Google Celebrates Pakistan born Nobel-Prize Winning Biochemist Har Gobind Khorana

Har Gobind Khorana deciphered DNA and wrote the dictionary for our genetic language
Tuesday’s Google Doodle honors the pioneering biochemist and Nobel Laureate.
By Umair Irfan Updated Jan 9, 2018, 2:59pm EST TWEET
har_gobind_khoranas_96th_birthday_4731112378073088_2x.0.jpg
Rohan Dahotre/Google
Our understanding of how genes shape us owes much to the work of Har Gobind Khorana, the Indian-American biochemist celebrated in Tuesday’s Google Doodle on what would have been Khorana’s 96th birthday.

Khorana, depicted in the doodle by Bangalore-based illustrator Rohan Dahotre, shared the 1968 Nobel Prize in physiology/medicine with Robert Holley and Marshall Nirenberg “for their interpretation of the genetic code and its function in protein synthesis.”

Working independently of each other, the researchers mapped out what’s now the central dogma of biology — that information is stored in DNA, a genetic instruction manual, and then transcribed into RNA, which in turn is translated into the language of proteins.

The world-renowned scientist’s illustrious career blossomed from humble roots. Uncertain of his own birthdate (he guessed it was January 9), Khorana was the fifth child born to a Hindu family in 1922 in Raipur, a 100-person village in the Punjab region of what is now Pakistan.

He started his education at a village school that met under a tree and quickly demonstrated an aptitude for science, tempered with humility. He received a scholarship to study chemistry at Punjab University in Lahore, but he was too shy to attend the mandatory admissions interview and considered majoring in English instead.

The admissions committee was still impressed enough with Khorana’s application that they enrolled him anyway. He went on to earn undergraduate and master’s degrees in chemistry at Punjab University, followed by a doctorate in organic chemistry at the University of Liverpool in England.

His friend Uttam L. RajBhandary, a molecular biology professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, said Khorana was drawn to solving tough, critical problems. “He was not influenced by its difficulty or the time needed to solve it, as long as it was of fundamental importance,” RajBhandary wrote.

Khorana did stints in research institutions in Switzerland and Canada before landing at the Institute for Enzyme Research and the University of Wisconsin, Madison. There, he decoded how cells read the language of RNA written in structures represented by the letters A, C, U, and G. He did this by using enzymes to create sequences of these letters. Arranging them into distinct patterns, he and other scientists found that the genetic code comprised 64 three-letter “words,” known as codons.

The words code instructions for arranging amino acids, the basic units of proteins. The sequence “GGT” codes the amino acid glycine, for example, while the “UAA” codon tells cellular machinery to stop adding to a nascent protein.

Put together, the findings yielded something of a Rosetta Stone for genetics, bridging the divide between molecular instructions and the machinery they build.

genetic_code_acgt_lg__1_.jpg

A table showing the three-letter RNA codons associated with proteins
National Institutes of Health
Khorana went on to develop a way to make a synthetic gene and then place the lab-made gene in a living bacterium. The tiny engineered organism was a massive leap forward, helping launch the biotechnology sector and blazing a trail for scientists looking to manipulate life at its most fundamental levels, including recent work on editing genomes using the CRISPR/Cas9 system.

Khorana was working across the fields of chemistry, biology, and physics years before interdisciplinary research was common. One of his students, Michael Smith, went on to receive the 1993 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for work on creating artificial mutations in DNA.

GettyImages_89859460.jpg

Har Gobind Khorana
Apic/Getty Images
Khorana became a US citizen in 1966 and faculty member at MIT in 1970, retiring in 2007.

Despite his accomplishments, Khorana’s friends described him as a modest man who avoided publicity. Nonetheless, he maintained his scientific curiosity until the end. RajBhandary wrote that three days before Khorana died, “I was by his hospital bed and we talked about glucose and the brain.”

Khorana died November 9, 2011, at the age of 89.

Was this article helpful?
Zara num hoto yeh matti bari zerkhaiz hai saqi...

