Muslim Punjabi Tribes and their origins

were you alive to note down the customs of Mohammad bin Qasim's army. also Anybody who lives in middle east must also know that the a famous appetizer " humus" is always served with onion and green chilli and these people of shaam region love vegetables and serve it in almost all the dishes. but this can be my one sighted experience may be there can be more things which i dont know and differ from my own experience.

I doubt that we have some kind of Quraish ethnicity soo lets stick with arabs in general. i have a family tree of my Maternal side till 150yrs back and 100yrs of my paternal dad but they r cousins from 100yrs back like their family merge into ones if you go back in family tree... but i know that there r not any subtribes in arrain they are usually known through their land holding, professions and status in the society e.g. a small landowner is chaudhry, if he is a professional he becomes meher etc and they r known by the place they r settled in eg Jalandhari Arain.

Dude you are WRONG wrt sub castes!
My family tree goes back to the Abbasi Caliphate era & that is how we know our descent for sure.
This classification you refer to is a post partition thing. Before that & even now Arains like me make sure we know our sub castes. Get in touch with Anjuman e Aaraian for more information on Arain subtribes & to see which one you belong too.
Neem hakeem na bano & don't paint all of us with the monofocal view of your own experience.

آرائیں کہاں سے آئے تھے؟
آرائیں ذات کے آباؤاجداد اریحائی فلسطینی عرب تھے، جو 712ء ميں دریائے اردن کے کنارے آباد شہر اريحا سے ہجرت کرکے آئے تھے۔ محمد بن قاسم کے ساتھ برصغير ميں داخل ہونے والی فوج کی تعداد 12,000 تھی، جس میں سے 6,000 اریحائی تھے۔ محمد بن قاسم تقریباً 4 سال تک سندھ میں رہے۔ اسی دوران گورنر عراق حجاج بن یوسف اور خلیفہ ولید بن عبدالملک کا یکے بعد دیگرے انتقال ہوگیا۔ خليفہ سلیمان بن عبدالملک نے تخت نشینی کے بعد حجاج بن یوسف کے خاندان پر سخت مظالم ڈھائے۔ اسی دوران اس نے محمد بن قاسم کو بھی حجاج بن یوسف کا بھتیجا اور داماد ہونے کے جرم میں گرفتار کرکے عرب واپس بلایا، جہاں وہ 7 ماہ قید میں رہنے کے بعد انتقال کر گئے۔

خليفہ کی ان ظالمانہ کارروائيوں کی وجہ سے اریحائی فوجیوں نے اپنے آبائی وطن واپس نہ جانے اور برصغیر ہی میں ہی قيام کا فيصلہ کرليا۔ خلیفہ کے عتاب سے بچنے کیلئے انہوں نے فوج کی ملازمت چھوڑ دی اور کھیتی باڑی کواپنا ذریعہ معاش بنا لیا۔ کچھ عشروں بعد وہ آہستہ آہستہ وسطی اور مشرقی پنجاب کی طرف چلے گئے اور وقت کے ساتھ ساتھ ان کی اگلی نسلیں پورے برصغیر میں پھیل گئیں۔

اریحائی یا الراعی سے آرائیں
صدیوں تک غیرعرب علاقے میں رہنے اور مقامی آبادیوں کے ساتھ گھل مل جانے کی وجہ سے عرب اریحائی جہاں اپنی عربی زبان چھوڑ کر عجمی ہوگئے، وہاں انہوں نے برصغیر کی مقامی زبانوں پر بھی گہرا اثر چھوڑا۔ یہی وجہ ہے کہ برصغیر کی زبانوں میں بےشمار عربی الفاظ شامل ہوتے چلے گئے۔ مقامی لوگوں کیلئے عربی کے حرف ’ح‘ کا اصل تلفظ کرنا مشکل تھا اور لفظ اریحائی وقت کے ساتھ ساتھ ’’ارائی‘‘ پھر ’’ارائیں‘‘ اور پھر بالآخر آرائیں بن گیا۔

