Pakistan embassy staff in Kabul limits movement
By Tahir Khan
Published: August 27, 2015

945500-embass-1440641150-578-640x480.jpg

Step taken after some men tried to kidnap an official. PHOTO: Embassy of Pakistan, Kabul

ISLAMABAD:
Pakistani diplomats and staffers of the country’s embassy in Kabul have been forced to restrict their movement following an alleged kidnapping bid and growing incidents of harassment, The Express Tribune has learnt.

Sources said some unidentified men tried to abduct an official of the Pakistani embassy in the Shehr-e-Nau area of Kabul on Tuesday, forcing him to postpone a meeting scheduled for the day and return to embassy premises.

“Embassy officials have spotted some people taking videos of the normal movement of Pakistani diplomats entering or exiting the embassy as well,” a source said. A senior Pakistani embassy official was also recently stopped at a police check post for two hours allegedly by agents of the National Directorate of Security (NDS), Afghanistan’s premier intelligence agency.

“The Pakistani embassy will not be able to continue to function in such a situation,” the source said.

He said some individuals, presumably part of Afghanistan’s security apparatus, routinely hurled abuses at Pakistani embassy officials while passing near their home or the embassy compound. The situation has forced some embassy staffers who live outside the embassy compound to remain inside their homes, he added.

According to sources, the harassment of Pakistani officials in Afghanistan started after President Ashraf Ghani, Chief Executive Dr Abdullah Abdullah and the NDS accused Pakistan of involvement in recent attacks in Kabul and the rest of the country. Pakistan has condemned the attacks.

When Pakistan’s foreign ministry summoned Afghan ambassador Janan Mosazai on August 23, it asked him to urge his government to ensure the safety and security of Pakistani officials and nationals in Afghanistan. Pakistani embassy officials have also conveyed their concerns to the Afghan government and informed them about a possible threat to the embassy compound. But, even though Afghan officials recently visited the Pakistani embassy and assured the staff of security, there has been no let-up in the harassment incidents.

Due to heightened security concerns, the Pakistani embassy in Kabul postponed a test for Afghan students seeking Pakistani scholarships last week. The embassy expressed its inability to arrange security measures for the students who were supposed to appear for the compulsory English language test.

Published in The Express Tribune, August 27th, 2015.

He said some individuals, presumably part of Afghanistan’s security apparatus, routinely hurled abuses at Pakistani embassy officials while passing near their home or the embassy compound. The situation has forced some embassy staffers who live outside the embassy compound to remain inside their homes, he added.

:woot::woot:

Afgans have no idea They are messing with the Wrong Entity ( Really ? )
btw, are Pakistani Security Forces attached to the Pakistani Embessey Sleeping ?

What they eat goes from Pakistan,7 million are refuges,we need only to flush them back and stop trade,it will take just hours before Govt in Kabul will flee actually we don't need Taliabn Waliban to bring Chaos in Afghanistan.

Bhai, business phele hi down hai, jo kuch thoda bahoot chal raha hai us per kyo laat mar rahe ho.

No more freaking extensions to these thankless Afghans living in Pakistan.

Kick out all those illegal Afghans. I am sure India, their favorite country, will be more than happy to accept those refugees.

Just give it a try, you idiots!

Bhai, business phele hi down hai, jo kuch thoda bahoot chal raha hai us per kyo laat mar rahe ho.
Bahi is business ke wajh say Pakistan mai Grocery items ke price 100% ziyda hai aur Afghanistan kay sath lagney waley Areas mai 300% ziyda.Afghan sirf opium augatey hai aur kuch nahi........

Obviously, hired goons by India......Pakistan should deploy a battalion of SSG and kill these fcukers.

Is it 7 million ? I thought the figure is more like 5 ? Do you have any sources ?

:woot::woot:

btw, are Pakistani Security Forces attached to the Pakistani Embessey Sleeping ?

And how does it concern you? Our embassy our people, why you Indians have to butt in every time there is something that concerns Pakistanis and Afghans?

And how does it concern you?

Well, The Forums software this Site uses is solely for the purpose of "DISCUSSION". Plz Quote a RULE which STOPS me from doing so.

Our embassy our people, why you Indians have to butt in every time there is something that concerns Pakistanis and Afghans?

I nevrer said any thing about pakistan. The Qs. I asked is the Qs. that YOU SHOULD ASK.ssy
It seems you have a more butthurt over an Indian asking relevant Questions than hearing that your citizens are having issues.

Obviously, hired goons by India......Pakistan should deploy a battalion of SSG and kill these fcukers.
And you are decorated think tank.Where does OP mentions the name of India ?? Why go offtopic on very first page ??

Even your country's government is not dragging India's name in this episode but you have your own imaginations so are free to fan your propaganda. :laugh:

Well, The Forums software this Site uses is solely for the purpose of "DISCUSSION". Plz Quote a RULE which STOPS me from doing so.

You don't do discussions, its propaganda that you do.

I nevrer said any thing about pakistan. The Qs. I asked is the Qs. that YOU SHOULD ASK.ssy
It seems you have a more butthurt over an Indian asking relevant Questions than hearing that your citizens are having issues.

It is our problem and we know how to handle, never held a question and answer session and never asked for suggestions not especially from Indians.

You should be worried about people getting killed in Gujjarat and at the hands of Maoists, let our problem with Afghans be our's we don't need you cry babies everywhere where there is Pakistan involved.