News from Bangladesh-Updates and Discussion

Results 'staged': Khaleda :: Election 2008 :: bdnews24.com ::

'Staged' results unacceptable: Khaleda
Wed, Dec 31st, 2008 12:23 am BdST

Dhaka, Dec 30 (bdnews24.com) - BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia on Tuesday night alleged the announcement of results after Monday's national vote was staged to defeat the four-party alliance.

She further alleged that 'vote rigging' was unprecedented.

"After Monday's polls, the Election Commission only announced a staged result set earlier," Khaleda said at a midnight press briefing.

After the four-party's catastrophic losses in Monday's parliamentary polls, an 'emotional' Khaleda chaired an emergency meeting of the party's highest policymaking body, the National Standing Committee, on Tuesday evening.

"The results of the staged election is not acceptable to BNP," Khaleda told reporters after the meeting.

The two-time former prime minister 'thanked' the chief election commissioner ATM Shamsul Huda "for presenting the nation with a staged election".

Asked whether she was rejecting the results, Khaleda said, "You can understand what is meant by 'unacceptable'".

Prior to the meeting of the 11-strong committee, Khaleda appeared emotional as she waved at a few hundred supporters from the second floor of the office around 6:45pm, witnesses said.

She stood there in silence for sometime as party supporters shouted slogans.

The meeting was the first organisational move after the party's defeat in Monday's general elections.

BNP secretary general Khandaker Delwar Hossain, committee members Khandker Mosharraf Hossain, RA Ghani, Chowdhury Tanvir Ahmed Siddiqui, Khandker Mahbub Uddin Ahmad and M Shamsul Islam attended the meeting at the chairperson's Gulshan office.

Had BNP and AL prior to election result declaration alleged rigging but promised not to contest the results?

Well its the political culture of Bangladesh as both the party is headed by two insane ladies.. You know how ladies behave... they are like devils...

Dont worry... once you are married to them .. you cant get rid of them...
:sniper: :taz:

One good thing that Sheikh Hasina Wajed did was that she made UN declare
21st February as the International Mother language day.

Hasina to be sworn in as Bangladesh PM by January 10

Updated at: 2345 PST, Tuesday, December 30, 2008
DHAKA: Awami League president Sheikh Hasina will take over as Prime Minister by January 10, her close aide told reporters in Dhaka on Tuesday.

He said, the party, being a democratic one, has to summon its central working committee and presidium to take stock of the situation following landslide victory in the ninth parliamentary poll to forming what he said ‘a government of good governance’.

“We’ll carefully choose the cabinet members,” he said adding that Awami League will also meet its allies to discuss the structure of the cabinet.

Meanwhile, a senior member of the caretaker cabinet M Anwarul Iqbal said on Tuesday power would be handed over to an elected government in 10 days after the results were gazetted and oaths taken.

Only because of people like you our country can not progress.Everytime ordinary people try to take a step forward,you people pull us backward.You are talking about AL atrocities that too from Tarek Zia's channel.I think we can also find BNP-JAAMAT atrocities too.But let us forget all the things of past and take the country forward.
I think BNP should cooperate and accept the result instead of playing blame game.And AL should work with BNP and take BD forward,instead of taking revenge.
Inshallah Bangladesh will become a developed country if these two parties work together.

Only because people like me are out there, unenlightened have chance to be insightful. Only because a few like me volunteer just cause, other become opportune to understand what is real forwardness and what not! Now you are going to tell TARIQ owns YOU TUBE and expect people here to believe his atrocity like Goeblian concoction. I agree with the fact that you can find millions of TARIQ, BNP-JI's atrocities from the mouth pieces of same, who have claimed TARIQ has stole CRORES but hasn’t recovered a penny. Selling hearts to dhotis because of their powerfulness and asking BNP, JI to do the same is the real defeat to me. So, shame on you! Moreover, why are you asking me to forget the past after AL’s stage-managed victory? Why hasn't it been done by RAWAMY LEAGUERS when AL goons have shut down the whole country, bleed its people to death?

