Traders/businesses/ reject the Interest rate hike / economy slowing

blueazure

as i had expected , rising inflation and rate hikes are slowly taking pakistan to an economic shock .

the economy planning has been sadly delegated to accountants and bankers .

this IMF driven madness has to be stopped

-----------------
LAHORE:

The recent interest rate hike by the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) is not going to favour domestic industries, noted different business groups and economists.

With a high rate of 13.25%, the government aims to encourage people to invest in saving schemes, however, the economists are of the view that policymakers have forgotten that the real engine of growth is the private sector, which may face further uncertainty keeping in mind the overall scenario of Pakistan’s economy.

“This is not a good sign for the country’s economy and industrial sector,” All Pakistan Textile Mills Association (Aptma) Chairman Syed Ali Ahsan told The Express Tribune.

He said the rate hike would put brakes on industrialisation as no one would be ready to secure loans at such a high mark-up and low profit margins. “This will also apply brakes on repayments, hence completely halting modernisation of domestic industrial sector.”

He said they did not believe in going on strikes, but there was no option “when our downstream industry is on strike; this ultimately will put burden on mainstream industries”.

He said uncertainty and a lack of clear government policy was the biggest issue, which was further hampering industrialisation efforts in the country.

While industrial lobbies are not as optimistic as the SBP governor about the economy’s turnaround in the second half of current fiscal year, many economists have also put their weight behind what the country’s business community is thinking.

“The International Monetary Fund chief had recently said 1.5% interest rate is ideal for any country to grow its economy, we, in Pakistan, are going in the opposite direction despite securing a bailout package from it recently,” said economist Dr Qais Aslam.

“Our economy is not moving as investors – both foreign and local – are in panic,” he said. “If no one will invest, how will the country’s economic managers fuel the private sector?”

He said the current government had put Pakistan on the path where the country was during Musharraf’s tenure; the situation was almost same at that time.

SBP jacks up key interest rate by 100 basis points

“The SBP says it has hiked the rate to control inflation, but on the other hand, the government has raised energy prices and is apparently prepared to raise them again; food prices are also surging; will such measures like hiking the rate control inflation?,” he asked.

The Lahore Chamber of Commerce and Industry also expressed concern over the rate hike.

“The SBP should consider actual ground realities and reduce the interest rate,” suggested Acting LCCI President Shahzad Nasir.

Nasir said the chamber had always urged the central bank to reduce the benchmark interest rate to single digit so that industries could seek liquidity at cheaper rates.

“Only 20% of the total loans have been taken by the local industry, among which 11% has been taken by large-scale industries whereas only 9% has been taken by small and medium enterprises,” Nasir revealed.

“The current interest rate is too high for any industry; the county’s economic managers should know that our industry currently doesn’t have that much profit margins.”

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2015605/2-industrialists-economists-reject-interest-rate-hike/

PTI trolls incoming .

the responses ( mostly one liners) ,,

1. i disagree with the OP . ( no reason given)

2. all traders are C**** . shoot them

3. dont want to do business, leave pakistan

4. im in australia, i know everything

Too late. Should not have voted for Nawazoo and Zardari. Now these measures are required or Pak economy will suffer worse.

raise interest rates

borrowing gets expensive

companies 'dont' borrow to setup businesses

economy slows as a result

----------

economy 101 basics really , nothing to do with nawaz and zardari

---------

im not sure what anger IK has against pakistanis . what punishment he wants to give

PTI trolls incoming .

raise interest rates

borrowing gets expensive

----------

---------

im not sure what anger IK has against pakistanis . what punishment he wants to give

Stop being an agent of the enemies of Pakistan. Nawaz Sharif and Zardari are agents of chaos.

This is not about Imran Khan, PTI or any single person.

This is about Pakistan. Put Pakistan above your personal interests.

If Imran Khan damages Pakistan he is an enemy of the state. The same principle applies for Nawaz Sharif and others.

Criticize Imran Khan's government on merit. Not due to personal grudge.

Everyone knows that the dire economic situation in Pakistan is the doing of previous governments. Period.

Interest is haram.

And what you give in usury (riba), that it may increase upon the people's wealth, increases not with God; (Quran 30:39)

... for their taking usury (riba), that they were prohibited, ... (Surah An-Nisaa Quran 4:161)

Those who devour usury (riba) shall not rise again except as he rises, whom Satan of the touch prostrates; that is because they say, 'Trade is like usury (riba).' God has permitted trade, and forbidden usury (riba). Whosoever receives an admonition from his Lord and gives over, he shall have his past gains, and his affair is committed to God; but whosoever reverts — those are the inhabitants of the Fire, therein dwelling forever.

God blots out usury, but freewill offerings He augments with interest. God loves not any guilty ingrate.

Those who believe and do deeds of righteousness, and perform the prayer, and pay the alms - their wage awaits them with their Lord, and no fear shall be on them, neither shall they sorrow.

O believers, fear you God; and give up the usury (riba) that is outstanding, if you are believers.

But if you do not, then take notice that God shall war with you, and His Messenger; yet if you repent, you shall have your principal, unwronging and unwronged.

And if any man should be in difficulties, let him have respite till things are easier; but that you should give freewill offerings is better for you, did you but know. (Quran 2:275-280)

PTI trolls incoming .

raise interest rates

borrowing gets expensive

----------

---------

No comments my friend. Because you have admitted to two facts in another thread;

1. you or the protesting traders dont want to register or provide CNIC and
2. Dont want to pay tax.

Also in your logic payment of tax by employees or passing on of GST is a burden of business.

You can post as much crap as you want but it will not change one thing.

You along with other traders will have to cough up tax and there is no longer a free lunch.

Interest is haram.

