India's 'discriminatory' change in visa penalty irks Bangladesh

Black_cats

FE ONLINE DESK | Published: December 10, 2019 12:53:07 | Updated: December 10, 2019 13:16:13

1575960787.jpg

A visa regulation introduced by India about a year ago has deeply irked Bangladesh, which the latter's foreign ministry officials see as a discrimination on religious lines.

Following the regulation, members of the majority community of Bangladesh, Muslims, are now paying a penalty which is at least 200 times higher compared to the minorities, mainly Hindus, if they overstay in India, The Hindu has reported.

Bangladesh foreign ministry officials described the penalty structure as “discrimination on religious lines”. The officials said that they will raise the issue in the upcoming bilateral talks.

The issue surfaced during prime minister Sheikh Hasina’s Kolkata visit about two weeks ago. Bangladeshi cricketer Saif Hasan had overstayed his visa. He informed the Deputy High Commission office in Kolkata, which in turn spoke to the FRRO.

FRRO rules

The FRRO rules, posted on its website, noted that the “penalty of overstay” for “minority communities from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan” is ₹500 for more than two years, ₹200 for 91 days to two years and ₹100 for up to 90 days.

On the other hand, if the person who overstayed does not belong to minority community, then the charges are in dollars — $500 (₹35,000), $400 (₹28,000) and $300 (₹21,000) — for the same duration of overstay.

“This means if Liton Das (a Bangladeshi cricketer, a Hindu) overstays for a day, then he will have to pay ₹100, whereas if the person’s name is Saif Hasan, he will have to pay over ₹21,000, which is what Mr. Hasan paid,” a senior Bangladeshi official told the Indian newspaper.

Recently, the Deputy High Commission office staff had to raise funds to send a “poor Bangladeshi woman” back to her country. “She overstayed for a day and was asked to pay ₹21,000. She did not have money and we [DHC staff] had to raise the sum. Why should there be discrimination on religious lines?” the diplomat asked. Bangladesh is even more “hurt” as India’s new rule is equally applicable to Bangladesh and Pakistan. “Can India historically and morally bracket Pakistan and Bangladesh together?”

https://thefinancialexpress.com.bd/national/indias-change-in-visa-penalty-irks-bangladesh-1575960851

It is an internal matter of India. They may charge ZERO from certain people while 100,000 dollars from others..

“Can India historically and morally bracket Pakistan and Bangladesh together?”

Yes they can mofos. In true Banana Republic fashion. :lol:

They are doing it. Who are you termites to say no??

The only way to deal with these idiots is to arm ourselves. Not pander to their kind consideration, as if they have any. Have been telling you guys since 2000 or so. We Bangladeshis are blind homeys....wake the f*ck up.....:crazy::coffee:

India bhi sochta hoga ke neighbor ki biwi ko ghalat bhaga ke rakhail banaya.. jab yeh aurat rakhail hokay itni chir chir karti hai tou apnay shohar ko 1971 se pehlay kitna tang karti hogi

It is an internal matter of India. They may charge ZERO from certain people while 100,000 dollars from others..

Exactly. And we should do the same. Starting with all the illegal white collar Indian visa overstayers in Bangladesh. Throw them in jail if they can't afford the fees.

Bhai, you need to change your attitude first and start looking at India as a hostile country rather than consider yourselves in a husband wife relationship.

And for that, a bloody revolution is required. Your current rulers have made the entire Bangladeshi nation a slave of Indians. This is lowest of the lows I am seeing in Bangladeshi history.

India bhi sochta hoga ke neighbor ki biwi ko ghalat bhaga ke rakhail banaya.. jab yeh aurat rakhail hokay itni chir chir karti hai tou apnay shohar ko 1971 se pehlay kitna tang karti hogi

Who has made you think tank analyst? Is t done by mistake? You don’t deserve to be one!

It looks like you don’t even know forum rules of not posting anything other than English!

Who has made you think tank analyst? Is t done by mistake? You don’t deserve to be one!

It looks like you don’t even know forum rules of not posting anything other than English!

Change your government which is giving stupid statements such as husband wife relationship and whatever whatnot..

FE ONLINE DESK | Published: December 10, 2019 12:53:07 | Updated: December 10, 2019 13:16:13

1575960787.jpg

A visa regulation introduced by India about a year ago has deeply irked Bangladesh, which the latter's foreign ministry officials see as a discrimination on religious lines.

Following the regulation, members of the majority community of Bangladesh, Muslims, are now paying a penalty which is at least 200 times higher compared to the minorities, mainly Hindus, if they overstay in India, The Hindu has reported.

Bangladesh foreign ministry officials described the penalty structure as “discrimination on religious lines”. The officials said that they will raise the issue in the upcoming bilateral talks.

The issue surfaced during prime minister Sheikh Hasina’s Kolkata visit about two weeks ago. Bangladeshi cricketer Saif Hasan had overstayed his visa. He informed the Deputy High Commission office in Kolkata, which in turn spoke to the FRRO.

FRRO rules

The FRRO rules, posted on its website, noted that the “penalty of overstay” for “minority communities from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan” is ₹500 for more than two years, ₹200 for 91 days to two years and ₹100 for up to 90 days.

On the other hand, if the person who overstayed does not belong to minority community, then the charges are in dollars — $500 (₹35,000), $400 (₹28,000) and $300 (₹21,000) — for the same duration of overstay.

“This means if Liton Das (a Bangladeshi cricketer, a Hindu) overstays for a day, then he will have to pay ₹100, whereas if the person’s name is Saif Hasan, he will have to pay over ₹21,000, which is what Mr. Hasan paid,” a senior Bangladeshi official told the Indian newspaper.

Recently, the Deputy High Commission office staff had to raise funds to send a “poor Bangladeshi woman” back to her country. “She overstayed for a day and was asked to pay ₹21,000. She did not have money and we [DHC staff] had to raise the sum. Why should there be discrimination on religious lines?” the diplomat asked. Bangladesh is even more “hurt” as India’s new rule is equally applicable to Bangladesh and Pakistan. “Can India historically and morally bracket Pakistan and Bangladesh together?”

https://thefinancialexpress.com.bd/national/indias-change-in-visa-penalty-irks-bangladesh-1575960851

dam.....

Bangladesh should have butt licked harder?

Why there is visa ? Its not bd a state of india

cock sucking has it limits..

BD needs to issue a equivalent penalty on the Indian Hindus that as other posters say are flooding BD and taking jobs, dominating certain industries.

And from reading the article BD ended up paying $42,000 to Indians in just the two cases we heard of.

Bhai, you need to change your attitude first and start looking at India as a hostile country rather than consider yourselves in a husband wife relationship.

And for that, a bloody revolution is required. Your current rulers have made the entire Bangladeshi nation a slave of Indians. This is lowest of the lows I am seeing in Bangladeshi history.

Time will change things, sooner than everyone thinks.

If Allah wills - things will happen. Except for a few people in the AL, no one in Bangladesh thinks Sanghis are friendly to Bangladesh or it's interests.

I figure this Indian visa tomfoolery will teach a lesson to Bangladeshi India-lovers who go on tourist and medical visits to India.

Sanghis are digging their own financial grave.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with going to Bangkok to shop for ladies items. Or to Bumrungrad Hospital in Bangkok for medical needs. Why give money to these ingrate a$$hole Sanghis??

Bangali bhaiyera - if you need ladies clothes or other household items, buy it from Pakistan, import it.

Why try so hard to please Sanghis? These idiots don't want our business.

Time to start boycotting Indian products and businesses in Bangladesh.