CNG autorickshaws to join Uber, Pathao

EastBengalPro

Bangladesh
cng-pathao-uber-690x450.jpg

Autorickshaw drivers claim their daily incomes have fallen by a third since ride hailing apps like Uber and Pathao started operations in Bangladesh

A faction of autorickshaw owners and drivers say they plan to join ride hailing apps such as Uber and Pathao from next year.

“Around 40,000 autorickshaw drivers will come under this service,” said Shakhawat Hossain Dulal, secretary of Dhaka Autorickshaw Workers’ Union.

Autorickshaw drivers said their daily incomes had fallen by a third after ride hailing apps like Uber and Pathao started operations in Bangladesh.

“The number of trips we make has declined,” one driver told the Dhaka Tribune. “I used to earn about Tk1,000 before, but now it has come down to about Tk300.”

On Monday, autorickshaw workers’ unions in Dhaka and Chittagong called a 48-hour strike on December 27-28 to press home their demands, including banning app-based transport services like Uber and Pathao, according to a press statement. The move drew widespread condemnation from commuters.

Companies running the ride sharing apps reportedly invited auto-rickshaw owners and drivers to join them.

There are over 26,000 autorickshaws in Dhaka and Chittagong. Although the government has set the fare, most autorickshaw drivers charge exorbitant amounts.

Dulal said he believed joining ride hailing apps would end the squabbling over fares. “We have decided to join the services and had talks with a ride sharing company on training the drivers,” he said.

Dhaka Metropolitan CNG Owners Association President Barkatullah Bulu said Uber and Hellow had offered them to join hands but his organization was yet to decide on it.

Hellow Ride, an auto rickshaw ride sharing service, was launched recently.

“Autorickshaws have been continuously losing customers to ride hailing services,” said Rinku Jamal, coordinator of Hellow Ride. “So we made an app to help the autorickshaws get more customers.”

He said they had already trained 100 more drivers on how to operate the application on their mobile phones.

About the fare, he said, passengers availing rides using their apps will have to pay an extra Tk30, beside the fare set by the government.

http://www.dhakatribune.com/bangladesh/dhaka/2017/11/20/cng-autorickshaw-uber-pathao/

CNG-autos feel pinch as ride sharing services get popular
Shahin Akhter with Sarwar Kamal in Chittagong | Published: 00:11, Nov 22,2017 | Updated: 00:35, Nov 22,2017
28879_177.jpg

Mobile app-based ride sharing services are getting popular in Dhaka and Chittagong metropolitan cities as many are turning their back on compressed natural gas-run auto-rickshaws.

The CNG-auto drivers, who often appear reluctant when approached by anyone for a ride, are now raising alarm seeking closure of the ride sharing services, which are yet to get government approval.
The owners have already sent a letter to road transport and bridges ministry in this regard while the drivers have announced that they also will launch mobile app-based CNG auto-rickshaw service in the two major cities.

Just within a year of their launch, ride sharing services like Uber, Pathao and SAM providing car and bike services have attracted a growing number of commuters with better service and comparatively lower fares.

Commuters have expressed their satisfaction with the ride sharing services which they say are comfortable, cheaper and faster while anyone can avail these services anytime, even at midnight on their doorstep.

On the contrary, they have expressed their frustrations over the CNG-auto service which operates flouting the government-fixed fare rates while they are not comfortable.

‘I mainly use Uber as private car drivers are well-behaved with the passengers and at least they follow a system for charging fares,’ said Sabera Hossain, a Gulshan resident.

She said that she regularly visited her sister’s house at Dhanmondi using Uber while it was quite impossible for her to get a CNG-auto with her two children.

A private university student, Shakil Ahmed, said that ride sharing services were very helpful as these were available round the clock.

He said that although in some cases the service was more expensive than CNG autos, the comfort and easy availability made it lucrative.

Mahmudul Hasan, a private service holder, said the ride sharing service via motorcycle was very much convenient for him — it was time-saving and cheaper.

Abu Sayed, a Pathao user in Chittagong, said that CNG drivers were supposed to charge the passengers as per the meter, but they hardly pay any heed to the regulation.

He said that Pathao was a great means to avoid traffic congestion in the port city.
On Sunday at a press conference in Chittagong, Dhaka and Chittagong Districts CNG-Run Auto-Rickshaw Workers’ Unity Council leaders threatened to go for a strike if the government would not stop ‘illegal’ ride sharing services like Uber and Pathao.

