The Next U.S. President Could Be an Indian-American—But Don’t Call Him That

Chanakya's_Chant

By CORINNE ABRAMS

BN-IT150_jindal_G_20150604025208.jpg

Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal waves during Florida Gov. Rick Scott’s Economic Growth Summit in Florida, U.S., June 2, 2015. Mr. Jindal said Wednesday he would declare his presidential candidacy later this month.

Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal said Wednesday he will declare his candidacy for the Republican presidential nomination on June 24, but Indians hoping to celebrate the prospect of an Indian-American in the White House might want to dial back their desi pride.

In April, Mr. Jindal, who was born in Baton Rouge, La., in 1971, called for the end of “hyphenated Americans,” saying his parents came from India to assimilate, not to hold on to their homeland.

Mr. Jindal first won a seat in the U.S. House of Representatives in 2004 after being appointed to run Louisiana’s Department of Health and Hospitals at the age of 24 and being the youngest-ever president of the state’s university system.

The politician’s website also boasts that his wife, Supriya, is the only “First Spouse” in the U.S. to hold a degree in engineering.

The Brown and Oxford attendee has stressed the importance of religious liberty, spoken out on gun rights and attacked U.S. President Barack Obamaon his handling of the Middle East.

Mr. Jindal, elected governor of Louisiana in 2007, will be joining a crowded party race—nine candidates have already declared their candidacies and Rick Perry and Jeb Bush are expected to join them.

Voter surveys don’t give Mr. Jindal much of a chance yet. He recently told The Wall Street Journal that his low numbers—he hasn’t polled above 2% in a national survey since January—were not relevant.

“I don’t think it will be based just on who has the most money or who has the most name ID, I think it’s one of the reasons that even the leaders right now, who have 100% name ID, still aren’t polling nearly as highly as you’d expect,” he said.

Source:- The Next U.S. President Could Be an Indian-American—But Don’t Call Him That - India Real Time - WSJ

By CORINNE ABRAMS

BN-IT150_jindal_G_20150604025208.jpg

Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal waves during Florida Gov. Rick Scott’s Economic Growth Summit in Florida, U.S., June 2, 2015. Mr. Jindal said Wednesday he would declare his presidential candidacy later this month.

Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal said Wednesday he will declare his candidacy for the Republican presidential nomination on June 24, but Indians hoping to celebrate the prospect of an Indian-American in the White House might want to dial back their desi pride.

In April, Mr. Jindal, who was born in Baton Rouge, La., in 1971, called for the end of “hyphenated Americans,” saying his parents came from India to assimilate, not to hold on to their homeland.

Mr. Jindal first won a seat in the U.S. House of Representatives in 2004 after being appointed to run Louisiana’s Department of Health and Hospitals at the age of 24 and being the youngest-ever president of the state’s university system.

The politician’s website also boasts that his wife, Supriya, is the only “First Spouse” in the U.S. to hold a degree in engineering.

The Brown and Oxford attendee has stressed the importance of religious liberty, spoken out on gun rights and attacked U.S. President Barack Obamaon his handling of the Middle East.

Mr. Jindal, elected governor of Louisiana in 2007, will be joining a crowded party race—nine candidates have already declared their candidacies and Rick Perry and Jeb Bush are expected to join them.

Voter surveys don’t give Mr. Jindal much of a chance yet. He recently told The Wall Street Journal that his low numbers—he hasn’t polled above 2% in a national survey since January—were not relevant.

“I don’t think it will be based just on who has the most money or who has the most name ID, I think it’s one of the reasons that even the leaders right now, who have 100% name ID, still aren’t polling nearly as highly as you’d expect,” he said.

Source:- The Next U.S. President Could Be an Indian-American—But Don’t Call Him That - India Real Time - WSJ

If this idiot becomes the president then US is finished

you cant change policies of US even if there are hindi or mindy..
if Barak coudnt bring change to us then no one cud.. more and more wars comming and you cant calm this devil anymore... good luck.

you cant change policies of US even if there are hindi or mindy..
if Barak coudnt bring change to us then no one cud.. more and more wars comming and you cant calm this devil anymore... good luck.
Agreed.
If I want to she America go to shit then I will wish him luck
It's only the speed that is in question , not the actual going to $hit.

Exactly if it happens to fast then god save us
Look it's either hillary or jeb bush ..... so what we need to see who can help us.....hillary is anti India from day one. Her right hand man is Kerry..... The republicans are Not anti India per se , but have an evangelist streak that can be managed. So i'd choose Republican over democrat any day.
I am for Hilary
Read this post.

Look it's either hillary or jeb bush ..... so what we need to see who can help us.....hillary is anti India from day one. Her right hand man is Kerry..... The republicans are Not anti India per se , but have an evangelist streak that can be managed. So i'd choose Republican over democrat any day.

Read this post.

Republican chalega mujko bhi par yeah nahi yaar I have a bad feeling about this guy

He has to say such things...he needs right wing votes to win and the right wing,like BJP here, wants everyone to be culturally the same. As far as policy is concerned, that will be the same who ever wins.... Specially now due to US's Pivot to Asia. He also gave a statement in Britain about muslim ghettos..... so don't worry if he acts like a redneck because that's his constituency. Overall he will pull a few stunts during the election to distance himself from India but its what he does in office that counts.

I hope so India needs US support beyond Kache Baniyan & Genrators

Patience....EMALS will come because US itself proposed it.
The issue is high temp alloys...that's a tough one.....lot of diplomacy will be needed.But I tell you what we have a waiver from the same organization that sanctioned us from nuke commerce...so don't worry. If indian diplomats can't do it , it can't be done peacefully.
:agree::agree: BTW the negotiation are gonna start next month for EMALS.

Patience....EMALS will come because US itself proposed it.
The issue is high temp alloys...that's a tough one.....lot of diplomacy will be needed.But I tell you what we have a waiver from the same organization that sanctioned us from nuke commerce...so don't worry. If indian diplomats can't do it , it can't be done peacefully.
:agree::agree: BTW the negotiation are gonna start next month for EMALS.

Yeah :yahoo::yahoo: