Nirbhaya Fund gets additional Rs 1,000 crore in budget

vicky sen

Nirbhaya.jpg

The Nirbhaya Fund, set up after the Delhi gang-rape incident, for the safety of women was given additional additional Rs 1,000 crore in the interim budget in Parliament.

NEW DELHI: Finance minister P Chidambaram on Monday allocated an additional Rs 1,000 crore to the Nirbhaya Fund for the safety and empowerment of women.

"In order to make it clear that the (Nirbhaya) fund will be a prominent fund, I intend to declare the grant of Rs 1,000 crore as non-lapsable and in order to support more proposals, I propose to contribute to the fund another Rs 1,000 crore next year," Chidambaram said while presenting the interim budget in Parliament.

In last year's Budget, Chidambaram had announced the Nirbhaya Fund with a corpus of Rs 1,000 crore as a tribute to the gangrape victim. Nirbhaya (fearless) was the pseudonym given to the victim.

"To ensure the dignity and safety of women, I promised the Nirbhaya Fund and put Rs 1,000 crore to the fund," Chidambaram said.

The Cabinet has already cleared two proposals that will receive support from the fund.

In January, the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs approved a Rs 1,405-crore project to track and monitor public transport and provide alarm buttons for alerting authorities.

The project involves setting up closed-circuit television (CCTVs) and GPS in public transport vehicles.

The government set a deadline of February 20, 2014, for public transport vehicles running in major cities with a population of over 10 lakh to install GPS devices.
Nirbhaya Fund gets additional Rs 1,000 crore in budget - The Times of India

One year later, Nirbhaya Fund lies unused

January 10, 2014

Reveals a Right To Information reply

Another Union budget is round the corner but the Rs.1,000-crore Nirbhaya Fund announced last year by Finance Minister P. Chidamabaram, to ensure the safety and security of travelling women, continues to remain a nonstarter, a Right To Information reply has revealed.

The brutal gang rape of a Delhi student inside a moving bus on December 16, 2012, and her subsequent death forced the government to announce this novel scheme in last year’s annual budget, but the fund has been lying unspent for more than a year.

Rs.1,000-crore fund

“Parliament has approved the setting up of a Rs.1,000-crore fund titled the Nirbhaya Fund. The funds have not been used so far as the relevant schemes are yet to be finalised,” said an RTI reply by Amit Bansal, Under Secretary of the Economic Affairs Department of the Finance Ministry, given on January 1 to Kochi-based lawyer D.B. Binu from the same department.

Project proposals

Installation of closed circuit television cameras at important public places, GPS and emergency buttons in transport buses to link them with police stations, toll-free numbers, and self-defence lessons for the needy were included in the proposed project.

32 cities

The plan was to implement the project in 32 cities but none of the city authorities have received any guidelines or orders for implementation so far.

“During the first anniversary of the gang-rape, the government had claimed that three projects under the Nirbhaya Scheme were implemented. But the RTI reply exposes their claim,” Mr. Binu said.

Clarification

The last paragraph of “One year later, Nirbhaya Fund lies unused” (Jan. 9, 2014, some editions) said: “ … the government had claimed that three projects under the Nirbhaya Scheme were implemented. But the RTI reply exposes their claim.” A letter from the Finance Minister’s office said: “While the report is substantially correct, the last paragraph to the effect that ‘false claims have been made’ is totally wrong. No false claim has been made by the Government. The Cabinet has approved one proposal from the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways. Two other proposals … have been given in principle approval …”

One year later, Nirbhaya Fund lies unused - The Hindu

One year later, Nirbhaya Fund lies unused

January 10, 2014

Reveals a Right To Information reply

Another Union budget is round the corner but the Rs.1,000-crore Nirbhaya Fund announced last year by Finance Minister P. Chidamabaram, to ensure the safety and security of travelling women, continues to remain a nonstarter, a Right To Information reply has revealed.

The brutal gang rape of a Delhi student inside a moving bus on December 16, 2012, and her subsequent death forced the government to announce this novel scheme in last year’s annual budget, but the fund has been lying unspent for more than a year.

Rs.1,000-crore fund

“Parliament has approved the setting up of a Rs.1,000-crore fund titled the Nirbhaya Fund. The funds have not been used so far as the relevant schemes are yet to be finalised,” said an RTI reply by Amit Bansal, Under Secretary of the Economic Affairs Department of the Finance Ministry, given on January 1 to Kochi-based lawyer D.B. Binu from the same department.

Project proposals

Installation of closed circuit television cameras at important public places, GPS and emergency buttons in transport buses to link them with police stations, toll-free numbers, and self-defence lessons for the needy were included in the proposed project.

32 cities

The plan was to implement the project in 32 cities but none of the city authorities have received any guidelines or orders for implementation so far.

“During the first anniversary of the gang-rape, the government had claimed that three projects under the Nirbhaya Scheme were implemented. But the RTI reply exposes their claim,” Mr. Binu said.

Clarification

The last paragraph of “One year later, Nirbhaya Fund lies unused” (Jan. 9, 2014, some editions) said: “ … the government had claimed that three projects under the Nirbhaya Scheme were implemented. But the RTI reply exposes their claim.” A letter from the Finance Minister’s office said: “While the report is substantially correct, the last paragraph to the effect that ‘false claims have been made’ is totally wrong. No false claim has been made by the Government. The Cabinet has approved one proposal from the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways. Two other proposals … have been given in principle approval …”

One year later, Nirbhaya Fund lies unused - The Hindu
And with 100s and 1000 crores in the fund women are still not safe in Delhi or for that matter anywhere in India.

