Support Pakistani generals!

army people like to live in the city than living near the border, they know all ayashi is living in the city, half of karachi is under barracks

thats very mean , they are so worried about karachi that they have left the western borders open and are sleepless in karachi for us and here is what they are getting , they bravos surely need more support

^^ are Generals supposed to stay on borders?

i dont know you tell me .. should they be living in dha only or those 1/20 cantonments ?? should they be fighting wars ? should they be running real estate businesses or just become developers ? should they be running marriage lawns ? cereals or fertilizer factories , should they be running banks ? should they get into car manufacturing as well or stick to agriculture ? logistics ? bakeries ? Dairies ? ....

how many on duty generals are doing so?

YOu guys are idiots and will remain so.

The 'generals' dont run these business nor does the officers and men of this Army does, you 'bloody' civilians run them, the military just owns them. But as you noobs cant digest and can understand the difference between earning monies from a business and physically running/managing it, so i wont blame you of your stupidity. How many officers or men in uniforms have you seen sitting as bank managers? How many plots were constructed by uniformed personnel? How many marriage lawns (where fcuk did this come from?) were being charged by uniformed men? Did you see a uniformed Chemical Engineer working in the Fauji Fertilizer or have you seen a Capt or Maj enforcing quality control at Fauji Cereals?

YOu guys are idiots and will remain so.

The 'generals' dont run these business nor does the officers and men of this Army does, you 'bloody' civilians run them, the military just owns them. But as you noobs cant digest and can understand the difference between earning monies from a business and physically running/managing it, so i wont blame you of your stupidity. How many officers or men in uniforms have you seen sitting as bank managers? How many plots were constructed by uniformed personnel? How many marriage lawns (where fcuk did this come from?) were being charged by uniformed men? Did you see a uniformed Chemical Engineer working in the Fauji Fertilizer or have you seen a Capt or Maj enforcing quality control at Fauji Cereals?

Exactly, I dont know what is the reason of these type of misconceptions? They just want to post against Army nothing else.

It is because of these 'milbus' (WTF!!) that the military is able to sustain itself, and it is because of the same milbus (WTF) that this Army of yours becomes a Profitable Organization for the National Exchequer from a Non-Profit Organization (before you start shyting, please try to understand the difference between the two). Here, allow me to explain; it is bevause of this milbus (WTF!) that this Army of yours is maintained ALMOST FREE OF COST (i.e. without your taxes), dont beleive it? See this:

Same 'ol tale of myths - some more insight:

Defence forces are White Elephant and spend maximum percentage of the National Budget

Debt servicing and PSDP constitute 60%; of the National Budget, another 19% is spent on General Public Services. Only 16 % of the National Budget is spent on Defence Forces which comes to 2.7% of our GDP (2010-11)

Armed Forces contribute nothing towards National economy.

Armed Forces contribute an average 60-70% of the allocated budget annually, towards National economy by way of taxes and foreign remittances. Army contributed Rs 146.8 Bn against budget allocation of Rs 146 Bn for year 2009/10.

Army is involved in commercial/ business activities.

All commercial/ business activities undertaken by Armed Forces are approved by the Government, essentially aimed at welfare of serving/ retired personnel of the Armed Forces. These projects hardly compensate for allocated deficiency and furthermore, substantially contribute towards National exchequer in shape of taxes. (AWT alone pays billions of Rs in taxes each years).

What's the obsession with Army, Saad if you actually living in DHA, you will know how many Army men actually lives in DHA, i live in Lahore Cantt. and i know Majority of army men prefer Askari schemes, and the DHA is infested with majority of high class civilians. And if you read The newspapers, DHA or askari flats never got any negative publicity. because of their financial dealings or what so ever. If you don't agree with my assessment come down to Lahore DHA and have a look at yourself to know if Army High gentry likes to live in DHA or They are living in Lahore Cantt areas and Askari Flats

You are right as i have seen the same trend in DHA rawalpindi/islamabad :)

Here's the list of Directors and Managers of Askari Investments, see how many bawardi jernails are there:

http://www.askariinvestments.com/coprofile.html
Particulars of Directors

Lt. General Zarrar Azim, HI(M) (the guy has retired)

General Zarrar is the Chairman of the Board of AIM. He is also the Managing Director of Army Welfare Trust (AWT) and Chairman of Askari Leasing, Askari General Insurance, Askari Cement, Askari Power, Askari Information Systems, Askari Associates, Askari Aviation and Mobile Askari Lubricant. He is also the Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Board of Askari Bank.

