THE size of Pakistan’s informal economy is estimated to be as much as 56 per cent of the country’s GDP (as of 2019).

I don't want to hijack this thread by talking about India. But since you asked, check this report from SBI (State Bank of India) : https://sbi.co.in/documents/13958/1...a-46bf-1f1e-2998-3c58c94dd156?t=1635409920832

TLDR version: In 2018, the informal economy of India was estimated to be 52%. But after Covid, the informal economy is now shattered - stands at barely 20%
Why is the informal economy shattered post covid? Is it because it did not get state patronage when lockdowns were imposed?
[/QUOTE]
From 2017-18 to 2020-21... multiple factors including demonetisation, GST, digital payments, Kisan credit cards, MNREGA, portals like https://eshram.gov.in/home (20cr unorganised workers registered already) et al.
Covid impacted people's livelihood but no such push towards formalisation of economy due to it. Though covid is the reason more and more people are opting for digital transactions.

BD with a population of 160m has 0.5m automobiles. Pak with a population of 220m has 25m automobiles. Officially, BD's GDP is more than that of Pak. It clearly shows how undocumented the Pak economy is....

*IMO Pak's economy is kept enormously undocumented for a strategic reason too.

Totally agree.

Lol you should read the article
There's no strategy in not collecting taxes, proffesor is pointing towards bad governance which leads to this untaxed sector
We are really suffering because of low gov revenue, there's no "strategy" in this

There's no point in people having money but GOP poor
as inevitably
This will and to some extent is impacting the growth of the country and the people themselves

Agreed, Govt. should be able to collect taxes but unfortunately that is not the case in Pakistan because corruption is grass root.

I had a property in Karachi which I sold, The way dealing was done I just could not believe it, 1st thing the buyer did was declare the price on paper 50% of what we agreed too I asked him why he did that he said to avoid taxes. 2nd, I had to go to the registrares office in Karachi, OMG that place was a disaster and a horror house I still get nightmares when I think about it. The regestrar was a big fat guy with huge mustaches he openly demanded rupees 2 lakh bribe to transfer the property.

That was it, that is the last I saw Pakistan...

when your crypto investments (a largely new form of investment so not a mainstream option for investment by vast majority of people,pretty sure 99% Pakistanis have nothing to do with crypto) become more in value than your forex reserves
You can sense something shady going on

Need to bring digitalization so our country stop being government poor, its embarrassing and bad for the country in the long run

Yes but there is a reason, the govts are corrupt and thus everyone prefers to take informal routes. People prefer to stay away from govt eye because then corrupt govt officials will blackmail and demand bribes. If the system improves and incentives are given to those who register and document their business then people would prefer legal and official ways.
One example, a frnd of mine had a chicken farm, he was earning and doing well untill he registered and made it official. Then officials from food authority, officials from animal hisbandry or something, officials from halal food authority, local govt officials and what not started to visit him, making new excuses everyday, threatening bans n stuff and demanding money. In short, he had to close his business in the end because it was too much for him. So tell me, who will then register businesses and use legal channels in such a corrupt system?

Agreed, Govt. should be able to collect taxes but unfortunately that is not the case in Pakistan because corruption is grass root.

I had a property in Karachi which I sold, The way dealing was done I just could not believe it, 1st thing the buyer did was declare the price on paper 50% of what we agreed too I asked him why he did that he said to avoid taxes. 2nd, I had to go to the registrares office in Karachi, OMG that place was a disaster and a horror house I still get nightmares when I think about it. The regestrar was a big fat guy with huge mustaches he openly demanded rupees 2 lakh bribe to transfer the property.

That was it, that is the last I saw Pakistan...

Welcome to Karachi, we hope you enjoyed your stay...

I did enjoyed my stay in Pak the food was great especially the night life, Would like to go back to a place called do-darya amazing resturants, Kolachi and Kababjees food was awesome.

In my opinion cleaning and scrubbing Karachi should be the top priority followed by execution of corrupt officials. (hint China)

Our patwaris have enough money then people of kolkata :lol: They are hiding billions of rs in there houses and cabinets
5 years ago Kolkata city’s total wealth was $290 billion, in 2021 Pakistan’s total wealth was $649 Billion. So almost half of your wealth is with “Patwaris”?

Alot more then what u imagine… they have houses and houses filled with hidden money

Lol!!!

It doesn't work like this, so by your logic Apple US worth/equity is equal to the whole nominal GDP of India, with a population of 1.4 billion.

This goes like this, a 2 bed 2 bath apartment in Mumbai is worth 15 crore Pak Rs. and a similar property in Karachi is worth Rs. 1.5 crore(realistic fig.) so a person possessing an apartment in Mumbai India is 10 times wealthier than a Karachite, a Pakistani.

And with a value for money which is similar...
This is how wealth index is measured.

A GDP PPP is much better and realistic, the purchasing power parity.

