PIA=Aviation=Travel=Demand=$$$

Ahmet Pasha

As I have a personal interest in aviation and know this sector of world economy is growing and how nations are already making money and further plan to make even more profits. I suggest mods @The Eagle @WebMaster etc etc to make a sub forum for aviation industry where we can discuss national carriers(airlines of diff countries), new developments in aviation tech, new airports etc.

Meanwhile here is video released by PIA President/CEO.
Dil se meri dua hai k aik din PIA bhi wo idara baney jo puri dunya me business kare. Aur wo idara jo ache pilots ko $100-150K salary deta ho. Ameen. So that aspiring people like me can fly for our own carrier. Ameen

It sounds like what PIA is trying to do is some reshuffling/reorganization and to streamline their logistics and manpower.

Their next step should to make a short-medium term business plan of 10-15 years. And a long term business strategy of 30 years.

Bring in new talented and competent fresh faces.

Serve alcohol to non muslims only(this is debatable I only say because Gora customer loves his alcohol, us k beghair Gorey ka guzara mushkil hai and will review negatively in any youtube video)

I know they are adding new dreamliners. But this should not be only to replace old 777s. They should also add more aircrafts for new routes as it slowly becomes feasible. Try to get new customer base other than just Pakistani diaspora or local pax.

Also pay attention to domestic/regional market. And for that PIA could use newer narrow bodies which are more fuel efficient like the Embraer E190 profit hunter instead of ATRs. Ejet also has first class and economy. But is supposed to be more fuel efficient than 737s or 320s.

Turkey/Turkish Airlines right now is making a lot of money from the African, Central Asian and European market. Even a good chunk of Pakistani diaspora market from North America. Focus should be on getting back Pakistani diaspora market share of NA and Europe from Gulf and Turkish Carriers. Cities like NYC, Chicago Texan cities and Toronto as pointed out by Air Marshall himself are major Pakistani diaspora centers. New dreamliners might help in this regard. Then move on to get foreign non Pakistani pax to travel in PIA.

Most importantly go back to basics and revise hiring, performance and discipline protocols. Because every other carrier puts forth their smartest, most competant crew. And we cannot afford to have random sheeda, meeda, feeqa ruining our flag carriers performance and image.

Try to offer maintenance services to other nations at lower prices. PIA might have to do alot of undercutting for a while to attract pax and be able to move beyond just having Pakistani customer base. Which is not bad in itself but air travel demand is rising and we need to be ambitious to make money.

Tourism needs to improve so PIA can be linked with tourism industry.

It sounds like what PIA is trying to do is some reshuffling/reorganization and to streamline their logistics and manpower.

Their next step should to make a short-medium term business plan of 10-15 years. And a long term business strategy of 30 years.

Bring in new talented and competent fresh faces.

Serve alcohol to non muslims only(this is debatable I only say because Gora customer loves his alcohol, us k beghair Gorey ka guzara mushkil hai and will review negatively in any youtube video)

I know they are adding new dreamliners. But this should not be only to replace old 777s. They should also add more aircrafts for new routes as it slowly becomes feasible. Try to get new customer base other than just Pakistani diaspora or local pax.

Also pay attention to domestic/regional market. And for that PIA could use newer narrow bodies which are more fuel efficient like the Embraer E190 profit hunter instead of ATRs. Ejet also has first class and economy. But is supposed to be more fuel efficient than 737s or 320s.

Turkey/Turkish Airlines right now is making a lot of money from the African, Central Asian and European market. Even a good chunk of Pakistani diaspora market from North America. Focus should be on getting back Pakistani diaspora market share of NA and Europe from Gulf and Turkish Carriers. Cities like NYC, Chicago Texan cities and Toronto as pointed out by Air Marshall himself are major Pakistani diaspora centers. New dreamliners might help in this regard. Then move on to get foreign non Pakistani pax to travel in PIA.

Most importantly go back to basics and revise hiring, performance and discipline protocols. Because every other carrier puts forth their smartest, most competant crew. And we cannot afford to have random sheeda, meeda, feeqa ruining our flag carriers performance and image.

Try to offer maintenance services to other nations at lower prices. PIA might have to do alot of undercutting for a while to attract pax and be able to move beyond just having Pakistani customer base. Which is not bad in itself but air travel demand is rising and we need to be ambitious to make money.

