Karachi among cheapest cities in the world: Survey

bc040400065

Karachi among cheapest cities in the world: Survey
By AFP
Published: July 7, 2011

SYDNEY: Karachi has been ranked among the cheapest city in the world, landing up at the bottom of the index for the Economist Intelligence Unit’s biennial cost of living survey.
Most of 10 cheapest cities were in South Asia with Mumbai and New Delhi also in the bottom 10, while the Sri Lankan capital Colombo came in 114th, in the bottom 20, revealed the new global survey published on Thursday.

“Despite the rise of India as a growing emerging-market economy, the low cost of living in cities continues to reflect the fact that the subcontinent remains a comparatively cheap place to live and work,” the survey said.

Tokyo took the “dubious” honour of the world’s most expensive city, a title it has held for much of the past two decades, with Osaka ranking third.
:meeting:
Karachi among cheapest cities in the world: Survey – The Express Tribune

That is a major problem with the city. Life reportedly isn't any more expensive than living in a village, so more and more people flock to it. A major city needs to be 10-15% more expensive than smaller ones so migration demographics could be balanced and managed.

Karachi is 'bay zarar' city. Whoever comes here, it welcomes him. That is why you can find people of every country, religion, caste, race etc. living in their original lifestyles.

Cheapest city for human life.

But real talks that I wish Karachi was more expensive. It would stop the millions of migrants coming from the north which results in crime, gangs and poverty.

yup . my friend come here from Faislabad & he says the commodities prices are lower here than Faislabad . :undecided:

Cheapest city for human life.

But real talks that I wish Karachi was more expensive. It would stop the millions of migrants coming from the north which results in crime, gangs and poverty.

im really sorry but If rest of pakistan also decides not to welcome people from karachi in their cities and towns then what? please avoid such comments, why some in karachi are soo much worried about "migrants" from rest of the country. specially reading your signature and then you calling other pakistanis as "migrants" sorry but its double standards. you himself label yourself refugee with this kind of thinking towards other pakistanis.
Let the people come, poor pakistanis have the same rights, if they want to earn a better living in karachi they have all the rights just like your forefathers they can also come and settle in karachi.

That is a major problem with the city. Life reportedly isn't any more expensive than living in a village, so more and more people flock to it. A major city needs to be 10-15% more expensive than smaller ones so migration demographics could be balanced and managed.

100% Agreed the people who flock for good life style when they dont get it they indulge in crime to achive it

im really sorry but If rest of pakistan also decides not to welcome people from karachi in their cities and towns then what? please avoid such comments, why some in karachi are soo much worried about "migrants" from rest of the country. specially reading your signature and then you calling other pakistanis as "migrants" sorry but its double standards. you himself label yourself refugee with this kind of thinking towards other pakistanis.
Let the people come, poor pakistanis have the same rights, if they want to earn a better living in karachi they have all the rights just like your forefathers they can also come and settle in karachi.

Yeah its all fun and games for you right? Karachi CANNOT afford more people now. It already has a burden of holding 20 million plus people. Our transportation is the worst, traffic is the worst. And it will only get worse if more people start coming to it. More people equals more problem for Karachi. Its so easy for you to say let the poor people come lol. These poor people wont be put in mansions and given 1 crore rupees when they come here. These poor people will only make new slums, when they find no jobs they will start gangs and become involved in criminal activity. These new migrants are a burden for us tax paying citizens of Karachi. I don't pay taxes to get looted by a migrant that cannot even speak proper Urdu.
The situation around 1947 was a lot different then it is now. In 1947 Karachi was a city of only a few thousand people and a small port city. My forefathers and the forefathers of other Karachiites were invited to Karachi and they were educated and they built Karachi up from the scratch to an economic powerhouse. You cannot compare the two situations.