He got his entire education uptil chemistry masters in pakistan, then moved abroad, never visited india never took indian citizenship, seriously how much more shameless you could get mallu?
He obviously considered himself Hindustani in origin and that's the reason media and called him Indian. If he himself had identified himself as originating from Pakistan, why would media identify him as Indian???

Elementary. Also, I'm a Kannadiga not mallu but yes from the southern regions of India.

He obviously considered himself Hindustani in origin and that's the reason media and called him Indian. If he himself had identified himself as originating from Pakistan, why would media identify him as Indian???

Elementary. Also, I'm a Kannadiga not mallu but yes from the southern regions of India.
No he never considered himself Hindustani. There is no mention of it anywhere. Do you have any proof of it coming from his memoirs or anything? How would a newspaper report make it his choice? Why you indians seem to have severe lack of common sense or iq?

And if he had to identify himself as hindustani why he returned back to pakistan in 1949.
And how media reports are going to be a decisive factor who a person linked himself with or not?
Also i kept repeating here he got his majority of education in pakistan , moved abroad, never for once visited india nor studied from any of their colleges.

:astagh:.No body can beat you guys in art of fabrication.Here are some facts which reveal that he came to Lahore in 1949.I don't know whether Lahore was part of India till 1949.As per Wikipedia!!!

"During a brief period in 1949, he was unable to find a job in his original home area in the Punjab, which was in Pakistan by that time.[10] He returned to England on a fellowship to work with George Wallace Kenner and Alexander R. Todd on peptides and nucleotides.[17] He stayed in Cambridge from 1950 until 1952.He moved to Vancouver, British Columbia, with his family in 1952"

Wikipedia took this part from Mr Khorana ,s autobiography.You will find this part along with his country of birth missing in almost all Indian newspapers and books.The reason you now very well :D

Even according to a newspaper ,

When Khorana grew up and attended college in the US, he was able to gain scholarships
and obtain a doctorate in organic chemistry by 1948, when he was 26 years old.

As I posted earlier, he never set foot in Pakistan after 1947. Him and like all other hindus came to Delhi. Here. from your link.
VB9insO.png

No body can beat you guys in art of fabrication.
7bqJT

This information is wrong, it says in almost every other source that he returned to his ancestral home in Punjab and was unable to find a job due to partition. His ancestral home is in Pakistan, and nowhere is it said that he migrated to India during partition or obtained citizenship or passport there.
I would like to know what passport he carried till 1966.That will settle all dispute.He definitely didn't carry a Pakistani one.

As I posted earlier, he never set foot in Pakistan after 1947. Him and like all other hindus came to Delhi. Here. from your link.
VB9insO.png

7bqJT

I would like to know what passport he carried till 1966.That will settle all dispute.He definitely didn't carry a Pakistani one.

The only thing you prove is that his friends moved to India, why would it mention his friends and colleagues moved to India and not himself? Why would it mention the fact that his home is now Pakistan, and that he was unable to find a job there?

The definitive proof that you are a desperate liar; how was he able to move to and look for work in India when he had no documentation to show that he migrated or was a citizen there?

VB9insO.png

7bqJT

Dumb arse if khorana was visting pakistan in 49 naturally he had acquired pakistani passport. how else he could have entered pakistan otherwise. Cant believe these despo mallus and assamese,north easterners r trying their arses off to call a pakistani punjabi from multan educated at punjab uni lahore as their ganga lander n for that sake throwing around meaningless screenshots ,that prove nothing abt gobind but just that how dumb its poster is.

The British Indian passport was a passport, proof of national status and travel document issued to the British subjects of the British Indian Empire, British subjects from other parts of the British Empire, and the subjects of the British protected states in the Indian subcontinent (i. e. the British Protected Persons of the 'princely states'). The title of state used in the passport was the "Indian Empire", which covered all of modern India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Burma.
The use of the passport was discontinued after the independence of India and Pakistan in 1947, and
"its bearers were entitled to opt for Indian, Pakistani or British nationality."

