19 Places Every Muslim Must Visit in India

Super post.

You and I have probably got an overlap in the aunties we hang out with. Lol :lol:

My dad's family is from Kanpur, with continuing deep links in Lucknow.

Cheers, Doc
really rather not give out too many personal details on here but yeah.. you know what I'm saying.

"Indian" society is a rather complex thing, much like our streams of the indigenous ancient tradition, one lifetime would barely suffice to get a proper understanding of it all. Pick one, stick to it, and at the end of your existence here you'd still be learning new things and not know it all..

Known a couple you lot growing up.. Nilofer aunty from toddlerhood, and her son Ruzbeh.. my strictly temple going veggie mum makes a mean parsi chicken, the one served with scrawny french fries as a garnish, what's it called ?

really rather not give out too many personal details on here but yeah.. you know what I'm saying.

"Indian" society is a rather complex thing, much like our streams of the indigenous ancient tradition, one lifetime would barely suffice to get a proper understanding of it all. Pick one, stick to it, and at the end of your existence here you'd still be learning new things and not know it all..

Known a couple you lot growing up.. Nilofer aunty from toddlerhood, and her son Ruzbeh.. my strictly temple going veggie mum makes a mean parsi chicken, the one served with scrawny french fries as a garnish, what's it called ?

Sali marghi ...

https://defence.pk/pdf/threads/are-there-any-indians-that-like-pakistan.394318/page-16#post-7572624

Cheers, Doc

Babri Mosque should be the place every Muslim must visit,if Indian govt who have destroyed the mosque and army who occupies it. Only God knows what is happening in there.

Screenshot_20200724-055824_Samsung Internet.jpg
Screenshot_20200724-055759_Samsung Internet.jpg

Most visibly on some of these mainstream news channels... it is not in good taste, some of the screaming that goes down on there. It's also mostly to keep the hardcore Hindutva base fired up, but who are in reality a much smaller group than one might think.

There is also a peace loving non hateful majority of softcore "hindutva", our sufi version lol of Modi voters and people. Not all black and white, nothing in the world is. What they have accomplished is to shift the Overton window to the right, this sometimes manifests in ugly ways such as little kids calling other little kids "pakistani", some weirdness in some office spaces. Most regrettable, but society at large remains largely genuinely polite and good, the way it's been since independence.

I agree with treating minorities fairly, a bit of affirmative action is fine too but let us not go overboard with it, that only hurts the country. At the same time, the left wing hate for all things "Hindu" is also real, this is what the hardcore feed of off. The entire political discourse just makes one's brain explode if you get too caught up in it.

The BJP is a centre right party, not far right or anything crazy. Mr Modi is an out and out capitalist, that is his world view as PM (not going to deep dive into all the policy matters but that is who he is, it's super obvious to anyone who gives a real dekko into what he's been up to)

Here's a fun one to end on a lighter note.. so this Shia aunty, old friends of the family.. deep interior heartland ke once-upon-a-time nobility (nawabi) background waaley log.. her mum apparently was one of 11 or something from the nawab's wifey harem garage thing way back in the day :lol:

In the early days of the covid thing (March?) at a random chai samosa get together, this very elegant lady went completely ballistic at the tableeghi jamaat "spreading the virus".. "those damn Sunnis hate this country" etc.. rest of us kafirs didn't dare utter a word of course lol

Don't worry about Indian Muslims.

Also, please consider visiting and see for yourself sometime.

@jamahir @xeuss @Naofumi @The_Showstopper

@masterchief_mirza
To the Indian psyche (moderate or otherwise), Indian Muslims are viewed and portrayed as:

images.jpeg

2020-07-24-11-07-30--800292941.jpeg

images.jpeg

Until the rightful place of the descendants of the mughals is restored as the builders of pre-colonial India and hence decisive contributors to the modern nation state of India (barring the non-native British), there is little chance of me gracing India's dilapidated and deliberately neglected monuments with my esteemed presence.

Mughals were native?

I managed to stick on long enough to afford you the opportunity of engaging me.

Cheers, Doc

most of them high tailed it to Pak in the 40s

gareeb bechaey yahan reh gaye

kyun nahi le ke gaye ?

hamari galti nahi hai unki plight (most of them ki)

Mughals were native?

long dead arbis, turkis and central asians, sir.

chhodo kal ki baatein, kal ki baat purani...

most of them high tailed it to Pak in the 40s

gareeb bechaey yahan reh gaye

kyun nahi le ke gaye ?

hamari galti nahi hai unki plight (most of them ki)

I don't like to give any oxygen to this myth/trope.

It is deliberately propagated to establish racial/moral/social superiority of Pakistani Muslims over Indian Muslims.

I have seen it in action when listening to some Muslims speak about Pakistani girls. Nose, skin etc. They are in awe.

Its not right and it makes me feel sick about my own countrymen.

Cheers, Doc

"The BJP is a centre right party, not far right or anything crazy. "

Here's my favourite bit @dharmi

Subconsciously, you realise that Modi indeed represents mainstream middle class Hindu thought in India and even abroad.

By Indian standards, yes he is close to the middle. Do you think he would last five minutes in a European centrist party with his record and beliefs? Remind us of the broad cross section of western political spectrum representation he took boating in Kashmir.

Mughals were native?

Cheers, Doc
Not sure where you're trying to take this....perhaps i oversimplified.....mughals were originally invaders, then as an empire became integrated.

Is this any different to what the Aryans did in northern and central Indian territory?

Why are the mughals reviled but the Aryans literally worshipped?