For you people its very easy because you don't have to handle the daily burden of these new migrants. You guys say Karachi is for every Pakistani. Your right Karachi is for every Pakistani to rob, murder, land grab and commit every type of violent act and chaos in. I would love to see your reaction if 5 million new illiterate and poor migrants came to Rawalpindi. Blocking the roads, committing all types of crime, telling women of your city to wear a burqa or they'd be lashed.

And you clearly don't understand my signature so don't talk about it lol.

No one stops you from coming to Karachi. Full trains, coaches and planes are coming from up country on daily basis. Since Karachi is the cheapest city as the thread suggests, therefore it is attraction for all the people living in other parts of the country. Even I have heard people saying that Karachi tau dubai hai bhai. It is becoming over crowded day by day and hence creating high crime level.

Guys the only reason to re open this thread is to show you even in this turnoil and recession Karachi is still the cheapest city in the world.

Even in the most expensive city in the world, petrol (37p a litre), cinema tickets (£7.99) and coffee (£2.48 a cup, including service) are cheaper than they are in London and much of the rest of the UK.

That's according to a new report that has ranked 214 of the world's biggest cities in order of how much it costs to live there.

But there is some good news for UK residents — if could be worse. Only one British city (London) made it into the top 100 most-expensive places to live and even then it fell from 17th last year to 18th this time around.

So where costs the most?

If you were going to up sticks and move abroad to save money, the worst place in the world you could pick is Luanda — Angola's capital city (pictured top left).

The African port has topped the list of the most expensive places for expats to live for the last two years, where you'd pay £12.64 for a fast food hamburger meal (£3.99 in the UK), £2.64 for a litre of semi-skimmed milk (76p in the UK) and £2.96 for a newspaper (£1.80 in the UK).

After Luanda, Tokyo — where a coffee costs £4.63 and a trip to the cinema sets you back £13.52 on average — N'Djamena in Chad, Moscow and Geneva are the most expensive places to live as an expat.

Global business consultant Mercer took a look at the cost of 200 items in each location across the world to come up with its ranking, including housing, transport, food, clothing, household goods and entertainment.

And the study revealed places as diverse as Sydney, Rio de Janeiro, Hong Kong and Oslo all cost more to live in than anywhere in the UK.

While people might be surprised to see two African cities in the top five, Mercer explained this was a problem of finding secure and high-quality places to live there.

"Accommodation prices are currently at record levels in cities like Luanda and this is generally the main reason why we find so many African cities high up in the ranking," said Nathalie Constantin-Métral, senior researcher at Mercer.

Where's cheapest?

If all you care about is saving money, Pakistan's largest city, Karachi, was found to be the cheapest place to live as an expat.

The seaport and financial centre cost just a third as much to live in than the most expensive cities.

After Karachi the cheapest cities were Managua in Nicaragua, Bolivia's capital La Paz, Ethiopia's capital Addis Ababa and Bishkek in Kyrgystan.
Not all good news

Sadly, with inflation running at 4.2% in the UK and prices for everything from food to domestic energy soaring, the UK is becoming more and more expensive to live in.

"Most UK cities have moved up the list," said Catherine Gervais, a global mobility expert at Mercer in London, pinpointing rental accommodation and increased prices on goods and services following the VAT increase as major culprits — as well as the fall in the value of the pound.

London's drop from 17th to 18th on the list was attributed to other cities seeing their cost of living rising faster, rather than London becoming less expensive.

The 10 most expensive and where UK cities ranked

Rankings (out of 214)
City Country
2011 2010
1 1 Luanda Angola
2 2 Tokyo Japan
3 3 N'Djamena Chad
4 4 Moscow Russia
5 5 Geneva Switzerland
6 6 Osaka Japan
7 8 Zurich Switzerland
8 11 Singapore Singapore
9 8 Hong Kong Hong Kong
10 21 São Paulo Brazil
18 17 London United Kingdom
144 149 Aberdeen United Kingdom
148 155 Glasgow United Kingdom
150 158 Birmingham United Kingdom
178 182 Belfast United Kingdom

i dont know why indian people put their nose in the websites of other countries.please indians limit yourselves only to indian websites.