He joined the elite Guides Cavalry Regiment after his commission in 1970. He held various prestigious Command & Staff appointments during his 34 years of commissioned service. He served as an instructor at the Armour School and The National Defense College. He has also commanded Armored Division and Pak Rangers Punjab.

General Zarrar served as Corp. Commander Lahore and served as the Inspector General Training and Evaluation at GHQ. He has attended the Staff, Armed Forces War and National Defense courses. His research on "Nuclear Non-Proliferation Regime" was published in the NDC Journal.

Mr. Shaharyar Ahmad (He's a 'bloody' civilian)
Mr. Shaharyar Ahmad has over 30 years of experience of Investment and Commercial Banking in Europe, The Middle East and Pakistan. He has held senior positions at Bank of Credit and Commerce International in UK and Spain, where he was the head of Merchant Banking Division and Chief Manager and executive incharge of Investment Banking respectively.

At the National Commercial Bank, Saudi Arabia he was head of Asset Management and Special Projects and also a permanent member of Investment Product Committee at the Saudi Arabian Monetary Agency (SAMA).

While at Prime Commercial Bank Limited, he was the executive director and member of board.

Prior to joining Askari Bank, he was Group Head, Investment Banking at United Bank Limited (UBL) and was also Director of several subsidiaries of United Bank Limited. While at UBL, he was also the Chief Executive of United Asset Management Company Limited (UAMC), which was responsible for launching the first money market open-ended mutual fund in the country.

He is a Director of Islamabad Stock Exchange, since 2004. During the year 2002, he also served as Director of Karachi Stock Exchange.

At Present, he holds the position of President & Chief Executive at Askari Bank, Head Office, Rawalpindi.

He is also on the Board of Askari Investment Management Limited (AIML)) an asset management company formed under the NBFI rules.

Mr. Muhammad Naseem (He's a 'bloody' civilian)
Mr. Naseem is a chartered Accountant by profession and is a fellow member of both, The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Pakistan.

Mr. Naseem has more than 37 years of professional experience in Audit and Business Advisory Services, Corporate Financial Investigations, Accounting and Transaction Services.

He joined PriceWaterhouse (now known as PricewaterhouseCoopers) in 1969, where he was primarily involved in servicing various clients in the Middle East and North Africa. He was admitted to the PriceWaterhouse partnership in 1977. In 1982 he was transferred to A. F. Ferguson & Co., (a member firm of PricewaterhouseCoopers in Pakistan), which is one of the most prestigious firms of Chartered Accountants in Pakistan. In April 2005, Mr. Naseem retired from the A. F. Ferguson partnership.

During his professional career Mr. Naseem served multinational and Large national clients engaged in the fields of Oil and Gas, Telecommunications, Ocean Transportation, Investment Banking, Heavy Engineering, Steel Fabrications, Brokerage Houses, etc.

Mr. Naseem has also served on the Education Committee and Quality Control Committee of the Institution of Chartered Accountants of Pakistan.

Mr. Shahid Hafeez Azmi (He's a 'bloody' civilian)
Mr. Azmi is a seasoned investment banker. He has been associated with Merrill Lynch, Dubai, E.F. Hutton, London and Lehman Brothers London, looking after various functions like asset management, mutual funds, interest rate swaps and dealing in futures and options. Mr. Azmi did his MBA from Institute of Business Administration (IBA), Karachi in 1975.

He was also one of the founding directors of Askari Bank and served as a Board member till early 2005 for the Bank.

Dr. Bashir Ahmad Khan (He's a 'bloody' civilian)
Dr. Bashir Ahmed Khan is a prominent scholar and currently working as the Director of Executive Education and Professor of Finance at F.C College Lahore. Prior to joining F.C College he was associated with LUMS, one of the most prestigious universities of Pakistan. During his service at LUMS he was the Associate Dean of Rausing Executive Development Centre and was also involved in teaching of various courses of finance in the university. He is also in the list of trainers at Securities and Exchange Commission, Institute of Bankers, Civil services Academy and Pakistan administrative staff college.

He also has the teaching experience abroad with the Templeton College, Oxford University and the Pennsylvania State University. He has worked as a researcher at the World Bank in Washington University. Besides this, he has acted as a management consultant for a variety of commercial and non-commercial organizations in Pakistan. He has to his credit a number of case studies, journals and working papers concerning various aspects of Pakistan economy.