BNP, JI are hundred times more co-operative and pro-people than historic AL traitors but don't ask to accept them fake defeat, which in the past has turned the entire nation as defeatists and it would continue to be the same.

Bangladesh Elections have proved that democracy has bounced back. Its good to see rapists and murderers have been defeated! I didnt know that Jamaat E Islami were war criminals and I happy to see the results.

Bangladesh should Not be Pro India or Pro Pakistan! It should be Pro Bangladesh! Let the People Win always!

So you fed with WRONG information. Some old Jammat leaders has been accused of crime during liberation war BUT no one able to prove it in court of law.

After independence Sheikh Mujib, Awami league prime minister made law in parliament that provided amnesty for wrong doing during war. But since his daughter came into politics this war crime has been made seasonal issue to gain political mileage. And with direct indian support and propagation if I may add. From 1991 – 1996 Awami league made the same seasonal "war criminal" issue without any proof but then turned around and made political understanding with same Jammat leaders who they accused for war crime.

From 1996 to 2001 Awami league was in power and there was no movement by Awami league to push any legal proceedings against these alleged crimes.

Awami league is just deceiving people with their fake promise and seasonal game and some people are too eager to dance. In few years these Jammat current leaders will be out of leadership and new post 1971 generation will be at the helm of Jammat; what will be Awami seasonal political game?

What do you mean by pro-Islamic??Just because they have beards and wears tupi does not make them MUMIN.
Didn't these Jamaati people rape and killed people???THAT'S NOT WHAT ISLAM SAYS.

Its not about MUMIN but its about policy against Islamic Policy about Islamic belief, culture, practices and freedom to do so. Its about policy stand Awami league has so far been promised to its foreign (Indo-US and Israeli) masters that goes against belief, culture, sentiment, practice and freedom to do so.

In case you forget nearly 90% of Bangladeshis are Muslims. Our population is very very moderate and forward looking. Yet Awami league try to sell “secularism” as cause of our independence. First "secularism" has nothing to do with our independence. BUT “secularism” cause serves indian motive behind our independence and current agenda. That very “secular” cause serves agenda of crusade against Muslim population in neo con driven world.

But one thing some people who subscribed to Awami propagation do not realize - being Muslim, practicing it and using it for just cause does not automatically means going against inspiration of independence or aligned with Pakistan or evil cause. But that’s the false flag argument Indians had planted and Awami league had been propagating.

If you have not realized these broader issues then you are arguing from very shallow point.
Civil war?? are you kidding me??Army will kick the ARSES of anyone who tries anything like that inshallah.

In case you have not realized our army had already been deduced to a mercenary army. Look at the definition of “mercenary” – meaning army that do anything for money, no allegiance, principal, no dedications are matter.

Our army do the work for UN money and listen to their command rather than our own.
Awami league had bought mig fighters to show people off. But people did not realize or know that no weapon/ missile were bought for those planes. One does not have to tell that without weapons these fighters were nothing but show.
Wait till few more years lets see how much of REAL scope and capability (except ones in pipeline) of defense forces are reduced or (enhanced???).

So you fed with WRONG information. Some old Jammat leaders has been accused of crime during liberation war BUT no one able to prove it in court of law.

After independence Sheikh Mujib, Awami league prime minister made law in parliament that provided amnesty for wrong doing during war.

There were no such law made!!! Only people who did not have any criminal record were waived of trial. Collaborator act was repealed by Ziaur Rahman and people were let go by him. Even people with conviction were set free by Mr. Zia.

From 1991 – 1996 Awami league made the same seasonal "war criminal" issue without any proof

This is not the issue of AL, people already given the verdict, no matter whoever political party in power now on, has to try those criminals. Honeymoon days are over!!

Awami league is just deceiving people with their fake promise and seasonal game and some people are too eager to dance.

Well, they just won the election through some promises. We are yet to see whether those are fake or not!! you have no other choice but to wait!!!

Its not about MUMIN but its about policy against Islamic Policy about Islamic belief, culture, practices and freedom to do so. Its about policy stand Awami league has so far been promised to its foreign (Indo-US and Israeli) masters that goes against belief, culture, sentiment, practice and freedom to do so.
These empty rhetorics are no more a hot sale in Bangladesh. Proved in this election!!! People want concrete political vision not bogus boo!!!

