillery, Armor, Engineers, Signals, Ordnance, Service corps, AD, and so on! The cost? Over Rs 200,000 crores PKR! Where's the money?

Umm, "....We shall eat grass..."

Indeed we shall if that is the price need to be paid for our freedom.

But we don't have to. The economy is way better now.

Never underestimate my nation! Zaroorat pari tou Pakistan 20 crore ki fauj bhi deploy kar sakta.hai.