What's new

Is IPL good for Indian Cricket ?

Is IPL good for Indian Cricket

• Total voters

Creder

Reaction score
Note: poll is only for Indian members, since pakistanis will vote probably against IPL.. So to keep things fair and to give IPL a fair shot let's see what the Indians got to say

India has been struggling since this franchise began. Keeping nationalistic views aside, how many of you think there is a connection between the two ? Is IPL responsible for India's current cricket ratings.

I'm not a cricket expert but Nemesis mentioned that India's one day's and Test ratings have been pretty good.. So is IPL (if it is) affecting only India's T20 form ?

Cant see your poll, bro.

@Topic - I dont think IPL has yet had an impact on our Test and ODI form. We have been consistently amongst the top 3 in those formats for the last 3-4 years. If we are evaluating purely on the basis of T20s performance and the T20 WC in particular, then I think the problem here is the scheduling. The fact that IPL doesn't have a dedicated window to it means that players are rushed from IPL to the T20 WC. The same thing repeated itself last year as well.

Generally IPL has largely been good for Indian cricket in the short term. Indian players are exposed to international players and opposition albeit on Indian conditions. It has brought on the emergence of young cricketers like Ojha, Vinay Kumar and others. Though the Modi fiasco has cast a shadow on Indian cricket, I guess its not the fault of the game or the format but the men running it.