Devil Soul

WB offers $2b assistance package for Pakistan
19 MINS AGO BY APP
pm_mdwrldbank.jpg

The World Bank on Monday offered International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) assistance package of $2 billion for over a period of four years after break of many years.

In a meeting with Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Managing Director World Bank Sri Mulyani Indrawati appreciated the successful economic turnaround in the country. She also appreciated the economic turnaround made possible by the policies of the government and the macro-economic stability achieved by virtue of these policies.

The prime minister appreciated the World Bank’s continuous support to Pakistan and said that priority areas of development strategy are energy, economy, and education sectors and welcomed the cooperation of WB and other development partners in these areas.

The MD World Bank said the confidence of the public and private sector has been restored and World Bank considers Pakistan as a reliable partner and is looking forward to increasing cooperation.

PM Sharif informed the MD World Bank about improving and building of rail and road links from Karachi and Gwadar to Turkmen city of Tirmiz, where Central Asian States including Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Afghanistan and Tajikistan have borders at short distances. She assured World Bank’s support for the proposed initiative.

Fully Greece 2 , banane ki sazish jari hai

Once again for useless road projects instead of funds for DAM

There aid must be taken with lots of caution always and if leaders are corrupt or over ambitious like greece then its vicious circle

Aur ye kanjar apna kanjar puna dikhanay se baaz nai aenge.. Aur Haan kar denge.

lol :rofl::rofl::rofl:

Is dafa kuch paisey kharch kr key mujh jesay andhey Pakistanio ko wo chashma to ley dein jis sey chacha ishaq daar Dubai bethay bhi yahan development dekh leta hay magar humein nazar nai aati :undecided:

. . . . .
Greece 2? No way. Greece wins gold. Greek debt is 140 times more than Pakistan. In other words if there were 140 Pakistans then it would match Greece.

Aik Zardari sb pey bhaari

This makes very little sense. What's being offered is an IBRD loan for $2 billion which is going to come with very strict conditions. There was a previous IDA (the second of the world bank's lending sources, and much less strict than the IBRD) credit for tertiary education. That project was a disaster because of a lack of implementation capacity at the Pakistan HEC and the project had to be restructured. I don't see why an IBRD loan, with stricter conditions should work now. They mention education as one the priority areas but IBRD loans never work (and are usually not used) for 'soft' sectors like education.

I know that the IBRD lending targets haven't been met and this is a way to push a loan on to Pakistan so that the Bank's targets can be met. I hope Pakistan avoids it.

Greece 2? No way. Greece wins gold. Greek debt is 140 times more than Pakistan. In other words if there were 140 Pakistans then it would match Greece.

Pakistan does not have good credit rating so we get few loans and with high interest rates. While after Greece joined Euro zone its credit rating was increased and its interest rates were lowered. Greeks went beserk and took huge loans which were spent lavishly and most money disappeared. Now they are nearly bankrupt.

They will pay from our blood & sweat and will build more mansions with the commission they will get.

Is that really true? The rulers aren't spending anything on Pakistan? Everything goes into their house...the entire budget of Pakistan?

Here, to open your eyes and the people like you, read the two links provided below. Apparently, the Europeans and the US are focused on working with Pakistan as they've identified significant opportunities with the growing economy.

But people like you and others, have your own agendas, some come from a military background and still can't get over Musharraf's trial, the others, are coming from IK and still can't get over the fact that his sit ins were disastrous. So here, I present these two foreign reports to you, so you may see how much progress is being made and the globe is wanting to invest in your country, while you biitch and lie about "no progress" on here!!!!

Here, enjoy:

Pakistan: The Next Colombia Success Story?

Pakistan's Japanese-dominated car market poised for new entrants ‹ Japan Today: Japan News and Discussion