India-Pakistan dialogue: India for keeping momentum 'on'

thestringshredder

NEW DELHI: India will work with Pakistan on scheduling of dialogue on various bilateral issues since the new government is now in place in that country.

Noting that it was "inevitable" that when the elections are round the corner, some of the dialogue will take a little time, top government sources said since "the elections are over and there is a new government, they (dialogue) will be brought back on to same track."

The placement and scheduling of these talks will be discussed between foreign secretary Ranjan Mathai and his Pakistani counterpart, the sources said, adding the idea was to keep the momentum "on" in the Indo-Pak dialogue process.

They also stressed that there was no "complete pause" in Indo-Pak dialogue in the aftermath of the beheading of two Indian soldiers earlier this year.

The sources said India has conveyed through Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's special envoy Satinder Lambah that it stands "willing" to engage with Pakistan on broad framework of cooperation.

The idea was to open-up the first contact with Nawaz Sharif, even before his swearing-in, and convey India's recognition of what Pakistani leader had said in his announced programme that he wants to build India-Pak relationship, the sources said.

It was also to convey that "we stood willing to engage with Pakistan on broad framework of cooperation," they added.

Link - India-Pakistan dialogue: India for keeping momentum 'on' - The Times of India

NEW DELHI: India will work with Pakistan on scheduling of dialogue on various bilateral issues since the new government is now in place in that country.

Noting that it was "inevitable" that when the elections are round the corner, some of the dialogue will take a little time, top government sources said since "the elections are over and there is a new government, they (dialogue) will be brought back on to same track."

The placement and scheduling of these talks will be discussed between foreign secretary Ranjan Mathai and his Pakistani counterpart, the sources said, adding the idea was to keep the momentum "on" in the Indo-Pak dialogue process.

They also stressed that there was no "complete pause" in Indo-Pak dialogue in the aftermath of the beheading of two Indian soldiers earlier this year.

The sources said India has conveyed through Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's special envoy Satinder Lambah that it stands "willing" to engage with Pakistan on broad framework of cooperation.

The idea was to open-up the first contact with Nawaz Sharif, even before his swearing-in, and convey India's recognition of what Pakistani leader had said in his announced programme that he wants to build India-Pak relationship, the sources said.

It was also to convey that "we stood willing to engage with Pakistan on broad framework of cooperation," they added.

Link - India-Pakistan dialogue: India for keeping momentum 'on' - The Times of India

Screw the Broad Framework.

We are only interested in NARROW Framework of issues, according to our CORE ISSUES / PRIORITIES which are as Follows:

1. Stop stealing our WATER. Stop the Dam building.

2. Solve the Kashmir Issue.

3. Trade on equal footing basis. No Trade Deficit basis. If you buy 1 Billion USD from us then we will buy 1 Billion USD from you. Period.

This should be our AGENDA.

We are only interested in NARROW Framework of issues, according to our CORE ISSUES / PRIORITIES which are as Follows:

3. Trade on equal footing basis. No Trade Deficit basis. If you buy 1 Billion USD from us then we will buy 1 Billion USD from you. Period.

Weren't u some professor or something on economics...:what:

If thats true then God bless to ur students...:lol:

how are you dealing with trade deficit with China? difference of upwards of $5billion
Chinese exports to Pakistan stood at US$6.9 billion, showing an increase of 36 percent while its imports from Pakistan were recorded at US$1.78 billion, showing upward trend of 37 percent, Zhu Hong added.
Pak-China talks conclude; Focuss on reducing trade deficit

trade deficit are more controlled by the market than governments or deals. you make products that India needs and you can have a favorable trade balance.

how are you dealing with trade deficit with China? difference of upwards of $5billion
Chinese exports to Pakistan stood at US$6.9 billion, showing an increase of 36 percent while its imports from Pakistan were recorded at US$1.78 billion, showing upward trend of 37 percent, Zhu Hong added.

trade deficit are more controlled by the market than governments or deals. you make products that India needs and you can have a favorable trade balance.

That is our damn business , isn't it ?

China is our friend and you are our Enemy, Indian.

You must be brain dead to put India in the same category as China.

China is our FRIEND and India is our ENEMY.

We deal with our FRIENDS differently than our ENEMIES.

Capisch, Genius ?

your dumb opinion has been noted , used as a toilet paper and has been discarded.

Economic has no use for Pakistanis, its always frndz vs Enemy...:lol:

He won't understand that forces of demand n supply plays a major role in trade deficits n having an overall positive trade balance in more important rather than on one on one basis...:)

Capisch, Genius ?

AND that changes how economics works? Oh boy!

Enjoy watching the dams come up. And keep your trade..it isn't any loss to us. :lol:

Economic has no use for Pakistanis, its always frndz vs Enemy...:lol:

He won't understand that forces of demand n supply plays a major role in trade deficits n having an overall positive trade balance in more important rather than on one on one basis...:)

Logic and pragmatism are evil concepts. :astagh:

Lest the juices get him and his nation's economy. Trade on equal footing...he's implying some sort of parity between our two economies.:rofl: Considering that our economy is roughly 8 times larger than theirs..its not a very probable outcome. But then you're welcome to explain that to him.

^^^ @Dillinger don't u know we live in 19th Century n Barter is the way forward for growth n development....:lol:

Last I checked we left barter behind the day we conceived the idea of "money"...so we're talking more in terms of 2000BC here or even before.

But he's good friends with ZY and I wouldn't want to get too insulting.

Sir ji @Pakistanisage aap jo woh school/college bana rahe the us pe hi dhyan deejiye. Please economics ke subject ko baksh do. Humble request.

Capisch, Genius ?

