Black_cats

Pakistan greets Bangladesh on Independence Day​

pak-flag-getty.jpg

Getty Images
Representative Image

Synopsis​

The Liberation War of Bangladesh broke out after the sudden crackdown at midnight on March 25, 1971 in the erstwhile East Pakistan (now Bangladesh) by the Pakistani troops and ended on December 16. The same year Pakistan conceded defeat and uncond...​

By PTI
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2022, 07:33 PM IST
Pakistan has greeted Bangladesh on its Independence and National Day, expressing confidence that the "bonds of friendship" between the two countries would be further strengthened in the years ahead "to the mutual benefit of our two peoples".

The Liberation War of Bangladesh broke out after the sudden crackdown at midnight on March 25, 1971 in the erstwhile East Pakistan (now Bangladesh) by the Pakistani troops and ended on December 16. The same year Pakistan conceded defeat and unconditionally surrendered in Dhaka to the allied forces comprising the freedom fighters and Indian soldiers.

On March 26, 1971, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman had proclaimed Bangladesh's independence.

"It gives me immense pleasure to convey sincere felicitations to the Government and people of Bangladesh on the 51st anniversary of the People's Republic of Bangladesh," Pakistan Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi said in a message addressed to his Bangladeshi counterpart AK Abdul Momenon Saturday.

Qureshi said he was "confident that the bonds of friendship between our two countries, which are based on shared history, common faith and spirit and spirit of good neighbourliness, would be further strengthened in the years ahead, to the mutual benefit of our two peoples".

Earlier in a media briefing on the sidelines of an official function in Dhaka on Saturday, Momen demanded that Pakistan should apologise to the people of Bangladesh for committing excessive atrocities during the 1971 war and cautioned that an apology would act as a guiding light for future governments in Islamabad against committing such abominable acts.

"I always say the Pakistanis should be ashamed as their military troops carried out genocide in Bangladesh which was acknowledged even in a Pakistani government report," he said, adding, "It is regrettable that Pakistan is yet to seek apology...on this day, I expect Pakistan to formally apologise."

Officially three million people were killed and and at least two lakh women were raped by Pakistani troops during the nine-month long Liberation War.

Momen said Islamabad also deviated from a promise they made to bring to justice accused of war crimes.

"If Pakistan does not realise it (that it should apologise), chances are there they could do such misdeeds in future as well," Momen said.

Isn't their Independence day on Dec16?

That’s victory day.

Well we wish Bangladesh best of luck.

But seriously I get sick and tired when Bangladeshis blame only Pakistan for the 1971 crisis.

Who started the crisis my friend by not handing over the power to a party who won a legitimate election?

3 Million people were killed and 200,000 Women were raped by 90,000 Soldiers 🤔.
Any ways, Whatever happened in 1971 was unfortunate. Role of Pakistani Military establishment in East Pakistan was extremely negetive. Opressing majority population area to accept supermacy of minority with military action and Shooting civilians is unforgiveable.
But 90,000 soldiers raping 200,000 women and killing 3 Million people?

3 Million people were killed and 200,000 Women were raped by 90,000 Soldiers 🤔.
Any ways, Whatever happened in 1971 was unfortunate. Role of Pakistani Military establishment in East Pakistan was extremely negetive. Opressing majority population area to accept supermacy of minority with military action and Shooting civilians is unforgiveable.
But 90,000 soldiers raping 200,000 women and killing 3 Million people?
What kind of people are you, how can you believe any propaganda enemy throws at you without even verifying. All these claims are false and are lies, this was the propaganda of India during and after the 71 war, Sarmila Bose in her book dead reckoning has debunked all these lies of India and Bangladeshi government. None of these lies are true infact the truth is that mukhti Bahni and Indian Army killed and raped hundreds of thousands of people in East Pakistan, but as they had won they could hide and show whatever they wanted.

Pakistan government and military should release a detailed report of what happened. If there is already a report , can someone please share.