And what you give in usury (riba), that it may increase upon the people's wealth, increases not with God; (Quran 30:39)

... for their taking usury (riba), that they were prohibited, ... (Surah An-Nisaa Quran 4:161)

Those who devour usury (riba) shall not rise again except as he rises, whom Satan of the touch prostrates; that is because they say, 'Trade is like usury (riba).' God has permitted trade, and forbidden usury (riba). Whosoever receives an admonition from his Lord and gives over, he shall have his past gains, and his affair is committed to God; but whosoever reverts — those are the inhabitants of the Fire, therein dwelling forever.

God blots out usury, but freewill offerings He augments with interest. God loves not any guilty ingrate.

Those who believe and do deeds of righteousness, and perform the prayer, and pay the alms - their wage awaits them with their Lord, and no fear shall be on them, neither shall they sorrow.

O believers, fear you God; and give up the usury (riba) that is outstanding, if you are believers.

But if you do not, then take notice that God shall war with you, and His Messenger; yet if you repent, you shall have your principal, unwronging and unwronged.

And if any man should be in difficulties, let him have respite till things are easier; but that you should give freewill offerings is better for you, did you but know. (Quran 2:275-280)

No doubt but it has been embedded into our economy and our financial system. You cannot get rid of it overnight otherwise you will see million topics about how the government is destroying the country and business.

Its unfair to expect PTI to reverse it in one go and that too would out economic impact.

PTI trolls incoming .

raise interest rates

borrowing gets expensive

----------

---------

Let's talk about Economics 101.

The first line in your post talks about rising inflation. Do you know what is the monetary policy tool to control inflation? Yes, it's a rate hike.

You're talking that making borrowing expensive slows growth. Yes, that is true. But which government doesn't like growth? Which government in their right minds will shoot themselves in the foot by culling growth?

The answer is that it is the need of the hour, regardless of the pain, and this is what a macroeconomic adjustment entails in any economy - economics101. I have seen multiple rant posts from you on the economy without a hint of depiction of understanding how economies work.

So what's your suggestion? Keep rates low? You and these traders will be the one ranting against an even higher inflation rate. Your natural counter-rant would be that the government caused the inflation in the first place. The answer to that is, no, it's mainly import led inflation, caused by a devaluation in the currency.

Your next counter-rant: Government devalued the rupee, so they are responsible for the inflation anyway. The fact that the market is devaluing the currency means that it was over valued and the only thing you can do to keep it where it was (until your exports come up - which generally takes several years or even decades, not months) is to use forex reserves. But guess what, there arent any because the previous government spent them all to fund large deficits in a bid to show 'unsustainable' growth.

In short the economy grew in previous governments through unsustainable means (i.e. demand was pushed up by a mechanism where the economic indicators did not support it). The twin deficits they left us with are objective evidence of that fact.

Please do tell how your economics 101 refutes that. What is your solution to resolving the situation when a) you have no reserves b) an already large fiscal deficit where printing more money to fund it will push up inflation further.

PTI trolls incoming .

raise interest rates

borrowing gets expensive

----------

---------

Just pay your income tax and become filer first then we will talk.

you will see million topics about how the government is destroying the country and business.

Its unfair to expect PTI to reverse it in one go and that too would out economic impact.

Honey exact this excuse is addressed in Quran but sure Jai PTI Jai and Jai IMF Jai

Let's talk about Economics 101.

The first line in your post talks about rising inflation. Do you know what is the monetary policy tool to control inflation? Yes, it's a rate hike.

You're talking that making borrowing expensive slows growth. Yes, that is true. But which government doesn't like growth? Which government in their right minds will shoot themselves in the foot by culling growth?

The answer is that it is the need of the hour, regardless of the pain, and this is what a macroeconomic adjustment entails in any economy - economics101. I have seen multiple rant posts from you on the economy without a hint of depiction of understanding how economies work.

So what's your suggestion? Keep rates low? You and these traders will be the one ranting against an even higher inflation rate. Your natural counter-rant would be that the government caused the inflation in the first place. The answer to that is, no, it's mainly import led inflation, caused by a devaluation in the currency.

Your next counter-rant: Government devalued the rupee, so they are responsible for the inflation anyway. The fact that the market is devaluing the currency means that it was over valued and the only thing you can do to keep it where it was (until your exports come up - which generally takes several years or even decades, not months) is to use forex reserves. But guess what, there arent any because the previous government spent them all to fund large deficits in a bid to show 'unsustainable' growth.

In short the economy grew in previous governments through unsustainable means (i.e. demand was pushed up by a mechanism where the economic indicators did not support it). The twin deficits they left us with are objective evidence of that fact.

Please do tell how your economics 101 refutes that. What is your solution to resolving the situation when a) you have no reserves b) an already large fiscal deficit where printing more money to fund it will push up inflation further.
He wont reply - at-least wont discuss these points. Typical of these party loyalist trolls to just rant something and run away to spam more nonsense in another thread.

Honey exact this excuse is addressed in Quran but sure Jai PTI Jai and Jai IMF Jai

Lower interest rate sa to ham na koi development hoti nahi dekhi to Kya farq parta higher interest rate is good
waisay as per Quran and sunnat if trolling is Haram or halal

I have no plans to go to war against Lord Almighty.

Interest means kiraya to use someone else's money borrower is using someone else's money so he is paying for it and this is called interest
Yani wo paisay kiraye par la raha hai

Interest means kiraya to use someone else's money borrower is using someone else's money so he is paying for it and this is called interest
Yani wo paisay kiraye par la raha hai

... they say, 'Trade is like usury,' [but] God has permitted trade, and forbidden usury ..

Interest is haram.

What does the Quran say about embezzlement, blackmail, murder, nepotism, excess, treason?