With an eerie calm, Kashmir watches the “Kashmirisation” of India

terry5

Palestinian Territory, Occupied
Over the past many weeks, television visuals from the rest of India have kept Kashmiris hooked.

For decades a staple of their protests, the various iterations of their favourite Azadislogan now reverberate in other parts of the country.

Across India, students, teachers, advocates, and other civilians have marched against a new citizenship law, enacted in December, that’s been widely deemed anti-Muslim. Pitched battles have been fought between the police and armed hooligans often on one side and students and other protesters on the other. Some 25 people have reportedly died across India till now in clashes and police shootings.

The supreme court of India has said, inexplicably, that it wants the violence to stop first before it will hear any pleas against the new law.

Yet, Kashmir itself remains eerily calm, mostly thanks to the iron curtain that has descended around and inside it since the state’s autonomy was abruptly withdrawn on Aug. 5 by India. Under Kashmir’s Orwellian siege—visible and invisible curbs and penalties and a lingering internet gag have muted the expression of public dissent in the state—not even social gatherings with suspected political overtones are allowed.

The state’s senior political leadership has anyway been rendered completely powerless by the iron hand dealt by New Delhi. For instance, three chief ministers of the former state of Jammu & Kashmir—Farooq Abdullah, Omar Abdullah, and Mehbooba Mufti—remain under detention. This is besides the hundreds of other political detainees.

On Jan. 7, Iltija Mufti, daughter of Mehbooba Mufti, was stopped from visiting the grave of her grandfather Mufti Mohammad Sayeed on his death anniversary. Sayeed was himself a chief minister.

The government is in no mood to make any concession, though, let alone allow protests. It doesn’t listen, engage or reach out in a democratic spirit, but only hoists more indignity. At least this is what journalists have learnt to their detriment. Demanding restoration of the internet service to facilitate the discharge of their professional duties, the media has been met with a growing indifference. Yet, the “internet apartheid” sees senior police and administrative officials—and recently some major hospitals—enjoying the facility denied it to media, businesses, and the people at large.

Also, while lockdown has apparently been eased somewhat in its external manifestation, coercion is designed into the government approach: It only goes into a latent state as long as the situation remains normal. Any whiff of a protest, and the security machinery springs back.

The politicians who have been released so far have only earned their freedom by signing a bond saying they wouldn’t challenge the revocation of Article 370.

This has created an atmosphere of fear. Recent history also suggests a broad political consensus in the rest of India over Kashmir: Political parties, media, and a predominant majority rarely protest against the blackout in Kashmir. The move to do away with Article 370 or the unprecedented restrictions to suppress resistance have hardly evoked discussions beyond a cursory level.

As protests widen in the country against the citizenship law, meanwhile, the increasing “Kashmirisation” of India is only more conspicuous. The Muslim-majority Himalayan state is now watching the events unfold in the rest of the country—part amused, part bewildered.

We welcome your comments at ideas.india@qz.com.

https://qz.com/india/1782781/silenced-kashmir-watches-india-erupt-in-anti-caa-protests/

Kashmiris are chanting Pakistan ka matlab kia

La Ilaha Illallah

While rest of India is either chanting

Jab arz e Khuda kay Kabay se Butt uthwaye jaenge

or

Jai Sri Ram

almost 6 months now and Pakistanis have stopped caring about kashmir! firday 1 hour walla tamasha bhi khatam! twitter twitter boys keh tweet bhi khatam!! na emhassy bund na trade bund! un may takreer hogaye bas!

To kia karain? Kashmir ar hamla kar dain? Ya tum ja rahai ho Kashmir par hamla karnai?

Kia scene hai?

The way events are progressing the Indian folks will stop introducing themselves as the Indians in the foreign lands...

Thanks to Modi/Yogi/Shah etc. those days of being the proud Indians may be coming to an end...

To kia karain? Kashmir ar hamla kar dain? Ya tum ja rahai ho Kashmir par hamla karnai?

Kia scene hai?

bhia sarkari satta peh kashmir ko bhol gaye hain hamla kia karain gey!

Actually in other way .
Normalcy of Kashmir .
Laws will be same in Kashmir and Kanyakumari.
If you use violence you will suffer consequences

These matter & indicate the will of the nation ..

The move to do away with Article 370 or the unprecedented restrictions to suppress resistance have hardly evoked discussions beyond a cursory level.
Recent history also suggests a broad political consensus in the rest of India over Kashmir:

Actually in other way .
Normalcy of Kashmir .
Laws will be same in Kashmir and Kanyakumari.
If you use violence you will suffer consequences

Let me correct that - if you are a Muslim, you will be violently suppressed.

Other, like the Nairs, will be be given a free pass. After all, the Nairs will ensure the hegemony of the upper castes.

Let me correct that - if you are a Muslim, you will be violently suppressed.

Other, like the Nairs, will be be given a free pass. After all, the Nairs will ensure the hegemony of the upper castes.

Your religion or caste is not a concern here.
You so violence and then suffer consequences

Your religion or caste is not a concern here.
You so violence and then suffer consequences

Except when you are ABVP students then Hindutva will give you a free pass

Oh India, how you have fallen:coffee:

Was your NADRA created specifically to make people following one religion as stateless? If not, then please stop with these false equivalences.
Nobody is being made stateless.

Illegal Bangladeshi aliens will be sent back to their state, that's about all.

Was your NADRA created specifically to make people following one religion as stateless? If not, then please stop with these false equivalences.
NRC is specifically targeting Muslims from BD and Pakistan .both these countries Re formed as they wanted separate country as they said they cannot live with hindus and why would we give citizenship to people who wanted to separate and got their land and again return to live in India