Man Behind Apple’s Latest Innovation is a Pakistani

Kaniska

United States
Man Behind Apple's Latest Innovation is a Pakistani :

Contactless mobile payments are not a new idea but with the entry of Apple in the arena, it is going to hit the mainstream. Apple Pay is going to allow users to shop in over 220,000 stores in the U.S. simply with their smartphones. It allows the removal of debit and credit cards from the transaction process while adding security and ease of use.

fc987faf316f4d96e191b76defc3d982.jpg
Ahmer Ali Khan

One of the seven people behind this technology is Ahmer Ali Khan, a GIKI graduate, originally from Rawalpindi, Pakistan. Aged 38, Khan moved to Silicon Valley in 2000. An indicator of his brilliance is the fact that he learned Java overnight after he was quizzed about it in an interview for his first full time job.

His first experience with phone based and contactless payments came at ViVotech, which used to specialize in NFC or Near Field Communication. In 2011, he was chosen by Apple to work on a then ‘top secret’ digital payment system that could overhaul shopping. In February earlier this year, Khan and six co-inventors filed a patent for Apple Pay.

Users of the technology can simply hold up their iPhone or iWatch, due for release next year, up to a contactless reader and once Touch ID authenticates you, the payment is confirmed via a beep and vibration. Credit and debit card information is saved on the mobile device through the Passbook app using the camera of the phone. The proprietary technology never reveals your debit and credit card information to the merchant or even Apple and adds a layer of security to purchases.

None of Khan’s success has come as a surprise to his friends and family, who already knew him as ‘The Programmer’ and a tech genius when he was in Pakistan.

Khan currently lives in Milpitas, California with his wife and two children. He refused to comment on his involvement with Apple Pay citing company policy.

Let us cheer up this guy who has contributed positively to the image of Pakistan...

There so many so such people from Pakistan working all over the world, in all sorts of organizations. It's just we don't bloat things out of proportion.

Now that grads from institutes like giki, revamped nust and so on have reached a certain age, we might start to see more and more of them making their mark.

They do. I know tons of Computer Science/ Computer software graduates from NUCES FAST who have started their own IT firms. Web development/ iOS, etc and they are minting money, barely 3 years out of college. No Multinational can offer the compensation that these entrepreneurs can do themselves. The problem, people in such businesses tend to keep low profile, especially in Karachi, due to law and order situation. Once you get the foot in the door, it's just hard work and consistency. Our IT exports are well over the official government figures. Government should consider offering incentives to these tech entrepreneurs so they can be registered their earnings recorded accurately.

I respect your humble attitude..But again, when even little element of success in religion and its relevant element is over bloated in this foforum...As always, i find it value add to bring up this news that adds positive values to Pakistan people and of course me..

'NOT ONLY TERRORISTS'

I respect your humble attitude..But again, when even little element of success in religion and its relevant element is over bloated in this foforum...As always, i find it value add to bring up this news that adds positive values to Pakistan people and of course me..

Like i said, there are people making impact all around the world. If you don't hear about them, it doesn't mean they are not doing anything. Our media tend to not highlight such successes. You'll find top notch Pakistani Engineers,Doctors, Lawyers, Humanitarian workers, Diplomats all over the world.

Contactless mobile payments are not a new idea but with the entry of Apple in the arena, it is going to hit the mainstream. Apple Pay is going to allow users to shop in over 220,000 stores in the U.S. simply with their smartphones. It allows the removal of debit and credit cards from the transaction process while adding security and ease of use.

Ahmer Ali Khan

One of the seven people behind this technology is Ahmer Ali Khan, a GIKI graduate, originally from Rawalpindi, Pakistan. Aged 38, Khan moved to Silicon Valley in 2000. An indicator of his brilliance is the fact that he learned Java overnight after he was quizzed about it in an interview for his first full time job.

His first experience with phone based and contactless payments came at ViVotech, which used to specialize in NFC or Near Field Communication. In 2011, he was chosen by Apple to work on a then ‘top secret’ digital payment system that could overhaul shopping. In February earlier this year, Khan and six co-inventors filed a patent for Apple Pay.

Users of the technology can simply hold up their iPhone or iWatch, due for release next year, up to a contactless reader and once Touch ID authenticates you, the payment is confirmed via a beep and vibration. Credit and debit card information is saved on the mobile device through the Passbook app using the camera of the phone. The proprietary technology never reveals your debit and credit card information to the merchant or even Apple and adds a layer of security to purchases.

None of Khan’s success has come as a surprise to his friends and family, who already knew him as ‘The Programmer’ and a tech genius when he was in Pakistan.

Khan currently lives in Milpitas, California with his wife and two children. He refused to comment on his involvement with Apple Pay citing company policy.

Let us cheer up this guy who has contributed positively to the image of Pakistan...

What is the innovation in apple pay again? Here is the apple's patent application, not surprisingly, 2/3 are Indians. He did file a patent for encryption method though...

Apple outlines Apple Pay, NFC operation in comprehensive patent filing
United States Patent Application: 0140304094
Patent WO2014124108A1 - Apparatus and methods for secure element transactions and management of assets - Google Patents

Pakistanis are talented people. It is just lack of opportunities which make us to go abroad

Ahmer Ali Khan

Talent ki kami nahi hai mulk main....lekin desh ke hukmaran itne chutye hain ki Pakistan age badh hi nahi sakta...jab tak upar se le ke neeche tak policy aur system overhaul nahi hota.