Pakistan feared to lose $4bln of exports this fiscal

Pakistan Space Agency

Javed Mirza

March 27, 2020

KARACHI: Pakistan’s exports are feared to fall an estimated $4 billion this fiscal year as coronavirus outbreaks have brought industrial activities to near halt in the country, industry officials said on Thursday.

The officials said the country’s exports are going to take a serious hit with a very little or no exports in the last quarter of the current fiscal year. Exporters are unanimous that annual exports wouldn’t cross the $20 billion mark in FY2020. There is an average $2 billion worth of goods exported every month. Since exports are expected to be hurt for at least two months, $4 billion loss is obvious, they said. “At this point of time, there are no buyers in the world for our products, be they textiles, sports goods or surgical goods,” Mazhar Ali Nasir, an office bearer of the Federation of Pakistan Chamber of Commerce and Industry said. “Moreover, China has begun reviving its industry, so even after lockdowns are lifted across the world, Pakistan’s exporters would not be able to capture any substantial chunk of the global market.” Novel coronavirus has affected 200 countries with trade consignments being cleared slowly. Nasir said it is still unclear how long the lockdown would continue. “Though the government has announced an incentive package, most of the industry could not survive without international buyers,” he said. “Certain textile exporters have closed their units.” Exports showed a little recovery in the first eight months of the current fiscal year, up around 4 percent to $15.6 billion. Pakistan is struggling to improve exports sector’s share in GDP from the existing single digit. Exports fell to $22.9 billion in FY2019 from $23.2 billion a year earlier. Ministry of commerce expected $2.7 billion decline in exports in the next four months.

Zubair Motiwala, chairman of the Council of Textile Association said textile exports would suffer at least $2 billion. “The government’s support package for the textile sector is not enough,” Motiwala said. “The sector is going through a severe liquidity crunch as the buyers abroad are not making payments. We had some orders delayed but the cancellations are not yet rampant.” Food and vegetable exporter Waheed Ahmed said horticulture exports are expected to decline by at least 15 percent. “Last year, our total exports were $670 million. Mango season begins mid-May, and if we couldn’t export mangoes this season, overall exports will be down significantly.” Businesses are coping with the lost revenue and disrupted supply chains due to factory shutdowns and quarantine measures, restricting movement and business activity.

The International Monetary Fund says 2020 could see a recession worse than the global financial crisis, while the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development has warned the global economy would take years to recover. Sport goods exporter Muhammad Faraz said there are absolutely no orders from abroad as the markets are closed. “I think there would be zero sports goods exports in this quarter, as these are not the things that the world wants now.”

Exports via airlines have completely stopped, while shipments via sea have declined by over 90 percent in the last week. Akhlaq Abidi, a leading seafood exporter, said the entire world stopped importing sea foods. “We primarily export to China, UAE, Malaysia and Thailand. Now, a little export has resumed to China.”

https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/634959-pakistan-feared-to-lose-4bln-of-exports-this-fiscal

Cartoon-e-Azam PM Imran Khan and his Shaikh Chillian promises to make Pakistan a progressive nation in 2020 is only making it a regressive nation.

"Gabraana nahi hai", he kept telling his cabal after imposing poverty on the nation.

It's like he's cursed or something.
(Keep up with that witchcraft and see what other great achievements befall this nation).

May Allah guide you. I have said it before to you, we and the whole world is facing unprecedented situation with COVID19 and you are spreading fasaad as if these things are happening in normal days. Stop being a spreader of fasaad.

May Allah guide you. I have said it before to you we and the whole world is facing unprecedented situation with COVID19 and you are spreading fasaad as if these things are happening in normal days. Stop being a spreader of fasaad.
He is a chawal of epic proportions, most probably on pay roll of Patwari league. why waste efforts into correcting him.

He is a chawal of epic proportions, most probably on pay roll of Patwari league. why waste bandwidth correcting him.

Of course, one can see the specific language and a sudden rise in his posts since SS has landed in Pakistan to take advantage of this unprecedented situation.

It’s beyond callous to spread fasaad during this time.

He is a chawal of epic proportions, most probably on pay roll of Patwari league. why waste efforts into correcting him.
He is a valuable member of this forum. We all have political differences but please don't resort to such remarks.

Exports are gonna fall, true. But so will imports. Good chunk of our imports are oil whose demand is already low thanks to lockdowns and is currently cheapest in decades.

May Allah guide you. I have said it before to you, we and the whole world is facing unprecedented situation with COVID19 and you are spreading fasaad as if these things are happening in normal days. Stop being a spreader of fasaad.

Here's an act of fasaad.

PM Imran goes offline without listening to opposition leaders.

Allah hates the arrogant.

“No one who has an atom’s-weight of arrogance in his heart will enter Paradise.” A man said, “O Messenger of Allaah, what if a man likes his clothes and his shoes to look good?” He said, “Allaah is Beautiful and loves beauty. Arrogance means rejecting the truth and looking down on people.” [Muslim]​

Gabraana nahi, here's some guidance for you and your cultist kind.

Allah SAW says in Surah Luqmaan, verse 18-19::

“And turn not your face away from men with pride, nor walk in insolence through the earth. Verily, Allaah likes not any arrogant boaster.

And be moderate (or show no insolence) in your walking, and lower your voice. Verily, the harshest of all voices is the braying of the asses”

Javed Mirza

March 27, 2020

KARACHI: Pakistan’s exports are feared to fall an estimated $4 billion this fiscal year as coronavirus outbreaks have brought industrial activities to near halt in the country, industry officials said on Thursday.

