Flexing muscles: Sindh parties form ‘grand alliance’ against PPP

haviZsultan

KARACHI:

After months of negotiations, opposition parties in Sindh launched on Saturday a “grand alliance” against the ruling Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP).

The alliance – led by Pakistan Muslim League-Functional (PML-F) chief Syed Sibghatullah Rashdi – will field joint candidates in all national and provincial assembly constituencies in the next parliamentary election.

The alliance comprises around 10 nationalist, politico-religious and mainstream political parties, including PML-F, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazlur Rehman (JUI-F), National Peoples Party (NPP), Sunni Tehreek (ST), Sindh United Party (SUP), Sindh Tarraqi Pasand Party (STPP), Awami Tehreek (AT) and Jamiat Ulema-e-Pakistan (Noorani)

The alliance was launched at a meeting at the residence of PML-F leader Jam Madad Ali where it was decided that the alliance would field joint candidates against PPP on provincial and national assembly seats.

Speaking to the media after the meeting, leaders from these parties said that they would make a joint strategy for seat-to-seat adjustment in the next elections. They would support each other’s candidates against PPP nominees in all constituencies.

They demanded removal of all provincial governors before the formation of a caretaker government. They also called for the implementation of Supreme Court’s decision on delimitation of constituencies in Karachi.

The government has started pre-poll rigging by appointing people in various departments. We demand the chief election commissioner and chief justice of Pakistan take notice of this in order to make the election process transparent, they said in a statement.

They decided to participate in a march against the ongoing voters’ verification process on Sunday (today). The march is being organised by JI from Numaish Chowrangi to Tibet Centre in Karachi.

Flexing muscles: Sindh parties form

KARACHI:

After months of negotiations, opposition parties in Sindh launched on Saturday a “grand alliance” against the ruling Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP).

The alliance – led by Pakistan Muslim League-Functional (PML-F) chief Syed Sibghatullah Rashdi – will field joint candidates in all national and provincial assembly constituencies in the next parliamentary election.

The alliance comprises around 10 nationalist, politico-religious and mainstream political parties, including PML-F, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazlur Rehman (JUI-F), National Peoples Party (NPP), Sunni Tehreek (ST), Sindh United Party (SUP), Sindh Tarraqi Pasand Party (STPP), Awami Tehreek (AT) and Jamiat Ulema-e-Pakistan (Noorani)

The alliance was launched at a meeting at the residence of PML-F leader Jam Madad Ali where it was decided that the alliance would field joint candidates against PPP on provincial and national assembly seats.

Speaking to the media after the meeting, leaders from these parties said that they would make a joint strategy for seat-to-seat adjustment in the next elections. They would support each other’s candidates against PPP nominees in all constituencies.

They demanded removal of all provincial governors before the formation of a caretaker government. They also called for the implementation of Supreme Court’s decision on delimitation of constituencies in Karachi.

The government has started pre-poll rigging by appointing people in various departments. We demand the chief election commissioner and chief justice of Pakistan take notice of this in order to make the election process transparent, they said in a statement.

They decided to participate in a march against the ongoing voters’ verification process on Sunday (today). The march is being organised by JI from Numaish Chowrangi to Tibet Centre in Karachi.

Why Not PTI?

Might be she is assessing of making a stand against this very alliance Instead:smokin:

KARACHI:

and its all political they dont even address the common issues lke law and order, security, the free roaming dakkos of sindh because of them the sindh has been in a permanent lock down, inavailability of funds, the common needs of a sindhi, but they are forming alliance against the so called devision of sindh because of so called local government system which people totally fail to unstand the basics of local government system and take it as some conspiracy

PPPP wins with very heavy margin and clear majority in most of the districts in Sindh. i think that this alliance will not work. Only functional league get same seats, Even PPPP snatched a MNA from functional league. MQM is majority in Karachi.
There are reports that many people are ready to join PPPP.
Paisa phaink tamasha dekh :D

I think any development that weakens the PPPP is a very positive one indeed.

I would like to hope for a positive outcome, but how do we change the feudal mindset of people in rural Sindh which is dominated by PPP's overlords?

With a rural poverty incidence of 17... well they may continue voting as they have been for years. I believe the issue here is ethnicity based voting which is heavily taking place.

That's the root cause of Pakistan's problems. Vote-banks are considered based on ethnic backgrounds or religious views rather than being based on issues like the economy or education. And I am surprised that a human being can be bamboozled so many times and still be counted on to go out there to vote for these idiots yet again.

