Govt servers used for cyber attacks on China, other countries' networks

matrix_neo

NEW DELHI: Investigators have unearthed a new and deadly pattern of cyber attacks in which Indian government servers have been used by foreign entities to target the computer networks of third countries.

The finding comes at a time when a dispute rages within the government over who should be responsible for protecting India's critical IT infrastructure. According to sources, foreign entities have penetrated the servers of the National Informatics Centre in recent months and used them to launch attacks on countries, including China. Among other things, the NIC hosts the official websites and emails of the Indian government.

"These attacks are mostly targeted against government networks of various countries," a source said, adding that the attacks were planned in such a way that investigators from the victim countries would believe that they were launched from Indian government servers. Investigators suspect foreign government entities, including intelligence agencies, have a hand in exploiting NIC servers. They say since the attacks were targeted against Chinese government servers too, there is no scope to blame China.

China had in August said that it had suffered about 250,000 cyber attacks from foreign entities, 8% of which had come from India. Sources now believe these attacks could be the result of the NIC servers being exploited by foreign entities.

Even as this new angle to India's IT infrastructure security emerges, a turf battle is raging within the government about who should be protecting it. Sources said both the department of IT and the National Technical Research Organisation-the technical intelligence agency created after the Kargil conflict-had laid claims to being responsible for safeguarding India's IT infrastructure.

The department of IT believes the job should vest with the Computer Emergency Response Team while the NTRO says it must have the responsibility for both defensive as well as offensive cyber security.

Meanwhile, conventional cyber attacks from foreign entities to extract confidential data from Indian government systems are on. Recently, the computer systems of the ITBP came under attack. There have also been attacks on the systems of the MEA, National Security Council secretariat and other departments.

Govt servers used for cyber attacks on China, other countries' networks - The Times of India

---------- Post added at 12:41 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:38 AM ----------

This is a real shame on us... We are not even carrying out cyber attacks against China??? someone else is doing it, using OUR NATIONAL SERVER!!!!

I suggest that we immediately make a Minsitry of ETHICAL hacking with Ankit Fadia as the Minister of EH !!:azn:

NEW DELHI: Investigators have unearthed a new and deadly pattern of cyber attacks in which Indian government servers have been used by foreign entities to target the computer networks of third countries.

The finding comes at a time when a dispute rages within the government over who should be responsible for protecting India's critical IT infrastructure. According to sources, foreign entities have penetrated the servers of the National Informatics Centre in recent months and used them to launch attacks on countries, including China. Among other things, the NIC hosts the official websites and emails of the Indian government.

"These attacks are mostly targeted against government networks of various countries," a source said, adding that the attacks were planned in such a way that investigators from the victim countries would believe that they were launched from Indian government servers. Investigators suspect foreign government entities, including intelligence agencies, have a hand in exploiting NIC servers. They say since the attacks were targeted against Chinese government servers too, there is no scope to blame China.

China had in August said that it had suffered about 250,000 cyber attacks from foreign entities, 8% of which had come from India. Sources now believe these attacks could be the result of the NIC servers being exploited by foreign entities.

Even as this new angle to India's IT infrastructure security emerges, a turf battle is raging within the government about who should be protecting it. Sources said both the department of IT and the National Technical Research Organisation-the technical intelligence agency created after the Kargil conflict-had laid claims to being responsible for safeguarding India's IT infrastructure.

The department of IT believes the job should vest with the Computer Emergency Response Team while the NTRO says it must have the responsibility for both defensive as well as offensive cyber security.

Meanwhile, conventional cyber attacks from foreign entities to extract confidential data from Indian government systems are on. Recently, the computer systems of the ITBP came under attack. There have also been attacks on the systems of the MEA, National Security Council secretariat and other departments.

Govt servers used for cyber attacks on China, other countries' networks - The Times of India

---------- Post added at 12:41 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:38 AM ----------

This is a real shame on us... We are not even carrying out cyber attacks against China??? someone else is doing it, using OUR NATIONAL SERVER!!!!

