Idea no.2: Agriculture

@DESERT FIGHTER @BHarwana

As an expert in the area...The problems I see is the following:

The seeds ESP if you buy them....Are made in America for American soil, American weather, American ground water potential...

This is what happens when you buy from breeding companies like Syngenta and Monsato...

The seeds are "specially" bred choosing lines which have worked in American...So when you try to grow them in Pakistan...they dont respond similarly...

BEST seeds will be those that already grow in Pakistan and you cross breed them yourself through experiments...

NARC or PARC hasnt really made any seed on its own...It buys...I know this coz I went to an interview for a job there...I said it right on their face you guys dont produce seed you just buy it from USA....Safe to say I wasnt employed :ashamed: but they appreciated my criticism ... :p:

The improvement is there especially in rice sector. When I was very young I only use to see rice grown in sheikupura and pindi bhattian while travelling to my own village and now my area is one of the biggest rice growing areas in Punjab. The money makes the farmer adapt. It is the best motivation. Wheat in Pakistan has it very own good seeds and rice is doing fine as well. Sugar cane got very much improved. The main thing we need to focus is other stuff. Pakistan is making abundant progress is staple food but not is cash cows of agriculture. Like Berry's and fruits and moderan veges stuff which we can export daily to China and rest of the world.

In this country agriculture is barely a way to survive.

You cant become rich by agriculture.
Its good as a hobby but not as a profession.
An agriculturally rich country with agri goods making a big chunk of GDP and about 50-60% of the population in agriculture...It is really sad! It is no wonder why our poor are soo poorer

Sir kahan kar rahy hain aap kuch experience detail main batain :) get lost due to 2 reason as it was near Thatta so checking everyday was not possible from Karachi taught me very valueable lesson.This thing demands your own presence from morning to evening otherwise labor going to get lazy.Lost in farming but better return in rice and wheat crops option.In Sindh we don't get much help from agri dept but US aid and now SIAP at least guides much (subsidies same issue paisy waqt py milty nahi agar taluqat na hn tu ) from federal got PARC very helping.Lesser land leveler bhi mil jata hai,khaal pakka karany py subsidy (wohi purani story ) ,worked on drip its better if we try to do most work ourselves not an big science cost lots cheaper than getting service(get help from friend who did all by himself ) .Ostrich was becoming fashion few years back but due to its cost kinda doom project from day one.If market not going to buy esp on this rate there was and will be no scope of any product .Free range becoming quite hit(PARC also provided some good chicken breeds ) desi chicken and eggs becoming popular in cities after so much about broilers.What u wanna export?friend is exporting fodder mostly to Dubai persoanl contacts not proper like on L/C.There is also lot of free online courses i enroll (like University of Arkansas) some very good but paid one offered by Australian's too .Scope tu hai Sir i m not saying for personally if any educated one start doing it he can also help fellow farmers in area
Same story here, I couldnt take out time to go and farm myself.

Wheat yields arent high barely 32-35.

Baqi everything is being imported.
Drip irrigation? Jaffar brothers (shahra e faisal) imports the main turbines from india.
The pipes and solar panels are chinese and the cost is higher what one can source himself.

I gave up agriculture few years back to setup other business. Trust me I fucked up and returned back. It is good business.
How much land do you farm?

The trend came in from east from sahiwal. After harvester there is a new tractor mounted cutter for straw and the very edge which survives is rootiwated back into soil.
In West they are working on robotics...Self driven tractors even some on solar....

I attended a workshop on the hyperspectral camera used for the machines/ fully automated....interesting tech! makes one drool ;)

https://www.postscapes.com/agriculture-drone-companies/

https://www.postscapes.com/agriculture-robots/

https://mashable.com/2017/10/17/robotic-farming-innovations-automate-farming/

@DESERT FIGHTER

But we dont need these in Pakistan coz they cut cost...less labour for countries that dont have manpower...Pakistan has plenty of manpower that is employed in agri business...

The improvement is there especially in rice sector. When I was very young I only use to see rice grown in sheikupura and pindi bhattian while travelling to my own village and now my area is one of the biggest rice growing areas in Punjab. The money makes the farmer adapt. It is the best motivation. Wheat in Pakistan has it very own good seeds and rice is doing fine as well. Sugar cane got very much improved. The main thing we need to focus is other stuff. Pakistan is making abundant progress is staple food but not is cash cows of agriculture. Like Berry's and fruits and moderan veges stuff which we can export daily to China and rest of the world.
Tunnel farming is another option but it demands too much attention and care.
Good farm hands are also hard to find these days.

@Dubious @zulu. @BHarwana any agri related courses available in Karachi?

FOr the sake of others (which area wise different some but not much ) per acre profit ratio bata dain after every expense of Wheat,rice and Sugarcane
I gave up agriculture few years back to setup other business. Trust me I fucked up and returned back. It is good business.

U also from Karachi ?? :) no sir not about tunnel here at least also its kinda rage in Punjab wahan sy mil jaati hain kuch info esp i pin Agri university Faisalabad :) about drip he did simple pumps waghera khud direct import china sy,pipes ky liye sher shah sy aagy gaye thy (not big space over 2 acre ka tha ) khud setup kuch problems aaii one by one sort out kar liya (asal issue surface level aaya tha
Tunnel farming is another option but it demands too much attention and care.
Good farm hands are also hard to find these days.

@Dubious @zulu. @BHarwana any agri related courses available in Karachi?

Punjab Sir?
Govt is giving 3200rs per animal.

U also from Karachi ?? :) no sir not about tunnel here at least also its kinda rage in Punjab wahan sy mil jaati hain kuch info esp i pin Agri university Faisalabad :) about drip he did simple pumps waghera khud direct import china sy,pipes ky liye sher shah sy aagy gaye thy (not big space over 2 acre ka tha ) khud setup kuch problems aaii one by one sort out kar liya (asal issue surface level aaya tha

Punjab Sir?
Yeah currently based in Karachi.

Punjab Sir?
Bought land in southern panjab.

In native balochistan its next to impossible due to land and water shortage.

Actually rice and wheat WERE doing fine...With rapid climate change it will be tough in near future due to following:

Pakistani seeds cant do without much water...So we need lots of water...
Secondly we dont really need much fertilizer in most of the land coz we got fertile soil but because WESTERN seed sellers use fertilizer alot due to their soils not being like Pakistani we got leaching problems and alot of waste! We could just use organic from left overs (compost) or even cow dung but people feel embarrassed although organic sellers more expensive in West coz it is deemed healthier!

Also with climate change...the flowering will be effected and without flowering you will not have grain fill and seeds...So there needs to be some research into improving the seeds through breeding and trials!

In West they are working on robotics...Self driven tractors even some on solar....

I attended a workshop on the hyperspectral camera used for the machines/ fully automated....interesting tech! makes one drool ;)

https://www.postscapes.com/agriculture-drone-companies/

https://www.postscapes.com/agriculture-robots/

https://mashable.com/2017/10/17/robotic-farming-innovations-automate-farming/

@DESERT FIGHTER

But we dont need these in Pakistan coz they cut cost...less labour for countries that dont have manpower...Pakistan has plenty of manpower that is employed in agri business...
We need to provide employment to our people and automation will make more problems for us bro.