What kind of people are you, how can you believe any propaganda enemy throws at you without even verifying. All these claims are false and are lies, this was the propaganda of India during and after the 71 war, Sarmila Bose in her book dead reckoning has debunked all these lies of India and Bangladeshi government. None of these lies are true infact the truth is that mukhti Bahni and Indian Army killed and raped hundreds of thousands of people in East Pakistan, but as they have won they could hide and show whatever they wanted.
Go have some informal meetings with retired army officers of that time kid or officers who have served with officers of that time. Read through a lot. You will find a lot. Read History of Sheikh Mujib. Fatima Jinnah. Molana Bhashani. Bangladesh languagr movement and muslim leagur wiping out lossing out in east. Ayub khans policies and What they did to our east Pakistan for two decades. Its very easy to satisfy yourself with these simplified views of conspiracy theories. More Pakistanis lived in East Pakistan then in West Pakistan. People and public are not stupid who dont even know who is killing them in masses. Think with logic. You are saying East Pakistanis were stupid idiots who didnt realised they were killed by Bengalis and Indians and not Our Soldiers? Remember that 60% of Population of a country is traitor for no reason?.
They were die hard supporters of Mohtarma Fatima Jinnah as against our west Pakistani forefathers who laid flat against Ayub khans Dictatorial rule.
If we dont accept what our government did , These stupid claims of 90,000 soldiers killing 3 million people and raping 200,000 women will keep coming. Accept the mistake and move on. Dont allow them to malign the common soldiers who were just doing duty.

Any ways it was a tragedy. Whole blame lies with the government of the time who broke our beloved country.

Go have some informal meetings with retired army officers of that time kid or officers who have served with officers of that time. Read through a lot. You will find a lot. Read History of Sheikh Mujib. Fatima Jinnah. Molana Bhashani. Bangladesh languagr movement and muslim leagur wiping out lossing out in east. Ayub khans policies and What they did to our east Pakistan for two decades. Its very easy to satisfy yourself with these simplified views of conspiracy theories. More Pakistanis lived in East Pakistan then in West Pakistan. People and public are not stupid who dont even know who is killing them in masses. Think with logic. You are saying East Pakistanis were stupid idiots who didnt realised they were killed by Bengalis and Indians and not Our Soldiers? Remember that 60% of Population of a country is traitor for no reason?.
They were die hard supporters of Mohtarma Fatima Jinnah as against our west Pakistani forefathers who laid flat against Ayub khans Dictatorial rule.
If we dont accept what our government did , These stupid claims of 90,000 soldiers killing 3 million people and raping 200,000 women will keep coming. Accept the mistake and move on. Dont allow them to malign the common soldiers who were just doing duty.

Any ways it was a tragedy. Whole blame lies with the government of the time who broke our beloved country.
So much misinformation peddled , and unfortunately Pak has never really put its narrative across

Thread 'Jhaur - The War of 1971' https://defence.pk/pdf/threads/jhaur-the-war-of-1971.732105/

Unlike you I have talked to the Army officer of that time who was injured in the war and was later Prisoner of war, you don't know how Indians treated them, I gave you a reference of a very authentic author and book by her that exposes Indian lies about the 71 war, if you and many other Pakistani's can believe in Indian Propaganda being a Pakistani, why can't the east Pakistan's? It is written in history books how Mukti Bahni and Indian Army committed war crimes, rape and killing during and after the 71 war.
What Ayub Khan did is another topic and he was wrong.
You know how the enemy works? they take little issues between two groups and turn them into hostilities.
Pakistani government policy was wrong in 60's and 70's but the enemy used our weaknesses and internal conflicts and turned Mujib and his party into traitors of Pakistan. The enemies are still doing these things and I can give you many examples, BLA is one of them.