Arain%2BHistory%2BIn%2BUrdu%2BArain%2Bguldastapk.jpg

ایک دوسرے امکان کے مطابق پہلے اریحائی لفظ الراعی سے تبدیل ہوا، جو عربی کا ہی ایک لفظ ہے، جس کے معنی چرواہے کے ہیں۔ الراعی میں ’ر‘ حرف شمشی ہے، جب اس سے پہلے ’الف لام‘ لگتا ہے تو ’الف‘ بولا جاتا ہے اور ’ل‘ حذف ہوجاتا ہے، یوں ’الراعی‘ سے اراعی ہوگیا۔ عجم حرف ’ع‘ کی ادائیگی نہیں کرتے، اس لئے حرف ’ع‘ حرف ’ء‘ کے ساتھ تبدیل ہوگیا، یوں ارائی سے جمع کی صورت میں ارائیں ہوگیا۔
ایک اور ضیعف روایت کے مطابق یوں بھی بعض کتب میں لکھا ہے کہ آرائیں آریان تہذیب سے تعلق رکھتے ہیں، جس کا پتہ ہڑپہ سے چلتا ہے، جہاں وہ لوگ تین ہزار قبل مسیح آباد تھے۔اس کے علاوہ ایک اور روایت بھی موجود ہے کہ یہ لوگ وسط ایشیائی ریاستوں سے برصغیر آئے تھے۔

مذکورہ بالا ضعیف روایات کی تردید میں آج کی آرائیں ذات کو ماضی کے اریحائی ثابت کرنے والے کہتے ہیں کہ برصغیر میں بسنے والے دیگر مسلمانوں کے برخلاف آرائیوں کی سو فیصد آبادی مسلمان ہے۔ اگر یہ کسی آریان تہذیب کی نسل سے ہوتے تو دیگر نومسلم ذاتوں کی طرح ان کی اتنی کثیر آبادی کا بیس تیس فیصد حصہ یقیناً ہندو یا سکھوں پر مشتمل ہوتا۔

محمد بن قاسم (علیہ رحمہ)کے لشکر سے آرائیں لفظ کی تشریح راجہ داہر کی قید میں ایک مسلمان لڑکی کی آواز پر لبیک کہنے والا بارہ ہزار عوام کا اسلامی لشکر چار حصوں پر مشتمل تھا پہلا حصہ کا نام مقدمتہ الجیش تھا جو کہ تھوڑے سے آدمیوں پر مشتمل تھا اور لشکر سے تین چار میل آگے سے راستہ کی راہنمائی کر رہا تھا ۔باقی دائیں طرف کا لشکر (میمنہ) اور بائیں طرف والا (میسرہ) اور درمیان والے لشکر کا نام( قلب )تھا ۔ ہر اسلامی لشکر کے پاس ایک جھنڈا ہوتا تھا جس کو فوج ہر صورت میں بلند رکھتی ہے ۔اور جنگ کے اختتام پر یہ مفتوحہ زمین پر گاڑ دیا جاتا ہے ۔اس جھنڈے کا ذکر نبی اکرم محمد ( صلی اللہ تعالی علیہ والہ وسلم ) نے جو غزوات خود لڑے ان میں بھی ہے اور صحابہ اکرام (ر ضوان اللہ تعالی اجمعین )نے ان کو گرنے سے بچانے کے لیے شہادتیں نوش فرمائیں ہیں ۔ اس فتح کے نشان والے جھنڈے کا نام (الرائیہ) ہوتا تھا۔ فتح کے بعد اس شامی فوج کے سپاہی کو الرائیہ کی نسبت سے الرائیی کہا جانے لگا لفظ الرائیی عربی میں جب بولا جاتا ہے تو سننے میں آرائیں ہوتا ہے کیونکہ اسکے بعد ل بولی نہیں جاتی ۔الرائیی لفظ کو انگلش میں آرین کہتے ہیں۔
انگلش تاریخ دانوں نے جو یہ لکھا ہے کہ آرین نے یورپ سے آکر یہاں حملہ کیا اور آباد ہوئے بالکل ٹھیک لکھا ہے کیونکہ جب یہ واقعہ ہوا اس وقت شام میں اسلامی خلافت اور دنیا کی سپر پاور تھی اور اس سلطنت کے علاقے یورپ میں بھی تھے اس وقت جب یہ لشکر شام کے جس علاقے سے بھیجا گیا وہ آج بھی شامی علاقہ یورپ کی حدود میں واقعہ ہے.۔خلاصہ کلام یہ کہ آرائیں قوم برصغیر پاک وہند میں عرب سے محمد بن قاسم کی قیادت میں ہی آئی تھی۔جو بعد میں مستقل طور پریہاں رہائش پذیر ہوگئی۔ان میں زیادہ تر لوگ آج بھی کھیتی باڑی کے شعبے سے ہی منسلک ہیں۔ واللہ اعلم

@Manidabest
r.jpg

An Arain freedom fighter
Punjab's reputation as a loyalist province, which provided the British Indian Army with soldiers and a solid socio-political support base in the form of a dependent landed class, has eclipsed its rather variegated history, which includes heroic tales of resistance to occupation and foreign rule throughout the ages. Thus, for example, Raja Porus, who ruled a principality in northern Punjab in the ancient period, gave stiff resistance to the invading armies of Alexander the Great, but was defeated by the Greeks near Jhelum in 326 BC. The Khatris of Punjab claim him among their ancestors.

