SC describes railways as ‘most corrupt’ institution

If i have to make a top pick i would describe as the most corrupt institution of Pakistan. It is perhaps the most useless institution in our country considering it hardly disposes any justice. I am not defending sheeda tali here bcz i believe IK made the biggest mistake of his life by making him Minister of Railways. He ruined PR during his previous tenure and despite that this piece of $hit was given this position.

PR should be turned into a company just like PIA rather than managing it through public funds.

I think it is not a judge's job to decide who can become minister and who cannot. PM ki mrzi jis MNA ko wazir banaye.

Did you know that in parliamentary system a legislature's sole responsibility is to propose and enact laws as per the doctrine of trichotomy of power?

SC describes railways as ‘most corrupt’ institution
By Hasnaat Mailk
Published: January 27, 2020

2145102-supremecourtx-1580116056-840-640x480.jpg

PHOTO: EXPRESS
SLAMABAD:

The country’s top judge on Monday described the Pakistan Railways (PR) as the ‘most corrupt’ among state institutions as he summoned the Minister for Railways Sheikh Rashid and the railways secretary today (Tuesday) to answer the court’s queries.

Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJ) Justice Gulzar Ahmed issued this order while heading a three-judge bench that was hearing a suo motu case initiated by former CJ Mian Saqib Nisar against billions of rupees losses incurred by the PR due to alleged mismanagement.

During the hearing, the chief justice expressed annoyance over the PR’s performance. He said the entire department is politicized and nothing is functioning properly.

The chief justice also criticized Sheikh Rashid without naming him. He observed that a person should first travel by train before taking charge of the ministry.

“The stations and railway tracks are not in order. Every passenger travelling by train is in danger and not feeling secure. The freight trains are also not operating. The world is using bullet trains but we are still operating antiquated railways,” he noted.

Another member of bench, Justice Ijazul Ahsan, said the audit report about the PR revealed losses to the tune of billions of rupees. The bench also questioned why the PR record is not being computerized.

The bench also asked about last year’s fire incident. On 31 October 2019, Tezgam passenger train caught fire while traveling from Karachi to Rawalpindi, resulting in at least 75 deaths.

The counsel representing the Ministry of Railways said the department had probed into the matter and taken action against two officials. However, the CJ rejected outcome of the investigation.

Later, the bench summoned the PR’s top officials. Rashid will be first minister to be summoned by incumbent CJP. Justice Gulzar last week also raised questions about alleged illegal appointments in the Pakistan International Airlines (PIA), the national flag carrier.

The incumbent CJ has not taken any new suo motu notice so far but is hearing the public interest cases which were initiated by former CJ Mian Saqib Nisar. The last CJ Asif Saeed Khosa had adopted a policy of judicial restraint by not hearing these cases last year.

However, Justice Gulzar in his first speech had said eradication of corruption and maladministration will be his top priority.

Former railways minister Khawaja Saad Rafique had also appeared before the apex court during tenure of CJP Nisar and submitted a reply with regard to billions of rupees losses faced by the PR during his period. He had stated that no corruption or irregularities had been mentioned in the audit paras.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2145102/1-railway-corrupt-institution-country-sc/

I’m not sure about the railway being the most corrupt ( maybe so) but I can tell you I’ve seen some evil s***t perpetrated by a ring of employees.

Now these judges would decide who can become minister and who cannot. Why should he travel by train?

What will SC say when they find out he has been Railways Minister before as well? Will Hareem Shah accompany Sheikho to the court?

Difference between this retard and previous retard is that the previous retard showed results.

Judge sahab, aap kay Supreme Court main aik clerk file number batanay kay 15,000 rupay mangta hai. Yeh pichlay haftay ki baat hai.
So this make corruption in railway as Halal?

App lagta hai bhool ghey k kis tra Imran khan aur sheikh chili previous chief justice k statements( against corruption ) ko quote karte they for political scoring jab yea statements previous government k khilaaf ati thi

Uss time kohe nhi bolta tha k yea Chief justice k domain nhi ha uss ko pehle apna institution teekh karna chaya but now when chief justice is taking about corruption in sitting government then you guys are bringing 100 excuses lol why this hypocrisy?

I think it is not a judge's job to decide who can become minister and who cannot. PM ki mrzi jis MNA ko wazir banaye.

Honorable Brass Knuckles.

I agree with you Sir.

Another example of Judicial activism. Judges or courts have no business to decide who would or should be the Minister for the Railways, nor they have any right to ask the minister to provide a plan to bring the Railways or any organization for that matter from the 'Red into the Black'. All of the above are the responsibilities/ tasks of the Executive/Gov't of the day.

If the Railway is corrupt, it is the FIA/Inland Revenue or NAB to decide and investigate. Courts are meant to provide Justice and the main task of the Supreme Court is to interpret the Constitution and decide whether any action of the go' vt/law passed by the parliament was unconstitutional.

