President Obama may surprise Pakistan

ajtr

President Obama may surprise Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: As an apparent balancing side-trip to his scheduled Indian tour early next month, US President Barack Obama may pay a surprise visit to Pakistan, The Express Tribune has learnt.
A top foreign ministry official has confirmed that Islamabad was making hectic diplomatic efforts to ensure that the US president’s forthcoming trip to the region does include Pakistan.
“We believe the US president must visit Pakistan while touring India. If he does not visit Islamabad, it will not go down well with the public here,” the official added. He said the issue will also be raised in the Pak-US strategic dialogue.
If President Obama accepts the invitation, it would be the first time an American president visits while a democratic government is in place. In the past, US presidents have visited the country only when a military dictator was in power.
Foreign Office spokesperson Abdul Basit said that Pakistan has already extended an invitation but was not aware if the US president was coming to Pakistan.
Although US Embassy spokesperson Alberto Rodriguez said that at the moment President Obama’s itinerary does not include Pakistan, diplomatic and Foreign Office sources claim the visit might be under wraps for security reasons. They say even former US president Bill Clinton did not make public his plan to visit Pakistan in 2000.
Another American diplomat did not rule out the possibility. “As of now, he has no plans to visit Pakistan, but he is the president and he can change his plans anytime,” he said, speaking on condition of anonymity. “So at this moment I cannot confirm or deny his visit.”
Western media reports indicate that the Obama administration is considering a $2 billion package to encourage the army to go after militants in North Waziristan. Sources say President Obama may announce the new package during a visit to Pakistan.
Published in The Express Tribune, October 20th, 2010.

I am not sure what to say,
but maybe the feelings are untrue.

In the current situiation, who would like to visit Pakistan??

C'mon ppl!
What are we waiting for?
Just raise the flag, say nara-e-takbeer,

and fight against all evil to make Pakistan the best place!

The surprise is, if he comes and donate 100 billion dollars for the reconstruction of the whole country + 25 billion dollars of the total amount primarily to buy defence equipments from the United States without any strings :rofl:

*tick tick* time to wake up boys :rofl:

Dear Obama

Kindly keep your @** away from Pakistan and don't even think to land here. I don't want to get stuck in traffic for whole day during your protocol in a nonesense visit of yours.

Regards
Common Pakistani Motorist

Dear Obama

Kindly keep your @** away from Pakistan and don't even think to land here. I don't want to get stuck in traffic for whole day during your protocol in a nonesense visit of yours.

Regards
Common Pakistani Motorist

We are the nation, that is always begging Americans and then Abusing Americans :rofl:

Kabhi bhi khush nahi hona bas :lol:

We are the nation, that is always begging Americans and than Abusing Americans :rofl:

Sir you got me wrong. I drive daily from Rawalpindi to Islamabad and one can only judge the ammount of frustration by practicing this. The VIP movements are becoming hell for us. I was sarcastic that if he lands in Islamabad, all roads will be blocked and we will suffer.

What happened to Russians offer to step up trade can't we get cheaper stuff from there? Plus there won't be any strings attached.

We are the nation, that is always begging Americans and then Abusing Americans :rofl:

Nice wordings Dear Mr/ Miss Zaki.

Sorry for this, but how can I best address you?

Obama is most likely going to go. It will be kept under wraps and will be an "unannounced suprise visit" just like Bush did when he visited Iraq.

:usflag: :pakistan:

Ok I was wrong. :whistle:

WH: Obama to visit Pakistan next year

The Associated Press
Wednesday, October 20, 2010; 5:29 PM

WASHINGTON -- The White House says President Barack Obama will travel to Pakistan next year in his first visit to the country since taking office.

The White House made the announcement Wednesday after Obama convened a monthly national security meeting on Afghanistan and Pakistan where security cooperation with the key U.S. ally was discussed.

The White House said the president also met with a Pakistani delegation and told them he would not be making a stop in their country during his trip to Asia next month, as has been rumored, but committed to going there in 2011 and to welcoming President Asif Ali Zardari (AH'-seef ah-LEE' zar-DAH'-ree) to Washington.

Obama's efforts with Pakistan are focused on eliminating al-Qaida strongholds and on winding down the war in neighboring Afghanistan.

washingtonpost.com

Pres Obama comes or not all i have to say is death to all terrorist may they die and burn in hell and even before going to hell burn on earth first sick and tired of these cowards.

It won't go well with the public? Seriously?

It takes like 15 hours flight from the US to Pakistan, its not like he has to come just because hes in the neighborhood, he can pop by whenever there is a need for him to come.

The main problem for Obama to come to Pakistan is that he would have to (hopefully) face the media and he'd probably not want to do that.

Military Forum Latest Posts