How Pmln govt fooled the nation on CPEC

Indians on PDF have been saying this since 2013 that CPEC will prove to be a white elephant. Pakistanis were confident that transit fees alone will be sufficient for interest and principal payment. And you would get to use the infrastructure for free. How wrong they were.
When u build a big infrastructure project by lending money,but u failed to attract FDI and manufacturing factories, then u will fall into debt trap like Sri Lanka who lost the port to CN.

Pak just put too much hope into their "iron brother" while they dont even know what their 'brother' think abt CPEC ....

@Norwegian

Norwegian bhai,

Is it possible for Pak to repay CPEC loans by:

1. Leasing large acres of strategically important but commercially useless land in Baluchistan.
2. Handing over mining rights over Reqo Diq to PRC

Regards

My major concern is that why targeted only pmln & ignoreing ppp whole Pakistan knows both parties are equaly corrupted & crimenal parties...

The projects setup under PMLN government are producing cheaper electricity than the power plants setup under PPP (1994 policy)or Musharraf government (2002 policy).

PMLN changed the energy mix from Hydro/FO/diesel to Hydro/LNG/coal/nuclear/wind/solar, according to 2015 policy FO/diesel would be last option.
Bahi problem is not with producing electricity and if if is cheaper than before (which it will be due to technological advances)

What did PMLN do regarding IPPs and paying em for production instead of capacity ? 🤔

What did they regarding innovation, integration of advanced tech and integration of disruptive tech ? 🤔

What did they do regarding transmission system which is like decades old and wastes a lot of energy ? 🤔

Nawaz was more concerned about "Plants" so that he can show them as a gimick.. he was told in a meeting that plants will make expansive electricity he said "muje uska nai pta plants election se pehle tyaar karo or agar agli baar hum aye to dekha jaye ga"

Bahi problem is not with producing electricity and if if is cheaper than before (which it will be due to technological advances)

What did PMLN do regarding IPPs and paying em for production instead of capacity ? 🤔

What did they regarding innovation, integration of advanced tech and integration of disruptive tech ? 🤔

What did they do regarding transmission system which is like decades old and wastes a lot of energy ? 🤔

Nawaz was more concerned about "Plants" so that he can show them as a gimick.. he was told in a meeting that plants will make expansive electricity he said "muje uska nai pta plants election se pehle tyaar karo or agar agli baar hum aye to dekha jaye ga"

PMLN laid 40% of capacity wise transmission lines in last 5 years.

1617965053704.png

1617965084834.png

lastly, want to control expenses? sell controlling shares of all discos, pia, railways, postal services. improve the transmission and distribution pipeline. apply strict regulations on existing industries. rent out huge bungalows being awarded to civil servants to private citizens at market prices. rent out bungalows awarded to generals and judges to citizens. end all unnecessary perks being awarded to past PMs, presidents, judges and generals after retirement. And for God's sake, revisit PPRA, the entire process of govt procurement

These suggestions are no brainers. You have put these very well, but you are not the first I am sure. Now the question is why isn't anyone serious about implementing these? Simple answer, IMHO is, everyone apart from IK and maybe one or two ministers, is in this game for their personal benefit alone. No one has enough honor and imaan to rise above petty personal gains and work for the country. That is the sad state of affairs. Vast vast majority of politicians, generals, sarkari babus are serving their personal interests only and the result is evident. Just the fact that circular debt alone eats up double digit % of our total Gov revenue should be enough to jolt everyone up from this slumber.

All cpec contracts are binding for decades to come

Dont worry, it is not there only; we are seeing it across this entire continent.

I will give you a casing point of Zambia - it is a joke. No transparency what so ever.

The situation in Zambia is that they are now controlling the political system as well. Heaven forbid, i hate to see the day when a like of Idi Amin comes to power and the unthinkable happens. When I visited Lusaka a few years back - it was really bad; you can see chinese language only in many parts of the city. The chinese act above the law; my friend who is head of Zambian army said it openly - politicians have been bought off. One case - single work permit was copied and used by over 60+ chinese; they forged the rest. When they got arrested. The High Commissioner came with a big packet donation to the local politician group and it was past.

There is no system of checks and balances.

It is not to say the prior Lonrho and others were saints but now it is mass colonisation in play. When i spoke with one fellow i got to know in Luansha - he told me - he was unemployed after graduating for 3 years; there is a govt department - "do you want to go overseas" - he agreed; they gave him funds and had him setup in Zambia. The issue he said is they are pushing unemployed youth overseas and establish entire supply chain system for them.

