Twin nuke missile test today

Plans to launch two nuclear-capable Prithvi-II missiles in a salvo mode within a few minutes of each other were aborted at the last minute on Wednesday after a technical glitch developed in one of them.

The missiles which were to be launched by the Strategic Force Command (SFC) of the Armed Forces from the Integrated Test Range, Balasore, were held back, after the problem was detected during the countdown, a top official of the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) told The Hindu.

The Hindu : News / National : Glitch halts test-launch of Prithvi missiles

Twin test of Prithvi-II postponed: ITR Director - India News - IBNLive

oh i always love indian missile tests.:yahoo:
For God's sake, what this video shows is a RUSSIAN missile NOT Indian!! This has been discussed threadbare earlier.

And then, the latest missile tests weren't a 'failure' as some here have suggested. A tech hitch stopped the countdown automatically. No big deal. It could be due to any one of a million factors that aborted the launching.

Let's take the much feared U.S missile system as an example. For a system designed to protect the country from nuclear oblivion, the US national missile defence project's history of failure has long raised eyebrows among scientists.

Years of testing have seen rocket-propelled interceptors refuse to launch from their silos, fail to separate from their boosters and miss their targets, sometimes by hundreds of miles. Military officials can claim only a 50% hit rate, and only then in tests that are far removed from a real world attack scenario, said David Wright, a physicist and co-director of global security at the Union of Concerned Scientists in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

The same applies to every country's missiles. Nothing is 100% fail proof. And the latest Prithvi test firing was NOT a failure - just a minor glitch that aborted the test.

So let's not sensationalise the issue. Coming to think of it, it's not such a big deal after all! :azn:

For God's sake, what this video shows is a RUSSIAN missile NOT Indian!! This has been discussed threadbare earlier.

And then, the latest missile tests weren't a 'failure' as some here have suggested. A tech hitch stopped the countdown automatically. No big deal. It could be due to any one of a million factors that aborted the launching.

Let's take the much feared U.S missile system as an example. For a system designed to protect the country from nuclear oblivion, the US national missile defence project's history of failure has long raised eyebrows among scientists.

Years of testing have seen rocket-propelled interceptors refuse to launch from their silos, fail to separate from their boosters and miss their targets, sometimes by hundreds of miles. Military officials can claim only a 50% hit rate, and only then in tests that are far removed from a real world attack scenario, said David Wright, a physicist and co-director of global security at the Union of Concerned Scientists in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

The same applies to every country's missiles. Nothing is 100% fail proof. And the latest Prithvi test firing was NOT a failure - just a minor glitch that aborted the test.

So let's not sensationalise the issue. Coming to think of it, it's not such a big deal after all! :azn:

WHAT? and all three pages were a joke ?? what a waste of bandwith , so much for love for indian missiles

Be cool mate, its just a glitch..the same drdo made us proud many time, forgot that?

Sir things like this should not happen.... What will we do if this glitch present during the war time? Even if you have ICBM with 20k Km, If you cannot fire it due to glitch then..... No use with this whole project and funding!

The possibility of both missiles having a glitch is not possible.

What I think is, the best way to convince a civilian Govt. that we need to induct new and better missiles is to prove "publicly if possible" that the outdated tech is "unreliable" and needs to be moved to a museum.
Never heard of Prithvi Missiles with major gliches that too in succession.

testing testing and testing .. when it comes to user trial either the missile fails or the weather does not favor. What are they going to launch in a war, theinga?? . And if they are testing new technology, they shouldn't call it a ''User Trial'', coz' this gives a spark of insecurity among citizens too!! sansad main prashn karo ki yeh kesi duvidha hai yeh sahi nahi hai.

There should be a military exercise to make our missiles All Weather Operational and Glitch Free!!

The possibility of both missiles having a glitch is not possible.

What I think is, the best way to convince a civilian Govt. that we need to induct new and better missiles is to prove "publicly if possible" that the outdated tech is "unreliable" and needs to be moved to a museum.
Never heard of Prithvi Missiles with major gliches that too in succession.

failing a test will add 100 newtons to the enemy's confidence and in the parliament it will only have 0 affect.

When we do it by ourselves we have to expect failures. Good work SFC in identifying the glitches before hand.

F**k this new wave of new joinees..
All there new members 1st brush up of your knowledge about how things work then kindly for God sake come to main thread for discussion . As you guys are ruinin whole thread with your ultra stupid comments .
:angry: :sick:

F**k this new wave of new joinees..
All there new members 1st brush up of your knowledge about how things work then kindly for God sake come to main thread for discussion . As you guys are ruinin whole thread with your ultra stupid comments .
:angry: :sick:

Relax bro,
We know that majority of the newbies are false flags/ multiple ids who are just out for fun.

It seems there are glitches on one of the Prithvis. It is normal. The year so far is good. But I think most of the Prithvi tests are done for tests of new missiles or technologies.

oh i always love indian missile tests.:yahoo:

And you also feel ashamed of your true color? :lol:

And you think that ballistic missiles are the "be all and end all" asset in a conflict? There are better assets which are deployed in a war. Besides, Ballistic missiles, IMHO, are basically useless...simply phallic symbols of a country's ego. At most, with conventional warheads, they are simply a nuisance if not anything less. And c'mon, a country which can send satellites with pinpoint accuracy to the Moon cannot develop a simple ICBM?