According to Kalpana Sahni -- daughter of the famous Rawalpindi-born, Government-College-Lahore-educated Bollywood actor, the late Balraj Sahni, the Khatris of Behra to which their family belongs -- trace their ancestry to Porus. She has narrated this story on the authority of another famous Punjabi Khatri family with a connection to Government College, Lahore, and to Bollywood: Chetan Anand, the noted late Indian filmmaker and elder brother of evergreen, matinee hero Dev Anand.

Then, there is the story of Dulla Bhatti, a Muslim Rajput who led a rebellion against the Mughals during the reign of Akbar. His story has been rendered in both poetry and prose. Rai Ahmed Khan Kharal, claimed both by Muslim Rajputs and Jatts, who took up arms against the British from western Punjab during 1857, is another hero in that tradition.

Closer to our own times, the legend of Bhagat Singh, a Sikh Jatt, has only grown bigger with time, and several Bollywood pictures have been made on that theme. The Kambohs take pride in Udham Singh from their caste who shot dead Sir Michael O'Dwyer, the Punjab governor who originally gave orders for harsh action at Jallianwala, on April 13, 1919. The actual carnage had been ordered on the spot by General Dyer.

However, one great freedom fighter from Punjab whose heroic struggle has not been given proper recognition is Shah Abdul Qadir Ludhianvi. His direct descendant, Maulana Habibur Rahman Sani, who is currently the chief imam of the main Friday Mosque in Ludhiana, in east Punjab, provided me detailed information on him in an interview recorded on Jan 4, 2005, in the courtyard of the mosque.

Maulana Sani's grandfather, Maulana Habibur Rahman, was one of the founders of the Majlis-e-Ahrar, a movement of anti-imperialist nationalist Muslims, who returned to India after spending one day in Lahore in August 1947, arguing that thousands of Muslims remained in east Punjab and they should not be abandoned. That is how that family remained in Ludhiana.

My attention to Maulana Sani was drawn by Baldev Raj Verma, owner of Naseem Hosiery in Ludhiana, whose father, Hansraj, was on the famous Japanese ship, Komagata Maru, in 1914 chartered by Punjabis, mainly Sikhs, to get to Canada. They were refused entry. It resulted in the emergence of the Ghadar Party and the first anti-colonial struggle in early 20th century in Punjab.

Mr Verma informed me that a famous Muslim family of freedom fighters from Ludhiana still lived in the town centre and were in charge of the main mosque, where thousands of Muslims congregated every Friday to pray. Ludhiana is the major industrial city of east Punjab. Indeed workers from all over India come and work there, among them a very large numbers of Muslims from UP and Bihar.

Maulana Habibur Rahman Sani informed me that his family belonged to the Arain biradari (patrilineage). His great, great grandfather, Shah Abdul Qadir Ludhianvi, was the first in Punjab to take up arms against the English East India Company in 1857. He collected a large fighting force, which included Muslims, Hindus and Sikhs, that drove the English out of not only Ludhiana but also Panipat. He then headed to Delhi with his men to support Bahadur Shah Zafar. He fell fighting along with thousands of others at Chandni Chowk in 1857.

In British records Ludhianvi is described as a fiery speaker who exercised considerable influence on the people in that region. Some reports incorrectly describe him as a Gujjar. In any event, the British deprived his family of their property and subjected them to other forms of persecution. The Arains in general were branded as a dangerous group, their lands were confiscated and they were excluded from recruitment in the army; hence their classification as a non-martial group.

However, his descendants continued to support revolutionary struggles and both the Ghadar Party and later Bhagat Singh's associates were aided by them. They also helped Subhash Chandra Bose cross Punjab safely into the North-West Frontier Province. The Tribune, Chandigarh, of Jan 7, 2001, carried a story on the anti-imperialist services of that family.