There needs to be transparency for any engagement with any external parties. We have been burned by Indian Guptaz/Zuma + Chinese in many state projects in my country. If we are to blame, we start by taking our own politicians thru the public roads and throwing eggs at them.

Just an example of the devastation of level of Fraud by CZupta conglomerate.

Quality of work done was seen recently when whole country faced a blackout.. and 40% of transmissions ? Bahi we need 100% new transmission lines before the plants and all that.. the one we have even if 20% can f*ck up everything..

ps: I wasn't referring to lines only I was referring to transmission system which includes lines transformers and other stuff..

PMLN upgraded existing grid station, PMLN added 40% transmission capacity in those 5 years.

We saw the result of grid upgradation and so called addition if 40% new grid capacity recently not just in Rawalpindis Bazar but also all along Pakistan...

Bahi we have transmission of British era with british era transformers and you say they upgraded those ? They need complete replacement not "Upgradation"

Dont worry, it is not there only; we are seeing it across this entire continent.

I will give you a casing point of Zambia - it is a joke. No transparency what so ever.

The situation in Zambia is that they are now controlling the political system as well. Heaven forbid, i hate to see the day when a like of Idi Amin comes to power and the unthinkable happens. When I visited Lusaka a few years back - it was really bad; you can see chinese language only in many parts of the city. The chinese act above the law; my friend who is head of Zambian army said it openly - politicians have been bought off. One case - single work permit was copied and used by over 60+ chinese; they forged the rest. When they got arrested. The High Commissioner came with a big packet donation to the local politician group and it was past.

There is no system of checks and balances.

It is not to say the prior Lonrho and others were saints but now it is mass colonisation in play. When i spoke with one fellow i got to know in Luansha - he told me - he was unemployed after graduating for 3 years; there is a govt department - "do you want to go overseas" - he agreed; they gave him funds and had him setup in Zambia. The issue he said is they are pushing unemployed youth overseas and establish entire supply chain system for them.

There needs to be transparency for any engagement with any external parties. We have been burned by Indian Guptaz/Zuma + Chinese in many state projects in my country. If we are to blame, we start by taking our own politicians thru the public roads and throwing eggs at them.

Just an example of the devastation of level of Fraud by CZupta conglomerate.

same thing happens here. most of the chinese employees sent here are the worst that they could find. they sit in islamabad, the most secure place in paksitan and then they are paid war/risk allowances.

most of them act like they own the place, not listening to the police and breaking laws. they are then defended by our very own politicians and military and fanboys.

other issue is extensive hiring of Chinese in upper management roles (more than what is necessary). then some people here, who like to praise any outsider (whether white or chinese), claim that we need chinese employees and managers because local people are not skilled enough, which is a bold faced lie, i personally know of people handling equipment of nokia, ericsson, r&s etc for years, and personally know people who trained chinese employees of these companies when they were transferred to Pakistan. but somehow, those people are not good enough when it comes to huawei or china power, upper management must always be chinese.
Come on. That's a cop out and you know it.

Was it jinnah job to set us free from the British.
Was it Iqbal's job to dream for our freedom.
Was it AQ Khan's job to work for us to become nuclear.
Was it your job to point out flaws and winge? Yet they did a job for us and you can too. If you don't have the will to fight for what's right maybe its best to just die quietly. Just saying as I see you are a smart guy
actually, yes. and when i did just that, i was told to do what i have been asked to do and nothing more.

no one cares, least of all our ministers and "elected representatives". all of them want power or to remain in the news. if their demands are not catered they will leave PTI, simple as that. there is jack sh*T that we can do. the secretaries, even in PTI era, are being appointed on the basis of who is able to lick balls in the best possible manner, merit has been thrown in the gutter. PTI has failed to control its own people, and it has failed to listen to people who were better informed, just because they do not lick the aforementioned balls.

Going through an article from 2017 on Reuters, I was stunned to find chief economist of the planning ministry in Pmln govt was projecting 6-8 billion dollar revenues from Cpec by 2020 :rofl:

Moreover, same chief economist calculated that Pakistan won't be facing a balance of payment crisis, because revenues from Cpec would be sufficient enough to balance out the debt and deficits caused by Cpec :omghaha:

So there you have it. The most experienced govt in history of Pakistan gave us the worst balance of payment crisis only a year later due to their gross miscalculation. What kind of idiots had we working in the planning ministry who made such off the mark predictions? And what kind of bestest govt believed and sold these lies to gullible masses that Cpec is their savior?
View attachment 731229View attachment 731230
View attachment 731232View attachment 731231
@beijingwalker @Viet @Joe Shearer @Dual Wielder @Patriot forever @ziaulislam @Indus Pakistan @Muhammad Omar @maverick1977 @FOOLS_NIGHTMARE @koolio @Verve @ghazi52 @Path-Finder
I think these dumb uncles were taken for a ride by the Chinese with their kind outward demeanor.