The officials said the country’s exports are going to take a serious hit with a very little or no exports in the last quarter of the current fiscal year. Exporters are unanimous that annual exports wouldn’t cross the $20 billion mark in FY2020. There is an average $2 billion worth of goods exported every month. Since exports are expected to be hurt for at least two months, $4 billion loss is obvious, they said. “At this point of time, there are no buyers in the world for our products, be they textiles, sports goods or surgical goods,” Mazhar Ali Nasir, an office bearer of the Federation of Pakistan Chamber of Commerce and Industry said. “Moreover, China has begun reviving its industry, so even after lockdowns are lifted across the world, Pakistan’s exporters would not be able to capture any substantial chunk of the global market.” Novel coronavirus has affected 200 countries with trade consignments being cleared slowly. Nasir said it is still unclear how long the lockdown would continue. “Though the government has announced an incentive package, most of the industry could not survive without international buyers,” he said. “Certain textile exporters have closed their units.” Exports showed a little recovery in the first eight months of the current fiscal year, up around 4 percent to $15.6 billion. Pakistan is struggling to improve exports sector’s share in GDP from the existing single digit. Exports fell to $22.9 billion in FY2019 from $23.2 billion a year earlier. Ministry of commerce expected $2.7 billion decline in exports in the next four months.

Zubair Motiwala, chairman of the Council of Textile Association said textile exports would suffer at least $2 billion. “The government’s support package for the textile sector is not enough,” Motiwala said. “The sector is going through a severe liquidity crunch as the buyers abroad are not making payments. We had some orders delayed but the cancellations are not yet rampant.” Food and vegetable exporter Waheed Ahmed said horticulture exports are expected to decline by at least 15 percent. “Last year, our total exports were $670 million. Mango season begins mid-May, and if we couldn’t export mangoes this season, overall exports will be down significantly.” Businesses are coping with the lost revenue and disrupted supply chains due to factory shutdowns and quarantine measures, restricting movement and business activity.

The International Monetary Fund says 2020 could see a recession worse than the global financial crisis, while the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development has warned the global economy would take years to recover. Sport goods exporter Muhammad Faraz said there are absolutely no orders from abroad as the markets are closed. “I think there would be zero sports goods exports in this quarter, as these are not the things that the world wants now.”

Exports via airlines have completely stopped, while shipments via sea have declined by over 90 percent in the last week. Akhlaq Abidi, a leading seafood exporter, said the entire world stopped importing sea foods. “We primarily export to China, UAE, Malaysia and Thailand. Now, a little export has resumed to China.”

https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/634959-pakistan-feared-to-lose-4bln-of-exports-this-fiscal
Is it due to COVID 19 than I don't find Khan responsible

He is a valuable member of this forum. We all have political differences but please don't resort to such remarks.
This is not political difference. Dont masquerade it behind so called political difference. When the whole world is being affected by a global pandemic, and world superpower struggling, him signaling out PM of Pakistan as somehow this is his fault is not political difference but character assignation done on purpose which is his trait.

Here's an act of fasaad.

PM Imran goes offline without listening to opposition leaders.

Allah hates the arrogant.

“No one who has an atom’s-weight of arrogance in his heart will enter Paradise.” A man said, “O Messenger of Allaah, what if a man likes his clothes and his shoes to look good?” He said, “Allaah is Beautiful and loves beauty. Arrogance means rejecting the truth and looking down on people.” [Muslim]​

Gabraana nahi, here's some guidance for you and your cultist kind.

Allah SAW says in Surah Luqmaan, verse 18-19::

“And turn not your face away from men with pride, nor walk in insolence through the earth. Verily, Allaah likes not any arrogant boaster.

And be moderate (or show no insolence) in your walking, and lower your voice. Verily, the harshest of all voices is the braying of the asses”

Then point to this particular act but what you are doing is knowing full well some thing that is happening across the world and using it to spread disinformation and chaos. That is fasaad. Don’t do it, it’s not worth whatever you think you will gain from it.

If only people have the chance to be PM 3 times and give wonderful performances like this

Maryam Nawaz calls PMLN ‘ineligible’ and ‘incompetent’ on Twitter
Maryam Nawaz accidentally took a jibe at her party, for a report published on Pakistan’s disappointing economic performance.

https://www.globalvillagespace.com/maryam-nawaz-calls-pmln-ineligible-and-incompetent-on-twitter/

He should be banned for spreading misinformation for political point scoring, the whole world is in unprecedented meltdown due to corona virus, most of the public are restricted to thier homes. Stunted growth syndrome with low IQs is hard to make them understand.

You are right. Where in world we see such behavior? In times like this he is spreading look economy is down. Why dont he ask his leader to sold their flats and bring back money to Pakistan.

Cartoon-e-Azam PM Imran Khan and his Shaikh Chillian promises to make Pakistan a progressive nation in 2020 is only making it a regressive nation.

"Gabraana nahi hai", he kept telling his cabal after imposing poverty on the nation.

It's like he's cursed or something.
(Keep up with that witchcraft and see what other great achievements befall this nation).

Wow The Intellect of A Patwari Never Fails To Astound Me.Remember When There Was No Corona and Your Daddy Nawaz Sharif Took Exports From $25 Billion In 2014 To $19 Billion In 2017.Not Only That Shutting Down 100 Textile Mills In Punjab Was Also A Feather In The Cap.