Linux Desktop Distribution in a cheap 40 $ Android Box

BHAN85

Spain

I'm posting this from Armbian in a less 40$ android box (other model than videos).

Using Firefox over Armbian.

I think is awesome and it can have a lot of uses.

It's like a Raspberry Pi but lower price, better hardware, and in a box.

The wrong part is that there is no official support, and all the hardware is not fully supported by drivers/software.

A few years ago Samsung phones and tabs had a feature (Linux on DeX) to use Linux (Ubuntu) on them either standalone or by connecting to a PC. But that project was discontinued due to lack of interest.

I think that had a lot of promise if it went mainstream. Imagine everyone with a smartphone having Linux OS ready to be used on any PC.

A few years ago Samsung phones and tabs had a feature (Linux on DeX) to use Linux (Ubuntu) on them either standalone or by connecting to a PC. But that project was discontinued due to lack of interest.

I think that had a lot of promise if it went mainstream. Imagine everyone with a smartphone having Linux OS ready to be used on any PC.

But what about the price?

This is interesting because it has a very low price, and a large availability in any country (aliexpress).

You can use LibreOffice, navigate webs, send mails. It can be used as office PC.

It's not useful for games or high quality videos (due to lack of hardware acelerated drivers), but you can play 360p videos.

That's make very suitable for young student people, you can use only as study tool and it's not useful for games or waste time :lol:.

It would be very affordable for any developing country make internet classrooms with these devices, to keep young people learning instead drugging themselves in streets.

But what about the price?

This is interesting because it has a very low price, and a large availability in any country (aliexpress).

You can use LibreOffice, navigate webs, send mails. It can be used as office PC.

It's not useful for games or high quality videos (due to lack of hardware acelerated drivers), but you can play 360p videos.

That's make very suitable for young student people, you can use only as study tool and it's not useful for games or waste time :lol:.

It would be very affordable for any developing country make internet classrooms with these devices, to keep young people learning instead drugging themselves in streets.
If it could run on 2018 Samsung flagship phones then it would run on most budget phones now. The thing is almost everyone has a smartphone these days and having Linux in them is much better than having a separate device.

The funny part is Samsung started its windows partnership as soon as it stopped supporting that project which makes me to believe that Microsoft was the one who forced them to terminate such a novel idea.

There is a similar PC called Odroid running on Linux. Cheap at 50$. Pretty easy to automate stuffs especially ones using Python.

Does anyone know of any good android PC from reputable brand with full supported drivers and software?

interesting, raspberry pi was/is under rated

this whole hologram campaign was run on highly customized python scripts on raspberry pi3 running Raspbian, limitation was 1080p max output

Pakistan needs to follow this Raspberry Pi model to make such SBCs available to general public. Same for the FPGA boards. A repair + damage insurance service can be created to make it financially feasible.

We need to create a local semiconductor technology node (for starter may be 90nm or 45 nm via an SMIC type setup) for strategic and sovereignty. We cannot rely on blue-eyed blonde-haired mofos for any thing.

But, the person in me already knows that it wont happen. The cancer runs too deep. Hopefully, one day we will become masters of our own destiny.

Yeh nainsafi hai. Due credit dia karo logon. USA gave us both, Linux and Android which is based on Linux Kernel.
Linux kernel is being developed by coders from all over the world and Android is just Linux under the hood that Google purchased from someone and now making easy money. USA only gave us crappy broken windows

Nai babu, aisa zulm mat Karo. Ahsan manna Acha rehta Hai. USA gave us the transistor. USA gave us first computer and first operating system. USA gave us the manufacturing and R&D base that produced top technologies. USA gave the chance to German engineers who designed USAs space program.
Apart from the evil nature of USA, USA gave us a lot. And above all the realization that we have today about us, and our surroundings.
So Ahsan mano.

Pakistan needs to follow this Raspberry Pi model to make such SBCs available to general public. Same for the FPGA boards. A repair + damage insurance service can be created to make it financially feasible.

We need to create a local semiconductor technology node (for starter may be 90nm or 45 nm via an SMIC type setup) for strategic and sovereignty. We cannot rely on blue-eyed blonde-haired mofos for any thing.

But, the person in me already knows that it wont happen. The cancer runs too deep. Hopefully, one day we will become masters of our own destiny.

Raspbery Pi's are under $100. It has been like that for 7+ years. Pakistan has the human resources talent to make it work with respect to technical support. The real problem is what next ?

The price is only part of the problem. I remember clear as day that I could not afford a $100 device when I in undergraduate, let alone a teenager from a humble family (most of the Pakistan).

Next step is reconstruction of scientific thought in the society. In that, English language, lack of research funding for good enough salaries & equipment are some noticeable issues. Rest of the issues like degradation of social values and norms are next, but they are tied to political, religious, financial crisis of at least past 3 centuries.

In short term, I do not see any major revolution happening. But in the long term, once society is stabilized and people start asserting their claim of being free/independent, I see a new golden age.

In my uni a lot of kids are now working on adreno boards for small uni projects
It is starting to gain ground but not at the pace one expects