Instead of allotting funds. . . which somehow will end up in their own pockets. . .they can try something like this. . .:crazy:

I knwo these steps won't be highlighted by our shity media. . :disagree:

Overwhelming response to Nirbhaya mobile police - Times Of India

BHOPAL: Three days after its launch, Nirbhaya mobile police in the city are flooded with calls from schools, colleges ,coaching centres and parents to ensure women's safety in the city. The special unit was set up by Bhopal police as a tribute to Nirbhaya. They are receiving as many as 150 calls every day.

"We have received a positive response from the parents of the city, who are calling to express their concern for their daughters and happy over the police department initiative," said Namita Sahu, the sub-inspector, who has been heading the all -women-cop team.

Instead of allotting funds. . . which somehow will end up in their own pockets. . .they can try something like this. . .:crazy:

I knwo these steps won't be highlighted by our shity media. . :disagree:

Overwhelming response to Nirbhaya mobile police - Times Of India

BHOPAL: Three days after its launch, Nirbhaya mobile police in the city are flooded with calls from schools, colleges ,coaching centres and parents to ensure women's safety in the city. The special unit was set up by Bhopal police as a tribute to Nirbhaya. They are receiving as many as 150 calls every day.

"We have received a positive response from the parents of the city, who are calling to express their concern for their daughters and happy over the police department initiative," said Namita Sahu, the sub-inspector, who has been heading the all -women-cop team.
kya hai yeh???

You've echoed my thoughts.

I hope that doesnt come down to moral policing.
She said," Our mission is not moral policing but to prevent incidents by being a little more vigilant. We want the girls to be bold and move around without any fear. We are not intruding into one's personal space but yes if we see a young girl in her school uniform sitting with a guy twice her age then we may interfere. We want girls to support us in our mission and take us as their friends and well-wishers" "While girls covering faces with scarves is a regular scene in the city, we want them to avoid using scarves. It makes it difficult to know their identity and therefore this can pose as an impediment in the situation when the girl has to be identified," the sub-inspector added.

kya hai yeh???

Bhopal police has started a patrolling. . . named Nirbhaya( name dedicated to the delhi rape victim girl ) police patrolling. . .to ensure the safety of women. . they have dedicated helpline numbers. . just to address issues related to women in the city :)

She said," Our mission is not moral policing but to prevent incidents by being a little more vigilant. We want the girls to be bold and move around without any fear. We are not intruding into one's personal space but yes if we see a young girl in her school uniform sitting with a guy twice her age then we may interfere. We want girls to support us in our mission and take us as their friends and well-wishers" "While girls covering faces with scarves is a regular scene in the city, we want them to avoid using scarves. It makes it difficult to know their identity and therefore this can pose as an impediment in the situation when the girl has to be identified," the sub-inspector added.

Bhopal police has started a patrolling. . . named Nirbhaya( name dedicated to the delhi rape victim girl ) police patrolling. . .to ensure the safety of women. . they have dedicated helpline numbers. . just to address issues related to women in the city :)
I read that.... but sooner or later they would end up embarrassing gals.

She said," ""While girls covering faces with scarves is a regular scene in the city, we want them to avoid using scarves. It makes it difficult to know their identity and therefore this can pose as an impediment in the situation when the girl has to be identified," the sub-inspector added.

And this hasnt caused any problems till now??

Pls explain

be positive. . and. . appreciate a good initiative. . its better than khujlival's women commandos . . . which was nothing but a hoax:disagree:
And this hasnt caused any problems till now??

Pls explain

So, far. . the responses are positive :)

Pls explain
okay

Lets say these ppl go and start asking questions to a gal who is sitting with a man,it becomes embarrassing if that man is her dad/uncle etc.
And what if its genuine a case of a young gal falling for a man who is much elder to her in age??

be positive. . and. . appreciate a good initiative. . its better than khujlival's women commandos . . . which was nothing but a hoax:disagree:
I am positive.
But i think there are many better ways of ensuring safety of women.More police patrolling...responding to such calls immediately...keeping a watch on the more notorious areas.
Btw more women are violated by acquaintances than complete strangers.So yes such helplines should be active and vigilant.

I was talking about the scarf thing..(or veil)....can they forcefully impose their views?

yes they can. . . i've seen similar things happening in Hyderabad. . when girls were asked to no to cover their faces. . ( specially after the Disukhnagar bombings ). . .

okay

Lets say these ppl go and start asking questions to a gal who is sitting with a man,it becomes embarrassing if that man is her dad/uncle etc.
And what if its genuine a case of a young gal falling for a man who is much elder to her in age??

Im sure they will be able to differentiate between a dad/uncle of a girl from her lover. You know, one dosnt behave the same way with a bf and a father.

Besides, what are the odds of that?? For the larger cause, 1 or 2 cases can be overlooked. If they make a mistake and approach some genuine lovers, they should apologise...and that should be it!!

Im sure they will be able to differentiate between a dad/uncle of a girl from her lover. You know, one dosnt behave the same way with a bf and a father.

Besides, what are the odds of that?? For the larger cause, 1 or 2 cases can be overlooked. If they make a mistake and approach some genuine lovers, they should apologise...and that should be it!!
I hope they're doing just that.
But havent we seen often such brigade turning rogue.
I am hoping they'll stick to what they're doing now and bring about a change.