SC bars institutions from ‘extra-constitutional’ steps

Waaaaaait a minute.

The law says that elections have to be conducted within 90 days of the assembly being dissolved.

Let's say that the assemblies were dissolved in a completely legal and constitutional manner with no qualms from either side. The elections would still have to be conducted within 90 days according to the constitution.

Why can't the ECP do that then? This seems more like a fault on the ECP's part more than anything.

Sort of like how a unit HAS to be ready to deploy in 4 days. They can't just come up and say sorry, we aren't ready, we weren't expecting a war to break out.

I am pretty sure you are mixing up electronic voting with online voting.

The former is what we are going for, the latter is something even I have apprehensions about.
Well you live in USA and one question did you go to any govt department in Pak in last 3 years or even before? If yes, how was your experience?

If No, All Govt departments are like this even during IK Goverment. Lazy and inefficient. Nothing New. They don't want to work simply.

Governance challenges ahead are more difficult. Corruption is deep into every govt institutions.

ECP has turned into a part of the PDM, and the Chief Election Commissioner is taking directions from NS.

We don't have a single working electronic voting machine, and we are going to an election in 88 days. Plus, electronic voting is going to be a big blunder for Pakistan. Mark my words. The uneducated masses are not ready for this. And do not forget that electronic voting system WILL be hijacked, and millions of Pakistanis will lose trust in democracy if that happens.

The normal physical voting system is tried and tested, with all points of failure known, and remedies developed. On the other hand, electronic voting is a totally new phenomenon. EV is a single point of failure which is very concerning for me. I think we should go ahead with the normal physical voting system within Pakistan, and allow overseas Pakistanis to vote 10 days before the actual voting starts. I say this because the online voting system WILL be the target of DDOS attacks, and the website will be taken down by attackers frequently.

Please watch this video!

A natural reaction against continual dynastic/feudalistic politics in Pakistan. Let's wait for some time so that democracy in Pakistan matures further.
EVM is very much working and operational, and no it does not run open source firmware, and is not even connected to internet, safeguards have been built into it and it is virtually impossible to hack. why poke your nose into stuff which you know nothing about?

the man in the video looks and talks like a butthurt troll who is ranting anything that comes into his mind.

Elections on time is matter of National Security in my opinion to fight rising inflation

If 90 days election were not possible the fiasco of the no Confidence should have been straight rejected on grounds of emergency and article 63, which forbids political candidates to Jump between parties while being active member of first party and holding a political office.

Here we go again.

Strategic delay by Election Commission which always has a soft spot for PMLN/PPP thugs.

It's all part of the plan.

First PDM started disinformation campaign to undermine the significance of NSC letter acknowledgement, and now election commission is making excuses that Elections are not possible in 90 days.

-- The system is rotten to the core. Why are they testing patience of a common man? The public wants PM Imran Khan to have 2/3rd Majority. We don't want to see PDM foreign puppets in power ever again.

with the two bits idiots they have in hired ECP no wonder.. if they need technical help overseas Pakistanis can do with in a month. they have expertise , work ethic and technical know how to do this.

Your leader NS (aka traitor to Pakistan) is a friend of Butcher of Gujrat, Modi.

oh man....forget his likes..

people like him are happy just to boot polish some gora...

ey claim it will take them months to update voter lists. The voter lists are digital, it is a database query to update a single field based on your address. It's a weeks work end to end for any competent IT team..

you hit it .. competence is big issue with them.

they clearly have no clue how the world works out side.

This is hilarious. 3 months are enough if voter list is ready.

Yes tell it to the PDM AKA supporters of Pakistan traitors ..

Watch this after 12.50:

Haroon Rashid clearly said that opposition will try their best to stop overseas Pakistanis votes being counted and EVMs do not get implemented. He made these remarks last night and today we got this ECP statement that they cannot conduct general elections in 90 days. Everything seems linked here.

Well you live in USA and one question did you go to any govt department in Pak in last 3 years or even before? If yes, how was your experience?

If No, All Govt departments are like this even during IK Goverment. Lazy and inefficient. Nothing New. They don't want to work simply.

Governance challenges ahead are more difficult. Corruption is deep into every govt institutions.

Woooooaaahhh buddy chillllllll.

Here comes the old "Hey you don't live in Pakistan so you don't get to have a say in things" card.

Mate, I do not 'live' in the US.

I was in Pakistan not more than 3 weeks ago.

Poori zindagi Pakistan main hu guzari hai, Sultan ki khui ki galion main gari theek karwanay say to Peshawar Bara, to the sandy mountains of Dadu and the plains in Sui. Court kacheri kay bhi chakkar lagaye hain (very reluctantly I might add), aur sarkari haspatalon main bhi khwari kati.

So yeah...