Tourism needs to improve so PIA can be linked with tourism industry.
IMO ... the gora will have more respect for us if we stick to our customs. If we buckle, we'd be another 'try hard' airline, and that would make us no different in brand and image from the rest of the pack. I'd rather be the "airline that caters to Muslims really well" than to be another Emirates-wannabee.

I say we double down on being Muslim friendly, but focus on a higher income crowd. Think about the practicing folk living in the West, but wanting to go to not just the Gulf or Pakistan, but to Southeast Asia too. The 'halal market' is booming, there's nothing wrong with executing on it, provided we do it right.

We should also look at setting-up a 'qaumi airline' for the budget-conscious market: local flights, expatriate workers, Pakistani middle class (which doesn't have the spending power of a dual-national), students, etc. Pakistan can use this airline to drive local and regional flights, and leave PIA to focus on long-distance flights.

The 'qaumi airline' can have turboprops and narrow-body airliners, while PIA can rock the long-haul models.

Yeah or just form a regional subsidiary of PIA like US majors/legacies do with their regional airlines Envoy, Republic airlines etc.

With this new regional airline PIA would have two options one is be a regular regional airline.
Or follow the low cost carrier route like Southwest and Ryanair. They try to save costs on everything and try to have really fast turn around times. Main aim of thos model is min costs, max pax and max profits.

You are right about doubling down on muslimness especially as racial profiling is an ever present impediment for a small muslim family to go on vacation even.

But what I'm trying to say is why not let the Gora have a few drinks I mean we allow them to drink murree brewery in our hotels and such.

Also as Air Marshall also says having a passenger on PIA gives us a chance to represent Pakistan and we should do this with our food and people. My Turkish Airlines flight was very uncomfortable because of the seats but I was happy because of the food and the people.
IMO ... the gora will have more respect for us if we stick to our customs. If we buckle, we'd be another 'try hard' airline, and that would make us no different in brand and image from the rest of the pack. I'd rather be the "airline that caters to Muslims really well" than to be another Emirates-wannabee.

I say we double down on being Muslim friendly, but focus on a higher income crowd. Think about the practicing folk living in the West, but wanting to go to not just the Gulf or Pakistan, but to Southeast Asia too. The 'halal market' is booming, there's nothing wrong with executing on it, provided we do it right.

We should also look at setting-up a 'qaumi airline' for the budget-conscious market: local flights, expatriate workers, Pakistani middle class (which doesn't have the spending power of a dual-national), students, etc. Pakistan can use this airline to drive local and regional flights, and leave PIA to focus on long-distance flights.

The 'qaumi airline' can have turboprops and narrow-body airliners, while PIA can rock the long-haul models.

Yeah or just form a regional subsidiary of PIA like US majors/legacies do with their regional airlines Envoy, Republic airlines etc.

With this new regional airline PIA would have two options one is be a regular regional airline.
Or follow the low cost carrier route like Southwest and Ryanair. They try to save costs on everything and try to have really fast turn around times. Main aim of thos model is min costs, max pax and max profits.

You are right about doubling down on muslimness especially as racial profiling is an ever present impediment for a small muslim family to go on vacation even.

But what I'm trying to say is why not let the Gora have a few drinks I mean we allow them to drink murree brewery in our hotels and such.

Also as Air Marshall also says having a passenger on PIA gives us a chance to represent Pakistan and we should do this with our food and people. My Turkish Airlines flight was very uncomfortable because of the seats but I was happy because of the food and the people.
Well, as Muslims, we shouldn't be serving alcohol to anyone, non-Muslims included. Now if non-Muslims want to do it among themselves (like bring their own booze as private property), that's another issue entirely.

Yep what other suggestions could we give to PIA?
Well, as Muslims, we shouldn't be serving alcohol to anyone, non-Muslims included. Now if non-Muslims want to do it among themselves (like bring their own booze as private property), that's another issue entirely.

The Bombardier/Aurbus A220 is another good option for PIA for regional flights and even flights to some neighboring countries.
Delta is the launch customer with around a 100 on order.
@Bilal Khan (Quwa)

Almost comical how Bombardier is moving ahead with it's jet while Boeing 737s are mired in quagmire.