Normal life in Kashmir valley was completely paralysed

Awesome

RETIRED MOD
http://www.zeenews.com/znnew/articles.asp?aid=315670&sid=REG

Normal life in Kashmir valley paralysed

Srinagar, Aug 15: Normal life in Kashmir valley was completely paralysed today following a general strike call given by separatist organisations to observe the Independence Day as "Black Day".

Shops and business establishments remained closed while roads and streets all across the valley wore a deserted look in view of the strike call given by hardline faction of Hurriyat Conference, which was supported by other groups including the moderate faction.

The hardline faction led by Syed Ali Shah Geelani has urged the people of the state to observe the day as "black day as India has not fulfilled its promise of holding a plebiscite in Jammu and Kashmir to decide the future of the state".

The effect of the strike was accentuated by the public holiday on account of independence day and stringent security arrangements made to ensure incident-free celebrations.

The security forces did not allow any movement, pedestrian or vehicular, in areas close to Bakshi Stadium, the main venue for the celebrations in the state.

Only those persons who have security passes were allowed out of their localities.

Can everyone read the writing on the wall? Pakistan National Anthem and Pakistani flags are hoisted in Kashmir. All of Kashmir goes to strike when the Indian President visits and all of Kashmir goes to strike when India celebrates its independence day. See a pattern here?

maybe they want to be with Pakistan?

Ummm Maybe? :D

Meanwhile we have Pakistani flags hoisted in Srinagar's downtown. Brilliant show by the Kashmiris!

http://www.greaterkashmir.com/full_story.asp?Date=15_8_2006&ItemID=30&cat=21

‘Pak flags in downtown’

Srinagar, Aug 14: Militants hoisted Pakistani flags in many areas of downtown Srinagar on the Independence Day of Pakistan on Monday, a local news agency quoted a spokesman of Al-Umar Mujahideen outfit as saying.

According to Khalid Javed, the Al-Umar spokesman, Pakistani flags were hoisted at Rajouri Kadal, Khanaqah-e-Moulla and Jamia Masjid areas. The police, he said, later downed the flags.

A spokesman of Harkat-ul-Mujahideen also claimed that the cadres of the outfit hoisted flags in many parts of the Valley. “We hoisted flags in Kupwara, Sopur, Handwara and Varmul,” the HuM spokesman Hassan Askari told CNS.

The Kashmir Freedom Force has also claimed that their militants celebrated Pakistan’s independence day in Kupwara, Sogam, Handwara, Sopur, Bandipore and Varmul by hoisting green flags.

However, police has refuted the claims of the militants, saying nothing of that sort happened.

Pakistani flags are also hoisted at many mohallas of Indian cities.

They too want to join Pakistan?

However, quite a few in India are ignorant that the Pakistani flag differs from the Islamic flag i.e. it has a vertical white strip on the left of the Hilal on a green background!

Kashmir has enough of foreign funded and trained terrorists and so the flying of the Pakistani (or could it be the Islamic flag) need not be a source of uncontrolled glee that it symbolise the desire of the Kashmiris.

I would leave it at that so as to maintain the non acrimonious character of this Forum.

Salim said:

They too want to join Pakistan?.

May be want to change the color of Indian flag ? :D

Sir come on dont be on fire :)

One wonders if a call by the Hurriyat and that too by Geelani is an indication that Pakistani flags has suddenly billowed in the cool Kashmri air and mellifluous strains of Pakistani national anthem has wafted into the ears beyond the LC and has even reached the shores of Dubai!

However, if the Hurriyat's call alone wafts on the inner eye of some individuals a dreamlike scene of thousands of flags blooming and thunderous music reaching its crescendo, so be it.

However, sadly for those who wish to get mesmerised into such euphoric ecstasy, with or without alcoholic or drug assistance, the situation that is current still remains and without a modicum of change.

It is extraordinary how one superimposes dreams for reality!

Dil ki tassali k liay yeh khayaal bhi acha hai, ghalib.

Asim,

The correct wording would be:

(Hum ko ma'loom hai janat ki haquiqat lekin)
Dil ke khush rakhne ko Ghalib yeh khayaal ach'cha hai...;)
(Un ke dekhe se jo aajati hai munh par rauhnaq
Woh samajhte hain ke bimaar ka haal ach'cha hai...)

Ghalib is one of my favorite poets.

Jana,

I am not on fire at all.

I am a trifle perturbed that one does not understand the English written in the newspapers and the website and yet reproduces the same and then gives a most thickwitted an interpretation.

I have been in Kashmir from 1950. yes, 1950!

I have spent most of my adult life in Kashmir too and have travelled or served in every part of Kashmir!

Unlike most, I love to interact and learn about communities, their culture, their likes and dislikes and so on and so forth. And this trait of mine has given me a very educative insight into many things, which one would term as mundane and plebeian.

Hence, when pet hates surface, without being in context (as is this post on which I commented), it sort of stupifies one if it is for real and that too on a forum that has so far has, with a tight rein, encouraged indications of educated interaction! :shock:

There was a post that I made on NWFP, based on news from BBC and some other channels. Neo informed me about you having been there and pointed out an article that you wrote. Now, I am keeping an open mind and looking at the news from FATA and NWFP from another angle too.

Therefore, each day and each post is a new experience and it cannot be ignored. But these "pet hates" that some nurture as if it is their staple, diverts the attention and makes one believe that some people merely post without being equipped to do some educated analysis. Such posts break the chain of discussion, which I believe, in internet langugage is called trolling.

I do look forward to posts from, say, Sigatoka, Parihaka, the Colonel, Rehman, Wadawada, Neo, you, Sid and many others. I may not agree with the views, but since they are logically written and with educated sanity, they do contribute to one's knowledge and education. One cannot be one tracked. Life is full of multiangled parameters and all need not be to your liking! But inane posts sort of jangle when one visits a forum which is otherwise of educated posts and of knowledge.

I hope that clarifies.

Before the phantom of False morning died,
Methought a Voice within the Tavern cried,
"When all the Temple is prepared within,
Why nods the drowsy Worshipper outside?"

Rubiyat of Omar Khayyam

Salim said:

really? thats surprising...

Salim that means the Indian Muslims are pulling a fast one over the rest of the Indians eyes? They are secretly mocking them putting up the Pakistani flag while they think its the Islamic flag (thats the Muslim League flag btw, the full green one).

Perhaps that should be a clue, that the Indian Muslims are only in India because they have to and due to strict measures adopted by Pakistan they cannot come there either.

Yet they prefer Pakistan. Hmmm.

A.Rahman said:
really? thats surprising...

Quite a few are under the impression that the Hilal with the green background is the Pakistani flag.

Therefore, they feel that the Pakistani flags are fluttering in strength! ;)

Asim goes one step further. He sees in the Hurriyat black day call,, millions of Pakistani flags atop Srinagar houses and mosque calls for prayers as the Pakistani National Anthem.

Education and General Knowledge are the missing links! ;)

News reports, judging from a whole mix of sources, one can form an educated opinion.

Denial although can be a stronger medium of belief...