I agree with you Sir.

Another example of Judicial activism. Judges or courts have no business to decide who would or should be the Minister for the Railways, nor they have any right to ask the minister to provide a plan to bring the Railways or any organization for that matter from the 'Red into the Black'. All of the above are the responsibilities/ tasks of the Executive/Gov't of the day.

If the Railway is corrupt, it is the FIA/Inland Revenue or NAB to decide and investigate. Courts are meant to provide Justice and the main task of the Supreme Court is to interpret the Constitution and decide whether any action of the go' vt/law passed by the parliament was unconstitutional.
I agree with your post and I’d like to add that the criminal rings that operate within the railway system are so well embedded, so well connected that I cannot see how they will break them up. There are multiple rings. It’ll be a mission to do and will require the help of intelligence services.

یاد رہے کہ ریلوے میں خسارے کا مقدمہ سابق حکمران جماعت پاکستان مسلم لیگ نواز کے دور سے چل رہا ہے۔

اُس وقت کے وفاقی وزیرِ ریلوے خواجہ سعد رفیق کے دور میں ایک درخواست سپریم کورٹ کے انسانی حقوق کے سیل میں آئی تھی جس میں ریلوے کے خسارے کا ذکر کیا گیا تھا، جس کے بعد اس وقت کے چیف جسٹس میاں ثاقب نثار نے اس معاملے کو سماعت کے لیے مقرر کیا تھا۔

آج کی سماعت سے قبل شیخ رشید احمد نے میڈیا کے نمائندوں سے گفتگو کرتے ہوئے کہا کہ سپریم کورٹ نے جس معاملے پر نوٹس جاری کیا ہے وہ محکمہ ریلوے کا سنہ 2013 سے سنہ 2017 تک کے آڈٹ سے متعلق ہے۔

اُنھوں نے کہا کہ ان کو تو وزارت سنبھالے ڈیڑھ سال کا عرصہ ہوا ہے اور اس عرصے کے دوران اکاؤنٹس کا آڈٹ کرنے میں وقت لگے گا۔

Source:

https://www.bbc.com/urdu/pakistan-51265470

https://www.geo.tv/latest/269447-sh...rain-inferno-left-70-dead-observes-cjp-gulzar

Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Justice Gulzar Ahmed on Tuesday remarked that Minister for Railways Sheikh Rashid Ahmed should have resigned after a train inferno left 70 people dead near the city of Liaquatpur last year.

The top judge made the remarks while hearing a case related to the financial deficit of the railways department. Ahmed appeared in court on Tuesday morning on behalf of the governmental entity.

A three-member bench of the top court, comprising CJP Gulzar, Justice Ijaz-ul-Ahsan and Justice Sajjad Ali Shah, conducted the hearing into the case on Tuesday.

Also read: 140,000 government employees were beneficiaries of BISP, reveals Sania Nishtar

"Can you tell us about the progress you have made in the case? All your records are in front of us," CJP Gulzar said while addressing the minister during the hearing today.

"You should have resigned after the train inferno left 70 people dead," the top judge said, addressing Ahmed. "Seventy people were burned to death. What is the progress of the investigation into the case?" he asked.

269447_4370417_updates.jpg

CJP Gulzar Ahmed. Photo: File

"We have acted against nineteen people in the case so far," the minister told the top judge. However, CJP Gulzar asked Ahmed why the inquiry into the accident had been limited to low-level employees.

Also read: China asks Pakistan to convene 10th JCC meeting under CPEC ahead of schedule: report

'Railways should be closed down'
"You sacked the gate-keeper and the driver. When will you act against the top officials involved in the incident?" the top judge asked. In his reply, Ahmed assured CJP Gulzar of action against top railways officials.

"Can you tell us why action should not be taken against you for the train accident that left over 70 dead? You are the top-most official after all," the top judge said after hearing the reply from the minister.

"In my opinion, Pakistan Railways should be closed down. It is better that the department be closed down rather than letting it run the way you are running it," the top judge said in his remarks, addressing Ahmed.

Also read: Train driver saves the day as Shalimar Express escapes disaster

Court summons Planning Minister Asad Umar
269447_7151945_updates.jpg

Minister for Planning Asad Umar. Photo: File

The court asked Ahmed to submit in court within two weeks a comprehensive plan to make the railways profitable. The court also asked for an update on the up-gradation of railway tracks.

The bench summoned Minister for Planning Asad Umar to answer questions about the ML-1 cross-country railway project under the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor as well.

The court, before adjourning the hearing into the case till further notice, warned Ahmed that if the plan to turn around the railway department was not complied with, a contempt of court proceeding would be launched against the minister.

Also read: Sadiqabad train accident: Death toll rises to 24 as more bodies found

'Would abide by court instructions'
Ahmed, while talking to reporters after the court hearing on Tuesday, said his ministry would abide by instructions of the Supreme Court in improving the affairs of Pakistan Railways.

