Govt establishes writ in Tirah Valley, finally

Edevelop

TIRAH: For the first time in the history of Pakistan, the government has established its writ in the remote Tirah Valley in Khyber Agency.

The scenic valley has long been plagued by a turf war between extremist groups. However, the situation deteriorated on March 16 this year, when the outlawed Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan’s (TTP) militants from Swat district, and Mohmand, Bajaur, Khyber, Orakzai and South Waziristan agencies infiltrated the strategic valley and drove away the local population.

After days of bloody clashes, the valley fell to the Taliban on March 21. Thousands of local tribesmen had fled fighting in the valley – especially in the Bagh area of Maidan – to seek shelter elsewhere in the agency and in neighbouring agencies and Peshawar.

The military claimed on Wednesday that they have wrested back control of the valley. “The area has been cleared of militants,” Major General Hamayun Saeed, General Officer Commanding (GOC), told a media briefing at a former TTP compound in Maidan.

Giving details of the operation, he said that the security forces, backed by helicopter gunships, launched an operation on May 28. The local tribesman, who had been fighting the TTP at some places in the valley, assisted the security forces, he added.

On the first day, the security forces attacked Maidan from three sides, Haider Kandao, Dre Stanai and Mamozai area of Orakzai, and after fierce fighting, took control of the area, forcing militants to flee towards the mountains.

“Unlike other operations, we changed our tactics in Tirah and attacked the militants from where they expected the least,” he said, adding that by June 20, the security forces had flushed out militants from around 90% of the area.

Maj Gen Saeed said that since the security forces had pinpointed important strategic locations, the operation became much more easier to conduct. “In 22-day-long operation, eight security officials, including a colonel, lost their lives while 104 TTP terrorists, including some foreign fighters, were killed and 64 injured,” he added.

“The fleeing militants had rigged the houses of local tribesmen with hundreds of booby traps,” he said, adding that around 60% of houses in the valley were burnt down by the militants.

While briefing the media, Brigadier Amir said that 90 villages were cleared of militants during the operation, and the rehabilitation of the displaced tribesmen has started. “Most of those who have returned to the area are men, as they have to rebuild their houses before shifting their families,” he said. “The full support of the nation made this operation a success.”

Brig Amir said that the government would establish schools which never existed in the area and would give Rs25,000 to every displaced family. He added that the World Health Organisation (WHO) would provide ration for six months to the displaced families. Around 40,000 people had been displaced during the operation.

Ahmad Shah, who lives near the security forces camp in the Bagh area, told The Express Tribune that he had returned to rebuild his house, while his family members are still Orakzai Agency.

“We never came out from their area, but when we did, we realised the importance of education and infrastructure,” he said demanding the government build schools, hospitals and roads in the area. “We appeal to the government to assist us in rebuilding our houses,” said Shah, who is happy that peace has been restored to the area.

Govt establishes writ in Tirah Valley, finally – The Express Tribune

Tirah Valley cleared of terrorists: army

PESHAWAR: The security forces have cleared Tirah Valley in Khyber Agency of the Taliban militants and restored the government’s writ after a successful operation that killed 104 militants and injured 64 others.

At least eight soldiers, including an officer, were lost during the operation. Operational Commander Major General Humayun Aziz said this while briefing a team of visiting journalists in Tirah Valley on Wednesday. The journalists visited the headquarters of Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) in Bagh and the room of the group’s chief, Hakimullah Mehsud.

The militants have fled to Afghanistan to avoid arrest or being killed by the forces, General Aziz said. Foreign militants of Uzbek origin have also been killed in the operation that continued for 22 days, starting on May 28 and culminating on June 20, he added.

The operation was conducted in 99 villages of Maidan and Bagh. The militants have burnt 90 percent of houses in both the areas, he said, adding that initially army had reports of the presence of 1,000 to 1,500 militants in these areas but during the course of fighting they were found to be no more than 500.

To a query, the operational commander said that Taliban militants associated with different outfits from Bajaur, Swat, Mohmand and Aurakzai agencies had taken shelter in these areas.

