Pakistani wild Strawberry only please -help need from locals or those living in Northern areas

OK i read that post now and yes he was right!

Hehehe...Right now we are in initial stages of distribution studies of native strawberries and their effect to different climate...

To go to what you suggest we need to know about the basics of the crops there....I have read a few studies but most work on Chemistry rather than molecular biology so it has been really tough to get basic info I wouldnt mind doing it myself - working from scratch but for that I need native populations...about 10-20 plants is a good start....to see what kind of gene pool exists if it is something unique than good otherwise ALOT OF work is done on native plants of Europe and when you build the basics then you know what to fix...
Well it is your field so you must know better but what i have learned, i will suggest you visit AARI, NIBGI, NARC, NIAB etc, that will be helpful and you will find tremendous work being done on molecular level as well. But yes, that work is in the main crops of Pakistan.

Well, we are using Strawberry as a MODEL crop to understand molecular mechanisms meaning if we find genes and can uncode their function we can use the same process / genes / mechanisms for other crops too...

I know strawberry isnt the main crop but the very fact that we have a rich diversity in Northern areas is welcoming to study them and make them known to the world so that others can work on it (If Pakistanis arent interested to explore).

I have 1st hand knowledge that there are really unique genes in the crops found in northern area ..I have worked on Pakistani barley it has a higher nutrient content than European barley...But Pakistan ignores it like anything

I also know Pakistani rice and wheat is of better quality but due to alot of research done and collaborations with india, European rice and wheat has become better and enough work is being done to help improve indian one...SO we are left behind....
Okies, i understand that! :)

To achieve something one must be willing to study the thing and discover the uniqueness if you dont start someone else will and india has already seeped into British research and now is getting into European research....though Africa is still occupying much of the niche!

Basically it will help us back if we develop collaborations then it is easier to bring in other crops...I can work on Pakistani cereal (wheat/ barley / rice) However, it might be a little too late as European scientists are busy collaborating with india so it would be tough but if someone really was into it they would have taken the initiative to write and develop collaborations....
Oky!!

Instead of importing berries wouldnt it be better to use our own, research, improve them and make them export quality?
Man, we are not IMPORTING them, we bought seeds and now it is grown at home. Again, Strawberries are not such a big crop that people will care so much. Anyway, it is your research topic. :)

You see when people want everything pronto they do mistakes....American strawberries taste good which are a result of over a decade worth of research....Question is who in Pakistan would invest or is interested in starting so that down the road our next generation can stop importing and start exporting?
Exactly, WHO would :( I don't think anyone would care enough, not about strawberries here.

Well, the problem is I cant leave Europe in Summer coz my plants in the field need observing as I work on mechanisms of flowering and we start putting plants in the field around summer and leave them till late autumn (well depending on what we are checking)
You want to try Pakistan wild berries and research on them in European environments? I mean, isnt it supposed to work otherwise? like the research and plant growth should be done in the area that particular crop breed in intended for.

Hence, I just want someone (who is travelling for leisure) who can photograph close up pix of flowers, leaves and fruits AND just pick some wild strawberry fruits and smash them on a tissue and keep them until I go to Pakistan in winter (that is how we dry the seeds)..Coz if I go in winter I wont be able to see the fruit and no flowers even....
Oky, well only some local may be able t help you with this or else again, you will have to manage it yourself one way or another. :)

Anyways, again brother, i mean no disrespect. Wish you very best of luck with this project and i hope you do good.

if ,what @Arsalan have said above is correct then, being living in the locality of Isb/Rwp i can surely make the trip, because I have already planned a trip to Ayubia national Park & Namli mera by 11th or 12th August....will keep an eye out if for this.....IF i could stop myself from eating them all.....as far as Margalla Tracks are concerned, I did not find any strawberries during last hike on trail 5....but I will look around.....will be getting back to Pakistan on 9th August....INSHALLAH
Hence, I just want someone (who is travelling for leisure) who can photograph close up pix of flowers, leaves and fruits AND just pick some wild strawberry fruits and smash them on a tissue and keep them until I go to Pakistan in winter (that is how we dry the seeds)..Coz if I go in winter I wont be able to see the fruit and no flowers even....

OK i read that post now and yes he was right!
I think he is a she...Hence why I shifted here :ashamed:

Well it is your field so you must know better but what i have learned, i will suggest you visit AARI, NIBGI, NARC, NIAB etc, that will be helpful and you will find tremendous work being done on molecular level as well. But yes, that work is in the main crops of Pakistan.
Hmmm....Maybe I can arrange a visit but the problem is I am only in Pakistan in winter...

Man, we are not IMPORTING them, we bought seeds and now it is grown at home. Again, Strawberries are not such a big crop that people will care so much. Anyway, it is your research topic. :)
Had we done our own research we woundnt have needed to buy the seeds...

2ndly, the seeds sold to us were tried and tested in USA not under Pakistani environment, competitors nor pest! So as a scientist it was not beneficial to adore the taste of another country's berries when you have your own and just needs work....If this is the case why are we working on main crops? Just import the seeds ....

Exactly, WHO would :( I don't think anyone would care enough, not about strawberries here.
Strawberries is a billion dollar industry in West due to jams and other by products from the berries....

You want to try Pakistan wild berries and research on them in European environments? I mean, isnt it supposed to work otherwise? like the research and plant growth should be done in the area that particular crop breed in intended for.
We do both...Right now I am looking after some 500 PLANTS from 3 different countries and a similar study is going on in the other 2 countries.....However this study is more on population genetics....