So much misinformation peddled , and unfortunately Pak has never really put its narrative across

Thread 'Jhaur - The War of 1971' https://defence.pk/pdf/threads/jhaur-the-war-of-1971.732105/
I havent seen the whole thing. I will inshAllah when i have time. But by the looks of it , Its the same old thing. Present the blood of honest duty bound soldiers of Pakistan , Their sufferings and Pain to cover the Blunders of Ayub and Yahya. Why was Mujib notnour Prime Minister? what did yahya thought or wanted? "Ok here are the elections. What? Pakistanis have elected an east Pakistani? No You cant be prime minister. Put 60% of population under curfew. And lets give power to the 30% representing leader" Is this a rocket science? When will we start calling a spade a spade?
Keep this genocide claim of Bangladeshi government aside. How is putting 60% population under curfew and arresting killing political leaders is justified?
Whats our whole stance on kashmir?

I havent seen the whole thing. I will inshAllah when i have time. But by the looks of it , Its the same old thing. Present the blood of honest duty bound soldiers of Pakistan , Their sufferings and Pain to cover the Blunders of Ayub and Yahya. Why was Mujib notnour Prime Minister? what did yahya thought or wanted? "Ok here are the elections. What? Pakistanis have elected an east Pakistani? No You cant be prime minister. Put 60% of population under curfew. And lets give power to the 30% representing leader" Is this a rocket science? When will we start calling a spade a spade?
Keep this genocide claim of Bangladeshi government aside. How is putting 60% population under curfew and arresting killing political leaders is justified?
Whats our whole stance on kashmir?
I'm sorry but Mujib was a communist stooge traitor who had been caught during the Agartala Saazish in which they had planned either India and USSR for this. This was almost 10yrs before 1971.

Unlike you I have talked to the Army officer of that time who was injured in the war and was later Prisoner of war, you don't know how Indians treated them, I gave you a reference of a very authentic author and book by her that exposes Indian lies about the 71 war, if you and many other Pakistani's can believe in Indian Propaganda being a Pakistani, why can't the east Pakistan's? It is written in history books how Mukti Bahni and Indian Army committed war crimes, rape and killing during and after the 71 war.
What Ayub Khan did is another topic and he was wrong.
You know how the enemy works? they take little issues between two groups and turn them into hostilities.
Pakistani government policy was wrong in 60's and 70's but the enemy used our weaknesses and internal conflicts and turned Mujib and his party into traitors of Pakistan. The enemies are still doing these things and I can give you many examples, BLA is one of them.
O pai Mujib clean sweeped East Pakistan. "Turned his party traitors" His party was the east Pakistan. Ail seat nai jeet saka koi Awami league ke ilawa wahan se. Aik jalsa nai kar saka koi successful. Sara east Pakistan traitor tha? Ajeeb mantak hai.
What is our issue here? Who the hell cares what India does or did? India is our enemy who will do what an enemy do. I bet you dont sit with army officers much and putting this "I have sat with them" Just for the sake of argument.

Kher. You have your opinnion i have mine. "India Conspired , Mujib was traitor , Awami league was indian stooge , Pakistani Government did innocent crackdown only on traitors , Indian Army invaded east Pakistan and broke it by force and our soldiers suffered" and case close. Happy now.

I'm sorry but Mujib was a communist stooge traitor who had been caught during the Agartala Saazish in which they had planned either India and USSR for this. This was almost 10yrs before 1971.

Yeah he was supposedly and Indian and Russian Agent.
And 60% Pakistanis unanimously voted for him to be Prime Minister. 👍
Which makes us what?

That’s victory day.

Who started the crisis my friend by not handing over the power to a party who won a legitimate election?
I agree West Pakistan did wrong, but you guys worsened the situation by declaring independence.

Declaring independence is also treason as well you know.

Anyways what is done is done, and Bangladesh is also geographically separate from Pakistan as well.

Good luck...

I agree West Pakistan did wrong, but you guys worsened the situation by declaring independence.

Declaring independence is also treason as well you know.

Anyways what is done is done, and Bangladesh is also geographically separate from Pakistan as well.

Good luck...

Independence was declared after starting of operation searchlight when Pakistani army started killing innocent civilian, East Pakistan police, border guard, army, student, professors, minorities etc.