So he opted for British nationality.With British nationality and passport going to Canada was not any issue. In 1949 George VI was the Sovereign of the parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy of Canada and Canada was under the British Crown since the eighteenth century.With British nationality and passport he move to to USA later on.
British Indian passport
190px-BIpassport.jpg

The front cover of a British Indian passport.
Issued by British Indian Empire
Type of document Passport
Purpose Identificatio

Dumb arse if khorana was visting pakistan in 49 naturally he had acquired pakistani passport. how else he could have entered pakistan otherwise. Cant believe these despo mallus and assamese,north easterners r trying their arses off to call a pakistani punjabi from multan educated at punjab uni lahore as their ganga lander n for that sake throwing around meaningless screenshots ,that prove nothing abt gobind but just that how dumb its poster is.

LOL, did you recently attend puberty?.:sarcastic:

One member says he carried pakistani passport while other says he carried british one.
Settle the dispute and alert me when you find the right one.
BTW he visited Delhi not Pakistan. It was delhi where his punjabi hindu family moved to after partition like all level headed punjabi hindus and he could not find job in Delhi. With all the riots that happened in 1947 do you really think an upper caste hindu would still live in lahore or whatever place in Pakistan?

The only thing you prove is that his friends moved to India, why would it mention his friends and colleagues moved to India and not himself? Why would it mention the fact that his home is now Pakistan, and that he was unable to find a job there?

The definitive proof that you are a desperate liar; how was he able to move to and look for work in India when he had no documentation to show that he migrated or was a citizen there?

Yea, desperation is high on your side not mine. Him , his family ,friends every one moved to delhi like all hindus during partition. Not only he,but all his friend were unemployed following the migration and that why Delhi was mentioned there not lahore , multan or any other place.

LOL, did you recently attend puberty?.:sarcastic:

One member says he carried pakistani passport while other says he carried british one.
Settle the dispute and alert me when you find the right one.
BTW he visited Delhi not Pakistan. It was delhi where his punjabi hindu family moved to after partition like all level headed punjabi hindus and he could not find job in Delhi. With all the riots that happened in 1947 do you really think an upper caste hindu would still live in lahore or whatever place in Pakistan?

Yea, desperation is high on your side not mine. Him , his family ,friends every one moved to delhi like all hindus during partition. Not only he,but all his friend were unemployed following the migration and that why Delhi was mentioned there not lahore , multan or any other place.
Any statement by har gonind that says he moved to delhi? And his family moved to dlehi? Any statement u have gotten?

He wasnt a hindu he was a sikh

Jis baniye ki zaat ko gaali dete rahe...
aaj uski hi jeet par haq jata rahe ho.

Aaj sahi mayene mein ek baniya jeet gaya aur tumhari quam haar gayi !!

Hey genius, if you ever looked at the world outside your village, you will realise that most people in the border regions had friends or family that moved in partition. His friends and family migrating proves nothing, other than how it may have made his work harder as the academics he used to work with had now moved to another country. Assuming he did move with all his academic friends why would it be even more difficult, surely for a group of highly educated researchers it would be easier to find work than a single researcher left behind by other academic colleagues.

Secondly your other point can also be used against your own argument, if he did move then what relevance is there whatsoever in mentioning his home village at all. Many other Indians that moved dont even mention whatsoever how their home town is now part of Pakistan so unless he returned to his home while it was under Pakistani control then there would be absolutely zero relevance in bringing it up anyway.

Hey genius, if you ever looked at the world outside your village, you will realise that most people in the border regions had friends or family that moved in partition. His friends and family migrating proves nothing, other than how it may have made his work harder as the academics he used to work with had now moved to another country. Assuming he did move with all his academic friends why would it be even more difficult, surely for a group of highly educated researchers it would be easier to find work than a single researcher left behind by other academic colleagues.

