ILS for PAF major bases ?

Imran Khan

PDF VETERAN
did paf has installed any Instrument Landing System ILS yet ? idea came to my brain when i have read the news abut LAHORE air port will be first pakistani airport receive ILS-CATIII-B from tomorrow work began . other side india have delhi airport installed with ILS-CAT3B . did paf is prepared for foggy missions ? what if one of very foggy morning indian jets fly from any forward base do surgical strike and land back on delhi airport ? PAF is ready ? as i know only jacobabad airbase now have some ILS which was installed by USAF while they use the base . can someone explain us what kind of ILS PAF use ? i know cat-2 and cat-3 are not for fighter jets its need equipment and auto landing system on board but how they manage to CAP and other mission in very foggy weather when visibility become 0.00 % ? or we should ready to get excuse like OBL raid stealth ? sorry we can not use jets in fog ?

jf-17 landing in low visibility at mushaf air base
557412e8ce416.jpg

or we should ready to get excuse like OBL raid stealth ? sorry we can not use jets in fog ?
Well the priority should be reducing load shedding so that the radars are working all the time. I hope the PAF has installed generators as back-up power for the radars.

After the OBL raid, the PAF gave this lame excuse that radars were down due to load shedding.

Well the priority should be reducing load shedding so that the radars are working all the time. I hope the PAF has installed generators as back-up power for the radars.

After the OBL raid, the PAF gave this lame excuse that radars were down due to load shedding.
bhai it was plain lie they have AN-TPS 77 long range radars which need maximum 19KV power . even restaurants owners have 20kv backup generators but PAF don't have 7 pcs 20KV generators?

you can buy 20 millions $ per radar and pay 100mn$ but cant buy 5000$ generator?

bhai it was plain lie they have AN-TPS 77 long range radars which need maximum 19KV power . even restaurants owners have 20kv backup generators but PAF don't have 7 pcs 20KV generators?

you can buy 20 millions $ per radar and pay 100mn$ but cant buy 5000$ generator?
The PM Geelani and President Zardari refused to "ALLOW" the PAF to acquire those generators.;););)

Therefore, the PAF is not at fault. Civilians were responsible for the OBL raid. :D:D:D

The PM Geelani and President Zardari refused to "ALLOW" the PAF to acquire those generators.;););)

Therefore, the PAF is not at fault. Civilians were responsible for the OBL raid. :D:D:D
well i have fear of this at fog all of punjab airports shut down every year it will be first years when lahore will be operational even visibility will be zero. how is past PAF manage to landing its question .

Well fog can be blamed on Ganjas when the time comes, PAF would again come out clean as before. Many people would be abusing ganjas for the fog if that ever occurs.

PAF ki fikar na karein. Civilians will get the blame so don't worry.

@Imran Khan
ILS CAT II

ISB, UET, PEW are joint airports the had ILS for the last 20yrs or so. this is also installed at Khi, Mux, ,LYP, Sia.

The requirement for LHE during the months of Dec-Feb is of CAT III because it can make an aircraft land on autopilot with a decision hight of 0/0. IF it is a CATIII-B then A-320, A-330, B-777 can be certified along with the pilots. Still aircraft like A-310 and B737-300 to 500 would not be allowed till their avionics are upgraded. So these aircraft would require to operate in higher visibility.

@Imran Khan
ILS CAT II

ISB, UET, PEW are joint airports the had ILS for the last 20yrs or so. this is also installed at Khi, Mux, ,LYP, Sia.