It is worth remembering that the British adopted similar harsh measures against the Bengalis and Biharis, and some tribes and castes from UP that took part in the Uprising of 1857. They were also declared unfit for military service. Therefore, excluding Arains from the army was consistent with British policy on rebellious tribes and castes.

However, in the ancient, Mughal and Sikh periods, Arains had held prominent positions, such as governors and army generals. Many gotras, or sub-clans, of the Arains bear names that indicate soldiering as an occupation. For example: Ghalar, Gahgeer and Goheer (ferocious horse of armoured corps), Gatku (fencer), Kavali (soldier patrolling while others rest), Basroo (observation post), Bahman (brave, uncontrollable or insurmountable), Bhaila (alms-keeper who walks with the commander when he is giving away alms after a victory), Daulay (those who got land in return for military services), Khatora (spy), Ramay (archers), Rattay (bloody, red, ferocious fighters), Ramday (red -eyed soldiers), Labanay (an army column equipped with batons), Jatalay (victors), Qutub Shahi: (soldiers or their offspring who accompanied Qutubuddin Aibak), Sappal (marksmen), Bahalwan (driver of a chariot), Mudh (logisticians supplying logistics and reinforcement to the army), Teerandaz (archers), Katarband (users of katar, a weapon used by ancient armies) and Bhutto (dwellers of high places).

It would be interesting if some filmmaker in Pakistan could depict the saga of Shah Abdul Qadir Ludhianvi on the silver screen. It would be important to contact his family in Ludhiana for more details, but more importantly the script should remain faithful to the true legacy of that great man. He was by no means a religious fanatic, although he described his struggle against the British as jihad. He was a patriot who joined hands with all communities in the first major struggle against the colonial takeover of the subcontinent.

The writer is a visiting senior research fellow at the Institute of South Asian Studies (ISAS),

National University of Singapore.

By:Ishtiaq Ahmed

again as i said they dont have any subtribes its the occupation or the place where they have settled that differ them and bhuttos are not arains they are royal rajputs who helped Aurangzeb Alamgir against hindu rajputs in rajputana and then they received land in Sindh for their services to mughals. you are mistaken its Bhutta

Dina Arain: the master ‘double game’ player
At the turn of the 18th century in the village of Sharakpur, just across the Ravi near Lahore, was born to an Arain farmer Channu a child he named Dina. A strong farming lad, his father suggested that he join the army. Here starts the amazing story of Dina Arain. The career of this man, whose guile remains unparalleled, changed in dramatic ways. Within a few years he started calling himself Dina Beg, further adjusting it to Adina. The Turkish influence over names in those days meant that after a name the word ‘Beg’ had to be inserted if one was to pretend that one belonged to a refined family.

The word ‘Adina’ has a biblical Hebrew origin, for this was the name of the bravest warrior in the army of King David having the strength of 30 men.

Thus we see this Arain farmer from Sharakpur settle finally for the name Adina Beg Khan, the word ‘Khan’ being the last inclusion so as to be seen as a leader.

The next move of Dina Arain was to get appointed the ‘patwari’ of the Kang area village in the Lohian area, near Sultanpur Lodhi, and in this position – within a year - he managed to consolidate his hold over a number of villages and large swathes of land. Within two years the entire Kang area was owned by him. His guile and ruthlessness knew no bounds, and very soon he managed to collect his own small Arain army.

Dina Arain then concentrated his attention on Lahore, where he became the favourite of the Governor of Lahore, Nawab Zakariya Khan. Every weekend he would send fruit baskets and gifts and praise the ruler for his wisdom, and would request that he be allowed to listen in on his ‘wise’ decisions. Adina Beg Khan had arrived, for the Governor appointed him the ‘Hakam’ of Sultanpur Lodhi.

The appointment was not without reason. After the invasion of Nadir Shah in 1739, the Sikhs had started asserting themselves to gain power and he was asked to crush them. Here we see the guile of Adina at its best. He converted adversity into an opportunity. Instead of suppressing the Sikhs, he encouraged them to organize under his influence and keep their strength ‘invisible’.

At Lahore he kept reporting that the Sikhs were no longer a threat. Beneath the peace much more was stirring, and the Lahore Governor got wise to the guile of the man.

Under pressure from Nawab Zakariya Khan, he was forced to drive them out of his territory. That Adina did with amazing ruthlessness, but in return refused to pay the money due to the Lahore government. He was invited to Lahore and arrested and subjected to torture.