I suggest that we immediately make a Minsitry of ETHICAL hacking with Ankit Fadia as the Minister of EH !!:azn:

whatever... FYI, that fellow Ankit Fadia is an alumnus from DPS R K Puram... During his school days, he was not even a part of the Computer/Coding group of the school coz he was not found worthy in the inductions... LOL !! he publishes some generic books and claims to have unearthed some jihadi IRC servers discussing attacks on INDIA and that makes him a genius.... This idolizing attitude is what is holding us back... !!

ps. sorry for offtopic rants of late but it was necessary...

Nice, providing China another excuse to teach you guys a lesson in the near future.

whatever... FYI, that fellow Ankit Fadia is an alumnus from DPS R K Puram... During his school days, he was not even a part of the Computer/Coding group of the school coz he was not found worthy in the inductions... LOL !! he publishes some generic books and claims to have unearthed some jihadi IRC servers discussing attacks on INDIA and that makes him a genius.... This idolizing attitude is what is holding us back... !!

ps. sorry for offtopic rants of late but it was necessary...

no no, u might even be right actually!!! i am not into any tech field, and I know about ankit fadia only from what I have seen on media... so may be not ankit fadia, but some one really knowledgeable! what i intended to mean was, plz don't make Sharad Pawar or laloo Yadav the Minister of EH.:P

---------- Post added at 01:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:28 AM ----------

Nice, providing China another excuse to teach you guys a lesson in the near future.

and here u come with your fake and funny posts!!!! i seriously don't know why God made such guys, just to grow up (or may be not), and troll on PDF!!!!

dude, read the full post, its in english! if required, use google translate to convert it into Chinese so that u can understand what it is about. and then come back and post by next week. Bye.

and here u come with your fake and funny posts!!!! i seriously don't know why God made such guys, just to grow up (or may be not), and troll on PDF!!!!

dude, read the full post, its in english! if required, use google translate to convert it into Chinese so that u can understand what it is about. and then come back and post by next week. Bye.

I strongly disagree with you Matrix, given his IQ he will take more than a week to comprehend the article and come back with a saner post ;).

lets have a bet! I say one week is enough for him! after all, he has learned to write in english. he can't be that dumb!!!:devil:

no no, u might even be right actually!!! i am not into any tech field, and I know about ankit fadia only from what I have seen on media... so may be not ankit fadia, but some one really knowledgeable! what i intended to mean was, plz don't make Sharad Pawar or laloo Yadav the Minister of EH.:P

---------- Post added at 01:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:28 AM ----------

The title itself is just a troll attempt, so don't expect me to give a sane reply to it.

NEW DELHI:
"These attacks are mostly targeted against government networks of various countries," a source said, adding that the attacks were planned in such a way that investigators from the victim countries would believe that they were launched from Indian government servers.

LOL nice try india. we all know it was you.

The good thing for a country to do in such cases is to keep mum until you have the evidence that shows the real culprit is to the world, when we come up with theory like this sure the Chinese will say that we did it and we are playing the victim game.
We need people who take actions for normalizing the relations not fools who blaber and say its not us.

Better accept the guilt of some one rather than being impotent.

if it was indeed done by Indian authorities, why have they brought it out in public??? the security agencies can't be this dumb. what say???

---------- Post added at 02:01 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:58 AM ----------

oh I am sorry. ChinaVietnam already knew it was done by India!!!! since u know all the secrets , plz also do tell me who killed Michael jackson in reality!!!!

Bang! and that is how we return the favour.

We need to push more manpower into cyberespionage against China.

Basanti !! In kutton ke saamne mat nachna ... :rofl:

tumne sochaa ye ke ham to gaaon ke rahanewaale hai is liye ham ko akal to hai nahi. aur tum hame bana loge ulloo. Tum bahot hoshiyaar samajhte ho apane aap ko magar basanti tum jaison ke haat me bech kar nahi aayegi.. haa. ab tum yahaa baith kar ramaao dhuni , basanti chali apane ghar. :bunny::taz: