Punjab govt's step to restore Basant festival challenged in LHC

Return of Basant Kite Flying, Are you for or against?

• Total voters

Path-Finder

Hazrat @Zarvan , I miss kite flying it was something I really enjoyed in the 90's and it was a pleasurable hobby. Just because few people ruined it doesn't mean kite flying ought to be banned.

If bassant is an issue then ban bassant or rename bassant but banning kite flying is a criminal

Allowing this murderous event shows the Firaun nature. If any life is lost CM PUNJAB and his entire cabinet should face death sentence

I am talking about kite flying not bassant. There really is nothing else for entertainment for people. Do you have another suggestion for people?
If rules and regulations are made and enforced then I don't see what the issue is?

I don't know why so much hue and cry, if govt is announcing I am sure they will also look into safety of public as well.

I made a mistake can mods eliminate 'bassant' from the poll? I am for kite flying and don't care about bassant.

You simply can't control people, Musharraf tried and banned the chemical door and he had done it very strictly, but still culprits used the chemical door, i still remember reading news of kids dying on bikes, due to door injuries to neck, i saw pictures of parents crying with their kids in the laps in blood, this game 'basant' must not be unleashed again, Any sports that can harm human life in any way, must be banned, You can't compare kite flying or Basant with Cricket etc. just compare the frequency of accidents, kids/people on bikes getting injured or dying. people felling down from roofs etc.

I mean lets not make this issue political, To me any party or any govt if restores this basant festival will be calling back the old ghosts, this is a very dangerous game and must remain banned.

Those who oppose Basant and kite flying should know that throat-cutting incidents can be avoided by taking the simple and cheap preventive measures as shown in the below photo.

I remember the days when Basant was celebrated and people from all around the country and foreigners too, would pour into Lahore. Business was booming, people were engaged in a healthy outdoor activity and terrorism was scarce.

The revival of Basant and Kite flying is good for the economy, making youngsters get off the couch, leave cell phone/tablets/PCs and get some sun and an overall pleasurable activity to release the stress.

6620259045_4be7d18dd5_b.jpg

You simply can't control people, Musharraf tried and banned the chemical door and he had done it very strictly, but still culprits used the chemical door, i still remember reading news of kids dying on bikes, due to door injuries to neck, i saw pictures of parents crying with their kids in the laps in blood, this game 'basant' must not be unleashed again, Any support that can harm human life in any way, must be banned, You can't compare kite flying or Basant with Cricket etc. just compare the frequency of accidents, kids/people on bikes getting injured or dying. people felling down from roofs etc.

I mean lets not make this issue political, To me any party or any govt if restores this basant festival will be calling back the old ghosts, this is a very dangerous game and must remain banned.
First it is not Chemical door which kills. A Big fat is spread by Kite association. Even the normal door is killing people and Lahore population is around 1 Crore 11 Lakh. Even if 11 Lakh fly kites it is impossible to control every one and only result will be lots of lives will be lost.

@Path-Finder

Those who oppose Basant and kite flying should know that throat-cutting incidents can be avoided by taking the simple and cheap preventive measures as shown in the below photo.

I remember the days when Basant was celebrated and people from all around the country and foreigners too, would pour into Lahore. Business was booming, people were engaged in a healthy outdoor activity and terrorism was scarce.

The revival of Basant and Kite flying is good for the economy, making youngsters get off the couch, leave cell phone/tablets/PCs and get some sun and an overall pleasurable activity to release the stress.

6620259045_4be7d18dd5_b.jpg
First it is Hindu Tehvar and prohibited in Islam. Secondly no it won't prevent it Janab this was tried and still children lost their lives and also why one earth people should waste their money on this so just you can do Haram WOW

This festival is dedicated to Saraswati, the goddess of knowledge and wisdom. She is considered to be the feminine counterpart of lord Brahma, who according to Hindu mythology is the creator of the universe. Saraswati is usually shown as the fair skinned eternally young goddess, dressed in white and yellow garments. She has four hands. She is holding a book in one hand and a Japamala (rosary string) in another. She is playing a Veena (musical instrument) with the other two hands.

‘Book’ symbolizes the Vedas (spiritual knowledge and wisdom), and ‘Japamala’ symbolizes meditation and contemplation or concentration. She is sitting on a lotus, which symbolizes creation (life), love and kindness. The white swan that accompanies her symbolizes purity and peace. As a patron of arts, she plays a song on the instrument Veena. All her characteristics symbolize that she is a goddess of learning, wisdom and all kinds of knowledge, including science and music. She is the master of 64 arts, of which the art of love is the first and most important. It is believed that she is the energy of lord Brahma. With her knowledge, she helps lord Brahma in generation of the world.

First it is not Chemical door which kills. A Big fat is spread by Kite association. Even the normal door is killing people and Lahore population is around 1 Crore 11 Lakh. Even if 11 Lakh fly kites it is impossible to control every one and only result will be lots of lives will be lost.

@Path-Finder

First it is Hindu Tehvar and prohibited in Islam. Secondly no it won't prevent it Janab this was tried and still children lost their lives and also why one earth people should waste their money on this so just you can do Haram WOW

This festival is dedicated to Saraswati, the goddess of knowledge and wisdom. She is considered to be the feminine counterpart of lord Brahma, who according to Hindu mythology is the creator of the universe. Saraswati is usually shown as the fair skinned eternally young goddess, dressed in white and yellow garments. She has four hands. She is holding a book in one hand and a Japamala (rosary string) in another. She is playing a Veena (musical instrument) with the other two hands.

‘Book’ symbolizes the Vedas (spiritual knowledge and wisdom), and ‘Japamala’ symbolizes meditation and contemplation or concentration. She is sitting on a lotus, which symbolizes creation (life), love and kindness. The white swan that accompanies her symbolizes purity and peace. As a patron of arts, she plays a song on the instrument Veena. All her characteristics symbolize that she is a goddess of learning, wisdom and all kinds of knowledge, including science and music. She is the master of 64 arts, of which the art of love is the first and most important. It is believed that she is the energy of lord Brahma. With her knowledge, she helps lord Brahma in generation of the world.

Agreed...

@Path-Finder

Muffakir I have flown kites, these exaggerated stats have any ample data backing them up? When I flew kites in Lahore during the time when the controversial door was introduced it wasn't as bad as it was made out to be what happened later I don't know. I do know this was a huge industry providing a lot of people their bread and butter. instead of making rules and regulations. They just banned it like typical nakamay log.

Muffakir I have flown kites, these exaggerated stats have any ample data backing them up? When I flew kites in Lahore during the time when the controversial door was introduced it wasn't as bad as it was made out to be what happened later I don't know. I do know this was a huge industry providing a lot of people their bread and butter. instead of making rules and regulations. They just banned it like typical namakey log.
Because you can't control the outcome. Deaths are part and parcel of it. You can't avoid deaths if you allow this festival

You need give people things to do in their spare time, things to look forward to. Makes a more peaceful society. Not everything has to be based around religion. Its okay to do fun things. What is there to do in Pakistan apart from eat in the evenings?

Need cinemas, arcades, theme parks, water parks, art galleries etc.Ever played ping pong in a bar with drinks or darts. Arcade with a bar? People have fun around the world not just eat and get fat.

Military Forum Latest Posts