The council also announced that they would launch a mobile app-based CNG auto service soon.
A company, Hello CNG Ride Sharing, is already working to prepare the app, they added.
Dhaka Metropolitan CNG Auto-Rickshaw Owners’ Association president Barkat Ullah Bhulu told New Age that the number of passengers using CNG autos decreased especially for motorcycle service.
‘We are getting less single passenger for autos as motorcycles can reach any destinations easily bypassing congestion,’ he said.

He said that few months ago they had requested RTB ministry to stop these illegal service but they were yet to get any reply.

The commuters strongly condemned the CNG auto drivers’ demand for closing ride sharing service while in social media they were even campaigning for closing CNG auto service for good.
CNG auto’s fares, in Dhaka and Chittagong, are in complete disarray since these were introduced in 2002.

The government increased fare of CNG autos several times while it increased the fare lastly on September 10, 2015 to charge Tk 40 for the first two kilometres, Tk 12 for each kilometre afterwards, Tk 2 per minute as waiting charge and with Tk 900 daily deposit.

CNG drivers have alleged that the owners compelled them to charge extra by taking even double their daily deposit — an allegation the owners brushed aside.
On November 22 in 2016, Uber Technologies Inc launched their ride sharing service in Dhaka for the first time in Bangladesh.

Bangladesh Road Transport Authority declared their service illegal on November 26 as the company did not take any prior permission from the regulatory body.
Besides, companies like SAM, Pathao, Oi Khali, Amar Bike, Chalo and Amar Ride are offering motorcycle services to the commuters in Dhaka.

Pathao launched its service in Chittagong on October 10.
BRTA has prepared a ride sharing service guideline to allow these services.
BRTA director (road safety) Sk Md Mahbub-E-Rabbani said the guideline was at its final stage for approval.
He said that if the CNG auto owners started mobile app-based service, that would be entirely up to them and it too would be illegal.
http://www.newagebd.net/article/28879/cng-autos-feel-pinch-as-ride-sharing-services-get-popular

Not sure how many of you live in Dhaka - but it has been beautiful. CNG drivers are the scum of the earth - marginally better than Jamaat supporters (only just mind you) - and to see them now begging for customers is a wonderful sight. Days of demanding thrice the actual fare - ignoring customers and worse are over.

I don't care if cngs become an app driven service - I still won't be using them. Bastards have robbed people blind for the last 15 years, nothing was good enough for them. Fares have been adjusted 3 times in the last 7-8 years, but apparently they still can't survive.

Well survive now a**holes!

Not sure how many of you live in Dhaka - but it has been beautiful. CNG drivers are the scum of the earth - marginally better than Jamaat supporters (only just mind you) - and to see them now begging for customers is a wonderful sight. Days of demanding thrice the actual fare - ignoring customers and worse are over.

I don't care if cngs become an app driven service - I still won't be using them. Bastards have robbed people blind for the last 15 years, nothing was good enough for them. Fares have been adjusted 3 times in the last 7-8 years, but apparently they still can't survive.

Well survive now a**holes!

Sing A$$hole SOB - sing! :P

12:00 AM, November 23, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:50 AM, November 23, 2017
No permit? No problem!
Syndicate making money by allowing 10,000 autorickshaws registered outside Dhaka to run in the capital illegally
Mahbubur Rahman Khan and Mohammad Jamil Khan
Over 10,000 CNG-run autorickshaws ply the Dhaka city streets illegally by bribing a syndicate of traffic policemen and middlemen.
Autorickshaws require a route permit for operating in the metropolitan area. Around 23,000 autorickshaws run in the capital and almost half of them do not have this permission.
The Daily Star has learnt this by talking to 20 drivers, and leaders of auto rickshaw owners, drivers and workers associations.

These vehicles, usually registered in districts close to Dhaka, get into the capital in exchange for bribes. They add to traffic congestion and also hurt the earnings of the vehicles with route permits.

Over Tk 5 crore comes from bribes every month, and middlemen, traffic policemen and even high-ranking police officials get their cut, they said.

Rafiqul Islam, who heads the Dhaka district unit of the Four-Stroke Autorickshaw Drivers Union, said these autorickshaws enter the city through six points -- Jatrabari, Shyampur, Hazaribagh, Mohammadpur, Gabtoli and Abdullahpur.

The drivers pay the syndicate Tk 5,000 to Tk 7,000 a month to operate in the city and “the syndicate makes Tk 5 crore to Tk 6 crore a month”, he said.

