Will India Spoil China’s South China Sea Ambitions?

Surya 1

Philippine’s President Rodrigo Duterte may have forgot all about last July’s international arbitration ruling, which found that China has no historic title over the waters of the South China Sea. But not investors fleeing Asian stocks. India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi hasn’t forgotten that either, and he may spoil China’s ambitions to dominate the South China Sea. Modi didn’t miss the chance to bring up the July arbitration ruling during his recent visits to Singapore and Vietnam, trying to revive the allied front against China’s ambitions. That’s according to a China Topix report.

iIndia’s hardcore diplomacy on South China Sea disputes has very little to do with the dispute per se and plenty to do with China’s foreign policies. Like Beijing’s open support for Pakistan in the India-Pakistan Kashmir standoff, as evidenced by statements by China’s senior officials. “We support Pakistan, and we will speak for Pakistan in every forum. We attach great importance to Pakistan’s position on Kashmir,” Chinese Premier Li Keqiang told his Pakistani counterpart Nawaz Sharif during a bilateral meeting on the sidelines of the ongoing 71st session of United Nations General Assembly in New York, as quoted in Pakistan Today.

Then there’s China’s refusal to support India’s bid to join the Nuclear Supplier Group (NSG) last June. Officially, Beijing claims that India doesn’t satisfy the conditions for joining the elite group. But the real reason is to be found elsewhere. China wants to punish New Delhi for growing closer to US in recent years, serving Washington’s policy to contain China. “US backing adds the biggest impetus to India’s ambition,” stated a Global Times editorial, back in June. “By cozying up to India, Washington’s India policy actually serves the purpose of containing China.” The US is not the whole world. Its endorsement does not mean India has won the backing of the world. This basic fact, however, has been ignored by India.”So, India must pay a price for ignoring China. But China cannot ignore India either, as it can amass enough support to spoil Beijing’s’ South China Sea ambitions.

http://idrw.org/will-india-spoil-chinas-south-china-sea-ambitions/#more-115060 .

I have no doubt that India HAS to step into the SCS and make its presence felt there. :tup:

South Korea , Japan, Taiwan, Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore and US/Australia are our path to a successful presence in the SCS.

When almost all Asean nations become quiet and move closer to Beijing, let's see what Japan, India and other US paws can do in SCS.

With India throwing its weight behind US, Australia, Japan and South Korea, how long will the ASEAN nations remain quite ? :azn:

Almost all Asean countries chose to ditch US and build closer ties with China now. US does have some weight, other countries behind US are just midget clowns which are so despicable and we couldn't care less.

They almost all chose to ditch US and build closer ties with China now. US does have some weight, other countries behind US are just midget clowns which are so despicable and we couldn't care less.

They choose to ditch the US when US did not have India with it.

With the evolving new order, the ASEAN nations will have more options on the table to negotiate with China. So you can expect them to ask for their pound of flesh.

It does not matter if you call them despicable or midget. We use the same name for pakistani terrorists, has that ever bothered you ? lol.

When almost all Asean nations become quiet and move closer to Beijing, let's see what Japan, India and other US paws can do in SCS.
china is rich $lut now wants to dance naked everywhere , but she forget her past , the country was and is full off drug addicts living life like heartless people with no sentiments at all ( pesa ane se hasiyat badal jati hai , aukat nahi <<>> you can change your lifestyle if you become rich , but you cant change your habits ). <<<< this is for the word you used US paws for my great nation Bharat .
on topic : modi is the man of future and he will dominate and play important role in international politics . not only so called south china sea but tibet too will be sorted out in next decade .

china is rich $lut now wants to dance naked everywhere , but she forget her past , the country was and is full off drug addicts living life like heartless people with no sentiments at all . <<<< this is for the word you used US paws for my great nation Bharat .
on topic : modi is the man of future and he will dominate and play important role in international politics . not only so called south china sea but tibet too will be sorted out in next decade .
Are you talking about India's past? Does India have a past as a nation? if you are, the same holds true even today.

Tell your mommy to keep the Soup warm. Sammy and Desi will be home soon enough.
They finished with your mother that soon?

Are you talking about India's past? Does India have a past as a nation? if you are, the same holds true even today.

Nope, we have decide to come for your mother and then have that Soup to finish off the meal. Your favourite Soup, "soup-a-powa".

PS: You know, only losers live in the past. What does that say about you ?

i never said india , i said Bharat . and dont get rattled , the game has not yet begun . Modi JI will teach china what actually is peaceful rise . and kindly use polite words when mentioning a nation . one must respect every other nation .

Both the Philippines and Malaysia have come to China's fold and Vietnam starts to play that down and talks about friendship, with already some other Chinese allies in Asean , what 's there left to be against China.

Oh yes, they are begging my mama called 'democracy' to allow my daddy to join the party with your mother and have that soup. Keep that bed warm for us.
It is said that democracy is a whore which everyone can use.