Dr. Bashir A. Khan has done his doctorate in Finance from University of Oxford in 1996. He also holds Commonwealth Academic Staff Scholarship and a Charles Wallace Trust Fellowship.

Mr. Adnan Afaq - Chief Executive (He's a 'bloody' civilian)
Mr. Adnan Afaq has experience of more than 20 years in different Banks/Institutions. He is a Chartered Accountant, qualifying form England and Wales.

He joined Askari Bank in 2002 and setup its planning and corporate affairs, where he worked at various merger and acquisition transactions. He has contributed significantly on the basis of his outstanding professional skills and capabilities. He also led the team involved in setting up of Askari Investment management Ltd and is working as the CEO of this company since its inception.

He also worked for Prime Commercial Bank as Chief Financial Officer, Head of Consumer Banking and Head of Operations. He was the Chief architect of the accounting and MIS control systems. He worked for Deutsche Bank where he was involved in budgeting, evaluating customer profitability, provisioning and formulating the marketing plans. He has also worked for a reputed Chartered Accountancy firm, A.F. Ferguson and Co, Chartered Accountant (A member firm of PriceWaterHouseCoopers).

Mr. Kashif Mateen Ansari (R Fauji)
Member of Board of Directors of AIM since April-2006, Mr. Kashif Mateen Ansari has over 13 years experience is various areas including strategic financial management, management accounting, financial control and financial policy. He is also serving as director of various other Group Companies including Askari Bank, Askari Leasing Limited and Askari General Insurance Company Limited.

Mr. Kashif Mateen Ansari is Fellow Member of Institute of Cost & Management Accountant of Pakistan and Institute of Public Accountants of Pakistan.

Mr. Ansari also served Pakistan Army and won Sword of Honour in PMA Kakul. He also has the honour of winning five gold medals during his PMA training tenure.

Mr. Mohammad Arif Mian (He's a 'bloody' civilian)
Mr. Arif Mian is a Chartered Accountant from England & Wales with 33 years of diversified experience to his credit. He started his career with a firm of Chartered Accountants in London, UK., and is currently SEVP and Group Head, Risk Management, of Askari Bank. He holds a master's degree in Economics and is also a Chartered Financial Analyst - AIMR.

He has held senior positions in various banks and securities regulators. He left Hong Kong Metropolitan Bank in 1987 to join BCCI in Abu Dhabi in the Treasury Division. He was the Treasury Financial Controller and Head of Overseas Branches at the National Commercial Bank Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. He has also worked in Canada for five years with various organizations including Sottomayor Bank, Canadian Derivatives Clearing Corporation (as Director Risk Management), Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (CIBC), Toronto (as Executive Director, Balance Sheet Management Group) and Investment Dealers Association of Canada (IDA), Toronto (as Specialist Regulatory Policy).

Mr. Arif Mian joined the Securities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan as Executive Director Securities Market Division in August 2005, before joining Askari Bank as SEVP and Group Head, Risk Management, which position he occupies till today.

Particulars of Management

Mr. Saeed Aziz Khan, Fund Manager
(He's a 'bloody' civilian)
Mr. Khan has extensive global exposure to money and capital markets, trading in multiple currencies, bonds, equities and their derivates. He has worked in treasuries of some of the top banks in Hong Kong, Sydney, London, New York, Abu Dhabi and Pakistan. He also conducted seminars in Tokyo and Dubai on options and technical analysis.

Mr. Rizwan Hasan Khan, Chief Financial Officer (He's a 'bloody' civilian)
Prior to joining AIM, Mr. Rizwan H. Khan has served at Citigroup N.Y. He has over 10 years core asset management industry experience. Mr. Khan has also been an integral part of major international organizations such as Barclays and Mackenzie Financial in USA and Canada.

Mr. Rizwan H. Khan has extensive experience of various Asset Management products like Hedged, Exchange Traded, Private Equity and Mutual Funds. He is the First CFO of AIM. He holds Bachelors and Masters degrees in business administration from U.S.A.

Mr. Tariq O. Rehman, Marketing Manager (He's a 'bloody' civilian)
Mr. Tariq Rehman has over 20 years of experience in the commercial world. With a background in finance, he had been, among other company's, working with Leach & Co., Chartered Accountants, in the United Kingdom.

Since his return to Pakistan he has been heading many technology related projects and was instrumental in launching the first internet company in 1993. He is a well known figure in the technology industry in Pakistan, having launched innovative services in the telecom and transportation sectors.

