water Bill cost me more than electric bill

I suppose you do research. In most large cities in Pak there is no water meters.
Also no clean water we have ammonia and arsenic in our water supply (when we get it )

Because water is being traded in stock exchange in UK. Water companies are limited companies with stocks floating in market and their commodity is water.
A country where it rains day and night all year round, charges more money for water than Saudia where it rains once an year if at all. Average water cost here is 2.5 GBP per cubic meter. One shower can cost you 2 GBP easy.
Yea you are right and also they have recyling water filtering plants so used water probably never get wasted and being used again.

There are certain legal clauses by using them you can go back to fixed water bill instead of meter.
If you can show you are low income and have two or more kids , you are entitled to fixed water bill. Or just phone them and threaten them to stop paying as you dont agree with the way they are charging you :lol:
I wish i could do this but i am not on low income so i am not entitled for any benefits or discounts...it seem they want everyone to be on low income as they have more advantages as compare to those who earn more anf contribute more

Lol we have to pay for arsenic laden water what bs you are spewing?

I live in Islamabad in most sectors you have to buy water tankers now maybe you live in a posh locality
50% of Pakistanis spend half there income on food beat that
Do you buy water tankers in Islamabad? Lol which sector is that?

I am not talking about posh areas and cantonment board provide unlimited tap water in certain areas and then others use boring system, dug well , use hand pump or motor pump so use water as much as you like..infact i went to village few years ago and dug well deep for villagers and it still providing fresh water to many houses over there from last 5 years and it did not cost me too much ..so you see these options are not available here

@Proudpakistaniguy;

Same is the case in Australia. My water bill is around AUD $200-250 while electricity bill stays under $100. This is desi life style which uses more water, but for Australians, it would be almost the same as electricity.

@Proudpakistaniguy;

Same is the case in Australia. My water bill is around AUD $200-250 while electricity bill stays under $100. This is desi life style which uses more water, but for Australians, it would be almost the same as electricity.
Yes you are right.Desi people used more in kitchen where women leave the tap open while washing dishes . They spoiled us intially when they were charging fixed annual amount for unlimited usage and charges were very minimum but now they are doing proper business

Yea you are right and also they have recyling water filtering plants so used water probably never get wasted and being used again.

I wish i could do this but i am not on low income so i am not entitled for any benefits or discounts...it seem they want everyone to be on low income as they have more advantages as compare to those who earn more anf contribute more

Do you buy water tankers in Islamabad? Lol which sector is that?

I am not talking about posh areas and cantonment board provide unlimited tap water in certain areas and then others use boring system, dug well , use hand pump or motor pump so use water as much as you like..infact i went to village few years ago and dug well deep for villagers and it still providing fresh water to many houses over there from last 5 years and it did not cost me too much ..so you see these options are not available here
Yes G-xx but we dont live there anymore :D

Boring?Cost of it can be as high as 1 lakh

In villages well guess you are unaware of cost farmers have to pay for irrigation in some parts of our country same polluted water sources are used by both humans and animals
Atleast you dont have arsenic laden water in your locality eben the filtration plants here are conatminated options for clean drinking water are few here

Pakistan is lucky no council tax, no road tax no parking charges no MOT no insurance no Tv license no expensive water bll and few pay for income tax and national insurance so still you guys are ungrateful ..why why why

You have no idea how warped payment of taxes in Pakistan is ........... these morons who are ruling (not governing) Pakistan get tax from widows, students and children of Pakistan, even the infant who feeds on the powdered milk is paying taxes in Pakistan. And PTV license fee is a reality. The day these morons are held accountable for taxes would be the day Pakistanis would realise that they have been robbed without provision of basic life necessities.

Yes you are right.Desi people used more in kitchen where women leave the tap open while washing dishes . They spoiled us intially when they were charging fixed annual amount for unlimited usage and charges were very minimum but now they are doing proper business

I had to apply low-flow taps (2.5 liters a minute) to keep this bill around 200. When the tap flow was normal, like 8 liters a minute, my water bill used to be around $300. Now we also use dishwasher more which consumes 12 litres a run, so a little bit saving here and there has brought water bill down to $200. Its still a lot but doesn't go down any further.

Annual bills:

Water: £550
Electricity & Gas: £2,500
Council Tax: £1,800
Car Insurance for 2 cars: £2,000
Road Tax for 2 cars: £600

That's monthly average of £620 or PKR 84,320

Food for family of 5 is about £1,000 per month. (Excludes going out!)