A few correspondents of this paper went undercover in Jatrabari area recently to know the extent of the illegal practice.

They came across Abdur Rahim whose autorickshaw was registered in Narayanganj. He had been pulled over by one constable Masud near Jatrabari Police Box and Rahim was about to be fined.

Rahim contacted someone over the phone and said, “I repeatedly told him [Masud] it's TI [Traffic Inspector] Mostafiz Sir's CNG [autorickshaw]. But he won't pay any heed.”

He then requested Masud to talk to the person on the other end. A little hesitant Masud took the phone and said, “Hmm … Okay then talk to him. Sir [apparently Mostafiz] hasn't given me any instructions yet.”

By this time, Rahim's three-wheeler along with five other vehicles had their wheels clamped at the southeast corner of Jatrabari Police Box.

However, it was clamped only for 30 minutes.

The Daily Star correspondents saw Traffic Inspector Mostafiz arrive and ask Masud to let Rahim's vehicle go. The constable complied.

Before leaving, Rahim told the correspondents, “We give them [police] Tk 5,000 monthly, even after that this harassment. How much money do they need?”

TI Mostafiz brushed aside the allegations that he takes money to let such autorickshaws go.

“Many can bring allegations. But you've to deliver proof,” he said.

Asked about their procedures, he said there was a provision for impounding the illegal autorickshaws in the city but they make exceptions in case of emergencies, like transporting patients and examinees.

“In such cases, we just charge wrecker fees [towing fee] and let them go,” he said.

However, visiting the spots on October 31 and November 8, the correspondents found that a number of autorickshaws were held in front of the police box but none of those were carrying patients or examinees. They were all eventually let go.
HOW IT WORKS
Posing as clients, The Daily Star correspondents met one of the middlemen in Jurain who went by the name Patwary Billal.

“You'll have to give me Tk 5,000 [a month] to operate CNG [autorickshaw] in Dhaka. If you've any problem with driving licence or documentation, I will not be able to do anything. I will only ensure your free movement,” he said.

“From Jatrabari you will be able to go up to Shukrabad, up north you could go up to Jasimuddin Road of Uttara. You will have to skip Farmgate, Bijoy Sarani and Mohakhali areas since law enforcers are strict there,” he said.

“If any sergeant catches you, you will call me and I'll talk to the sergeant. You can be worry-free.

“Usually, when a senior officer catches these vehicles, they charge wrecker fee [towing fee]. You'll have to pay that. But be assured that the vehicle won't be dumped [impounded],” he said.

Refusing to disclose his profession, Patwary said, “He changes his identity with circumstances. When I talk to police I use a different identity but that's none of your concern.”

Another middleman, Anwar Bhandari of Shanir Akhra, said he manages three such autorickshaws this way.

“You better contact journalists Soljar and Taslima who work as linemen [middlemen],” said Anwar, adding that he did not know where the two worked. “You can reach them if you contact drivers at Jatrabari,” he added.

The Daily Star could not find the two after talking to several autorickshaw drivers at Jatrabari.

Rafiqul Islam said, “When an autorickshaw is pulled over, the driver contacts the respective sergeant or TI who then communicates with their colleagues to make sure the vehicle is allowed to go.”

Sergeant Tushar in Kuril Biswa Road area said they impound those autorickshaws but could not say how many they impound each day.

“You'd better talk to senior officers and they would be able to give you the number,” he said refuting allegations that they get a cut of the bribe.

Mosleh Uddin Ahmed, additional commissioner (Traffic), DMP, said he was not aware of any syndicates. Stern actions would be taken against the people involved if the allegation was found true, he added.

The drive against illegal CNG autorickshaws that enter Dhaka is going on. “We've strengthened our force to restrict their entrance at different points,” he claimed.

Bangladesh Road Transport Authority (BRTA) Chairman Md Moshiar Rahman said the autorickshaws pulled over for illegally plying the streets of Dhaka were supposed to be impounded.

“We conduct regular mobile court drives to check this. But, it is largely the duty of the police to monitor it and send the CNG autorickshaws to the dumping ground [impound],” he said.

Sakhawat Hossain Dulal, member-secretary of Dhaka Zila Autorickshaw and Mishuk Drivers and Workers' Union, said, “Let's allow these autorickshaws in the capital … we're willing to pay the government for this but not bribe the police.”
http://www.thedailystar.net/frontpage/no-permit-no-problem-1495177