Nothing couldbe changed in sindh,& most of these anti-PPP parties even doesn't hve their vote banks?
Only PMLf & ANP can find few seats in SA, & that's all 2 -3 seats up or down PPP will form the next govt with or without even MQM!
Our dear memberS plz keep watching your dreamS of change in sindh,cause at the end of day its wadera saiN who is with PPP!
Talks of change & talks of poverty this & that will nt be painted in newly formed E-sindhi media , which is managed by pro-PPP banditS!lol

Nothing couldbe changed in sindh,& most of these anti-PPP parties even doesn't hve their vote banks?
Only PMLf & ANP can find few seats in SA, & that's all 2 -3 seats up or down PPP will form the next govt with or without even MQM!
Our dear memberS plz keep watching your dreamS of change in sindh,cause at the end of day its wadera saiN who is with PPP!
Talks of change & talks of poverty this & that will nt be painted in newly formed E-sindhi media , which is managed by pro-PPP banditS!lol

I agree with bats.

Sorry RazorMC, was busy converting reports yesterday so could not reply properly.

That's the root cause of Pakistan's problems. Vote-banks are considered based on ethnic backgrounds or religious views rather than being based on issues like the economy or education. And I am surprised that a human being can be bamboozled so many times and still be counted on to go out there to vote for these idiots yet again.

And there is no way to beat it unless we get rid of the horrid penury the people of the country go through/live through daily. I want to share a case long time ago. Basically PPP has been stealing from the coffers and been offering money from the state treasury to the poor. A maid, long time ago said hum toh gharib log hai sarkar... "agar humey koi 4000 rupey dey ga we will vote for him." And that is happening. PPP buys votes just before the elections with state money and with Zardaris business empire (3rd richest man) and a billionaire well you know who is going to win.

I would say there are 3 reasons to PPPP power in Sindh:
1) Ethnic voting. This is an issue not just with Sindh-no insult meant to Sindhi brothers who are original inhabitants of this land and my Karachi (60% populace in 47-now only 7%) but with every place. Take MQM, PMLN, ANP, BNP, HDP, HST and check out where they get their votes from. The heartland of each party is within its own ethnic enclave.
2) Cash for votes. I remember this creating big news in India during elections and causing a huge scandal but here sab chalta hai. We have no anna hazare... or maybe Imran Khan is the Hazare... anyway. Next.
3) Lots and lots of cash available. If you do not believe this look at Zardari who is 3 rd richest man in Pakistan or if you do not believe having cash for a party pays look at the 2 top parties. PMLN's Nawaz is 5th richest man in Pakistan, Zardari 3rd. You will understand.
4) Rural poverty in Sindh makes it difficult for people to think before voting. Rural poverty in Sindh btw just so you note is the same as Balochistan. So basically our rich muhajir families are sitting in Karachi and looking down our noses at them while they starve. Callous but thats what ethnicity has made us. Thats why I tried to get rid of it and even that failed. :lol:

I hope this is an adequete response. If anyone has any points do add. @Chak Bamu's view may be interesting-expert on ethnicity that guy.

hmmm.....but I still am not expecting new reforms.....check out the characters who are taking part in oppostion:what:

And there is no way to beat it unless we get rid of the horrid penury the people of the country go through/live through daily. I want to share a case long time ago. Basically PPP has been stealing from the coffers and been offering money from the state treasury to the poor. A maid, long time ago said hum toh gharib log hai sarkar... "agar humey koi 4000 rupey dey ga we will vote for him." And that is happening. PPP buys votes just before the elections with state money and with Zardaris business empire (3rd richest man) and a billionaire well you know who is going to win.

I would say there are 3 reasons to PPPP power in Sindh:
1) Ethnic voting. This is an issue not just with Sindh-no insult meant to Sindhi brothers who are original inhabitants of this land and my Karachi (60% populace in 47-now only 7%) but with every place. Take MQM, PMLN, ANP, BNP, HDP, HST and check out where they get their votes from. The heartland of each party is within its own ethnic enclave.
2) Cash for votes. I remember this creating big news in India during elections and causing a huge scandal but here sab chalta hai. We have no anna hazare... or maybe Imran Khan is the Hazare... anyway. Next.
3) Lots and lots of cash available. If you do not believe this look at Zardari who is 3 rd richest man in Pakistan or if you do not believe having cash for a party pays look at the 2 top parties. PMLN's Nawaz is 5th richest man in Pakistan, Zardari 3rd. You will understand.
4) Rural poverty in Sindh makes it difficult for people to think before voting. Rural poverty in Sindh btw just so you note is the same as Balochistan. So basically our rich muhajir families are sitting in Karachi and looking down our noses at them while they starve. Callous but thats what ethnicity has made us. Thats why I tried to get rid of it and even that failed. :lol:

Well written havi.