Others probably paid off.
That's how these big powerful countries play in weaker third world countries. Instead of true leaders and experts of their fields and experts of business negotiating these deals we have these stupid uncles.

We saw the result of grid upgradation and so called addition if 40% new grid capacity recently not just in Rawalpindis Bazar but also all along Pakistan...

Bahi we have transmission of British era with british era transformers and you say they upgraded those ? They need complete replacement not "Upgradation"

Bro don't be fooled by these stats, most of what he mentioned is connecting power plants ( in case of Plmn, IPP's to national grid ). The transmission capability was 22000 MW by end of 2018 in main lines (which was again very very low as compared to installed capacity and on demand side there was a deficit of around 3000MW ) Factor in the transmission capacity at local power distribution companies there was negligible improvement and they were in severe losses.

Anyone who thinks there was no load shedding after Plmn and work was done on transmission needs to just take a look at load shedding in summers of 2018. Anyone who talks of transmission without considering DISCO's is a fool.

Screenshot_20210315-185332.png

I for one have seen massive improvement in KSE distribution network over the last couple of years, I will comment on LESCO when I get a chance to visit my extended family.

------

Coming to the thread, anyone who gets confused about the real problem needs to understand this simple example.

'IMC (Indus motor corporation) installed 4.5MW solar setup as they can not afford the electricity, will expand it further by 1.8MW'.

Opening a Lamborghini showroom is useless if the people can not afford it. That showroom will only make losses. A message to the Plmn supporters who were cheering IPP's when they can not afford it. It's like a guy on motorcycle jumping up and down infront of a Lamborghini showroom. It's embarrassing.

same thing happens here. most of the chinese employees sent here are the worst that they could find. they sit in islamabad, the most secure place in paksitan and then they are paid war/risk allowances.

most of them act like they own the place, not listening to the police and breaking laws. they are then defended by our very own politicians and military and fanboys.

other issue is extensive hiring of Chinese in upper management roles (more than what is necessary). then some people here, who like to praise any outsider (whether white or chinese), claim that we need chinese employees and managers because local people are not skilled enough, which is a bold faced lie, i personally know of people handling equipment of nokia, ericsson, r&s etc for years, and personally know people who trained chinese employees of these companies when they were transferred to Pakistan. but somehow, those people are not good enough when it comes to huawei or china power, upper management must always be chinese.

actually, yes. and when i did just that, i was told to do what i have been asked to do and nothing more.

no one cares, least of all our ministers and "elected representatives". all of them want power or to remain in the news. if their demands are not catered they will leave PTI, simple as that. there is jack sh*T that we can do. the secretaries, even in PTI era, are being appointed on the basis of who is able to lick balls in the best possible manner, merit has been thrown in the gutter. PTI has failed to control its own people, and it has failed to listen to people who were better informed, just because they do not lick the aforementioned balls.

In Botswana, they are kept in their place. The govt told the Chinese govt - flat - we pay you for your service not via any debt. There was a nasty spate by previous Prez and Chinese govt on Dalai Lama's visit to Botswana. He told them to shove it. Dont tell us what our policies need to be.

Zambia - that is total nuts; they are a law on themselves. I fear if there is a toppling of govt, they will be asked to leave enmass.

Going through an article from 2017 on Reuters, I was stunned to find chief economist of the planning ministry in Pmln govt was projecting 6-8 billion dollar revenues from Cpec by 2020 :rofl:

Moreover, same chief economist calculated that Pakistan won't be facing a balance of payment crisis, because revenues from Cpec would be sufficient enough to balance out the debt and deficits caused by Cpec :omghaha:

So there you have it. The most experienced govt in history of Pakistan gave us the worst balance of payment crisis only a year later due to their gross miscalculation. What kind of idiots had we working in the planning ministry who made such off the mark predictions? And what kind of bestest govt believed and sold these lies to gullible masses that Cpec is their savior?
View attachment 731229View attachment 731230
View attachment 731232View attachment 731231
@beijingwalker @Viet @Joe Shearer @Dual Wielder @Patriot forever @ziaulislam @Indus Pakistan @Muhammad Omar @maverick1977 @FOOLS_NIGHTMARE @koolio @Verve @ghazi52 @Path-Finder

PML-N is a party of traitors, liars, murderers and thugs (just like PPP/JUI), those who believed PML-N's claim, are a bunch of mindless buffoons.