Populist anarchy can't be replacement for good governance, says President

who is most dramebaaz of indian politician..(Indian Only)

• Total voters

Dem!god

With the 2014 Lok Sabha elections inching closer and exit polls predicting a hung verdict, Mukherjee asserted a fractured mandate was always an "unhappy eventuality".

Addressing the nation on the eve of the 65th Republic Day, he said the rise of hypocrisy in public life was dangerous and "elections did not give any person the license to flirt with illusions".

"Those who seek the trust of voters must promise only what is possible. Government is not a charity shop.

"Populist anarchy cannot be a substitute for governance. False promises lead to disillusionment, which gives birth to rage, and that rage has one legitimate target: those in power," he said.

Media reports interpreted Mukherjee's statement as a veiled attack on Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

The rookie party had held a chaotic demonstration recently — during which Kejriwal had declared "I'm an anarchist". Kejriwal and his cabinet colleagues had protested outside Rail Bhavan, defying prohibitory orders and demanding action against four officials of the Delhi Police, who are under the Union home ministry. The stir was called off after two policemen were sent on leave.

Read: Govt not a charity shop, says President Pranab; condemns hypocrisy in public life

Mukherjee also said governments must deliver what they were elected to deliver: social and economic progress — not at a snail's pace but with the speed of a racehorse.

He added those in politics should understand that every election comes with a warning sign: perform or perish.

"We do feel angry, and rightly so, when we see democratic institutions being weakened by complacency and incompetence."

Mukherjee also said corruption was a cancer that eroded democracy. "If Indians are enraged, it is because they are witnessing corruption and waste of national resources. If governments do not remove these flaws, voters will remove governments."

The President praised the security forces for their services in defending the territorial integrity and sovereignty of the nation, asserting any attempt by communal forces and terrorists to destabilise the harmony of the Indian people would be countered and neutralised aggressively.

Mukherjee also said India has the intellectual prowess, the human resources and financial capital to shape a glorious future. "Give the youth jobs and they will raise the villages and cities to 21st century standards. Give them a chance and you will marvel at the India they can create."

Calling for improvement in the quality of education being imparted, the President said, "Education has been an inseparable part of the Indian experience. I am not talking only of the ancient institutions of excellence like Takshashila or Nalanda, but of an age as recent as the 17th and 18th centuries. Today, our higher educational infrastructure consists of over 650 universities and 33,000 colleges."

As discussions over Telangana continue, Mukherjee said passions were rising over whether there should be smaller states, but the debate should conform to democratic norms.

"A democratic nation is always involved in argument with itself. This is welcome, for we solve problems through discussion and consent, not force."

I think Somnath Bharti would also be a deserving candidate to feature on the list. :P

Good governance.

Development & growth.

HOPE.

A bit of desperation to get rid of the UPA 2.

And, presently he is the best performing leader among the available options.

But he too does drama bazi

At least that's what Congressis say. No?

The polls are predicting a hung election? No majority? I thought Congress was unpopular now and that the BJP coalition was a sure bet to win. what happened? Voter uncertainly over a Modi government?

But he too does drama bazi

At least that's what Congressis say. No?

Every politician does some dramabazi in that sense, even if we look at the poll campaigns of US presidential candidates; they too do some dramabazi. But what Kejriwal and AAP is doing is harmful dramabazi and setting bad examples. Take the case of recent dharna by Kejriwal by violating sec 144, now he is a sitting CM of Delhi under oath to uphold the constitution and law of the land, he can't go on and publicly break the law.

Another harmful dramabazi is populist politics like giving water & electricity subsidy to the well-to-do sections of the population when many don't have access to the basic things in life.

The polls are predicting a hung election? No majority? I thought Congress was unpopular now and that the BJP coalition was a sure bet to win. what happened? Voter uncertainly over a Modi government?

We will probably never have single party rule in future, it will always be a coalition, as was the case in last so many elections.

The list of dramebaaz ppl in Indian politics is long....from Lalu Prasad Yadav to the debutant AK.
But I hate the way AK does drama infront of camera....sleeping on delhi roadsides to conducting "darbar".
So AK it is...he gets my vote atleast on this thread.:)

Yep! Rakhi Sawant would make a far better CM than Arvind Kejriwal!! :man_in_love:

personally i am in favor of development of the country, not for any person,party or govt..i think we should change government once in 10 years..so that they work for the development of the country not for themselfs ....they will know what people are asking for and they may work atleast for the power...
we have given congress govt 2 terms & we have seen their outcome...let us give power to BJP(modi) & see what they ll do...
THIS TIME I AM FOR BJP[MODI]:coffee:
JAI HIND...
Wish you all happy Republic day

now who are all watching republic day function???
&who are all waiting for ARJUN MK2 & ARIHANT SSBN model:victory::bounce::dance3::yahoo:

"Mey apney bacho ki kasam khake kheta hu ki Congress/BJP ko na samarthan dunga na lunga" - before election AK

"Sorry ma'am, mere koi bachey he hi nhi" - after election AK :D

"Sheila Dikshit key khilaf hum sarey case khol denge agar hum sarkar banay toh" - before election AK

"Agar Harshwardhan key pass koi sabut hai toh hamey btaye" - after election

"Lokpal in 15 days of us coming to power" - before

"It's still in drafting stage & it's called Lokayukta" - after

"hamarey minister/worker key khilaf koi bhi ungli uthi toh hum usi samay usey barkhast kar denge" - before

"Somnath key khilaf prachar BJP ki sajish hai" - after

"I will not take sarkari bangla, car, security" - before

"I hadn't asked for it but they provided me" - after :lol:

"I will travel by metro to swearing in ceremony"

Result - Metro (Delhi's lifeline) got shut for 1 hour for common man (AAM ADMI) :lol:

@Bhai Zakir @Chanakya's_Chant @IND151 @OrionHunter @KRAIT @GURU DUTT @vivINDIAN @vicky sen @arp2041 @Roybot @kbd-raaf @levina @chak de INDIA @thesolar65 @IndoCarib @JanjaWeed @SarthakGanguly @Srinivas @donotsusendme @jarves @INDIC @Vinod2070 and all others Indians...cast your votes..here ..
it will be a interesting poll to watch....

It's like say who isn't actually a Dramebaz? Of course I have given my vote, but all politicians are dramebaz. If not then he/she cannot be a politician. If you can bring a hand full of mustard from a family of which no person has ever died, then only I will show a politician who is not a dramebaz!! (I have twisted quote of Lord Buddha....:P)