The case you pointed out is valid and true. Votes for cash is a very difficult issue to address and rectify because people are unwilling to vote for a better candidate who can bring them out of poverty altogether. It all comes down to pressurizing the voters and depriving them of education so that they never question authority. Rural areas in Sindh are not Pakistani territory, but dominions ruled by tyrants.

I can agree that sitting in Karachi or Lahore or Islamabad changes our opinion of the ground realities, but ultimately it is going to be the people in those rural areas that have to make the decision to either continue living in abject poverty or make the tough choice and change their living conditions that benefit their future generation.

The solution I see is to increase the population limit per voting district. This reduces the number of seats in the Assemblies and concentrates power into the urban areas, where waderas and jageerdaars do not have the same influence.

The other issue of misusing public funds you highlighted is tremendously important. This silly Benazir Income Support thing only pushes Pakistan into more public debt while PPP enjoys the votes it can buy. It also sets a bad precedent for future governments and encourages them to do the same.

@haviZsultan, I am not an expert by any stretch of imagination. I may know a few things, and I may have a perspective, but I am not an expert. For that one would need to do a lot of hard work.

PML-N has traditionally courted Regional parties in Sindh to counter PPP. Baluchistan has its own unique dynamics, but regional parties are a fact of life there as well, and PML has used them in the past. It is interesting to note how the rhetoric shifts when a regional party finds itself in government. There is some value in making alliances with them after all. During NS's first stint as PM, Jam Sadiq was Chief minister of Sindh and PPP had to sit in the opposition. This time around too, NS is doing the same old trick. To have a shot at being in Sindh government that is the only way forward for PML-N. Incidentally, if there ever is going to be some sort of solution to problems of Karachi in the short term, one better hope that NS succeeds. PML-N strongly rejected MQM overtures in the past years just because PML-N leadership sees MQM as a problem and has resolved to teach it a lesson for being a strong support for Musharraf. You see all the parties that have been mentioned to be a part of grand alliance with PML-N in Sindh have not had the kind of freedom to act in Karachi like MQM, PPP, ANP. Interesting facet of this alliance, I should say. Also points to why PPP and MQM must embrace each other for the sake of survival. PML-N strategy has been to tie them up and see them drown. But I see a 70% chance of the MQM-PPP combine forming government in Sindh. But in case PML-N forms a coalition government in Center, watch out for Governor rule in Sindh and its attendant problems.

PPP, despite its many failings and chequered history has been an asset for Federation. It is after all the only party that wins seats from all the provinces and been able to form governments. It is a strong proponent of Federalism. PML comes close, but can not match PPP.

The problem that you have pointed out can partially be explained by the difference between a can-do-and-will-do attitude (epitomized by Sialkot) and Can't-do-will-complain attitude. Just look at Sialkot and its people. They did not inherit anything and yet developed a globally competitive industry. They also went ahead and built an international airport by their own private means. You shall hardly ever see a Sialkoti sitting idle. These people get mediocre education, find a job or business, get married early, and work till they die.

On the other end of spectrum we have people who look to the government for jobs, cash, entitlements. These people are often supporters of PPP, just because PPP governments are much more liberal in giving out jobs via chits (no merit) in national institutions and government departments. If one knows PPP politicians, then one can be sure to get something from the government without deserving it. This is a rough entitlements program Pakistani style.

We just have to accept the fact that people will vote for money, ethnicity, bradari & clan interests. The chances of finding someone charismatic like Bhutto are pretty slim. He made people forget petty interests. But we do have someone like IK who promises to be a game spoiler for entrenched interests. Maybe he will learn political maneuvering in the next five years to be able to form a government. But we shall have to see what happens meanwhile.

The way PPP & PML work is collecting money by corruption to be able to buy votes in the next elections. I would point that whereas PPP is quite brazen and crass in this attempt, PML has been more suave. They make money out of development projects. This is their expertise. Notice both Chaudhries of Gujrat and Sharif family. They have done corruption without it being obvious. Yes people knew that corruption was happening, but it was more difficult to prove.

In conclusion, I would like to point out that regional parties are a fact of life in Pakistan. Just as they are a fact of life for many other countries in the world. We can not reject them outright. For more influential ones among them (ANP) we have to find space for them to have a stake in the system. Once that happens, rhetoric changes and the level of militancy drops. Co-opting regional parties is always an option. Especially when we see PPP on a down-ward curve.

Military Forum Latest Posts