Why do we insist on calling India a vegetarian country when two-thirds of us eat meat?

Most of my Hindu friends eat meat, of course strictly no beef for them.I only have one friend who is a pure vegetarian.

P.S. Please keep insulting comments about any religion limited to your brain box.

Which is the most vegetarian country in the world percentage wise ???

Most of my Hindu friends eat meat, of course strictly no beef for them.I only have one friend who is a pure vegetarian.

P.S. Please keep insulting comments about any religion limited to your brain box.
exactly

insulting and mocking religions and responding to them shows lack of common social skills and lack of decency with bad upbringing.

eating whatever you like should not be controlled or dictated. but one must respect the sensitivities of both the majority and the minority in any civilised society. as long as someone doesn't feed him/ herself say pork in my face and burps on my face , I have no issues with anyone. likewise I would avoid feasting on meat in front of a pure vegetarian if he doesn't like it due to his religion... its just common courtesy nothing else and it doesn't affect ones rights and freedom by NOT giving some one some sort of discomfort.

And 31 % is very big number & our elites (Marwaris, Jains) are pure Vegetarian.
If you are Bachelor & Non-Vegetarian & trying to rent a room, you are going to being treated as same as USA treated their Terrorists :angel:

Even this 31% is not genuine.

These kind of surveys (usually done by atention whore liberattis) ignore that nearly 70% of India is rural, and a Hindu/Jain village in rural area would be completely vegetarian simply due to non-availability of meat (non-existence of butchers).

31% would be Urban figure. Consolidated figure would be close to 50%.

is it common for urban Pakistanis to know and be friends with hindu, and other 'minority' people or it happens but it's still a bit of a novelty thing ?

because going by the stats, the minorities really are a small minority there.

because if they served meat it would be a pakistan restaurant?

thats good now that all Indian craving for meat give business to Pakistani restaurants

Bhai, to fir mutton biriyani, chicken kabab kya footpath pe serve hota hai??? :mad:

i dont know but its not served in Indian restaurants, not in North America at least

is it common for urban Pakistanis to know and be friends with hindu, and other 'minority' people or it happens but it's still a bit of a novelty thing ?

because going by the stats, the minorities really are a small minority there.

Come to think of it, I had close friends from different religions since childhood and school days, and we never bothered about these things. But that is my experience.

I admire India for having a large vegetarian population and admire how entire societies are vegetarian. Indian vegetarian food is the best.

Even this 31% is not genuine.

These kind of surveys (usually done by atention whore liberattis) ignore that nearly 70% of India is rural, and a Hindu/Jain village in rural area would be completely vegetarian simply due to non-availability of meat (non-existence of butchers).

31% would be Urban figure. Consolidated figure would be close to 50%.
Even with 50% mostly eat in weekends .

Simply because India's per capita meat consumption is only 3% of other western country and country like pakistan. We are at the bottom of the pyramid of per capita meat consumption.

images

Simply because India's per capita meat consumption is only 3% of other western country and country like pakistan. We are at the bottom of the pyramid of per capita meat consumption.

images
What the Pakistanis and the likes of the author of OP don't realise that even the Non Vegetarians don't eat Non Veg daily

How materialistic and singular a society can become is evident from this event. A section of society asked to (NOT Eat) animals for 2 days only. Rather than showing magnanimity and showing a sense of affection towards them, we are condemning and threatening them. The ask is nothing which can make others die or ask to kill some beings. It is about abstaining for doing something for 2 days. People do that everytime... many Hindus during Navratris, Muslims during roza and i am sure many others too do that. Why to show these kinds of uncivilized behavior in public to mock and disrespect?