Mobile Phone Bills (x2): £1,200 or £100pm

So an average monthly expense of £1,720 or PKR 233,920

Then add mortgage/rent of anything between £1500 to £2500+ per month for 3-4bed house.

£3,220 to £4,220
PKR 437,920 to PKR 573,920 per month!!!

This excludes fuel and work commuting costs (£300+) and any eating out.

This is SouthEast England ... North and Wales etc are much cheaper for rent/mortgage but salaries are lower too.

Add to that the fact one has to save for 10%-20% deposit for the house whilst paying rent. 3bed House prices in Greater London start from min £300k upwards. So about £30k-£60k savings required before getting a mortgage.

And the day starts at 6am and return home at 7pm.

It is a real rat race and exhausting.

Now you decide which country is cheaper ..

I had to apply low-flow taps (2.5 liters a minute) to keep this bill around 200. When the tap flow was normal, like 8 liters a minute, my water bill used to be around $300. Now we also use dishwasher more which consumes 12 litres a run, so a little bit saving here and there has brought water bill down to $200. Its still a lot but doesn't go down any further.
I probably need to get these low flow tap because pressure in some tap is high and may get some tank to save rain water for gardening and other stuff

I went online to check my water usage and to compare it with average usage per day of others and I was well ahead

akXhWXn.png

XHJg3Of.png

h4DTu3o.png

Annual bills:

Water: £550
Electricity & Gas: £2,500
Council Tax: £1,800
Car Insurance for 2 cars: £2,000
Road Tax for 2 cars: £600

That's monthly average of £620 or PKR 84,320

Food for family of 5 is about £1,000 per month. (Excludes going out!)

Mobile Phone Bills (x2): £1,200 or £100pm

So an average monthly expense of £1,720 or PKR 233,920

Then add mortgage/rent of anything between £1500 to £2500+ per month for 3-4bed house.

£3,220 to £4,220
PKR 437,920 to PKR 573,920 per month!!!

This excludes fuel and work commuting costs (£300+) and any eating out.

This is SouthEast England ... North and Wales etc are much cheaper for rent/mortgage but salaries are lower too.

Add to that the fact one has to save for 10%-20% deposit for the house whilst paying rent. 3bed House prices in Greater London start from min £300k upwards. So about £30k-£60k savings required before getting a mortgage.

And the day starts at 6am and return home at 7pm.

It is a real rat race and exhausting.

Now you decide which country is cheaper ..
yes exactly and you di dnot include tv license, sky tv and broadband plus clothing etc
your water bill is reasonable though
You cannot save a penny if you are earning 25-30 k and living with family ..
UK is for those families where boht men and women earn good amount
Our Pakistani women are mostly housewives so all burden of family is on man shoulder and some men even take financial responsibility of their parent and sibling back home as well so had to work like robot and hardly find time for social gathering and entertainment ..Life is not easy no matter where you live :)

I probably need to get these low flow tap because pressure in some tap is high and may get some tank to save rain water for gardening and other stuff
I went online to check my water usage and to compare it with average usage per day of others and I was well ahead.

To reduce water flow, all you need is these plastic aerators. They are also available on AliExpress but be measure you tap's diameter before you order one as these aerators are available for smaller taps only (as far as I remember).

6-4-or-2-litres-per-minute.jpg

That is very true !

But it is quite amusing that some think that those living in West have got it easy ...
Woo kehte hain dour k dhool suhaney tu bus yea he majra hai
Pound rate dropped so low and now overseas Pakistani sound poor compare to their counterpart in Pakistan where people are buying property and houses in crore as if its nothing and I am talking about those who are just doing small business . My friend has given many shops in Pakistan on rent to those who are doing landa business and he said even they earn in lakhs lol

To reduce water flow, all you need is these plastic aerators. They are also available on AliExpress but be measure you tap's diameter before you order one as these aerators are available for smaller taps only (as far as I remember).

6-4-or-2-litres-per-minute.jpg
China has solution for everything :D

I have noticed that many people take water for granted in Pakistan where they have to pay minimum charges or don't pay for water at all. We used to have fixed water bill in UK in the past but now bill depend on your usage after they were introduced water meter and I have noticed that my monthly water bill is costing me more than my electric bill and very much same as gas bill so guys do you pay for water bill at your place or its just uk which introduced water meter :(

So much bills and charges take half of my salary ..Pakistan is lucky no council tax, no road tax no parking charges no MOT no insurance no Tv license no expensive water bll and few pay for income tax and national insurance so still you guys are ungrateful ..why why why
We pay fixed water bill here in Karachi .