Guardian | Narendra Modi, a man with a massacre on his hands,is not the reasonable choice for India?

The highest/maximum number of manufacturing jobs added in India over the last decade has been in Gujarat.

The OP claims that HDI indicators in Gujarat lag others and some have even regressed.

In any case, while I don't deny that some Indians support Modi for his economic credentials, it is also very evident that his Hindutva rhetoric is a big part of his draw. The constant criticism of his opponents as "sickular" attests to that fact.

Faulty logic. Perception does not have to match reality. Most Indians believe that Modi is pro development and he's the most capable administrator for the job. This may not match reality but the perception exists.

What I wrote above about his Hindutva appeal also fits in.

If All Pakistanis say in one voice that a man is bad as PM for India..................Than all 120 crore Indians know that YAHI HAI RIGHT CHOICE BABY..........AHA!!! :D

I also SAY Modi is a terrorist and terrorist can't be PM of India. Your Momota Didi also says he is a terrorist and can't be PM of India.

The amount of hate from adversaries make us all believe that he is indeed the right choice.
When his actions will destroy India You will cry the day you elected him if he gets elected

The OP claims that HDI indicators in Gujarat lag others and some have even regressed.

In any case, while I don't deny that some Indians support Modi for his economic credentials, it is also very evident that his Hindutva rhetoric is a big part of his draw. The constant criticism of his opponents as "sickular" attests to that fact.
Its not Modi's opponents that are labelled sickular.

Its BJP's. All the hardcore BJP supporters use the word sickular. Modi simply heads that party now. So his enemies become Sickular.

And yes, HDI indicators in Gujarat lag behind others, many others in fact.
But there is a huge difference between economic growth and HDI.

Kerala has the best HDI indicators in India and it has very little economic growth. Most males of Kerala migrate out - either to other States of India or to other countries, mostly gulf.

Gujarat on the other hand has shown the maximum economic growth and economic dynamism.

People in India are essentially voting for jobs, growth rates, not HDI.
---------
Now think about one more aspect - BJP has always, always stood for Hindutva. Yet they have won an election only once in their life, infact they have progressively lost their vote share in the last 10 years. Congress in 2009 gained more voteshare than they did in 2004.

Why would the Indian electorate suddenly start voting for BJP now?

Why is Modi not talking about Hindutva?
Why has the Ram mandir been relegated to the absolute background by BJP this election?

The answer is clear - people are not voting for Hindutva. They are voting for economic growth primarily.

Hindutva, muscular policy, assertiveness are all side dishes to the electorate - only used by BJP to confirm to the electorate that they have made the right choice for more reasons than one, the main dish that the electorate is buying is economic growth that Modi is promising.

Notice how every election rally of Modi uses the word - Gujarat Model. He uses it 50 times in each speech. This is his main plank. This is what the public is essentially buying. And this is where Congress is weakest.

I don't know the details of different Indian states, but I believe there is some debate about which states are performing the best depending on which metrics you use. It is not a foregone conclusion that Modi's Gujarat is the standard bearer.

What it means is that it is not merely economics which is driving Modi's popularity -- his brash personality and appeal to the other factors I mentioned is also a big part of the personality cult surrounding him.

No it is.gujarat is a resource starved region and they lost bombay to maharashtra.

It is modi who has put it in the top league.

Agree with you , he is the ideal man for Pakistan....from his statements about killing cows, to the temple construction on disputed site, to meat eating...all we need is a right wing dude running India...a secular man in charge there will always be problematic for us...one can tell, he has some kind of a bias towards muslims, which btw form 13% of Indian poppulation, with his drastic actions, they will feel suffocated..I wont say anything beyond that....and I'm hoping Pak establishment plays its cards right !!!

He can outwit any of your politicians in no time.

I am waiting for this man to become PM and mess with Pakistan because that is my dream to hunt down In.........

Pakistan has no time to mess with India because of TTP and BLA , infact even Srinagar is much safer than Islamabad.

It is modi who has put it in the top league.

I don't think anyone is questioning that Modi has achieved economic progress, although how and whether his authoritarian style will translate to the Center remains to be seen.

The issue with Modi is the subtext that comes along and, for some people, the subtext is the headline.

Why is Modi not talking about Hindutva?
Why has the Ram mandir been relegated to the absolute background by BJP this election?

The answer is clear - people are not voting for Hindutva. They are voting for economic growth primarily.

Modi is smart. He slips in the occasional reference to Hindutva concerns to reassure his base that he is solidily with them, but he (and the BJP) are riding the economic slogans.

Exactly, the old BJP voters will like Hindutva. They have always voted for BJP because of it.
However, the number of people voting for Hindutva has been progressively declining. A look at how BJP's fortunes declined progressively from 2004 to 2009 elections.

Today, the new voters are voting for him almost solely because of development and decisiveness and what development will then yield to India - like additional clout on the world stage. The Hindutva slogans are just to keep the old guard and old voters happy and intact. They are however massively small in numbers.

The main thing which Modi is offering is development - backed by his proven 'Gujarat model' as he says - and it is why he is suddenly getting majority votes of the country.

How is Obama ruling USA, after butchering billions of muslims across the world?

Today, the new voters are voting for him almost solely because of development and decisiveness and what development will then yield to India - like additional clout on the world stage. The Hindutva slogans are just to keep the old guard and old voters happy and intact. They are however massively small in numbers.

Sorry, but I have my doubts.

If online Indian opinions are representative, then much of his support stems from his "Hindu pride" agenda. I don't deny the economic reasons but the other factor is also significant for a sizable segment.