Secondly your other point can also be used against your own argument, if he did move then what relevance is there whatsoever in mentioning his home village at all. Many other Indians that moved dont even mention whatsoever how their home town is now part of Pakistan so unless he returned to his home while it was under Pakistani control then there would be absolutely zero relevance in bringing it up anyway.

What's up with all these condescending tone of Pak posters here ? Can't argue properly or what.
As for your second point I found this. Would you agree now? I m bored arguing here.

"Har Gobind Khorana was born in Raipur, a small village in Punjab territory of United India on 9th January 1922. His father shri Ganpat Rai was doing job of Patwari. He understood the importance of education and provide full encouragement to all of his children to study. His family was the only literate in the village. So, during childhood, he sit on steps of the post office for transcripting letters to illiterate villagers. They were used to wake up very early in the morning and start working, so his home was marked as first blowing chimney in the village. He had completed his primary schooling in Raipur in open class under the trees.

He attended D.A.V. High School in Multan, & obtained an B. Sc. Degree in 1943 and M. Sc. Degree in 1945 from Punjab University. He was awarded by the Government of India Fellowship programmes to go to England for a Ph. D. degree at the University of Liverpool.

During 1947, India get freedom. So his family shifted to New Delhi. New government granted further one year’s scholarship for post doctoral work, which he did at Switzerland’s Federal Institute of Technology. There he meet Esther Sibler who became good friend and courage him
.He return to New Delhi in 1949 and search for proper work or job. He couldn’t get his level of work, so he went to England. There he obtained a fellowship to work with A.R.Todd. He stayed in Cambridge and worked in both proteins and nucleic acid"

Source:http://www.scienceindia.in/home/view_article/24

Any statement by har gonind that says he moved to delhi? And his family moved to dlehi? Any statement u have gotten?

He wasnt a hindu he was a sikh
He was a Punjabi-Hindu, you didn`t even know that ?

What's up with all these condescending tone of Pak posters here ? Can't argue properly or what.
As for your second point I found this. Would you agree now? I m bored arguing here.

"Har Gobind Khorana was born in Raipur, a small village in Punjab territory of United India on 9th January 1922. His father shri Ganpat Rai was doing job of Patwari. He understood the importance of education and provide full encouragement to all of his children to study. His family was the only literate in the village. So, during childhood, he sit on steps of the post office for transcripting letters to illiterate villagers. They were used to wake up very early in the morning and start working, so his home was marked as first blowing chimney in the village. He had completed his primary schooling in Raipur in open class under the trees.

He attended D.A.V. High School in Multan, & obtained an B. Sc. Degree in 1943 and M. Sc. Degree in 1945 from Punjab University. He was awarded by the Government of India Fellowship programmes to go to England for a Ph. D. degree at the University of Liverpool.

During 1947, India get freedom. So his family shifted to New Delhi. New government granted further one year’s scholarship for post doctoral work, which he did at Switzerland’s Federal Institute of Technology. There he meet Esther Sibler who became good friend and courage him
.He return to New Delhi in 1949 and search for proper work or job. He couldn’t get his level of work, so he went to England. There he obtained a fellowship to work with A.R.Todd. He stayed in Cambridge and worked in both proteins and nucleic acid"

Source:http://www.scienceindia.in/home/view_article/24

He was a Punjabi-Hindu, you didn`t even know that ?

Give me a non-Indian source.

"In 1949 Gobind was required to return to India to fulfill the requirements of service mandated by his earlier scholarship, but in post-partition India his ancestral village ended up in Pakistan and his family had dispersed. Unable to find work and living in the servants' quarters of his uncle's house in New Delhi, Gobind became essentially an academic refugee, spending a fruitless year looking for work. Thankfully, the government annulled the bond to repay his scholarship and he accepted a fellowship to work with Alexander R. (Lord) Todd at Cambridge, England, thanks to the help of Cambridge professor G. W. Kenner, whom Gobind had met in Zurich."

Non-Indian source -- https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3283548/

As I stated earlier he didn`t even set foot in newly created nation of Pakistan since 1947.