The militants had occupied hilltops in the area and continued to fire at the forces from their positions which have now been captured. General Aziz said that 40,000 persons were dislocated due to operation in Tirah valley. app

Daily Times - Leading News Resource of Pakistan

Credit goes to all the martyr's of PA, FC, Ansar al-Islam and local tribes for giving their precious lives for protecting the citizens of the nation from TTP, LeI and TNSM thugs.. RIP to all of them .. :pakistan: :pakistan:

You establish governament writ in khyber agency when you abolish FCR, enforce tax on tribals and de-weaponize them...
Pak army taking help from extremist militant organizations like ansar ul islam and lashkar e taiba indicates their double standards and insincerity.

So the army claims they have eradicated militants from Tirah valley and have established their writ there. My question is then how come Mangal Bagh, Mullah Tufan and Mullah Gul Zaman have not been slain or eliminated. The government constantly claims it has eradicated terrorism. Yet why are there small pockets left behind. For example they say 90% of Tirah has been cleared of militants. My question is what about the rest of the 10%.

The biggest question however is why we have not managed to eliminate a single top Taliban or Lashkar E Islam commander. The government and army have become good at praising themselves, rather is there any performance other than arresting innocent civilians and bullying them.

We need to eliminate the Taliban commanders if we are to suceed in this war. Instead each and every commander of the Taliban seems to survive. This is such a hopeless situation.

Wrong wording, it gives the impression as if writ of the government has been established. its actually writ of the State through military. govt remains as dysfunctional as it ever was.

That is an important point to be noted.

The military operation has cleared the area of insurgents - for now. Real gains in securing the area can happen only with a functioning government apparatus there, which, like you say, is nowhere to be found. It would be a pity to see all these sacrifices and hard work go to waste in a few short months down the line.

So the army claims they have eradicated militants from Tirah valley and have established their writ there. My question is then how come Mangal Bagh, Mullah Tufan and Mullah Gul Zaman have not been slain or eliminated. The government constantly claims it has eradicated terrorism. Yet why are there small pockets left behind. For example they say 90% of Tirah has been cleared of militants. My question is what about the rest of the 10%.

The biggest question however is why we have not managed to eliminate a single top Taliban or Lashkar E Islam commander. The government and army have become good at praising themselves, rather is there any performance other than arresting innocent civilians and bullying them.

We need to eliminate the Taliban commanders if we are to suceed in this war. Instead each and every commander of the Taliban seems to survive. This is such a hopeless situation.
are you ready to be voluntering yourself or its just, another of khayali paluo produced by a overeducated hand , which can never stand with a gun to say no to terrorism?
guss what, you cant stop the running rats in another hole, you hve to clean hole by hole?
thts what is happening, getting back tirah valley is stratigicly a big succsess!
you will never understand, cause you never been a fighter or a soilder?
you are not just qualified for that, my dear think tanker draw someother painting friend!

Mangal Bagh still moves freely in Tirah... have they struck a deal or is the army lying again? Or is Mangal Bagh one of their allies?

Pak army taking help from extremist militant organizations like ansar ul islam and lashkar e taiba indicates their double standards and insincerity

It is an excellent approach if they are using one militant agency against another,not double standard.
Since these militant agencies cannot be destroyed at once therefore best pattern of their reduction methodology is to use one against another.

Congratulations to Pakistan army for success in Operation Tirah valley

Gud job finally iranian nd indian agents northern alliance drug lords rented UZBEK ND TAJIK TERRORISTS ND FASSADIES r massacred nd wiped out from KHYBER AGENCY THANKS 2 r BELOVED PAKISTAN ARMY ND PAKISTAN ARMED FORCES. LONG LIVE PAKISTAN PAKISTAN PAINDABAD PAKISTAN ARMY ZINDABAD. Thanks

You establish governament writ in khyber agency when you abolish FCR, enforce tax on tribals and de-weaponize them...
Pak army taking help from extremist militant organizations like ansar ul islam and lashkar e taiba indicates their double standards and insincerity.

Rora, the Tribals would tie the FBR guy who goes there to collect taxes from them & make him a side-show attraction at their local amusement park ! :fie:

Baaaat kartaaa haiii Taxes kiii ! :disagree:

Waisee bhi its not as if you fought the Militants....other Marwats did - the real men ! :whistle:

But you stayed behind with the women & children ! :P

Bhai sunaaa thaaa ke aaap neiii aurtooon aur bachooon kii hifazaaat karniii thiii....pataaa yeh chalaaa haiii ke unhooon nei aaap kiii hifazaaaat kiiii ! :lol: