Pakistan from (and in) the eyes of a Saudi Professor!!

P.S. God forgive me for writing good about Saudis. :P

When you don't know about Tariq al Meena, never been to Saudi, never worked with Saudi boss, colleague, associate, you shouldn't pass judgments on Saudi affairs.
Its not an advise, its a common sense which you should acquire.

I always say we need to spread a positive image of Pakistan real image tell people that Pakistan isn't a terrorist failed nation that some of our obsessed neighbors try to portray article is good but i only have doubts on the literacy rate.

Well. I have. And I still don't get what you want to solicit from us from an article by a guy who has two articles under his belt, in the "oped" section of a local newspaper with 200 views being trolled by a handful of "desi" reviewers, whose existence on this planet maybe also questionable.

Do you want me/us to draw some positive or negative conclusion about Saudi's as a race or their relations viz-a-viz Pakistan. Their judicial system. Their monarchy. The Hajj and/or Umra quotas or maybe statistics on their male-to-female ratios, or maybe how many wives an average Saudi has? o_O

What I want to understand is, what is going on in your head. I'm neither drunk nor high at the moment, however, are you in your senses?

Have you even read the article?

Well. I have. And I still don't get what you want to solicit from us from an article by a guy who has two articles under his belt, in the "oped" section of a local newspaper with 200 views being trolled by a handful of "desi" reviewers, whose existence on this planet maybe also questionable.

Do you want me/us to draw some positive or negative conclusion about Saudi's as a race or their relations viz-a-viz Pakistan. Their judicial system. Their monarchy. The Hajj and/or Umra quotas or maybe statistics on their male-to-female ratios, or maybe how many wives and average Saudi has? o_O

What I want to understand is, what is going on in your head. I'm neither drunk nor high at the moment, however, are you in your senses?
I just read the article and raised some thought provoking questions... especially to highlight the propaganda by our neighbours in the east that all Arabs look down upon Pakistanis. You can agree or disagree...Just do it intellectually. You don't need to call me moron, stupid or other names...

Do you want me/us to draw some positive or negative conclusion about Saudi's as a race or their relations viz-a-viz Pakistan. Their judicial system. Their monarchy. The Hajj and/or Umra quotas or maybe statistics on their male-to-female ratios, or maybe how many wives and average Saudi has? o_O
My aim is not to praise or criticise their society..... but only to highlight that at least someone is speaking very positively of Pakistan despite all the heated geopolitics. Can you understand that? Take a sip of cold water...dude.. and just relax.

Here a real article to challenge your "intellectualism".....

http://www.latimes.com/world/afghan...s-pakistan-arrest-blogger-20150703-story.html

Articles abound (from authoritative sources) if you want to feel good or bad. Just name it and google is your friend. Next time, you want to post something, think before you leap. Saudi Arabia is a sensitive matter for many here. Negative or positive. Doesn't matter. Just let it be authoritative or linked to some event, so we can all lean in the direction our brains tell us to.

On topic: Read the article critically once again. I can bet my left ball that he didn't even write it, rather paid someone 100 rials (in all probability some Pakistan fanboy of our outstanding R&D, or maybe 'Khewra' salt mines).

Dude, this whole exercise just wasted 20 minutes of my life. Shame on me.

I just read the article and raised some thought provoking questions... especially to highlight the propaganda by our neighbours in the east that all Arabs look down upon Pakistanis. You can agree or disagree...Just do it intellectually. You don't need to call me moron, stupid or other names...

I understand what you are saying but would have loved to have had the bragging rights of being the first, of course we could and should have done it, but Mushy cancelled the program according to Dr AQ Khan.Kudos bro........Let the purge begin;)
We will do many FIRSTS.... I guess no other Muslim country has launched an SLV (correct me) and especially launched a satellite from it so far.

Iran beat us to it.Kudos bro
Thanks for the correction.
Did they launch a satellite too?
But SLVs come in many flavours (ranges) PSLV, GSLVs. I'm pretty sure that GSLV is still unattainable and I believe that Pakistan will be the first Muslim country to do that.

Thanks for the correction.
Did they launch a satellite too?
But SLVs come in many flavours (ranges) PSLV, GSLVs. I'm pretty sure that GSLV is still unattainable and I believe that Pakistan will be the first Muslim country to do that.
No they have not achieved GSLV which is far more challenging yet they are vigorously researching whilst SUPARCO is receiving peanuts from the govt.Kudos

Here a real article to challenge your "intellectualism".....

http://www.latimes.com/world/afghan...s-pakistan-arrest-blogger-20150703-story.html

Articles abound (from authoritative sources) if you want to feel good or bad. Just name it and google is your friend. Next time, you want to post something, think before you leap. Saudi Arabia is a sensitive matter for many here. Negative or positive. Doesn't matter. Just let it be authoritative or linked to some event, so we can all lean in the direction our brains tell us to.