“We are thankful to Supreme Court for taking up this matter. We shall proceed forward in light of its instructions. We shall also request the court to settle the stay orders issue,” he told reporters.

"We shall honor the court instructions. Even if the Chief Justice desired my resignation, I would abide by him," he said answering a question about the audit report of the department that had incurred the displeasure of the court.

'Railways most corrupt institution'
269447_4747240_updates.jpg

Photo: File

The top court had on Monday observed that Pakistan Railways is the most corrupt institution of the country. The observation was made during a hearing of the case pertaining to the deficit-ridden governmental body.

A three-member bench of the apex court headed by CJP Gulzar observed that it is very dangerous to travel in railways, adding the whole institution was engulfed with politics.

While expressing annoyance over the performance of the railways, the top judge said that the railways tracks are not in order. “It is the most corrupt institution of the country," the CJP remarked.

Also read: Major train accidents in Pakistan since 1953

He said that the life of the passengers is in danger while traveling in trains. The CJP also asked about the outcome of an inquiry into an Liaquatpur tragedy, wherein at least 73 people were killed and 48 others injured after a fire engulfed a train.

The court also took strong exception to the audit report of the department. “Your record is not computerised. Nothing is running correctly in the railways," the bench had observed.

With additional input from APP

I agree with you Sir.

Completely agree with constitutional role of judiciary but my problem is double standards of PTI ministers and supporters because they were all praising chowdry Saqib Nisar for interfering in the affairs of executive while ignoring his own judicial duties during previous government ..then they were using his statements about corruption to validate their political narrative against their political opponents. No one criticised Saqib Nisar for checking hospitals and supervising social development programmes including population growth policies.

Hmm sheikh rasheed courpt he would be pissed.
But one has to really ask urself is the supreme court of pakistan courption free?

ISLAMABAD:
Hours after the Supreme Court rebuked Federal Minister for Railways Sheikh Rashid, a senior officer was suspended on Tuesday in connection with the deadly Tezgam Express incident that killed 74 and injured dozens others in October last year.

“In the wake of fire incident of 7-UP (Tezgam Express) on 31.10.2019, with immediate effect and till further orders Mr Jamshaid Alam, a BS-19 officer of Railways (Commercial & Transportation) Group, presently working as Deputy Divisional Superintendent/Passenger/Karachi is placed under suspension,” said a notification issued by the Railways Ministry on Tuesday.

The federal minister had assured the top court that action would be taken against all officials found responsible for the tragedy. He claimed that 19 people had been held accountable for the incident and the top management should also be held responsible.

‘You should have resigned after Tezgam tragedy’: SC grills Sheikh Rashid

Resuming the hearing of a suo motu case initiated by former CJP Saqib Nisar pertaining to losses incurred by the Pakistan Railways earlier in the day, a three-member bench of the apex court also expressed displeasure over Rashid’s running of the strategic national organisation.

“Your [Sheikh Rashid’s] entire performance is in front of us,” Chief Justice Gulzar Ahmed said. “Why should you not be held accountable for the deaths of 74 people? What investigation was conducted? You should have resigned after the incident,” he asked.

On Monday, the apex court had remarked that Pakistan Railways was the ‘most corrupt’ institution in the country.

Tezgam train inferno death toll reaches 74

The county’s top judge also remarked that the railways should be closed adding that “we do not need such intuition”.

At least 74 lives were snuffed out when a blaze ignited by a cooking gas cylinder blast swept through a passenger train which was en route to Rawalpindi from Karachi on October 31, 2019.

The cylinder brought by some passengers said to be members of Tableeghi Jamaat on-board Tezgam Express exploded when the train was chugging past Liaquatpur city in the southern Punjab district of Rahim Yar Khan, according to officials.

The fire, fanned by wind on the cruising train, quickly spread to two other compartments of the train catching most passengers off guard.

The Tezgam incident was murder more than an incident.

The government was facing protests when the 'incident' happened.

Supreme Court is now under spotlight. CJP should discontinue the ritual of populist remarks if their verdicts do not mirror them.

Railway is corrupt to core no doubt about it but the Audit report SC is basing their views on was ordered by the CJSP Saqib Nasar in 2018.

Mr. Ahmed can now explain what actions he took on those reports too.

He has been on the record saying he is a reluctant minister as he had admittedly failed twice before at the same task.

Only Supreme Court can save Pakistan from Civilian Dictatorship

Sheikh rasheed is not corrupt. Even opposition parties & so many enemies can't find a single corruption case from this 8 times federal minister.
This chief justice has no Right to ask anyone for resign or he should join some political party.
Our courts are not giving justice, there are two systems, one for rich people which our courts listening even on holiday Sundays, other system for poor people that takes months & years .