But I agree with you, corruption and had-harmi is rife in our government departments.

Watch this after 12.50:

Haroon Rashid clearly said that opposition will try their best to stop overseas Pakistanis votes being counted and EVMs do not get implemented. He made these remarks last night and today we got this ECP statement that they cannot conduct general elections in 90 days. Everything seems linked here.

That is all the opposition wants.

The 'electoral reforms' they want to do, are exactly these two points.

Couple this with the quashing of NAB and FIA cases faced by them, the PDM is golden.

This does give rise to a question though. If there are no elections within 90 days, then what? The country at a time like this, surely cannot tolerate an interim setup for more than that? Economic decisions, foreign policy, infrastructure projects, fiscal policy (budget in June), all can't be left alone.

Warna phir fauj hi ajaye mulk chalanay! :P

Woooooaaahhh buddy chillllllll.

Here comes the old "Hey you don't live in Pakistan so you don't get to have a say in things" card.

Mate, I do not 'live' in the US.

I was in Pakistan not more than 3 weeks ago.

Poori zindagi Pakistan main hu guzari hai, Sultan ki khui ki galion main gari theek karwanay say to Peshawar Bara, to the sandy mountains of Dadu and the plains in Sui. Court kacheri kay bhi chakkar lagaye hain (very reluctantly I might add), aur sarkari haspatalon main bhi khwari kati.

So yeah...

But I agree with you, corruption and had-harmi is rife in our government departments.
I didn't say anywhere "Hey you don't live in Pakistan so you don't get to have a say in things" just asked a question and didn't mean that at all. My main point was govt department laziness and corruption.

This is how votes are counted in Pakistan

FPLqhBHVgAkCzPg

I didn't say anywhere "Hey you don't live in Pakistan so you don't get to have a say in things" just asked a question and didn't mean that at all. My main point was govt department laziness and corruption.

All good my man, all good.

I know you didn't mean that, but lately I have been seeing this trend generally. People love to point out "Hey, you are living overseas so you have no idea or right to talk about these things".

So just letting the built up steam out.

This is how votes are counted in Pakistan

FPLqhBHVgAkCzPg

Which is exactly why you need EVM's.

Those who contend that EVM's have been rejected in other countries, there is a pretty simple example.

Let's say Germany has a process which is 90% accurate. The EVM is 80% accurate. Of course Germany is going to reject it and keep with the 90.

Now, the same process in Pakistan is 40% accurate. Would you still reject the EVM because Germany rejected it? Of course not. You still increase your accuracy to 80%.

Everything is part of a plan, except for whatever comes from Mahatam Imran. Baqi sab saazish hai.

Oye kon log O tussi?

Its the same crowd coming up with one idiotic thread after another. Cultish mindset.

Don't you think ECP have only 1 fcuking job and it shouldn't have waited for election to perform all the fresh delimitation of constituencies ? I mean FATA is not merged with KP today. It's been done some 2 years ago. Census is also conducted in 2017. ECP should have done it's fcuking job without waiting for elections to come. And now the only task remaining to them would have been procurement of stamps and ball points ( oh my God. They just used procurement of ball points as a reason for delay).

Waaaaaait a minute.

The law says that elections have to be conducted within 90 days of the assembly being dissolved.

Let's say that the assemblies were dissolved in a completely legal and constitutional manner with no qualms from either side. The elections would still have to be conducted within 90 days according to the constitution.

Why can't the ECP do that then? This seems more like a fault on the ECP's part more than anything.

Sort of like how a unit HAS to be ready to deploy in 4 days. They can't just come up and say sorry, we aren't ready, we weren't expecting a war to break out.

I am pretty sure you are mixing up electronic voting with online voting.

The former is what we are going for, the latter is something even I have apprehensions about.
They are PMLN people
Hence why gulzar is being nominated because PTI knows this

EVM is very much working and operational, and no it does not run open source firmware, and is not even connected to internet, safeguards have been built into it and it is virtually impossible to hack. why poke your nose into stuff which you know nothing about?

the man in the video looks and talks like a butthurt troll who is ranting anything that comes into his mind.

All modern literature on EVMs, often point to this same attitude of "EVM supremacists" who brush off any constructive criticism over this technology by either calling them butt-hurt, or straight up incompetent. The butt-hurt person in the video I shared is a computer scientist who was an advisor to a British Parliamentary committee on EVMS, by the way. As far as I am concerned: image. You can read about EVM horror stories on the internet which range from dead batteries, to incompetent presiding officers, to a total breakdown of the EVM system with data loss.

You might want to read an article from a friend.
Regards.

Then the said person is also not fit for contribution in electing national leadership.
That is a whole debate; you are right. But right now, we have to rely on the uneducated masses for the future of this nation. Hope that education will improve the quality of democracy in Pakistan in the coming years.