Afghanistan begins to export products directly to India for the first time

So you are agreeing that heading is wrong..... Afghanistan can never export or import directly (except from its neighbors) being a land locked country. There will always be a middle man for Afghanistan... This is another matter who is more reliable and who is not.....

No; I am not agreeing at all. You are seeing the word "directly" in a very limited "school-boyish way".
In trade terms; "direct" means something else.
Direct Trade is Trade that is directly arranged for and controlled by the two parties concerned. I.E. in all its implications, negotiations, setting of conditions and tariffs, arranging finances such as L.Cs, deciding what items to be traded etc etc.

That trade can pass through any mode(s) of transport or through any countries of transit. E.G. India trades with Switzerland (another land-locked country), part of that trade passes through the port of Genoa in Italy. But Italy has nothing to with the trade itself apart from recovering transit costs and taxes/duties. Italy cannot stop that trade.
That is Direct Trade. Similarly Nepal does Direct Trade with BD; though it passes through India.

Better informed now about Direct Trade?

Using the term middleman is ok to some extent. Because it is simply a "non-technical one". But Pakistan is some what of a middleman because it has tried to put barriers in Indo-Afghan trade.

linking Afghan and Iran in one swoop , totally bypassing the Pakistani mainland... very significant achievement which is bound to pay dividends for many many years to come.

This effectively checkmates Gwadar's significance as a dock for Chinese presence in the IOR .

We gain plausible reason to be manning our military vessels just 72 km ahead of gwadar, beyond our own territorial waters ,while staying in the diplomatic ambit of Iran . And as our trade with Iran and Afg increases so will our diplomatic relations ..:tup:

only in your dreams lol,
iran pakistan pipeline and the 4 billion dollar refinery iran is going to build in gawadar is all I'm going to mention good bye.

No; I am not agreeing at all. You are seeing the word "directly" in a very limited "school-boyish way".
Direct Trade is Trade that is directly arranged for and controlled by the two parties concerned. I.E. in all its implications, negotiations, setting of conditions and tariffs, arranging finances such as L.Cs, deciding what items to be traded etc etc.

That trade can pass through any mode(s) of transport or through any countries of transit. E.G. India trades with Switzerland (another land-locked country), part of that trade passes through the port of Genoa in Italy. But Italy has nothing to with the trade itself apart from recovering transit costs and taxes/duties. Italy cannot stop that trade.
That is Direct Trade. Similarly Nepal does Direct Trade with BD; though it passes through India.

Using the term middleman is ok to some extent. Because it is simply a "non-technical one". But Pakistan is some what of a middleman because it has tried to put barriers in Indo-Afghan trade.

read the bolded part again, and it proves that direct trade isn't actually direct trade, there is a middleman.

2nd fastest growing among trillion dollar economies.. and not needing any IMF bailouts ;)

but still cant generate enough taxes to meet even 75% of its budget what shame lol.

Excellent news! :pop:

Here's some info for those interested:

India is developing the port and will spend over $100 million in development of the port's infrastructure. It is the only Iranian port with direct access to the ocean. The growing commercial sector located at the free trade area has high potentiality to turn it into a hub that would connect business growth centers in south Asia (India) and Middle East (Dubai) to central Asian and Afghanistan markets.

chabahar-vs-gwadar-map1.jpg

Afghanistan being a land-locked country, most of its international trade is being done through Pakistani sea-ports. Therefore, India wished to connect to Afghanistan via an alternative route (through Iran). So, a trilateral agreement was signed among India, Iran and Afghanistan.

Under this agreement:

> Iran is to build a highway from Chabahar (a Port City of Iran) up to Afghanistan border.
> India is to build a road connecting Delaram (border city of Afghanistan) to Zaranj (Capital of Nimruz province of Afghanistan).

Map%252520Delaram.png

Further, the establishment of the port and its connection to the country’s railway plan, is under study and consideration. With the completion of the Kerman–Zahedan railway and its connection to the port of Chabahar, this port will connect to the Trans-Iranian Railway. India is finalizing a plan to construct the 900-km railway line that will connect Chabahar port in Iran, being built with Indian help, to the mineral-rich Hajigak region of Afghanistan.

01_11_pg1a.jpg

Good going India! :tup:

Cheers!

key word "going to"

its nothing but wet dreams as of now.