Let me explain.

You have a trade deficit with a friendly country and an "enemy" country. Thats because you being friends or enemies with a country has no bearing on your trade deficit. It is wholly dependent on market demand. If you make stuff (production), export raw materials (mining), have natural resources (petroleum, coal etc), develop HR so you can provide services (call centers, IT etc) develop technologically advanced stuff that other countries want, then you can have a trade balance in your favor.

Again. The reason I brought china into the picture was not to compare your relations with china but to bring home the point that your trade deficit is not because of India's enmity towards Pakistan.

I have NOT put any country in any category. Just trying to show that what you are asking (have 0 balance of trade with a country) is not in any govt s hands.

@Hyperion What should we feed Nawaz sahib to make him more amenable? Any specific vices of his which we may exploit? Bataa de yaar..warna wahi purana haat garam karne waala formula use karna padega talks ke doran. :angel:

This framework should be used by India for China also..instead on solving kashmir issue ..it should be solve Aksi Chin and other border issues, stop building Dams, stop stealing our water and equal share of bilateral trade..period!

Ask your friend china..when they implement this policy with us then we will implement the same policy with you..period!

@Hyperion What should we feed Nawaz sahib to make him more amenable? Any specific vices of his which we may exploit? Bataa de yaar..warna wahi purana haat garam karne waala formula use karna padega talks ke doran. :angel:

Get him musharaaf for one night

Capisch, Genius ?

Take out lord Buddha's pic from your avataar first..he was an Indian before making Indians your enemy, you ignorant

Oh my dear dear dear dear, you know I respect you. Right? you know that.

On this one, you are clearly wrong.

Your "pre conditions" #1, and #2 are stupid nay mega$tupid.
Your "pre conditions" #3 shows you have no idea about international trade beyond buying a pirated CD from the local dukaan (seedy pirated shop)

#1-#3 also show you have no idea about strong position and weak position vs. blind @rse bluffing.

Have you my dear dear, ever involved in any kind of "negotiations" beyond the 5th grade school yard brawl?

have you?

I don't think so.

OK.

F the negotiations. Let's see if you have any other intellectual skills, say playing chess.

If so, then you know the difference if having most of your strong moves already taken away? And your king in checkmate from 4 next moves and the 5th move is really really shaky?

I don't think so.

so F the difficult chess, and let's see if you played any kind of card game? Do you know the difference between you having a strong hand vs. weak hand?

I don't think so.

Guess what? we have to F the card game too.

You know?

Because we are F'd, not because India did anything to us, or not that some one sitting on 2nd haven has conspired to send down bad stuff to us, or not that stars have already aligned against us.

We are F'd because many of us who are Isl@mists want to be F'd, and as a result F our beautiful country.

Yes, Isl@mists and Commies have f'd our country to a point that we are now very very very weak economically and our Pakistani nation cannot even walk straight because Isl@mists and commies have @rse fd our nation for 40 long long long years.

--- Indian polticians are as corrupt as ours.
--- Indian generals are as corrupt as ours

the only advantage India has is that they are very very good global citizens. Indians of Hindu variety are the most humble and hardworking group in the UK and US and EU. Their only focus is their adopted home or the mothers-home. That's it.

So during the same 40 years, India our arch nemesis has been a very effective global citizen, and as a result they have acquired a lot of funds aka cash aka $$$$ to fend off lowlife countries like ours.

As you know my avatar name is historian and that of fauj (army) kind, so I am always trying to figure out

----------- What happens if two countries want to use the ultimate card in "negotiations", aka small war

So let's see how odds are stacked against us and very very badly.

-- Given the technology level that has been kind of comparable, our tussle with India is based on numbers.

What kind of numbers.

--- Number of troops.
--- Defense budget to buy the latest to equip those troops.

Number of troops usually correlate to base population (few exceptions being Israel etc), so India has roughly 7 to 1 advantage on us. Barring a Chinese attack from the North, India can mass 7 divisions to 1 of our at every important point up and down our border. All our major cities and our infrastructure is at stones throw for Indians. So we are hosed. big time.

but we could compete during 60 with superior weaponry.

Since 1970, that edge is long gone.

Our defense budget is hovering around $5 billion (give and take a billion here a billion there like $6 or even $7)

Indians on the other hand are hovering around $80-90.

That's fing 16 times. And don't even think about bringing nukes in the discussion. Because that will make our position even weaker and not stronger (you will understand this if you have done a lot of military study which you may not have).

So in all practical terms we gotta realize who we are and not over estimate our strength in any kind of negotiations.

Thank you.

Oh and Indian posters.

Be honest.

Indian government doesn't want any negotiations withe Pakistani government. None at all.

Indians have figured out that Pakistan is weakling. And if they negotiate with Pakistan, it brings their stature down, brings more peace in the region, and thus Pakistan gets to buy weapons from the West to fend of danger from the West.

India has worked very hard to convince the West (and Pakistanis have fully helped with our bad behavior going all the way back to 65), that Pakistan is unpredictable, and untrustworthy. So do not sell them any weapons that have some defensive value.

This is so powerful of a situation stacked against Pakistan, that we cannot get out of, unless we prove to the world that we'll never ever use Western weapons against India.

For that we have to have long term peace with India.

And Indians will never ever give that to us.

Every 3 months, there will be some incident where an Indian solider will die, or beheaded, or a Mullah b@stard will jump the fence over to India, and India will send a plane to get FBI involved.

And Pakistan will go back to the doghouse for another 6 months.

This is the cycle which has been repeated for the last many decades.

so forget that Indian government wants to negotiate any kind of peace deal with us.

Not happening.