Mr. Adnan Muzaffar, Head of Risk & Research (He's a 'bloody' civilian)
Mr. Adnan Muzaffar has more than ten years of experience in risk management and financial analysis having worked in Fortune 500 companies in the U.S. He joined AIM in 2006 and is responsible for managing all aspects of risk for the mutual fund. Prior to joining AIM, he worked as the Senior Manager Risk Management for Washington Mutual Bank, which is the sixth largest bank in the U.S. He has also held positions in risk management in Freddie Mac, Ernst & Young and Deloitte & Touche in the U.S. He has an MBA from the University of Texas and a B.S. in Electrical Engineering from University of Engineering & Technology, Lahore.

---

There's a fauji on top of these 'bloody' civilian so that he can shove that danda up their a$$es if they dont respond as per our desires. No wonder you dont see our enterprises going in LOSS as compared to their counterparts in your part of the world e.g. PIA, Pak Rail, Pak Steel, WAPDA etc

mr xeric please explain what has the military guy got to do with a civilian affairs in the first place, i mean they dont even have exact education on these matters

some time ago PIA chairman was a army guy, OCB chairman was army guy

normally when a banker gets retired, he enjoys the retirement and pension, when an engineer retires he enjoys a quite life, but when an army officer retires he becomes chairman of this that organization

Something about DHA:

Pakistan Defence Officers Housing Authority karachi

Pakistan Defence Officers Housing Authority as the name implies, primarily came into being for the welfare of the serving and retired officers of the Armed Forces of Pakistan. The Housing Society, which made a humble beginning with allotment of a mere 76.2 acres of land has come a long way since. It was through the state of the art development of mostly barren land, meticulous master planning, provision of enviable civic facilities and quality living environments to its residents that DHA has attained a status which serves as a benchmark for quality community living unparalleled to its class.

DHA has thus come a long way in emerging as the largest and most prestigious residential estate of the country. Through a well-managed and regulated administration it provides the best educational, recreational, cultural and civic facilities in an aesthetically dynamic environment. These are cardinal factors which have made the DHA's land precious estate property.

The very basic purpose of setting up of Housing Authority was three fold:-

-Welfare of Armed Forces Officers who after a dedicated and meritorious service as defenders of the country, retire from the service at a very early age.

- Setting up of model housing schemes to act as trendsetter for housing sector of the country.

-To Conserve on A-1 land and setup housing schemes on land purchased from Federal/provincial governments/private sectors. This is an application of forte and experience of Armed Forces to become an inalienable and inseparable part of the nation's prosperity and progress.

The Authority's functioning is overseen by two bodies, namely, the Governing Body chaired by Secretary Ministry of Defence and Executive Board headed by the Corps Commander posted at Karachi. Serving Armed Forces Officers represent their respective services in the two bodies.

Authority is spread over an area of approximately 8,797 Acres. It has 81,489 members of all categories which consist of Armed Forces Officers, Civilians and legal heirs of deceased members. DHA, today, has an elaborate network of roads, spread over 466 Km; water supply covering 605 Km; and sewerage spanning 470 Km

Governing Body

The Governing Body is headed by Secretary Ministry of Defence, Govt of Pakistan. Its members are:-

- Vice Chiefs of Staff of three services or Principal Staff Officers of the three services (Nominees of respective Service Chief).
- AG, AG's Branch GHQ
-DCNS (Trg & Pers), AHQ
- DCAS (Admin), AHQ
- President Executive Board DHA.
- DG, ML & C, Min of Defence
- Administrator of the Authority
- Secretary-Secretary of the Authority

The Governing Body meets at least once every year to review progress, lay down policy guidelines and approve the budget and audit report of the Authority.

Executive Board

Corps Commander posted at Karachi is the President, Executive Board DHA. Its members are:-

- A serving Army Officers not below the rank of Brigadier posted at Karachi (COAS Nominee).
- A serving Naval Officer not below the rank of Cdre posted at Karachi (CNS Nominee).
-A serving Air Force Officer not below the rank of Air Cdre posted at Karachi (CAS Nominee).
- Administrator of the Authority.
- Co-opted Members – to be appointed by the Executive Board for a period not exceeding two years. They do not have the right of vote.
- Secretary – Secretary of the Authority.

Executive Board exercises all administrative and financial powers. It meets as often as may be required.