The requirement for LHE during the months of Dec-Feb is of CAT III because it can make an aircraft land on autopilot with a decision hight of 0/0. IF it is a CATIII-B then A-320, A-330, B-777 can be certified along with the pilots. Still aircraft like A-310 and B737-300 to 500 would not be allowed till their avionics are upgraded. So these aircraft would require to operate in higher visibility.
no sir jee only lahore karachi have cat-2

islamabad
Airfield Data
Navigational Aids: VOR-DME, NDB
Runway 1: Heading 12/30, 3 287m (10 784ft), 077/F/C/X/T, Aircraft size max: B747, ILS

pew
Airfield Data
Navigational Aids: VOR-DME,NDB
Runway 1: Heading 17/35, 2 743m (8 999ft), 068/F/C/X/U, Aircraft size max: A-300/310, No ILS

UET
Airport Data: International, Heliport, Cargo Only, Quetta Airport 12km (7miles), Position 30°15´05"N, 066°56´16"E, Elevation 1 605m (5 265ft), Operating hours HI: Sunrise to half an hour before sunset, 1 Passenger Terminal, 4 Aircraft Stands

A-Z World Airports Online - Pakistan airports

new multan have cat-1

did paf has installed any Instrument Landing System ILS yet ? idea came to my brain when i have read the news abut LAHORE air port will be first pakistani airport receive ILS-CATIII-B from tomorrow work began . other side india have delhi airport installed with ILS-CAT3B . did paf is prepared for foggy missions ? what if one of very foggy morning indian jets fly from any forward base do surgical strike and land back on delhi airport ? PAF is ready ? as i know only jacobabad airbase now have some ILS which was installed by USAF while they use the base . can someone explain us what kind of ILS PAF use ? i know cat-2 and cat-3 are not for fighter jets its need equipment and auto landing system on board but how they manage to CAP and other mission in very foggy weather when visibility become 0.00 % ? or we should ready to get excuse like OBL raid stealth ? sorry we can not use jets in fog ?

Imran bhai ILS is very expensive to install and maintain...and it is usually used to help commercial airliners where Passengers lives are at risk. It needs to be used in regions where visibility gets poor.......since PAF has plenty of forward operational airbases and airfields, they don't have the problem of not being able to land at the airbase.

So for example, Multan doesn't have ILS......but the airport runways are shared by PAF and CAA.

So while installation of ILS would help, but you have to look at the fact that number of times a fighter aircraft operations are affected by poor weather is very less. Modern fighters have avionics which can guide it very well in dark/zero visibility.

Imran bhai ILS is very expensive to install and maintain...and it is usually used to help commercial airliners where Passengers lives are at risk. It needs to be used in regions where visibility gets poor.......since PAF has plenty of forward operational airbases and airfields, they don't have the problem of not being able to land at the airbase.

So for example, Multan doesn't have ILS......but the airport runways are shared by PAF and CAA.

So while installation of ILS would help, but you have to look at the fact that number of times a fighter aircraft operations are affected by poor weather is very less. Modern fighters have avionics which can guide it very well in dark/zero visibility.
20 millions $ ki hai cat-3b sir jee itna bhi mehnga nhi ab :(

no sir jee only lahore karachi have cat-2

islamabad
Airfield Data
Navigational Aids: VOR-DME, NDB
Runway 1: Heading 12/30, 3 287m (10 784ft), 077/F/C/X/T, Aircraft size max: B747, ILS

pew
Airfield Data
Navigational Aids: VOR-DME,NDB
Runway 1: Heading 17/35, 2 743m (8 999ft), 068/F/C/X/U, Aircraft size max: A-300/310, No ILS

UET
Airport Data: International, Heliport, Cargo Only, Quetta Airport 12km (7miles), Position 30°15´05"N, 066°56´16"E, Elevation 1 605m (5 265ft), Operating hours HI: Sunrise to half an hour before sunset, 1 Passenger Terminal, 4 Aircraft Stands

A-Z World Airports Online - Pakistan airports

new multan have cat-1
Sir, The information on the website you have quoted is not up dated.

Please visit the Civil Aviation Authority Pakistan link.
PCAA | Pakistan Civil Aviation Authority

PAF should be prepared for war in any condition if they are not already. Fog or no Fog PAF jets should be in Air with minimum time to take out any intruder