Indias economy is $3.1T now.. LOL.. at this rate it will leave EU+China+US behind in a very short time... It will be off the chart.

Lol!!!

It doesn't work like this, so by your logic Apple US worth/equity is equal to the whole nominal GDP of India, with a population of 1.4 billion.

This goes like this, a 2 bed 2 bath apartment in Mumbai is worth 15 crore Pak Rs. and a similar property in Karachi is worth Rs. 1.5 crore(realistic fig.) so a person possessing an apartment in Mumbai India is 10 times wealthier than a Karachite, a Pakistani.

And with a value for money which is similar...
This is how wealth index is measured.

A GDP PPP is much better and realistic, the purchasing power parity.
Yeah why not, seems like you’re unaware about the difference between wealth and GDP.

1. USA’s total wealth in 2020 is $126.340 Trillion
2. China’s total wealth in 2020 is $74.884 Trillion
3. Japan’s total wealth in 2020 is $26.931 Trillion
4. Germany’s total wealth in 2020 is $18.274 Trillion
5. UK’s total wealth in 2020 is $15.284 Trillion
6. France’s total wealth in 2020 is $14.958 Trillion
7. India’s total wealth in 2020 is $12.833 Trillion
8. Italy’s total wealth in 2020 is $11.901 Trillion

48. Pakistan’s total wealth in 2021 is $649 Billion

Source: Credit Suisse Global Wealth Databook 2021 (Page 105-106-107)

Wealth is not GDP, and PPP is not real money.

Yes you’re right he is, the person in Mumbai owns that asset worth that money. I don’t think the rates are 15 crore PKR / 6.3 crore INR, in that money you can own a flat in a skyscraper in Mumbai. And flat prices vary as well. And as I said, wealth is wealth and its value matters not PPP. If the home costs more in Mumbai than Karachi then the Mumbai guy also owns that asset worth that money.

If for example Imran Khan says he’ll provide homes to the poor for free with terms and conditions being that the real estate will be yours forever but it can not be sold for money, while a Mumbaikar owns a similar house in Mumbai with his own money then the wealth of the beneficiary in Karachi will not include the value of the real estate he has while the same value will be included in the Mumbaikar’s total wealth.Real estate prices increase is wealth increase. Sure total wealth does not reflect the living conditions in two countries but asset value is asset value.

Informal sector
Lalarukh EjazPublished March 4, 2021

THE size of Pakistan’s informal economy is estimated to be as much as 56 per cent of the country’s GDP (as of 2019). This means that it’s worth around $180 billion a year, and that is a massive amount by any yardstick.

The country’s large black economy is inextricably linked to the levels and quality of governance exercised by the state. In the course of fieldwork for my doctoral research for the University of Southampton, I found that many Pakistani women who were setting out starting their own businesses did so in the informal sector. The reasons they gave usually related to their experience of dealing with the bureaucracy and government machinery in Pakistan which they found to be dominated by red tape and tedious and complicated procedures.

This is precisely what drives many people who want to engage in economic activity towards the undocumented economy. The headache of having to deal with a large bureaucracy, of complying with complicated and long registration procedures, of getting approvals and licences from various government agencies and departments make it difficult for most people to operate within a documented framework.

A large black economy is an indication of misgovernance and indicates a failure of the government to ensure that all businesses and entrepreneurial ventures are included in the formal sector. This failure in turn leads to reduced tax revenue collection since all entities outside of the formal economy do not pay any tax to the government.

Given that the size of the black and informal economy is estimated at over half of the country’s GDP, bringing it under the documented net would bring hundreds of billions in tax revenue. Those funds would then be spent on social sector development projects and help the FBR meet its annual revenue collection targets.
The solution is to increase the size of the formal economy and this can be done by making transparent and efficient those institutions tasked with registering and regulating businesses. Instead of harassing businesses and entrepreneurs, agencies like the FBR should act as facilitators and make it easier for new ventures to be registered and come under the documentation net. This would in turn be good for the FBR because achieving the tax collection target would be easier than if they were in the black economy.

Government requirements for new businesses are linked to the general level of governance. A state whose primary aim is to improve the lives of its citizens will prioritise good governance over all other things and will formulate and implement policies that enable this. In fact, such a state will also be able to realise that having such priorities ends up helping it as well, not least because a happy populace is a more economically productive populace.

