Pakistan Foriegn Reserves Decreasing Fast

Here is the current scenario-

1) remittances are down because expats abroad don’t trust PMLN especially expats in the west who make up more and more of remittance contributions.

2) investment from abroad is down too.

3) imports down but at cost of exports being down too

Why are we surprised that CAD has increased? Miftah already accounted for this when he said that he wanted to get financing for 41 bn $ as compared to PTI which was getting between 10-15 bn every year the last three years.

So we are all good. We will become extremely debt ridden and that was always part of the plan. Whoever planned this surely saw that overseas would not send money and they didn’t care.

Clv.

Do give credit to Miftah for increasing petrol prices. It was stupid that it was so low in Pakistan- hopefully, they also increase gas prices and pay the local gas companies that price too so we can have exploration and development done.

Here is the current scenario-

1) remittances are down because expats abroad don’t trust PMLN especially expats in the west who make up more and more of remittance contributions.

2) investment from abroad is down too.

3) imports down but at cost of exports being down too

Why are we surprised that CAD has increased? Miftah already accounted for this when he said that he wanted to get financing for 41 bn $ as compared to PTI which was getting between 10-15 bn every year the last three years.

So we are all good. We will become extremely debt ridden and that was always part of the plan. Whoever planned this surely saw that overseas would not send money and they didn’t care.

Clv.

Do give credit to Miftah for increasing petrol prices. It was stupid that it was so low in Pakistan- hopefully, they also increase gas prices and pay the local gas companies that price too so we can have exploration and development done.
only fool will give dollars to PDM and bajwa

~85% of Pakistan's GDP is household consumption.

The reserves will always be going down.

The entire reserves were from loans in the first place.

The only time Pakistan's reserves go up is due to taking more loans or getting free money.

The most telling was that Pakistan's current account was only in surplus when commodities were at rock bottom prices in 2020 and the economic activity drew to a standstill.

This means that Pakistan's economy is literally negatively productive.

Where do you get the number 85 % from ?

The detail of Pakistan import can be easily seen in this data. The data is for last year trading but the component and percentage must be relatively the same. The one that needs to be changed is in mineral fuels sector and vegetable oils where the price increases in 2022.

44 billion USD trade deficit is huge for economy like Pakistan (2021)

For the exports, the data is quite detail, there are 100 pages to look on what goods that Pakistan export during 2021 period

-----------------------------

Products Causing Trade Deficits for Pakistan​

Overall Pakistan incurred a -$44.2 billion trade deficit during 2021. That dollar amount results from an 87.4% expansion from -$23.6 billion in red ink one year earlier.

Below are exports from Pakistan that result in negative net exports or product trade balance deficits. These negative net exports reveal product categories where foreign spending on home country Pakistan’s goods trail Pakistani importer spending on foreign products.

1. Mineral fuels including oil: -US$19.2 billion (Up by 89.2% since 2020)
  2. Electrical machinery, equipment: -$5.9 billion (Up by 34.8%)
  3. Machinery including computers: -$5.8 billion (Up by 46.8%)
  4. Iron, steel: -$4.5 billion (Up by 46.6%)
  5. Animal/vegetable fats, oils, waxes: -$3.53 billion (Up by 59.9%)
  6. Pharmaceuticals: -$3.52 billion (Up by 544.3%)
  7. Vehicles: -$3.3 billion (Up by 134%)
  8. Organic chemicals: -$3 billion (Up by 40.8%)
  9. Plastics, plastic articles: -$2.6 billion (Up by 43.8%)
  10. Oil seeds: -$1.7 billion (Up by 42.5%)
Pakistan has highly negative net exports and therefore deep international trade deficits for mineral fuels including oil particularly red ink for refined petroleum oils, petroleum gases as well as crude oil.

Where do you get the number 85 % from ?

The detail of Pakistan import can be easily seen in this data. The data is for last year trading but the component and percentage must be relatively the same. The one that needs to be changed is in mineral fuels sector and vegetable oils where the price increases in 2022.

44 billion USD trade deficit is huge for economy like Pakistan (2021)

For the exports, the data is quite detail, there are 100 pages to look on what goods that Pakistan export during 2021 period

-----------------------------

Products Causing Trade Deficits for Pakistan​

Overall Pakistan incurred a -$44.2 billion trade deficit during 2021. That dollar amount results from an 87.4% expansion from -$23.6 billion in red ink one year earlier.

Below are exports from Pakistan that result in negative net exports or product trade balance deficits. These negative net exports reveal product categories where foreign spending on home country Pakistan’s goods trail Pakistani importer spending on foreign products.

