India to fund $450mil Isimba power project - Uganda

Maybe Sir, you would like to have a look at this:

landgrabtable.jpg

Our, PRIVATE AGRICULTURAL INVESTMENTS.

GOI gives these companies huge subsidies, all agricultural produce is exported to India at minimal Import Duty.

These companies are being encouraged as GOI knows India doesn't have enough land to feed Future 1.5 Billion People.

We can have a discussion about agricultural subsidies some other day, that is another interesting topic. It is very heartening to see Indian private sector investing in African economies.
As far as the not having enough land for feeding our people :

According to the latest FAO report, the average yield of rice in India is 2.3 tonne/ha as against the global average of 4.374 tonne/ha. China is the largest producer of rice with an output of 197 million tonne with a per-hectare yield of 6.5 tonne while countries like Australia (10.1 tonne), US (7.5 tonne), Russia (5.2 tonne) lead the tally.

The report says India has done better in wheat by achieving an yield closer to the global average. It has recorded an average yield of 2.9 tonne per hectare as against the global benchmark of 3.0 tonne/ha. However, it's still far from countries like France (7.0 tonne), US (3.11 tonne) and China (4.8 tonne)

So maybe increasing out yield might be the solution for the long run, that includes better irrigation infrastructure, which in turn mandates funding for such projects.

I am not against funding foreign projects, but it seems insensitive from the government when most of maharashtra and karnataka is facing droughts!

Wasn't India's own creaking power infrastructure destroyed or something last year?

do you know the meaning of destroyed? oh i forget, i got your intention here...
well India's installed capacity is 223GW as of march.... and what about pakistan?

Indian soft power at work ..feel proud about my country though a lot of walk is still left we get satisfaction if we can lift bend backs on our journey towards green pastures

^^^ Few people just keep thrashing Indian diplomacy. Believe it or, not we are not the worst in this field.

kootneeti toh koi hum se seekhay sir. :) goot jaab :tup: far sightedness is a good thing isnt it ?

so sad we are not spending this on our poor people.

there's nufing sad abt it. we arent giving them it fr free of course. n besides hw many times have u done ANYTHING for the poor around u ? its a big thing fr a small brain like urs.

don't you recognize the intention behind using Indian flag?

people dying of drought in maharashtra and you say it is good to give 450 million to some african country. this is wastage

@arp2041 a better investment than buying PMs abroad..acha kaam chal raha hai..specially in the agro sector.

We can have a discussion about agricultural subsidies some other day, that is another interesting topic. It is very heartening to see Indian private sector investing in African economies.
As far as the not having enough land for feeding our people :

According to the latest FAO report, the average yield of rice in India is 2.3 tonne/ha as against the global average of 4.374 tonne/ha. China is the largest producer of rice with an output of 197 million tonne with a per-hectare yield of 6.5 tonne while countries like Australia (10.1 tonne), US (7.5 tonne), Russia (5.2 tonne) lead the tally.

The report says India has done better in wheat by achieving an yield closer to the global average. It has recorded an average yield of 2.9 tonne per hectare as against the global benchmark of 3.0 tonne/ha. However, it's still far from countries like France (7.0 tonne), US (3.11 tonne) and China (4.8 tonne)

So maybe increasing out yield might be the solution for the long run, that includes better irrigation infrastructure, which in turn mandates funding for such projects.

I am not against funding foreign projects, but it seems insensitive from the government when most of maharashtra and karnataka is facing droughts!

Our agricultural yield is not matching Global standards because a large area has been left out in 1st Green Revolution. Thats why a new green revolution is must. And this time this must include cereals along with Rice and Wheat.

As much as funding outside projects is concerned, this is kind of compulsion these days. We need to invest there in order to keep us in their good books. After all they are really rich in mineral and arable land.

Domestic Drought/Flood must not stop us from committing us in outside projects because enough fund is available to tackle these problems. If I am not wrong, around 70,000 Crores have been invested in Mahrashtra alone for irrigation with almost Zero result. Few hundred million dollars wont even make a dent.

Unless people from the state start giving boot to these parties, they will have to suffer. Everyone in Maharashtra knows what kind of ghotalebaaz the Chacha-Bhatija jodi is. Still somehow NCP keeps getting their votes. They themselves are to blame for the messy situation.Ajit Pawar has suggested a remedy, will be interesting to see if this has any impact on the election result. If they still get the seats, you know who to blame.

well it is smart job... this kinda lil help's create positive opinion about India in africa... for the guy who feeling sad... don't worry buddy.. 450mil is using for good cause... so stop blabbering... we can't lift our poor with that money...