On being set free after a year, he again bounced back by winning favour with the son of the Governor, Shah Nawaz Khan, after months of gifts and praise. He was, surprisingly, appointed Deputy Nazim under Shah Nawaz Khan. The time for a change had to be waited out, and Dina Arain of Sharakpur did that very well. Those who wait, never wait in vain.

After Zakariya Khan’s death on July 1, 1745, his two sons, Yahya Khan and Shah Nawaz Khan contested the succession. Dina Arain’s time had arrived. Adina Beg maintained good relations with both, showering both with gifts and praise.

Eventually Shah Nawaz Khan captured Lahore and immediately appointed Adina Beg chief of Jalandhar Doab. Dina Arain’s wait was over, for he again joined the power game.

Meanwhile, Nadir Shah died on June 19, 1747, and Ahmad Shah Durrani became ruler of Kabul and Qandahar. Shah Nawaz Khan heeded Adina Beg’s advice by inviting the Durrani king to attack Punjab. At the same time he warned the government at Delhi about the Durrani’s invasion.

As Ahmad Shah advanced into the country, Shah Nawaz Khan fled towards Delhi. Mu`in ul-Mulk, also known as Mir Mannu, son of Qamarud Din, the chief Wazir of the Delhi king, succeeded in checking the invader at Manupur, near Sirhind.

Adina Beg Khan, in an amazing and skillful ‘double switch’, joined hands with Mu`in ul-Mulk in the middle of the battle and was wounded. Mu`in ul-Mulk became Governor of Lahore, with Kaura Mall as his Diwan and Adina Beg Khan as Faujdar of the Jalandhar Doab as before.

His wealth multiplied very quickly and he became a force to be reckoned with. In what was then seen as a bizarre move he called on his old Sikh connections and formed an alliance. Very soon they became a force to be reckoned with.

As the Sikhs again started plundering the country, Ahmad Shah Durrani launched upon his third incursion into the Punjab in December 1751, this time forcing Mu`in ul-Mulk to surrender. Mu`in remained the Governor, but this time on Durrani’s behalf.

As the Sikh got out of hand, the Governor of Lahore and the forces of Adina Beg directed their energies towards quelling the Sikhs. On the festival of Hola Mohalla in March 1753, Adina Beg fell upon Sikh pilgrims at Anandpur killing a large number of them. The Sikhs retaliated by plundering villages in the Jalandhar and Bari Doabs.

But then the guile of Adina Beg went into overdrive. His new strategy was to come to terms with the Sikhs and he assigned some of the revenue of his territory to the Sikhs and admitted several of them, including Jassa Singh Ramgarhia, into his army. On the quiet Adina Beg Khan was preparing for much bigger ventures.

Mu`in ul-Mulk died on Nov 3, 1753, and during the period his widow, Murad Begum, also known as Mughlani Begum, assumed power, Adina Beg assumed independent authority in the Doab, extending his influence up to Sirhind in March 1755. He turned his attention towards Delhi, and after winning favour in the court, the Emperor of Delhi bestowed on him the title of Zafar Jarig Khan. The ruler of Kangra accepted his over lordship. In May 1756, he was appointed Governor of Lahore and Multan by the Mughal government of Delhi on payment of an annual tribute of 30 lakh of rupees.

The time to act against Adina Beg had come, and Ahmad Shah Durrani came to Mughlani Begum’s help and Adina Beg took refuge in the Sivalik hills. (The role of Mughlani Begum has been best described by my senior Rafiq Dogar in his book ‘Mughlani Begum’).

But again the guile of the man was such that the Afghans reappointed him Faujdar of the Jalandhar Doab. The time for Adina Beg to resort to yet another classic double game had arrived.

During Taimur Shah’s governorship (1757-58), Adina Beg began to look around for allies with a view to expelling the Afghans. The Sikhs and Adina Beg’s troops joined hands yet again and defeated the Afghans at Mahalpur, in Hoshiarpur district.

Adina Beg expressed his gratitude to the Sikhs by presenting a sum of a thousand rupees as homage to the Guru Granth Sahib and rupees 150,000 as protection money for the Jalandhar Doab.

Keeping up appearances with the Sikh sardars, he secretly wished to weaken their power. Here we the Sharakpur Arain play a classic double ‘pinzer’ move with amazing skill and guile. He invited the Marathas, who had taken Delhi, to come to Punjab, offering them Rs100,000 a day as long as the battle continued.

