‘Pakistani TV shows superior to ours’: Paresh Rawal

patriotic Khan

New Recruit

Paresh Rawal, one of the most versatile actors of Bollywood, stated in an interview that many Bollywood films can’t even be compared to Pakistani television shows, let alone Hollywood.

He also said that the success of a film doesn’t depend on the revenue it generates; rather plot and acting hold central importance.

In a candid interview with Ahmedabad Times, Rawal who had been in Ahmedabad for the promotion of his recent film Raja Natwarlal gave a much too honest opinion about the present standard of films, his passion for acting and the question of 100 crore club. He didn’t feel any reluctance in sharing his thoughts about the decline in the quality of films being produced.

When asked whether the audiences are taken for granted, an act highly unlikely in Hollywood, Rawal answered,

“Forget Hollywood, we cannot even compare our films to Pakistani shows. They are far more superior to what we produce here. We need to make some more smart films where we don't take our audience for granted and think that they will not understand what we want to convey. And this is what attracted me to Raja Natwarlal. Con films genre is one genre that hasn't been explored much and there is a lot of scope in this genre.”

He also declared that despite the countless roles he has played, he doesn’t feel he has done everything.

“As long as I am getting good work I'll never feel that I have done everything. The script is always bigger than the actor, and till the time I am getting good scripts, interesting stories and powerful characters, I will continue doing films. It is only when there is a dearth of good stories that an actor's career comes to a standstill, and it's not that it doesn't happen, it happens a lot.”

Responding to the question about famous ‘100 crore pot-boilers’ getting more audience than performance oriented films, Paresh Rawal didn’t hesitate in giving an honest answer.

“The producers, exhibitors of these `100 crore films must be taking into the account the sale of popcorn cola in the theatres! Crossing`100 crore is no benchmark of how the film is. Par main `100 crore' ke bare mein nahi sochta (But I don’t really think about the 100 crore).

Acting is a very organic process for me and as an actor you need to keep evolving and learning throughout your career. There is no certain point where you are complete as an actor. I also try to learn something from every actor I work with. The process should not come to an end.”

His latest film, Raja Natwarlal starring Humaima Malik and Emraan Hashmi is being commended by critics from both India and Pakistan.
‘Pakistani TV shows superior to ours’: Paresh Rawal - Entertainment - DAWN.COM

Does Pakistan even make shows now a days? i know in the 80s we used to watch some of there shows, and they were good. But now a days?
can some Pakistani member here recommend some for me.
@Oscar

Does Pakistan even make shows now a days? i know in the 80s we used to watch some of there shows, and they were good. But now a days?
@Oscar

There are plenty, but sadly they have also been effected by the crap(and I mean it strictly from a TV watcher PoV) from E. Kapoor across the border. Sadly, pithy storylines with characters that never die and pointless camera zooms have started effecting quality here as well.

However, Hum TV for example has some good line ups.. along with a few others.

Pakistani shows are shown in India on the Zee Zindagi network...they are not HBO material but good decent stories for the average South Asian viewer

I completely agree with Paresh sahab!! I culd hardly remember the last time I watched a decent Bollywood movie.These Johars and Chopras are churning out cheap crap and wasting millions.Sirf public ko khilao woh jo khana chahte hai,this is there motto,no need to mould there likings and choices over a period by producing smart movies with good plots!!!Infact lately I've had the oppprtunity of watching some Pakistani serials and even they've got better plots!!!

I think Moeed Pirzada is the best journalist/ commentator in the sub continent.

Tune into any Pakistani news channel. Greatest show on Earth.

He is a Gym.. A damn Good Actor.. Dacait, Ram Lakan , RoOp ki rani choron ka raja and many more...

@Oscar
@Oscar
YOU should watch HASB-E-Hal on Dunya tv.

You can only go so far with Sas - Bahooo story and double part , bahoo, with a twist in prison. And a pinch of tear

Mastering these facial expressions are must for Indian Soap Operas due to 1000 camera switches

Row 2, picture 1(from left) = Happy Family having Party with group
Row 1 , picture 6( from left) = Birth of child
Row 1 , picture 2 (from left) = Rejected by girl but still friends
Row 3, picture 1 (from left) = A old father , looking for hope from his bahoo and beta
Row 3, picture 6 (from left) = Villan smiling , but utterly disgusted inside
Row 1, picture 5 (from left) = I am the boyfriend with the girl
Row 1, picture 3 (from left) = Jig is up you are going to jail
Row 3 , picture 2 (from left) = flowers received from hunny
Row 2 , picture 3 (from left) = father , listening to family fued at dinner table
Row 2, picture 2 (from left) = Double part discovered Jig is up , run
Row 2, picture 6 (from left) = Hero trying to show he is funny to girl
Row 3 , picture 4 (from left) = Nukar appreciates the gesture from Master , respect
Row 1 , picture 1 (from left) = With family at the carnival showing happy fun

ImitateFacialExpressions_122712-617x416.jpg

Late 80's & 90's shows, dramas & pop songs were unbeatable but now the people have brought venom in Pakistan from India & they are injecting it in Pakistan & they are killing Pakistani culture.

Some shows are very good but most of them are all crap & full of India written all over them.

@Oscar
Watch Hum TV.