Gilani in Tehran: Iran to give $100 million for flood affected in Sindh

Dance

TEHRAN: Interior Minister of Iran Mostafa Mohammad Najar on Sunday said Iran will donate $ 100 million for the rehabilitation of the rain affected people of Sindh, while receiving Pakistan’s Prime Minister, Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani in Tehran.
The Interior Minister told the Prime Minister that he would go to Pakistan within a week along with a planeload of relief goods for the rain affected people of Pakistan.
He said Iran will donate $100 million which he will announce during his visit to Pakistan for the rehabilitation of the rain victims in brotherly country of Pakistan.
The Prime Minister thanked the government and people of Iran for their generous assistance and for feeling suffering of the people of Pakistan.
He said the prompt and generous assistance for the people of Pakistan is manifestation of sentiments of the government and people of Iran.
The Prime Minister said during the visit of the Interior Minister of Iran he would ask Pakistan’s Ministers of Foreign Affairs, Interior and Finance to hold meetings with him on the pending Memorandums of Understanding (MOU) with a view to make substantive progress on various issues to enhance cooperation between the two countries.
The Prime Minister said talks between Pakistan and Iran will focus on drug trafficking, human trafficking and terrorism. The Prime Minister referred to the recent visit of the Iranian Foreign Minister to Pakistan and his meetings on wide ranging issues.
During the meetings, the two sides reached understanding to expedite work on the Iran-Pakistan gas pipeline project, import of 1000 megawatts of electricity from Iran to Pakistan and setting up of an investment fund to encourage private sector and provision of financial institutional regime to facilitate business community of respective countries to undertake investment without much interference at the bureaucratic level.
The Prime Minister while responding to the sentiments of the Iranian Interior Minister said that he considered Iran as his second home because his ancestors belonged to Gilan province which he intends to visit.
“It is like home coming,” the Prime Minister said.
Earlier in the week, Pakistan had turned down an offer from Iran to fund the Pakistan part of the Iran-Pakistan gas pipeline citing international sanctions on Iran.

Gilani in Tehran: Iran to give $100 million for flood affected in Sindh – The Express Tribune

chalo acha hai ji.......;)

btw,wat is the need of aid??cant they manage by self?

taking just 100 million......

Iranians are our natural allies we should build bridges with our brothers in Iran. we are the corridor for iran pakistan china cooperation for the mutual benefit of all of our people

Gilliani sahip aap kee commision 10% or 20% or 50% please?

Thank you to our allies for helping. I wish and hope this gets spent on what we need and not stolen by morons.

Its a trade off, when we had GCC as allies, we didn't see such things from Iran. A fair hint is that Usually KSA came fwd with help, but they stayed quiet around this time, a fair hint that recent government has again made a shift in foreign policy under PPP. Zardari just had a visit to Iran and now Gilani follows the suit, are these two running a "who makes the most foreign visits" contest? I think we will again see a strategic shift in Pakistan's foreign policy if PML N comes to power which has sort of "family relations" now with KSA. The problem is not disaster management but the structural issues, We badly need a couple of big storage reservoirs but the nationalists are behaving like morons, the last year floodings in NWFP and Sindh were a testiment that had we had a big reservoir, the damage by floods could have been much lesser, and not to mention flooding caused by India....had we made these two big investments, we could save a lot of aid packages and money spent on building defenses and rehabilitation. But sadly, no political party, till date, has even a notional let alone stable economic team. Its a testimony to the fact that where our political parties place the economic policy making. Almost everything is done on adhoc basis, parties are always rushing for a Shaikh Hafeez, Sahukat Tareen and Shaukat Aziz kind of person. Instead of heaving morons like Raja Riaz, Babar awan, Rehman Malick and Faisal Raza Abidi who are only good for barking at others. They could impart some good seasoned economists to run their economic policymaking. Its a piety, i must say

these idiots dont care about Pakistan, they dont care how many ppl get killed, they dont care if floods destroy everything.