Organization

A serving Brigadier heads the organization and is designated as the Administrator. The Administrator is the Chief Executive of the Authority and exercises all executive powers delegated or otherwise in accordance with the policy laid down by the Governing Body and decisions of the Executive Board.

Secretary and various Directors are generally retired Armed Forces Officers.

----

Now, can you please count how many 'jernails' (and marshals) are actually running the DHA? i think they can fit on ones finger tips, right? Now. out the total combined number of Officers in the tri-services (Army, Navy and PAF) if we can spare (though they are not spared, their primary job is to look after for what they are paid for) in return of a huge benefit, which includes huge welfare to military personnel and a huge support to the national economy and a huge system of employment in a country where unemployment rate is the highest, then i think it's not a bad bargain.

But..

Most important of all, these appointments are ex-officio appointments, so there's nothing special or hidden about them, and before someone tries to sht again, please get hold of a guud dictionary before you do that.

mr xeric please explain what has the military guy got to do with a civilian affairs in the first place, i mean they dont even have exact education on these matters
Kya howa janab? Bari jaldi bus hogye hai.. ;)

You guys started from DHA and Marriage Lawns and ended up on a totally different note?

some time ago PIA chairman was a army guy, OCB chairman was army guy
See, appointment of Chairman PIA or Chairman Pak Steel has NOTHING to do with the current topic. Still, these appointments were political appointments especially during Musharraf's rule so that he can incentivize a few jernails so that they dont counter him. The day Gen Kiyani took over, ALL of such appointments were reverted back and ALL the Officers (retired or serving were sent back), but you wouldnt know that, would you?

i was against such appointments and i still am. BTW, how many organizations are having retd Officer as of TODAY? Please enlighten us all!

On a separate note, even if today an officer get appointed in some civilian organization on merit what's wrong about it? A Maj usually retires at the age of 40, now at this age and time his children are school going and he ought to find a job. Similarly, if a politician hand picks a jernail and appoint him the CEO or Chairman of some organization, then the Army is NOT to be blamed because it was not the Army that appointed him, but your beloved politicians! Jao unka sir khao bhai!

Politicized appointments are bad and i am against them. But that's the problem of our country. Dont you see a fake PhD was the Chairman of Pak Steel? Dont you know a Intermediate pass is heading OGDC these days? Dont you know who many FA pass are General Managers in WAPDA these days? No you dont know, why would you know? When the sole aim of your life is to malign that one institutions that is keeping both the cheeks of your a$$es together!

normally when a banker gets retired, he enjoys the retirement and pension, when an engineer retires he enjoys a quite life, but when an army officer retires he becomes chairman of this that organization

A banker, engineer etc retires at the age of 60, a military officer (most of them - as 80% of them retire at the rank of Major, Squadron Leader etc) retires at the age of 35-45 years, this is notwithstanding the political appointments of jernails.

And yes, the beloved Fauji Foundation:

Fauji Foundation is a:

Fauji Foundation

Welfare services include free Healthcare, Subsidized Education, Education Stipends, Vocational and Technical training.

Fauji Foundation is a self-subsisting organisation, independent of Government subsidies or donations, and not entitled to any preferential status regarding taxes, duties, levies or tariffs.

Has contributed approx. Rs. 34 billion (USD 572 million) to the national exchequer in the form of taxes, duties, and levies in FY2008.

Expenditure on Welfare Services is over Rs. 23.8 billion since inception; in FY2008 Welfare Expenditure was Rs. 2.6 billion (USD 42 million).

Approx. 41,112 students enrolled in the FF Education System.
Treat approx. 2.3 million patients per year through our Healthcare Services.

Fauji Group currently employs approx. 12,411 people.

---
Now if you people want a Rs 34 B poorer and 12411 families more unemployed Pakistan, please be my guest and shut down the FF.

But, oh no, you cant do that, because:

All commercial/ business activities undertaken by Armed Forces are approved by the Government, essentially aimed at welfare of serving/ retired personnel of the Armed Forces. These projects hardly compensate for allocated deficiency and furthermore, substantially contribute towards National exchequer in shape of taxes. (AWT alone pays billions of Rs in taxes each years).

No?

Come on grow some balls and pass another bill in your beloved Parliament and desolve all this milbus. After all you guys have (hailing) Democracy, FREE Media and a FREE Judiciary now, bhai!!

Or may be not?! i know what, all you guys can do is b!!tch , moan and complain, so please carry on!