Arre yaar! Thu kyun ithna pissed off ho raha hai? Hum Afghanistan-Iran-India trade ke bare men discuss kar rahe hain aur thu taang beech men kyon adda raha hai? :pissed: :lol:

lol, iran is with pakistan i hope you know.
it will back us before you or the afghanis if anything.

have you guys noticed that non of the indians in this thread have mocked pakistani economy....inspite of having so many poor in our country...such a huge population v r dealing with .....still we are a trillion dollar economy which is growing quite fast though there are so many obstacles.....rupee is falling only bcoz of our sickular leadership....u guys do not have a huge poverty problem or population problem....what are you people doing ????

trillion dollar economy is worthless with a billion people, if you had a 100 million people then it would be impressive.

Why secretly? :) You can smile openly.......... :lol:
But let us not forget Iran at this moment. Iran helped to make this happen. Iran facilitated this and Iran can really help in the role of stabilising and re-building Afghanistan.
The people who under-estimate Iran's importance in the region will only do so at their own peril. Even the USA needs to wake up to this reality. Though I know that they already are beginning to; India has woken up Uncle Sam to that fact.

@Sher Malang; Congratulations to you and your fellow citizens. Hope that this spells the beginning of better times for Afghanistan.

ok well, if israel attacks iran where will you be then?

THe port will not be used for military purpose , what im point at is the "option" to maneuver further from our coasts in a certain "securing our interest pretext" under the diplomatic ambit or Iranian regime. Its not an aggressive move but it forces the aggressor to maneuver cautiously so as to not offend more than one parties at once.

Iran and Indian interests will be intertwined after this and so will the security of our shipping lanes. The end result is increased stability and nothing else.

india can't ever park its ships in iran, pakistan will shove its foot up indias as s.
and second iran will never let an enemy nation to pakistan park its ships there as well.

only in your dreams lol,
iran pakistan pipeline and the 4 billion dollar refinery iran is going to build in gawadar is all I'm going to mention good bye.

read the bolded part again, and it proves that direct trade isn't actually direct trade, there is a middleman.

When will you "school-boys" grow up?
There is no middleman. Only a Darwaan, who gets paid every time a truck passes through. He lifts the barrier then and waves the truck on its journey forward!

Are you trying to be funny or stupid?
Where will India be then? Where it is right now. :laugh:
I.E. in the Indian Peninsular Region of Asia; controlling the Indian Ocean and its main SLOCs.

Can we also export all afghans to India via chabahar

Why not use Gwadar instead? Is'nt it up and running; is'nt the port operational?
Besides it will be easier and cheaper.

When will you "school-boys" grow up?
There is no middleman. Only a Darwaan, who gets paid every time a truck passes through. He lifts the barrier then and waves the truck on its journey forward!

seems like a middleman to me.
it all depends on your definition of middleman i guess.

Are you trying to be funny or stupid?
Where will India be then? Where it is right now. :laugh:
I.E. in the Indian Peninsular Region of Asia; controlling the Indian Ocean and its main SLOCs.

where will india stand?
with iran or israel?

india can't ever park its ships in iran, pakistan will shove its foot up indias as s.
and second iran will never let an enemy nation to pakistan park its ships there as well.
Ever heard of Indian navy kiddo??
And yes we have enough money ourr PPP per capita is much more than you

Ever heard of Indian navy kiddo??
And yes we have enough money ourr PPP per capita is much more than you

yeh, ever heard of pakistani army, navy and air force?
ever heard of china?

Good news for Afghanistan

and for Pakistan aswell

I am all for fencing the border with afghanistan..we should have only a few border posts like on indian border.
We need to secure our border with afghanistan than we can win the war against ttp without the afghan side helping them with sheltering,money and weapons

lol, iran is with pakistan i hope you know.
it will back us before you or the afghanis if anything.

trillion dollar economy is worthless with a billion people, if you had a 100 million people then it would be impressive.

yeah i know that but still indian economy is considered rising thats why we are a part of BRICS and G15 isn it ??? tatz why FDI came here........after having so many poor and hungry and other problems....we have achieved this much.....soon we will achieve more if v can.... will get rid of poverty....etc etc......same will be done by pakistan as it is a resource rich country.....

First try to read and interpret what you post....... The question still is, how direct, when you have to rely on some one else port, pay them duties, use their land to pass on.....

And if as per the definition of "Direct Trade", Afghanistan was already doing this since long... Pakistan, Iran, China etc. were not dictating them the terms of trades with other countries. They were previously paying duties and using land of a neighbor country, they will do the same.

we need to focus on gwadar and china involvement.

we should not compare afghanistan in chabahar with china in gwadar.
China alone trade with middle east in 2010 was 210billion dollars.must be close to 300billions dollars now
while afghanistan largest and majority of the trade partner is pakistan and still the trade is less than a billion dollars.