1. Mineral fuels including oil: -US$19.2 billion (Up by 89.2% since 2020)
  2. Electrical machinery, equipment: -$5.9 billion (Up by 34.8%)
  3. Machinery including computers: -$5.8 billion (Up by 46.8%)
  4. Iron, steel: -$4.5 billion (Up by 46.6%)
  5. Animal/vegetable fats, oils, waxes: -$3.53 billion (Up by 59.9%)
  6. Pharmaceuticals: -$3.52 billion (Up by 544.3%)
  7. Vehicles: -$3.3 billion (Up by 134%)
  8. Organic chemicals: -$3 billion (Up by 40.8%)
  9. Plastics, plastic articles: -$2.6 billion (Up by 43.8%)
  10. Oil seeds: -$1.7 billion (Up by 42.5%)
Pakistan has highly negative net exports and therefore deep international trade deficits for mineral fuels including oil particularly red ink for refined petroleum oils, petroleum gases as well as crude oil.

Different sources calculate it slightly differently.

It's between 80%-95% of Pakistan's GDP based on the source and exact statistics you use.

The period of Khair won't start till the Sher finishes it's time - it's the Ilahi Sunnet....

This shameless gang of stripped-to-naked beggars-at-DC thugs and robbers are Insha'Allah counting their last days....

Let the Ilahi La'net be Daim upon them and take its toll from their future Nesils till the Roz-i Kiyamet...

No interest , if it crashes 100% no problem

I have no 25 Crore Villa or Big Bank Balance

My family have no massive mansions in Islamabad Red Zone

Nor do I have expensive Cars 15 of them parked in indoor parking of these Redzone Villas or farm lands

Sometimes a crash and reset is actually best for Country

The poor will keep eating their 1 Roti and 1 Onion or Timatar

It is the posh who need to worry but they already are moving assets over to UAE arent they?

@Communism

Commie Bhai,

As my friend Brofessor sb (@RiazHaq) has explained several times, Pak's problem is low exports, resulting in persisting CAD, and low savings rate, resulting in high debt levels. This causes what you describe as "negatively prodcutive" economy.

Regards

First election , then any talk about Economy

Otherwise , It rises it tanks , no interest

Their plan (Neutrals & PDM) is to completely deplete the reserves and bring the country on the verge of bankruptcy and then hand over the reins to IK. Leave the country in even more perilous position than the last time around and let IK/PTI sink.

@SaadH

Saad bhai,

Or is to go bankrupt so that they can hand over the nukes to Uncle Sam and say that was out of majboori?

Regards

@Communism

Commie Bhai,

As my friend Brofessor sb (@RiazHaq) has explained several times, Pak's problem is low exports, resulting in persisting CAD, and low savings rate, resulting in high debt levels. This causes what you describe as "negatively prodcutive" economy.

Regards

Pakistan can start from where it has competitive advantage. I would suggest Pakistan must improve its higher education system and invest massively in IT sector. With its comparative advantage in English (as well as many British and US former colonies), Pakistan should be able to grab some big portion of Indian IT export. Some IT companies will go big if that is the case and may go for manufacturing business later just like Elon Musk business story

At the mean time, there may be some difficulty to focus on manufacturing (beside textile industry where the industry still look like quite promising). Manufacturing needs massive capitals in which many Pakistan businesses might not be interested on it since FTA with China is basically killing many manufacturing start up there, although still some venture in manufacturing can be started.

In order to absorb many work force, agricultural is the best option under current Pakistan condition, government support through training, seed, and soft loan are needed for this sector to grow

Political stability is a must to attract FDI for import substitution or export oriented business, so any dispute should be solved through democratic system whether through parliament mechanism or election.

Just see Philippine for example, its competitiveness in manufacturing is not as good as the other ASEAN 5 countries, but since Philippine focuses on service sector and use its competitive advantage in English fluency, they can grow quite fast for the last decade, around 6-7 %.

Economy is not my responsibility I am a neutral too

That electricity bill , not getting paid
That has bill not getting paid

That remittance , not my responsibility

Main bhi neutral tu bhi neutral

Send note to IMF , if they give us loan , I am not paying it
IMF do not expect any of Pakistani to Pay you back , you give cash then it is Donation to Neutral

They are buying their Vigo or SUV with that IMF donation

Neutral wants to take loan for his lavish life style be my guest take it and put it under your own name , you pay it 100%

@SaadH

Saad bhai,

Or is to go bankrupt so that they can hand over the nukes to Uncle Sam and say that was out of majboori?

Regards
That they have already done, nukes are for domestic consumption, not to be used or leveraged in power projection or as coercive tool.

All Pakistanis should just chill out with Bill Payments for 3 months whole setup will collapse in 3 months when no bills are paid

Don't even need to do massive Jaslsa

Take 2 week break from Filling Petrol , whole setup will collapse

The greatest power you have is Saying "NO"

I will not cooperate

Shut down trade/commerce , 2-3 weeks Election will be called

Easy way shairf family making fool of Pakistan

- big brother nawaz sharif looted by getting comission install enery plant which runs on imported ( we have to pay for them)

- chota brother install now solar panels from his own xyz name sons company so he can earn

Why they didnt go for all solar panel thing earlier??? do corruption and settle abroad