(OLD News 2019) COAS General Qamar Javed Bajwa given 3 years extension

well PTI fanboys are cheering this move despite being a bad one. What else should I say about them?

If India attacks tomorrow, would we have a COAS with the knowledge, experience and team that current COAS does? Transition takes time for new COAS to settle in, he will be commanding the whole army and not just one part of it.

I'm not in favour of this in routine times but we simply don't have the luxury of a new COAS settling in with Indian Army in attack formations and serious fighting at CFL.

If India attacks tomorrow, would we have a COAS with the knowledge, experience and team that current COAS does? Transition takes time for new COAS to settle in, he will be commanding the whole army and not just one part of it.

I'm not in favour of this in routine times but we simply don't have the luxury of a new COAS settling in with Indian Army in attack formations and serious fighting at CFL.

COAS would be retiring in November and not today so your logic is flawed

And the new army chief would be from military with years of military service. This is pak army general we are talking about

Us ka doodh ka karobar nahi tha peechai. Woh bhi fauji tha

All senior Generals are competent enough to take his role and they dont need any training or experience . COAS come and go and institution of army keep producing their replacement

You did not answer my questions

What is guarantee that situation will get better after three years? What you will do if situation stay the same or even get worse after three year? extension of Bajwa for three more years? Why one of the best professional army cannot produce a replacement of Bajwa?

also you did not watch the previous statements of Imran khan where he said that extension should be allowed even in war like situation so what you suggest he was wrong before or is wrong right now?

Another negative impact is reputation of army as an institution

PML(N) and Pee Pee Pee openly called Imran Khan puppet which simply meant that he is puppet of army establishment. With this stupid move Imran Khan actually gave credence to those allegations. He actually attacked credibility of army as an institution with this move

I am disappointed with Imran Khan. This is just another front where he has disappointed me as a voter

COAS would be retiring in November and not today so your logic is flawed

And the new army chief would be from military with years of military service. This is pak army general we are talking about

Us ka doodh ka karobar nahi tha peechai. Woh bhi fauji tha

You have your opinion, I have mine. It's unwise to change a competent Sipah Salar in the middle of a war.

Pakistan has seen worse. And this is not a war

If it is a war then what exactly Indian embassy is doing in Islamabad?

Good decision, I'd say, we are in a state of war, these are not internal operations like Zarb-e-Azb. We are dealing with a bigger threat, a crazy Ivan hindutva leader Modi who is threatening to attack with nukes.

Another negative impact is reputation of army as an institution

PML(N) and Pee Pee Pee openly called Imran Khan puppet which simply meant that he is puppet of army establishment. With this stupid move Imran Khan actually gave credence to those allegations. He actually attacked credibility of army as an institution with this move

I am disappointed with Imran Khan. This is just another front where he has disappointed me as a voter
Yes true and this move is not helping when you talk about strengthening the institution of Pakistan. You have good understanding/relationship with Bajwa so let give him three more years.. extra-ordinary circumstances in the region is just a flimsy excuse to give him an extension.

Can mods wake up and take some action against those who are calling other members ghaddars and modi ka yar and high treason etc. and saying they should be 'dealt with' merely because they don't think bajwa extension was a wise move.

IS this the way discussion is carried out on this forum? IF someone holds a different view from you on an internal matter (not something related to the enemy) than you accuse them of high treason???

Please ban such individuals and delete their posts.

For those who are opposing this extension have no idea what we are dealing with right now.

Or their papa/chacha/mamoo/bhai are awaiting their promotions.

national security is paramount

Yes true and this move is not helping when you talk about strengthening the institution of Pakistan. You have good understanding/relationship with Bajwa so let give him three more years.. extra-ordinary circumstances in the region is just a flimsy excuse to give him an extension.

Another important thing is that PML(N) and Pee Pee Pee have done a massive campaign since elections that Imran Khan is selected. In simple words he is not elected by people of Pakistan but COAS rigged elections and made him PM

Now with this decision, PM IK actually gave credibility to those elections. He proved MAryam Nawaz and Bilawal right with this move. Now all PML(N) and Pee Pee Pee supporters would be "Dekha hum to kehtai thai yeh selected hai"

That hurts institution of Pakistan army. I hope we don't have to face what happened during days of Musharraf or even Kayani.

How long does it take for a COAS to settle in with his team? Enlighten us please. One week? One month?
No time required. Institution of army is not working like a private company where new manager will take some time to know his team members to get settle in new corporation When Bajwa replaced Raheel then he got settled straight away because already had enough experience before taking this role and same will be applicable to whoever replace him in future

War has started. Strategies drawn and all forces are at red alert status.

Foolish to believe otherwise.

No war hasn't started. War hai. Star plus ka drama nahi jis ka pehlai promo aaye ga aur phir drama

Yes their are tensions at LOC. Yes thinks aren't improving anytime soon. But this decision wasn't required despite all that

Pak army is a merit based institution that has enough officers who can replace Bajwa any day any time