Powering up: Govt to finally pay IPPs Rs285b in outstanding dues

Sir, that is the old program. The talks I refer to are the NEW bailout program, which are still ongoing:

New Bailout: Pakistan holds talks with IMF

Wednesday, 19 June 2013 10:10

A Pakistani delegation led by Minister of Finance Ishaq Dar started talks with the visiting IMF mission on Wednesday. IMF officials have arrived in Pakistan for biannual review of the economic situation of Pakistan.

Finance Minister Ishaq Dar briefed the IMF team about salient features of the budget for fiscal year 2013-14.

Pakistan's new government likely to seek $5 billion bailout package for repayment of loans in talks with the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

The IMF mission is expected to conclude talks with Pakistani officials by June 26.

According to sources, Pakistani officials will brief the IMF delegation about the PML-N government's plans to settle over 500 billion rupees circular debt of the energy sector by the end of July.

Pakistan will not accept the monetary fund's new preconditions about the power and gas sectors, sources said.

At the end of the biannual discussions, Pakistan is expected to make a formal request to the IMF for a new bailout. The mission will submit Pakistan’s request as well as its assessment report to the IMF executive board.

The table 1 of the report actually calculates the circular debt by adding theft and subsidy to circular debt stock. For 2012, Circular Debt stock was 537.53 Billion while figure of 872 Billion was caculated by adding 100 Billion of non-collection and 234 Billion of subsidy.

and that 900 billion also includes the amount owed to Federal govt by provinces which will be taken out from NFC amount

Sir, that is the old program. The talks I refer to are the NEW bailout program, which are still ongoing:

Meray bhai IMF's lending comes with economic reform program since it is the mandate of IMF to not only help out its member countries but also to reform their economies to remove the structural weaknesses leading to the need of bailout. Since their programs require economic reforms, thus they design their programs 1) Over long terms 2) In tranches to keep a track of economic reforms agenda. The last trench of 2008-13 program was about ~3.6-4 trillion USD and this is what we are talking about. Had there been a fresh bailout package, there must have been afresh and rigorous talks. But I would argue against you since I am a bit outdated on the subject matter these days.

Back to the topic: Our power sector debt is over PKR 900 billion, and this issue will be a sticking point for the next bailout program with the IMF, which is inevitable.

amazingly light ziyada ja rahi hai... bc pata nahi payments sirf apnay ghero kay liye ki hai.... :angry:

Part of the reason for breakdowns is the horrible quality of the distribution network, which is poorly maintained and overloaded, adding reliability problems on top of all the other issues.

pata nai yar..... is bar tou last month jab light ati hi 6 hours thi, tou bill 10,000 plus aya hai, is bar 10 hours ki loadshedding hai, tou 20,25 k bill ana hai...

BNnBm_xCIAAIsNA.png

:sarcastic:

pata nai yar..... is bar tou last month jab light ati hi 6 hours thi, tou bill 10,000 plus aya hai, is bar 10 hours ki loadshedding hai, tou 20,25 k bill ana hai...

BNnBm_xCIAAIsNA.png

:sarcastic:

You are correct:

Load shedding on the rise as power shortfall exceeds 5,500 MW | PAKISTAN - geo.tv

Load shedding on the rise as power shortfall exceeds 5,500 MW
June 25, 2013 - Updated 1820 PKT

LAHORE: The power shortfall in the country has exceeded 5,500 mega watts (MW) leading to an increase in load shedding in several cities.

Several areas of Lahore are experiencing power outages of 12-15 hours daily while the situation in several smaller cities of Punjab is even worse.

Power generation in the country stands at 12,500 MW while demand is in excess of 18,000 MW. LESCO requires 4,500 MW to fulfill demand but is receiving 2,000 MW.

You are correct:

Load shedding on the rise as power shortfall exceeds 5,500 MW | PAKISTAN - geo.tv

Load shedding on the rise as power shortfall exceeds 5,500 MW
June 25, 2013 - Updated 1820 PKT

LAHORE: The power shortfall in the country has exceeded 5,500 mega watts (MW) leading to an increase in load shedding in several cities.

Several areas of Lahore are experiencing power outages of 12-15 hours daily while the situation in several smaller cities of Punjab is even worse.

Power generation in the country stands at 12,500 MW while demand is in excess of 18,000 MW. LESCO requires 4,500 MW to fulfill demand but is receiving 2,000 MW.

tou yeh payment ka koe faida nahi hoga?

they said new rain system would enter today, lets hope it rains....

tou yeh payment ka koe faida nahi hoga?

they said new rain system would enter today, lets hope it rains....

This payment is only another temporary step. It will not solve the issues for any length of time. Our power problems will remain for the foreseeable future.

You may disagree with the government policies and dislike/hate any or all political parties, but what is the meaning of insulting Pakistan.

I know that Gormint of Pakustaan's figures are not reliable, as does the IMF. They want the government's own figures to make them commit to certain goals before the package is approved. Nobody can cheat the IMF, but we have failed to live up to the commitments made many times in the past and this time a few more turns of the screw are needed to make it more difficult to wiggle out of them.

You may disagree with the government policies and dislike/hate any or all political parties, but what is the meaning of insulting Pakistan.

That is NOT an insult Sir. It is Punjabi English as spoken in Lahore. Perhaps you missed the Gormint before the Pakustaan?

No I did not miss that, I just don't like anyone making fun of my motherland, especially it's own sons.

That is NOT an insult Sir. It is Punjabi English as spoken in Lahore. Perhaps you missed the Gormint before the Pakustaan?

No I did not miss that, I just don't like anyone making fun of my motherland, especially it's own sons.

I assure you Sir that no insult was intended on my part, none at ALL.

(I would love to see how you respond to our new Prime Minister making a speech in Gowalmandi English, which is a known sub-dialect of Punjabi Ungrayzee.)

I appreciate that.

English is not our mother tongue. Even native English speakers don't make fun of people speaking the language with an accent, but we Pakistanis have become guardians of English language, making fun of accents, which is a racist thing to do.

As for your question, how would I feel, honestly I don't waste my time thinking about such petty non-issues. Skin colour, physique, appearance, language, accent, are genetic (from Allah), any one who makes fun of these things, makes fun of Allah. I see people here referring to different politicians with their physical appearances exposing their mentality and immaturity.

I have seen the so called educated MQM supporters refer to NS as "-----" and I am sure many would have their fathers in the age group where one starts losing his hairs. I mean 90% of all males lose their hair at some stage in life, this is a natural phenomena, what kind of an idiot makes fun of his own elders or their own future appearance.

I assure you Sir that no insult was intended on my part, none at ALL.

(I would love to see how you respond to our new Prime Minister making a speech in Gowalmandi English, which is a known sub-dialect of Punjabi Ungrayzee.)