Oky, well only some local may be able t help you with this or else again, you will have to manage it yourself one way or another. :)

Anyways, again brother, i mean no disrespect. Wish you very best of luck with this project and i hope you do good.
I am a sister :cray:

if ,what @Arsalan have said above is correct then, being living in the locality of Isb/Rwp i can surely make the trip, because I have already planned a trip to Ayubia national Park & Namli mera by 11th or 12th August....will keep an eye out if for this.....IF i could stop myself from eating them all.....as far as Margalla Tracks are concerned, I did not find any strawberries during last hike on trail 5....but I will look around.....will be getting back to Pakistan on 9th August....INSHALLAH
G janaab that would be useful....IF you find some use this thread as a guide...

I am gonna ask around if experts in the field dont wanna help me I will ask the lay man...That is what we did...We sent out word that scientists were looking for wild berries and those who have spotted them while trekking / hiking please notify us and so on!

I think he is a she...Hence why I shifted here :ashamed:

Hmmm....Maybe I can arrange a visit but the problem is I am only in Pakistan in winter...
Oky then i hope you find someone from that area who is willing to help.

Had we done our own research we woundnt have needed to buy the seeds...
Again, that wont have been a breakthrough because people here are not as intrested in strawberries as they are in the west.

2ndly, the seeds sold to us were tried and tested in USA not under Pakistani environment, competitors nor pest! So as a scientist it was not beneficial to adore the taste of another country's berries when you have your own and just needs work....If this is the case why are we working on main crops? Just import the seeds ....
as a lay man, because the importing the seed of main crops means HUGE amount of money being spend? Because any research on these main crops will have a HUGE effect on overall Pakistani economy and the agriculture industry? because any development in wheat will have its implication on about 90% of farmer while strawberries wont cover even 10% :)

Strawberries is a billion dollar industry in West due to jams and other by products from the berries....
hmm fair enough, i hope you do manage to develop something useful and Pakistan can try and capture some of that market share.

We do both...Right now I am looking after some 500 PLANTS from 3 different countries and a similar study is going on in the other 2 countries.....However this study is more on population genetics....
Oky i understand it now :)

I am a sister :cray:
opps,, Sorry!! :)
now again, i will like to specially apologize, i do not mean to be disrespectful toward your work or undermine your research, just saying what i felt like.

Wish you best of luck with the project dear! :)

Again, that wont have been a breakthrough because people here are not as intrested in strawberries as they are in the west.
I am not just talking about strawberries I am talking about other things too...Like pests on Mangoes....
drought research on rice / wheat and what not......I was just browsing through all research is really low level...

as a lay man, because the importing the seed of main crops means HUGE amount of money being spend? Because any research on these main crops will have a HUGE effect on overall Pakistani economy and the agriculture industry? because any development in wheat will have its implication on about 90% of farmer while strawberries wont cover even 10% :)
Yes but why arent they doing research then?

now again, i will like to specially apologize, i do not mean to be disrespectful toward your work or undermine your research, just saying what i felt like.
Naah its fine...Alot of people dont understand why work on Strawberry :p:

I am not just talking about strawberries I am talking about other things too...Like pests on Mangoes....
drought research on rice / wheat and what not......I was just browsing through all research is really low level...

Yes but why arent they doing research then?

Naah its fine...Alot of people dont understand why work on Strawberry :p:
Shukar ha,, at least the posts are getting smaller now :P

Well they are doing research, lot of it. It might be far behind then EU countries but then again you have to know your resources.

And no problem in strawberries either, it is a good fruit. Thing is Pakistan is blessed with so many other much tastey fruits people do not really care a lot about these.

On a side note, a quick question and DO NOT LOOK UP FOR IT ON INTERNET, why are strawberries called strawberries?

G janaab that would be useful....IF you find some use this thread as a guide...

I am gonna ask around if experts in the field dont wanna help me I will ask the lay man...That is what we did...We sent out word that scientists were looking for wild berries and those who have spotted them while trekking / hiking please notify us and so on!
:o: ....is that what I am being called, even after studying Biology in SSC....& that too for Federal board .....and always scored 80%+ ......:cray:
hehehehe....no worries.....will get back to you if i find anything

:o: ....is that what I am being called, even after studying Biology in SSC....& that too for Federal board .....and always scored 80%+ ......:cray:
hehehehe....no worries.....will get back to you if i find anything
Yaar you offered yourself...I said I WILL ASK :p: I didnt ask you :whistle:
Hahahahahaha....SSC mein biology? wait what is SSC again?? :ashamed:

On a side note, a quick question and DO NOT LOOK UP FOR IT ON INTERNET, why are strawberries called strawberries?
lolzzz....straw is an old word for something forest or something

Bro,Ayubia se ma 2 days pehly ho ayaa hun wahan kuch nhi dekaa :D

Strawberries are small plants ....did you look?

Yani Pakistan mein koi native strawberry nai hai? :o:
I didn't know that u r looking for wild strawberries and I was with cousin and relatives so I didn't pay any attention and most of the road afterward murree passes through mountain sides and the surrouding areas are full of forrest and u can't see too far and when u could see then it will be far away mountains covered in mighty trees...kuch days pehly ye post read kar lethaa tho wahan local logon se puch letha..I know someone and she frequently visits northern areas and now she have a big farm house business,later I will ask her if she know anything about wild Strawberry's I will let u know..

Thank you :D