‘Loadshedding can be dealt with, if money is given’

Dance

ISLAMABAD: Confirming electricity outages of up to 12 hours a day, the ministry of water and power on Wednesday conceded before a parliamentary committee looking into the energy crisis that loadshedding could be done away with.

`We have the capacity. We can run our plants and end loadshedding. But for that we don`t have the money,` Water and Power Secretary Imtiaz Kazi testified at a meeting of the committee presided over by Usman Khan Taraki.

He said the federal cabinet had promised to provide Rs25 billion by Jan 4 sothat 9,500MW of electricity could be produced. `But so far only Rs6 billion has been released,` he said.

Currently, the power companies were generating 8,300MW and the average shortfall stood at 4000MW, Mr Kazi said.

`As we get more money, the generation will be increased to 8,900MW, reducing the duration of loadshedding to four hours in cities and six hours in villages.

He confirmed that cities across the country were going without electricity for up to 10 hours a day and the rural areas for up to 12 hours.

Mr Kazi said the government had com-mitted to increasing tariff by 2 per cent every month in order to pass on to consumers a cumulative increase of 12 per cent, but the process was stalled because of a stay order issued by the Lahore High Court.

The government had since then been able to get the order vacated, he said, leading to possible introduction of tariff increases in the bills for January.

Mr Kazi said the power companies were finding it difficult to recover their dues in full. The federal and provincial governments were not paying up to Rs90 billion, creating a shortfall of aboutRs125 billion and adding to the circular debt problem.

`If the circular debt problem is addressed and recoveries are made, then there will be no problem in meeting electricity demand,` he remarked.

The committee said that poor consumers who consumed less than 150 units per month should be charged Rs1.34 a unit, the price of electricity produced by dams. The rich and well-to-do consumers should be asked to bear the cost of electricity produced using costlier fuels.

Shahid Khagan Abbasi of PML-N proposed that the private sector be urged toplay role in the generation and sale of electricity and in recovery of bills to discourage yearly power theft of Rs90 billion.

`Those who can afford should be charged full prices,` he said and added that no business making losses could be allowed to continue.

When Mr Kazi said that implementation of such proposals would require political will, Mr Abbasi accused the government officials of misleading the authorities who in his opinion could be persuaded to make prudent decisions based on sound data.

http://www.dawn.com/2012/01/12/loadshedding-can-be-dealt-with-if-money-is-given.html

How can generation be increased overnight, if somebody gives you money.
It requires medium to long term planning based on your projected power needs.

Problem can be handled on Home by Home basis by Average Pakistanis

Invest 2,500USD and buy a 800-1200 Watt solar panel system

Government instead of giving 25 Billion (25,000,000,000 RS) to electric company should instead buy Solar Pannels systems and distribute it per family household for free

Lasts 25 years and FREE electrcity for 25 years immediate home releif in 24 hours

Just import from China , and give 1 complete system to every registered house owner in Pakistan with "Discounts"

Immediately 75% load on grid system will go down

Good quality Sharp Solar pannels

You get 1300 watts

You can run

Light Bulbs
Run Radio
3-5 fans
Store 6 hours of electricity free no bill for life
Run your LCD tv or Monitor / PC for 3-4 hours

STOP PAYING WAPDA FOR LOAD SHEDING !!! ITS YOUR RIGHT TO SPEND CASH ON SOLAR PANELS

NO BLOODY F16 we need these solar pannels on every HOME IN PAKISTAN PRONTO
large-Rows%20of%20residential%20houses%20with%20solar%20  panels%20on%20top.jpg

Since all development in Pakistan have a FLAT surface that is PRIME SQFOOTAGE for gathering sun light !!! on Roof of homes

SAY NO TO GOVERNMENT ELECTRICITY AND BECOME INDEPENDENT

Infact every Pakistani that lives overseas should not send home Cash , but send home
1 Complete Solar Pannel system 1200 Watts

EXAMPLE: Recently in News I read Government gave 25 Billion Rupees $$$ to Electric company to fix problems

Almost 250 Million American dollars !!!