It was an offer that could not be refused. In a parallel secret move, he persuaded the Sikhs to help the Marathas against the Afghans. The Marathas led by Raghunath Rao, accompanied by the forces of the Sikhs as well as those of Adina Beg Khan, entered Lahore in April 1758. Dina Arain had made it to the top.

Adina Beg Khan, alias Dina Arain of Sharakpur, got the Governorship of the Punjab in 1758 at a promised cost of 75 lakh rupees a year to be paid to the Marathas. The Punjab had now three masters: the Mughals, the Afghans and the Marathas, but in reality only two Adina Beg Khan and the Sikhs.

But then the man from Sharakpur wanted complete power. He immediately resumed his campaign against the Sikhs, increasing his armed strength and hiring a thousand woodcutters to clear up the forests in which the Sikhs would seek refuge in times of stress. His plan was a complete massacre.

He laid siege to the Sikh fort of Ram Rauni at Amritsar. Before the Sikhs rallied to confront him, Adina Beg Khan alias Dina Arain died of a colic attack at Batala on Sept 10, 1758. He was buried at Khanpur, just over a mile northwest of Hoshiarpur. Thus came to an end the saga of, probably, the most skillful player in Lahore and Punjab after the fall of the Mughals and the rise of the Sikhs.

My family tree goes back to the Abbasi Caliphate era & that is how we know our descent for sure.
This classification you refer to is a post partition thing. Before that & even now Arains like me make sure we know our sub castes. Get in touch with Anjuman e Aaraian for more information on Arain subtribes & to see which one you belong too.
Neem hakeem na bano & don't paint all of us with the monofocal view of your own experience.
Is there genetic evidence of you guys having Arab or Mesopotamian ancestry?Do you have a Ydna common among Arabs?

Hahaha but i m sure bro there r no subtribes and this guy kabbadi's article proves that pls go through that

Is there genetic evidence of you guys having Arab or Mesopotamian ancestry?Do you have a Ydna common among Arabs?

we must get that thing done serious.. we need to blood for that lol but yea i hope few arabs and few arains can lend that for dna testing and all that stuff

Members this thread is not about arain specific we can have any thread for arains but this is about Punjabi muslims and the origin of their tribes pls stick to that thank you

Hahaha but i m sure bro there r no subtribes and this guy kabbadi's article proves that pls go through that

we must get that thing done serious.. we need to blood for that lol but yea i hope few arabs and few arains can lend that for dna testing and all that stuff

Members this thread is not about arain specific we can have any thread for arains but this is about Punjabi muslims and the origin of their tribes pls stick to that thank you
But many people have already been tested and there seems to be no relation between Arains and Arabs, not even the Y chromosome which something you inherit from your direct paternal line.

nobody knows how many people were tested.. do you have any genuine source about that ??? pls..

I don't remember the exact source, but remember reading about a study which showed a majority of Arains share the same haplop group as Hijazi Arabs. Over the years dilution due to interbreeding with other ethnic groups should be expected. Also Arains have particularly mideastern features. Majority have light wheatish to fair skintones, have an average ethnic height of 5 ft 10 inches, aquiline nose structures etc. I don't put too much stock in all this though because like I said intermingling. Also having the genuine family tree parchment with additions with my elder maternal uncle helps.

Kashmiris look like that too but we're not Arabs, anyways I respect your family history but I'm pretty skeptical about Arab ancestry in Pakistanis.

i dontt know of any study but features part is right

Kashmiris look like that too but we're not Arabs, anyways I respect your family history but I'm pretty skeptical about Arab ancestry in Pakistanis.

Arain may not be of Arab ancestry but we definitely don't look like Indians.

DokFvFv.jpg

Old pic of me and my cousin. I am on the right.

True because there are a bucketload of cases of people changing ancestry/caste as they move upwards. My family is very skeptical of people claiming to be Arains for example who cannot tell what their sub tribe (gott in Urdu/Punjabi) is for example. Many times when looking for rishtas, ostensible Arains have turned out to be well non Arains when their past was dug into. Same goes for a lot of Syeds, Awans etc. One historian puts it down to the fact that since arab descent is seen as something highly desirable, people moving upwards in Pakistan etc will fake their ancestry.

True. My family are Ramay.

Also fun fact unlike Ramays, Ramdays are'nt a sub caste or tribe of Arains. How do I know that? Well let's just say the maternal side of my family had a big hand in educating & bringing up these guys about 4 4½ generations ago. Seeing their current shenanigans, I wish my great grand nana hadn't decided to help his poor 2nd cousins out who belonged to the village of Ramday in east Punjab.