Unfortunately, in a country like Pakistan, so far, this has not been the case. A multitude of licences and permissions are required from a wide variety of federal, provincial and local government departments to operate a business or a store. Having to comply with all of these requires not only a lot of time on the part of the entrepreneur but also funds for greasing the cogs of the bureaucratic machinery that regulates businesses and commercial enterprises in Pakistan.
The result of this is that a significantly growing number of entrepreneurs, and especially those that happen to be female, are increasingly veering towards the informal sector. This is both good and bad — good because it enables economic activity to take place, and jobs to be created, away from the unwanted glare of government inspectors and officialdom, and bad because the incomes generated from such activity don’t end up getting counted in the national GDP and nor are taxes paid on it.
The size of Pakistan’s informal sector is inversely linked to the quality of governance in the country. The higher the quality the smaller is likely to be the size of the informal sector because better governance means more citizen- and business-friendly measures and policies, ones that encourage entrepreneurs to register their businesses with the government and hence become part of the documented economy. That is welcome because having an accurate size of the documented and legal economy allows for more effective policy and decision-making with regard to the macroeconomy as a whole.
Resistance is likely to come from the entrenched bureaucracy because it stands to lose the most when this kind of change happens. It is very much in the interest of the state to institute policies that make it easier for businesses and entrepreneurs to become part of the documented economy and which facilitate their operation and growth because that fosters GDP growth.

It is time that the political parties in charge of running the centre and the provinces understand the benefits of this and help realise this much-needed change.

The writer is assistant professor of economics at IBA, Karachi.
lejaz@iba.edu.pk
Published in Dawn, March 4th, 2021

at the end of the day what does the informal sector produce ? Do they produce more farm products or industrial products ? unless you are producing billions in cocaine or heroin it is unlikely to move the needle.

=========

If I'm in the informal sector, what incentive can the govt bring to make me formalise.

Why should i pay tax, other than a sense of civic duty?

How can the govt make life difficult for me to force me to come into the formal sector?

What hurdles do i face when trying to formalise? What can be done to remove these hurdles?

The govt needs to answer these questions.

You have to build before you tax, and only than regulate the unregulated. Create a road map and grounded representation. All of these things are installed and engineered, they do not occur in the wild nor happen organically.
Take any trade for example, one must go through the motions, trade school, two years of apprenticeship, pass the exam and renew every year while simultaneously learning new tech, methods and their application.
Before it became an organized method it was exactly that... without pattern, disorderly and chaotic.

So blame here is unwarranted, my guess.

1. USA’s total wealth in 2020 is $126.340 Trillion
2. China’s total wealth in 2020 is $74.884 Trillion
3. Japan’s total wealth in 2020 is $26.931 Trillion
4. Germany’s total wealth in 2020 is $18.274 Trillion
5. UK’s total wealth in 2020 is $15.284 Trillion
6. France’s total wealth in 2020 is $14.958 Trillion
7. India’s total wealth in 2020 is $12.833 Trillion
8. Italy’s total wealth in 2020 is $11.901 Trillion

48. Pakistan’s total wealth in 2021 is $649 Billion

TOTAL WEALTH to GDP RATIO
1. USA’s total wealth in 2020 is $126 Trillion > 21t = 6
2. China’s total wealth in 2020 is $75 Trillion > 15t = 5
3. Japan’s total wealth in 2020 is $27 Trillion > 5t = 5.4
4. Germany’s total wealth in 2020 is $18 Trillion > 3.8t = 4.7
5. UK’s total wealth in 2020 is $15 Trillion > 2.7t = 5.6
6. France’s total wealth in 2020 is $15 Trillion > 2.6t = 5.8
7. India’s total wealth in 2020 is $13 Trillion > 2.6t = 5
8. Italy’s total wealth in 2020 is $12 Trillion >1.9t = 6.3

48. Pakistan’s total wealth in 2021 is $649 B > 280b = 2.3
At least $1.4 Trillion at ratio of 5

If we look at the average ratio of total wealth comparative to the size of GDP, the total wealth range is from 4.7 to 6.3 the size of the GDP. In the case of India it is 5 times the size of GDP.

This implies there is a correlation between the size of GDP and total wealth in the country. Since the GDP reports the officially measured total economic activity in a country, it seems rather silly to assume that the total wealth in Pakistan amounts to just twice the size of GDP, that’s just two years worth of economic activity. It is stupendously ridiculous.

The report classifies it's figures according to reliability trust factor. Whereas the Indian figures are classed as fair, meaning fairly reliable, the Pakistani estimates are classed as poor, meaning not reliable. Taking into account the GDP to total wealth ratio the fair and poor classifications seem to make sense. Hence Pakistani figure of $649 billion is totally false, and grossly under estimated.

If we apportion the same GDP to total wealth ratio of India to Pakistan, then the total wealth of Pakistan comes to $1.4 Trillion.

Furthermore, Pakistan’s rupee has faced massive devaluations over the last few years, so it is safe to assume that the $1.4 Trillion figure should be higher, but let’s leave that aside, it is enough to mention.

There are other factors also, that point towards the unreliability of figure for Pakistan, meaning it should be higher then $1.4 Trillion, but I will not touch upon those since the point has already been made.

The Total wealth figures are appropriate in a documented economy, but they are not reliable in the case of Pakistan.