How much is population of Pakistan ? 180 Million

So lets do COMMON SENSE ... LOGIC

Lets Assume: Government Put that 250 Million dollars in Habib Bank
and said , every home owners in Pakistan can go get themselves 1 system worth 3,000 USD solar system? - This is like GOVERNMENT SAYS LOOK WE F IT UP GOOD ... but here is a PERMENENT SOLUTION , WAPDA can't be fixed in less then 3 years but you can solve your problem take 3,000 USD and get a full Package for your Home !!!! FREE ELECTRICTY JUST PAY YOUR HOME TAX PREREQUISITE

So 180 Million People population in pakistan , as we know in Pakistan 8 people live in 1 home

So 22 Million Approximate number of Homes in Pakistan

So 22 Million homes and 250 Million US DOLLARS in Habib Bank!!!

Government can easily create a Subsidy for 3,000 USD per tax paying Home

NO DAM BUILDING FIGHTING OVER IT
NO 10 YEAR WAIT
NO BULLSHIAT ...

JUST PURE ACTION ... !!!

$3,000 USD system can buy you enough electricity FREE FOR LIFE to run 240% of your home needs for free in your FREE COUNTRY PAKISTAN

The Gas that comes from Iran goes 100% to Industrial Sector -
You can CUT THE WAPDA WIRE FOR GOOD juts like Cell Phones killed Land line red tape this is same ...

WAPDA if it ever gets fixed , the electricity surplus can be used for powering "TRAINS" which run on Diesal !! - and we REDUCE IMPORT OF OIL AND DISEAL IN PAKISTAN Save $$$

Woah...pakistan's entire electricity generation is 8,300MW?
Not to piss anybody off but India's generation is over 2,00,000 MW and we are adding 30000 MW every year.
Stop making nukes just expand civ nuke sector and become like France.

Woah...pakistan's entire electricity generation is 8,300MW?
Not to piss anybody off but India's generation is over 2,00,000 MW and we are adding 30000 MW every year.
Stop making nukes just expand civ nuke sector and become like France.

Considering China generates over 1.2 million mega watts a year and adding more than 100000 MW a year(entire Indian capacity), we need to improve ourselves as well.

Bloody idiots in Pakistan shall just abolish import duties on solar panels.

Whole world is moving to solar, including oil gas rich countries.
Swiss-German investors announce $2bn Oman solar project - 16 Jan 2012 - News from BusinessGreen

Due to foreign influence (anti-Pakistan forces) parliament of Pakistan will keep discouraging any individual attempts to reduce dependency on state supply.

Idiot parliament shall know that till 2007 there were many investors willing to invest in various water dam projects.

Present govt. has done nothing to invite Pakistanis to invest in power generation.

This govt. is hell bent on importing electricity, which will earn them kick backs, denying development of local infrastructure and job opportunities for youth.

I wonder why this water power board is not thinking of water, which is even a bigger issue and can generate billions from agriculture and save billions by containing floods.

I see lot of money being made available by investing in dams alone.

why would invester come, if he is in his right mind if no return is expected...
the only problem here is that noone pays his bill!!! our line lossesa re at record level after zardari govt came in..

Saale ..Ku*e ..BC..MC ..Ga*Do..Ra*di ke Bache..Bharwe ..Dhale..Hara*i...... Aur galian kon kon C hain ?

Hamare Saare politicians.

Sorry mods but i cant control anymore Bcoz of these GanD*0s we are facing 21 hours Load-shedding here.

WTF is going on in our country.

Saale ..Ku*e ..BC..MC ..Ga*Do..Ra*di ke Bache..Bharwe ..Dhale..Hara*i...... Aur galian kon kon C hain ?

Hamare Saare politicians.

Sorry mods but i cant control anymore Bcoz of these GanD*0s we are facing 21 hours Load-shedding here.

WTF is going on in our country.

ye kya ho raha hai ...kissi ko is forum ki izzat ka khayal nahee hai ?????????Pakhtoon bhai itna gussa kyon??????????