On topic: Read the article critically once again. I can bet my left ball that he didn't even write it, rather paid someone 100 rials (in all probability some Pakistan fanboy of our outstanding R&D, or maybe 'Khewra' salt mines).

Dude, this whole exercise just wasted 20 minutes of my life. Shame on me.
You still didn't get it. I'm not backing all their policies and my stance on Yemen and current GCC stand off with Qatar is very clear.
I just wanted to highlight that someone has written positively about Pakistan and that someone is an Arab, a professor and writes articles in English.

Dude, I'm sure it is not first time you wasted 20 mins online...btw thanks for reading though I didn't tag you so I really don't feel guilty :lol:

Rest of your claim about the authenticity of the article is mere speculation and totally unfounded on facts. If you believe so, sue him and win millions of riyals :enjoy:

Once I read a golden quote written behind a truck and I dedicate it to you

" پاس کر یا برداشت کر"

No they have not achieved GSLV which is far more challenging yet they are vigorously researching whilst SUPARCO is receiving peanuts from the govt.Kudos
I hope that we channel the right amount of funds to SUPARCO for this project.

@django
In addition to SLV, we also need some good supercomputing facilities and Human Resources to benefit from it

Yaar, mujhay eik baat batta, tu kion "ummah" ka lota lay karr harr jaga wuzzu karnay puhunch jaata hai? Do you seriously think you can influence me or for that matter ANYONE else who has passed kindergarden? I don't think so. So best bet for you, take the job of some "muazzin", preferably in Wana or equivalent, where after Friday sermon, you may get your chance to spread your 'views' or 'farts' which ever comes out first (from North or South of your present orientation)! :D

When you don't know about Tariq al Meena, never been to Saudi, never worked with Saudi boss, colleague, associate, you shouldn't pass judgments on Saudi affairs.
Its not an advise, its a common sense which you should acquire.

In addition to SLV, we also need some good supercomputing facilities and Human Resources to benefit from it
Absolutely, we need to invest more into this field as Pakistanis seem to have a natural talent for this, more funding should be provided for robotics ,AI, control system..... 3d printing etc

With latest offerings from nVidia and AMD, the supercomputers have become quite affordable and compact and energy efficient so the TFlops/$ and per watt are quite high which is really good. A system running on a one megawatt power can help us solve a lot of complex problems. Three of the top 10 supercomputers are running under 3.0 MW power.

Sorry to burst your bubbles, Pakistan does NOT have anything remotely available in the category of "Human Resources" to sustain any sort of parallel computing infrastructure. You'll have to import the brains along the hardware to make any use of it (trust you me, I know it). It will be an uphill struggle, that is me being 'kind' and very very...... very generous.

Maybe @Oscar can ease your combined unfounded hopes.

With latest offerings from nVidia and AMD, the supercomputers have become quite affordable and compact and energy efficient so the TFlops/$ and per watt are quite high which is really good. A system running on a one megawatt power can help us solve a lot of complex problems. Three of the top 10 supercomputers are running under 3.0 MW power.

Sorry to burst your bubbles, Pakistan does NOT have anything remotely available in the category of "Human Resources" to sustain any sort of parallel computing infrastructure. You'll have to import the brains along the hardware to make any use of it (trust you me, I know it). It will be an uphill struggle, that is me being 'kind' and very very...... very generous.

Maybe @Oscar can ease your combined unfounded hopes.
You got the wrong person to deal with on HPC. I have done quite a lot in this field with being part of Numba recently in addition to utilising OpenCL, CUDA, OpenMPI on routine basis for my own business but also providing consultancy to many organisation and academic/research institutions like Sandia National Labs and PDC , LUNARC here in Sweden.
By the way, I know that there is a good team at NUST (RCMS), GIKI, COMSATS and there a quite a few professors at PIEAS, LUMS and UET Lahore who have some literacy in this area. KRL and NESCOM also have quite a few great assets. I can offer my service free of cost to train some of them even further if the need arises. Some of my friends have already returned to Pakistan after receiving great training in this field.....so I doubt that you know more about HPC and the human resource available in Pakistan.
@Oscar will tell you that you have a defeatist mentality since you are only seeing the half empty glass.