If you have not realized these broader issues then you are arguing from very shallow point.

Yes you should look into broader issues, instead of narrow religious division and fake foreign threat!!! People already given their verdict.

In case you have not realized our army had already been deduced to a mercenary army. Look at the definition of “mercenary” – meaning army that do anything for money, no allegiance, principal, no dedications are matter.
You should call ACC with proof if you find any!! The institution is in place now and we are moving towards modernity!!!

Awami league had bought mig fighters to show people off. But people did not realize or know that no weapon/ missile were bought for those planes. One does not have to tell that without weapons these fighters were nothing but show.

Huh!!!! funny isnt it!!!

Wait till few more years lets see how much of REAL scope and capability (except ones in pipeline) of defense forces are reduced or (enhanced???).

Yes lets wait!!!

One good thing that Sheikh Hasina Wajed did was that she made UN declare
21st February as the International Mother language day.

Yes thats true!!! But we are yet to see indigenous people could learn their own language in primary education. I heard they are trying to introduce that in Chittagong Hill Tracts.

This war criminals issue is such a complex issue that if we keep on insisting on it we can never improve our relations. We admit that there were some atrocities committed from our side but on the other hand Mukti Bahini killed people also so whom will we punish?

It was a national tragedy and may Allah forgive us all that we killed our people and broke this sacred land which was founded by sacrificing millions of lives. Let Allah punish all those who killed people wather its Pakistani administration or Mukti Bahini.

I know many of Bangladeshi friends will not agree with me but to move forward we need to heal this septic and show the world that we still are one.

There were no such law made!!! Only people who did not have any criminal record were waived of trial. Collaborator act was repealed by Ziaur Rahman and people were let go by him. Even people with conviction were set free by Mr. Zia.

Awami league just claimed to win just yesterday and you are propagating false information already. Once again exposed typical Awami League character of LIE and decit. Kamal Hossain brought the resolution for this amensty check the histoy.

And to expose more of typical ignorance and lie, Zia did not repeal any act only allowed political rights. Political right that was suffocated by creating one party rule by Awami league.

This is not the issue of AL, people already given the verdict, no matter whoever political party in power now on, has to try those criminals. Honeymoon days are over!!

When Awami league comes to power war crime issue disappear but make crocc tears when they want to go to power. Why should people trust them this time around? By the way this you, who said no law is required to try someone for war crime. That is a tall order. If that is the precedence then I can make you or anyone who is old enough, a war criminal in a heart beat.

Any criminal be that war or any other reason should be punished. But political exploitation and lawless demand without proof will make accuser even bigger criminal. Rather than being drunk in Awami high octane propagation have them proof the case in court. That is democratic and civilized way.

Well, they just won the election through some promises. We are yet to see whether those are fake or not!! you have no other choice but to wait!!

Oh we are holding our breath .....

These empty rhetorics are no more a hot sale in Bangladesh. Proved in this election!!! People want concrete political vision not bogus boo!!!

Hope you know the meaning of rhetoric. When asked how Awami league would finance the plan for 10 taka/kg rice and free fertilizer, Hasina or any one from Awami league had no answer. By the way only two of these Awami league promises will cost 50000 cr taka or about $8 billion. Lets see what is your answer to financing???? Awami league deception at its best.

Yes you should look into broader issues, instead of narrow religious division and fake foreign threat!!! People already given their verdict.

I should repeat my answer - If you have not realized these broader issues then you are arguing from very shallow point. Besides, people did not vote to deceive , in case you have not come out of that trend.

You should call ACC with proof if you find any!! The institution is in place now and we are moving towards modernity!!!

ACC is a institution .... pleaaase !!!! even Hasina would not agree because the way ACC tortured people to get signature in blank sheet of paper and then filed cases. Highest court of the nation dismissed most of ACC cooked up cases. And not to mention ACC chairman and his family members are involved in big ticket corruption.

I am beginning laugh at your flimsy hype poor information